Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Made in the USA.

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Havana halters will have a brass nameplate, and Black halters will have a nickel nameplate.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Solid Brass, stainless steel
  • Customizable: Engraving

Sizing

Pony, Cob, Horse, Oversize
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather
Breakaway No
Metal Type Solid Brass, stainless steel
Width 1"
Special Features Soft padding with a rolled throat latch
Customizable Engraving
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The beautiful Arc De Triomphe Premium Halter is ...
    Description:
    "The beautiful Arc De Triomphe Premium Halter is perfect for many uses. Having snaps on both sides of the throat, it makes for the ultimate grooming halter. Also, with buckles on both sides of the crown, there is the convenience ...
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
    Description:
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Please note, this ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives ...
    Description:
    "The Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you’ve got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13” bosal features heavy double filled ...
    "These beautiful trunks are completely customizable. Design yours ...
    Description:
    "These beautiful trunks are completely customizable. Design yours today! Prices include 2 colors (body color & border on each vinyl surface), stainless steel top on chrome trimmed trunks, vinyl top on brass trimmed trunks, finished birch interior with a sliding ...
    "Keep your barn organized! Many options ensure that ...
    Description:
    "Keep your barn organized! Many options ensure that you will find the whiteboard to fit your needs. A variety of erasable marker/tack boards to choose from. Approximately 24"" x 36"". Please allow 8 weeks for delivery."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 312.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather! I bought this as a new show halter for my horse and I am really happy I did. While I haven't been able to use it for its intended purpose yet, I do like the quality of the leather and the hardware on this halter. I also added a name plate and that looks very nice on the halter as well.
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft Fresh out of the box, this halter represents good quality leather and soft squishable padding - comparable in quality to my old high quality branded halter. I have not used it long enough to comment on durability, but very happy about this purchase.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks so good I have one of these already and bought one for my trainer as a Christmas gift because she liked mine so much
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this as a gift for a friend and it turned out great! Got the name plate as well. For the money it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Padded Leather Halter I bought this halter for my granddaughter's horse. It is really sharp looking and I love the engraved plate on it! I am very pleased and will definitely use SmartPak for future purchases!
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted Great halter with a great price. I love leather halters. It adjusts easy and maintains its shape so you don't need to struggle with it to put it on. I loved it so much that I purchased another one for my other horse.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather halter with style Love, love, love this halter. I purchased this because I wanted a pretty halter with style, and this one has it. The leather is super soft, and the color accents are a really nice touch. I chose the black and teal one for my boy, and he looks so handsome in it.the quality is really good, and love the silver hardware rather than the brass. Great choice Smartpak!!!!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I bought this as a gift and it was perfect. It looks amazing!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous halter! High quality beautiful halter made in the USA. Very good fit for my small headed horse
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous halter! I bought this halter to show in and it is high quality, just beautiful!
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful! Ordered the black and turquoise, and it is sharp looking! I got my horses name engraved on it as well, and it looks beautiful. I wish I had selected a different font as it isn't as dark as I would have hoped (it can be hard to see depending on the lighting), but the quality is certainly great. My guy normally wears horse-sized products, and the horse size fits him very well. Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter This is a very well made halter, consisting of nice, supple leather. I liked it so much, I bought one for my older horse.
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love this halter. Looks great on my horse, doesn't rub on long trailering trips. And the plate is lovely and makes sure we don't lose it at shows.
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! I love this halter. Softly padded, well made, and very attractive.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute lovely soft leather, I've got the black and lavender and the colors look lovely together. Very happy!
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter that stands apart from others with colored padding.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite halter I've had this halter for more than 2 years, use it everyday and it still looks new. I just bought 2 more for a friend's horses even with custom name plates I got them quickly.
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter The halter fit my horse with no adjustment needed!
    Date published: 2016-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Halter This halter seems really well made, fits well and is nice quality leather
    Date published: 2016-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Him Great Thunder has two halters in case one breaks. Well his old one of 3 yrs broke and I ordered this one. It fits him well. The blue color is more like a periwinkle, but he looks great in it. The name plate is great and uses Chicago screws so I can remove it if I need to (for cleaning the brass plate). His students love picking between his Hunter Green Padded Halter and this Blue one. Thanks Smart Pak! https://scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14600866_554382308092975_7211690887071348792_n.jpg?oh=98e99c0f4ef0249a9ec68531b9095d55&oe=58A9ADD3
    Date published: 2016-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter(s) - I purchased two! This is an absolutely beautiful halter! Workmanship is superb, leather is soft, contrast padding is lovely, and STAINLESS HARDWARE! I bought two - one in black/purple for my jet black Friesian/Morgan with a delicate head, and one in black/turquoise for my Percheron/Paint with a large but lovely head. The horse size fit both of them perfectly because of the double buckles on the crown piece and adjustable noseband. I took advantage of one of SmartPak's 20% off sales, so that makes them even better! I am very pleased.
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful classic halter I love these halters. My two boys look amazing in them and the fit is perfect.
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality! I purchased this thinking it would just be a "second string" addition to my horse's wardrobe, but was pleasantly surprised at its classic look and high quality. I ordered it with the optional name plate, and having this installed "professionally" was well worth the nominal extra expense. This halter is a great way to play up barn colors or to express a little personality and flair in a subtle way- especially nice for those of us who are past the age when full fledged hot pink leopard is not longer considered "cute." ;)
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing halter! So far this halter has held up great (only had it for a couple of weeks) and it's super easy to clean! was amazed when I saw it it was so much more than I expected! This stays out when he's in the pastures all day, and has been on my go to halter on him since I got it would definitely buy this it's gorgeous!
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse won a gift certificate from Smart Pak at a Combined Driving Event and I thought he deserved something special. He has gotten lots of comments on his beautiful black halter with turquoise trim. It is nicely padded and well made. Certainly a big step up from his web halters that scratched his sensitive and very handsome face!
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this for my American Mammoth Jackstock riding jennet. She has a hard to fit head, and the largest size fit her perfectly. The halter was lovely right out of the box, well made and nice leather. I am also using it as a bitless bridle for her, and it is working like a dream. I may get another for my other jennet.
    Date published: 2016-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter I bought one of these for myself and liked it so much I bought another one as a gift. The color options are good and the quality is super; soft leather, sturdy hardware, and fits appropriately.
    Date published: 2016-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice This halter came as expected and the appearance is what I was looking for in an every-day stable halter. My horse is a warmblood, but has very fine features. I normally get "horse" sized halters and they are just fine...I hate having a halter that hangs loosely or with gaps. I ordered the horse size in this halter but needed to return for the oversize...I haven't received it yet, so I'm not sure if it will fit or be too big. That being said, I love the free returns on sized items...EVEN with the personalized plate!!! Smartpak service and focus on the customer/horse is second to no one!!!!
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & a great value Super nice, leather halter! I bought it when they were offering free engraving, and they're so nice, I'll be saving them for show days only! True to size, with oversize fitting my 17+ hand Oldenburgs. I'd buy one again!
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Halter!!! I absolutely love the texture of this halter!!! So soft and fits my Appendix perfect - great color combination!!!!!
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_304
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders