Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.
Favorite Features
  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
The hay net should be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the nylon mesh is extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure the hay net is safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This This Fan Bag secures ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This This Fan Bag secures a standard 20” x 20” box fan to stall. Black. Imported Favorite Features Sturdy nylon webbing resists horseplay Lightweight and portable Space saving design STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? ...
    "High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net ...
    Description:
    "High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. * Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid ...
    "Crochet Ear Nets - Two Tone offer simple ...
    Description:
    "Crochet Ear Nets - Two Tone offer simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears in classic two-tone color options. Cotton blend. Imported."
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection ...
    Description:
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. Variety of colors to suite every taste. Imported"
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly ...
    Description:
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Pick your own colors for that truly unique look. The Crochet Ear Net fits neatly under the bridle. Cotton blend."
    "The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra ...
    Description:
    "The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay. Poly. Imported. * Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the ...
    "The Kensington Aisle Guard is a great way ...
    Description:
    "The Kensington Aisle Guard is a great way for securing the aisle for grooming or farrier work. It is made out of durable Textilene® mesh and bordered on all four sides with 3"" nylon webbing. It is 21"" wide and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 518.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not For Me I am a happy Smartpak customer, but I unfortunately this haynet is not for me. It was too long for my tastes as I prefer a wider rather than a tall net, and I did not like the feel of the material- too slick. I chose to return them rather than try them on my horses to see what they thought (they sometimes have different opinions about things than I do). I use haynets daily, and I really want something I enjoy using.
    Date published: 2017-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and does the job I got these for my 3 geldings and after you have used them it gets easier to load. I fill them up and it lasts them all day on my 12 hour work days!
    Date published: 2017-03-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother These bag holes are NOT 3.5 cm's big. They are 3.5 INCHES. If you are looking to buy small hole slow feed bags, these are not them. I ordered them because I thought they were going to be smaller than the typical slow feed bags and now I have to eat the cost to ship them back.
    Date published: 2017-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid bag I bought this to hang in a stall to reduce waste. Fits the need. Do wish it had a solid ring at the bottom
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Use for my over eater but notice it keeps the youngsters occupied.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! I purchased four of these nets for daily use. I was skeptical when I first saw the net material and concerned that it would easily weather and become brittle. After 2 months of daily, outdoor use the nets are in the same condition as they came. They have held up to naughty ponies and the crazy Maryland weather so far.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed review I'm a haybag addict and this one was on special. It's overall great but the cord is way too long in my opinion so its one of my more difficult one's to secure since I knot them and attach to a snap. That's my only criticism.
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this hay net for my horse who is on stall rest due to an injury. I'm not a huge fan of hay nets, but that is because in the past I have paid $40+ to quickly learn that the horses have managed to pull them apart. This hay net is fairly easy to load, holds a sufficient amount per horse, and HOLDS UP! So far, no destruction and it does it's job by allowing the horse to slowly feed. Another advantage is that there is less waste - less mess! I purchased a second one so that both horses have one now. I plan to purchase more when they are on sale.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Good product but I needed smaller holes for my horse
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haybags Bought my second slow feed hay net. Made my barn chores so much easier! User friendly. Fills easily and Made well. My horse, goats and donkey can throw it around and stays secure on hook. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and perfect This slow feeder hay net is perfect for my horse. It's large size holds enough hay so he can have hay in front of him all night long.
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I bought a few of these 3yrs ago and just bought some more recently because they hold up great, hold a bought 6flakes of hay, and are very easy to load the hay into.
    Date published: 2017-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong & easy to fill. My horse gets aggravated eating from this small hole hay net, but it's what he needs & eating slow should decrease his gut a little. Quality is taking his aggravation!
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately after less than a week of use my horse destroyed this hay net and it ended up on the ground and around his feet. While there is a risk with any thing you hang in the stall I was very disappointed I didn't get more use out of this and that it became a potential hazard. Would not recommend at all.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical I purchased these to hang in the sheds when it snows and the horses cannot graze. It gives them something to do and eat all day without the downsides of feeding loose hay or round bales. They are a pain to fill and one of them came untied when I opened it out of the packaging and it took me forever to figure out how to fix it.
    Date published: 2017-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bag for the price! Bought this for horses to eat out of when stalled on rainy days. Works great and slows them down but putting hay in bag can be a little challenging.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and works great! Used this hay net when my overweight mare was on stall rest for an injury. Worked great by making her three flakes last longer and keep her busy. It was recommended by one of the customer service representatives!
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I tried out several brands and this is by far the best. I still have mine from 2011/2012, even though it has a little hole or two now i use an extra clip to make it smaller and still use them.It was time to order more so i went back to these.I did try the expensive freedom feeder hay net and my horse got a hole in that one too...so it can happen with every brand.Buy and extra hay bag esspecially if u just starting your horse on smaller hole hay bags.For beginner slow feeder this has helped me trasnsistion with my horse:Feed them half hay in the bag ...half outside...this way they wont attack your bag while starving. After a few days lessen the hay amount outside the bag.I think it took me like 10days.I like when my horse has something to eat all the time so i stead of a roundbale 24/7 i hang up these several haynets.I use a big clip to tie the bag together and hang it up i stead of the string, works for me better.I fit anywhere between 4 to 6...depending on how big... 2 string squarebales 'slices' in it...havent tried 3 string.When i fill up the bag real heavy what i always do i never had a problem with the material not being able to take it, oposite i am more impressed...My horse isnt very gentle with haybags. I would reccomend these to anyone.Way to go smart pak on this product!!!
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed We bought these hay nets to help save hay instead of having it trampled all over the stalls from feeding on the floor of the stalls, and they work perfectly! The horses have very small piles now under the hay nets, with no waste mixed through the shavings and thrown out. They're also entertained for much longer since they have to work to get the hay out, so the nets help with boredom issues, too. Great quality and super easy to use!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well Using these new nets for the last month. They have a larger capacity than those purchased several years ago, easily holds 20# orchard grass with room to spare. Sturdy cord construction withstands 'mortal combat' style of young colts eating from a net and prevents hay being scattered and used as bedding. More importantly, having hay available at all times, they eat a smaller amount more slowly, learn patience and become less food focused.The tie cord is in tight circular wrap around the net in the shipping package. Unfortunately, the coil memory remains in the tie and the last foot of the tie end coils around one's hand like a slinky when attempting to tie it thru a ring or to a post, not impossible, but very annoying. Also won't hold a knot in the tie ends, taped them together so they don't slip out of the net.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bag is indestructible and saving on hay
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Haynet! I bought this haynet a few weeks ago, and so far I really like it. The only thing I would have to say that I didn't like was the tie string. It was so stiff I could not tie it. What I ended up doing for temporary, was taking a clip and running it through each rope ring and hanging it on a ring. It is troublesome, having to keep taking it out and putting it back on, but it works.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great net! This is our second (and back up) hay net. Love it! Great price.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! We purchased 6 of these nets & use them mainly on our fence posts to set up feeding stations in our paddocks so horses won't push each other off. This works great. We can fit 2 large square bale flakes (3x3) in them. Having the nets has eliminated wasting hay & makes the horses eat more leisurely which really helps out our senior horses. These bags can also be used in stalls & in your trailer. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted three days Sorry to say these nets lasted only three days. Both horses ripped large holes in the bags. Material is not strong enough for my horses.All the other SmartPak products I have used have been wonderful.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hay Net This is the best hay net! It keeps the hay neat, not wasting or dropping all over. More importantly the smaller holes as compared to conventional hay net keep my horse munching at a desirable rate, not pigging out! It is very durable, the netting is strong. It does hold at least 4 flakes as the video stated, which makes me very happy!
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decline in quality These were my go-to nets for two years and they held up great. In the past 6-12 months though, there's been a decline in quality. The netting hasn't held up as well, developing lots of holes. Lately, the ones I've bought have come with big loose knots in the tie string that are impossible to keep secure. After wasting time every day trying to re-tighten them so the whole thing doesn't fall to the ground and present an entanglement hazard, I gave up and decided to try the Niblet premium poly net from Riding Warehouse. It's $6 cheaper, seems to be made of similar material, and has a secure knot.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars from Cody I have had these hay nets for over three years. At first I just used them in my horse trailer because they were easy to fill, and big. Last year I started using it to feed second cutting hay to my horse in his stall. I have a hard keeper who is also picky so I was reluctant to use a small hole hay net because I want him to eat more! The hay net actually helped him eat more because I stopped losing so much hay to him trampling it and pooping on it. I can put 6+ flakes in at night and he will consume them all without it being mixed into his stall. I use this every single day, and my horse throws it around and it has held up great.
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_486
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders