Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.7911 out of 5 by 158.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Love this halter! I bought the black and turquoise, and it looks fabulous on my dun! The nip of colored padding peeking out behind the black is just right. I also had it personalized and was a bit concerned that it would have a brass plate with the silvertone hardware, but the nameplate is also silvertone, and it looks great. It's a bit stiff yet but will soften with oil and time. I've gotten lots of complements on it, too!
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite halter! I bought this halter for my horse in the black/red and got a name plate on the side for his name. It's absolutely stunning! He looks so handsome and it will hold up. I also like that because it's leather so it's easy to clean!!
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality - Love the Color! When my horse's nylon halter started to wear out, I decided to invest in a leather halter. This seemed like a very good value and I liked the color options - love my black w/ red choice. Very good quality - well crafted.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the leather and the sturdiness of the hardware. The nameplate is very nice, too. Time will tell if it will hold up, but for now, I'm happy. The only thing I'm unsatisfied with is the inner leather. I ordered black on black, and the inside leather is more of a brown.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I bought two of these halters with personalized name plates and I absolutely love them. I wasn't sure about spending so much for an every day halter but it was definitely worth it. The leather was so soft right out of the box. The padding is very nice for the horses too. I have a 17 hand appendix and a 15 hand paint. They obviously have very different head sizes and the horse size fit them both. I can't speak to the durability as I just purchased them a few weeks ago but they seem to be very high quality. They have already spent a couple of nights out in the rain and look the same as the day I got them. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter 5 (five) STARS! Best Halter on the market you'll ever buy. It's worth the price. I like it so much; I just ordered another one.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So classy! I bought this halter about a month ago, and absolutely love it! It was a little stiff the first few days, but quickly softened up. I called Smartpak and had them customize my nameplate with two different fonts, and I just love the look! It's a great halter and fits my thoroughbred perfectly. The leather lost it's original shine after a few weeks, but I leave it outside on the fence 24/7 and it went through two thunderstorms! Overall I'm super happy with it, and it looks like it will last for a long time!
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter I bought two of these halters to use as 'dress' halters for shows. They look way more expensive than $89.00 and are beautiful! I had them customized and love the finished product so much that I ordered them for everyday use for my two retired geldings. Instead of paying $50.00 for just an OK halter, I think the extra $30.00 is worth it for these special looking halters that are very padded and comfortable. I love them! I have not used them on a daily basis yet so can't comment on their durability outside in the elements.
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Showy Halter I've now purchased two of these. Havana/Blue and Black/Black. Both with custom name plates. I got one as a gift for my friend and when I saw hers, had to order one for myself. They are so gorgeous and are soft and supple right out of the box (which came in under two days from when I ordered!) These halters are sturdy and well-made at a price point that is unbelievable. It makes for a nice show halter or every day halter (just maybe not out in the paddocks). It has received numerous compliments from fellow barn members too!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great product! I just got mine, and I couldn't be more pleased. It fits my TB gelding very well and is very adjustable. The leather is great and the engraving is very well done. It matches the padded leather bracelet and my Ogilvy perfectly! Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather! This halther is handcrafted perfectly and looks awesome on my horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter This halter is well made with nice padding and supple leather and fits my horse perfectly. I was also amazed at how quickly they were able to deliver a monogrammed product.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, good buy! I bought this halter over 1.5 years ago and it's still going strong. It's used daily outside in the Michigan weather and is still beautiful. I'm replacing it since another horse chewed on it. It did hold up well to that too!
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and Flattering! I received this halter in the mail in 4-5 days and I did not even need to oil it before using it. The leather is so soft and flattering on my 17.1 hand Warmblood - I bought Warmblood size of course and it fits him very nicely.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Halter for the price I love this halter. I got the the dark brown and blue and it was even better in person. It fit perfectly and is true to size. I will be using it as a show halter but would be great for every day use as well.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It We got the blue padded halter to be used on our Morgan gelding at shows. Love the quality of the leather, the blue is gorgeous, hardware is easy to handle. Love the price! This same halter is over $90 on ebay or other tack stores.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather Handsome as this halter is, I use it for turnout. Safe and not as abrasive as most nylon halters. First wearing it got encased in mud, but cleaned up fine. Would have given it 5 stars if the cheek strap wasn't molded in the stable halter u-shape. Took a bit of oiling and wear to get a looser shape.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgreous! I was very impressed with the quality and beauty of this halter. It exceeded my expectations!
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I got the red and black with nameplate. The leather is soft out of the box and looks so good on my grey horse. I want to order another one for everyday use.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Ribbon Halter! I love this halter so much this is the second one I've ordered. I use it for my horse's daily stable halter, and it sits out in the rain/humidity/heat all day hanging on the fence line in the brutal Houston weather and still looks amazing after two years of every day use. The leather finally did give way under the cheek when my horse sat back in the cross ties, but this has been such a great halter for so long I'm re-ordering another to replace my old one. The havana with the the blue leather looks great with my horse's blue ribbons!
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice quality Soft leather, beautiful appearance. Fits my horse well and will no doubt last for years to come. Thank you for a great product at a reasonable price!
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality As with every Smart Pak purchase, I am very satisfied! Nice quality halters that I personalized with name plates. I had them within a week!!!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits perfectly These halters fit perfectly and look great i love how the name plate matches the buckles
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Needed to replace my horses halter. for the $$ this is beautiful, soft and they put the plate on which means it actually got put on and is straight. I love that the black had chrome hardware.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is great! I really like this halter with its nice soft leather. The nameplate looks really nice too. I purchased the brown/blue for my black & white paint and it is gorgeous on her! Great value for the price and it arrived within a week. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from So unfortunate, the leather is very thin :( I bought this halter in March, and loved it. The padding is super-soft, and the oversize fit my big Belgian Warmblood beautifully.  I was a little worried, however, that the leather parts that were not padded--the chin piece, and the strap areas of the crown piece--appeared quite a bit thinner in depth than my other leather halters. Unfortunately, that concern was founded. The leather has dried/curled and become very worn looking in the last 6 months, and it has spent the vast majority of its life in the tackroom, as my horse has a stall-paddock and I simply bridle him in the paddock and ride out. I cleaned it a couple of times with Leather New, but in looking at it closely the other day, I have found that the areas where the buckles crease the leather have become essentially dry-rotted. Very, very disappointed. I asked Smartpak if they would replace the crown piece and chin strap at no charge, but they will not. They will, however, allow me to return it for a full credit. Sad, because the hunter green padding is beautiful, but I'm afraid that one hard pull from my horse---a 20 year old bombproof ex-showhorse--will break the strapping. Not safe. 
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I bought this halter for my mare in black with stainless steel hardware.  I had her name and mine put on the halter plate and it looks fantastic!  The leather is very soft and the halter fits her perfectly.  I am very pleased with the quality of the leather and the engraving.  I think this halter will last a long time and I'm glad I splurged on it!
    Date published: 2013-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beau-tiful... And wow, fast service!! I got this halter in the black on black. The stainless hardware and nameplate are absolutely beautiful. Edwardian script and this halter is pure class! Soft leather, just beautifully done. -Almost- too pretty to use! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT It fit perfectly to my horse, the leather was surprisingly good quality!! I got it engraved for my rescued TB, none would say he was a rescue!
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied! I purchased this halter as my "first good"leather halter I can afford, and was surprised with the quality! Better than expected. I have purchased similar halters in the past, cheaper, that ended up having a short lifespan as the buckles would break with ease. However, this one is tough, leather is nicely stitched and my horse hasn't complained!
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    • 2015-05-22T08:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.