Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Made in the USA.

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Solid Brass, stainless steel
  • Customizable: Engraving

Sizing

Cob, Horse, Oversize
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather
Breakaway No
Metal Type Solid Brass, stainless steel
Width 1"
Special Features Soft padding with a rolled throat latch
Customizable Engraving
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Tipperary Eventer Vest is the most preferred ...
    Description:
    "The Tipperary Eventer Vest is the most preferred by world class riders! Light weight Flex-Pad design allows for a contoured custom fit that is not restrictive to movement. The Tipperary Eventer Vest is light-weight and breathable featuring a durable Durasport ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
    Description:
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole new look! Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! ...
    "Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
    Description:
    "Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter is soft to the touch for both horse and handler and the features an extended 10' detachable lead. Imported. Please note, this is not a breakaway halter ...
    "The fashion-forward designs of this halter is made ...
    Description:
    "The fashion-forward designs of this halter is made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort. This halter is adjustable by the ...
    "This halter received the royal treatment with the ...
    Description:
    "This halter received the royal treatment with the addition of the Newmarket pattern. The Rambo Newmarket Halter is made with durable polypropylene webbing and cozy Newmarket fleece on the headpiece and the noseband. Adjustable crown and throat clip made for ...
    "The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been ...
    Description:
    "The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been designed specifically to fit Quarter Horses and other like stock breeds! Perfect for turnout and around the barn. Your horse will be as comfortable as ever with a halter made for his ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 291.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful classic halter I love these halters. My two boys look amazing in them and the fit is perfect.
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality! I purchased this thinking it would just be a "second string" addition to my horse's wardrobe, but was pleasantly surprised at its classic look and high quality. I ordered it with the optional name plate, and having this installed "professionally" was well worth the nominal extra expense. This halter is a great way to play up barn colors or to express a little personality and flair in a subtle way- especially nice for those of us who are past the age when full fledged hot pink leopard is not longer considered "cute." ;)
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing halter! So far this halter has held up great (only had it for a couple of weeks) and it's super easy to clean! was amazed when I saw it it was so much more than I expected! This stays out when he's in the pastures all day, and has been on my go to halter on him since I got it would definitely buy this it's gorgeous!
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse won a gift certificate from Smart Pak at a Combined Driving Event and I thought he deserved something special. He has gotten lots of comments on his beautiful black halter with turquoise trim. It is nicely padded and well made. Certainly a big step up from his web halters that scratched his sensitive and very handsome face!
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this for my American Mammoth Jackstock riding jennet. She has a hard to fit head, and the largest size fit her perfectly. The halter was lovely right out of the box, well made and nice leather. I am also using it as a bitless bridle for her, and it is working like a dream. I may get another for my other jennet.
    Date published: 2016-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter I bought one of these for myself and liked it so much I bought another one as a gift. The color options are good and the quality is super; soft leather, sturdy hardware, and fits appropriately.
    Date published: 2016-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice This halter came as expected and the appearance is what I was looking for in an every-day stable halter. My horse is a warmblood, but has very fine features. I normally get "horse" sized halters and they are just fine...I hate having a halter that hangs loosely or with gaps. I ordered the horse size in this halter but needed to return for the oversize...I haven't received it yet, so I'm not sure if it will fit or be too big. That being said, I love the free returns on sized items...EVEN with the personalized plate!!! Smartpak service and focus on the customer/horse is second to no one!!!!
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & a great value Super nice, leather halter! I bought it when they were offering free engraving, and they're so nice, I'll be saving them for show days only! True to size, with oversize fitting my 17+ hand Oldenburgs. I'd buy one again!
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Halter!!! I absolutely love the texture of this halter!!! So soft and fits my Appendix perfect - great color combination!!!!!
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! I am extremely happy withat this purchase. The quality is excellent! The cob size fits my little quarter horse perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful color and leather quality I bought this a week ago and honestly I couldn't be happier with the quality of the soft leather and the bright colors! I bought the black and purple one for my Grey Half-arabian and the havana and blue one for my chestnut Arabian.
    Date published: 2016-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft leather Halter fits my horse's giant head! He wears it all of the time and I feel that he's comfortable. The leather is soft and I just keep it maintained
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter big at the nose Love the real color but the halter was a bit big over the nose and I think keeping the Teal color clean might be tough! Any suggestions? I was thinking dish soap?
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Halter -but not for a Draft Bought the oversized for my Clydesdale yearling -way to small! Have to get one that runs bigger..alot bigger, he will be growing for a while yet..But nice quality for the average sized horse.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality leather I bought this for my gelding with a name plate. Now I'm ordering matching ones for my mare and pony!
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely well built! Leather is soft and color is great! I purchased two of there, one for each horse and it fits the different shapes of their heads perfectly. I would definitely purchase this product again, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, professional, fit my draft cross well Bought the oversize for my 17h Draft Cross, and it fits him perfectly. He's usually between oversized and draft, so I was pleased it fit! Looks awesome with a name plate too!
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I got this halter as a little splurge gift for me and my horse after owning him for a year. This halter exceeded expectations and the nameplate looks so beautiful! This halter was worth every penny I paid for it. I added a couple photos so you can see how smart and handsome it makes my boy look
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality! Beautiful halter, very nice quality leather. So nice to have a beautiful halter to put on him for special events
    Date published: 2016-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter. We have 7 of these halters. Quality leather and craftsmanship,they look great and last forever.
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I recently purchased this halter to replace a similar padded colored halter. I was very impressed with the quality of it and am happy I purchased it!
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I bought the black on brown leather halter with personalization and absolutely love it! The leather is great quality and I love that SmartPak attached the name plate to the halter for me. I am very pleased with my purchase and have already shown it off to multiple family members.
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome on my black horse I bought the black halter with white padding and it really pops on my black horse. The leather is really good quality and my horse and I are very happy with the halter!
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant halter! Bought this for a friend who has just purchased a fancy dressage horse--needed a fancy halter to match. Purchased this in black with a silver nameplate and the resultis quite stunning! Bought the wrong size initially and had to exchange for a larger size and have the halter plate changed ---no problem for Smartpak customer service--excellent as always!
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! Great quality, nice looking halter. Horse size fits my fine boneDutch warmblood perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Love how well made it is and how soft right out of the bag
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Elegant Halter Beautiful quality. Wish the fittings were brass instead of stainless steel so the name plate would match.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality! After searching for months to find the perfect halter for my picky tastes I finally did! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this halter. It is beautiful and excellent quality. I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! As a trainer I love this halter! It is comfort during gentling and starting as a halter can be scary to an untouched horse. I train with an ideal that I want to horse to willing do what I ask without pain. This halter is strong and soft without correcting like others and allows me to do the training not the halter. I own several of these in all sizes and each one of my personal mustangs have one!
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking The halter looks great. I have been using it for about a month and it seems durable.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_13
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_283
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders