Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.
Favorite Features
  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
The hay net should be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the nylon mesh is extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure the hay net is safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Net Relief® is one of the most effective ...
    Description:
    "Net Relief® is one of the most effective ways to control head shaking. Net Relief® is contoured and covers only the top half of the muzzle. This ensures that it’s not only unobtrusive, but it allows saliva to escape from ...
    "Make sure a flat tire won’t ruin a ...
    Description:
    "Make sure a flat tire won’t ruin a big day! Trailer-Aid allows anyone to change a flat tire anywhere, anytime, without help, without a jack. And most importantly, without unloading the animals. With Trailer-Aid®, you’re on the road again in ...
    "High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net ...
    Description:
    "High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. * Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid ...
    "Coolmesh Ear Nets feature a crochet net with ...
    Description:
    "Coolmesh Ear Nets feature a crochet net with CoolMesh ears that allow for natural air ventilation to keep ears cool and comfortable while preventing insect annoyances. Imported."
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly ...
    Description:
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Pick your own colors for that truly unique look. The Crochet Ear Net fits neatly under the bridle. Cotton blend."
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable ...
    Description:
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable Tail Bag is shaped & padded at top of tail for total protection. It is made with a neoprene outer with non-slip lining, four hook-and-loop straps for even pressure and a long ...
    "18'' - 32"" adjustable Baker Trailer Tie is ...
    Description:
    "18'' - 32"" adjustable Baker Trailer Tie is made of first quality nylon and brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, The Baker Trailer Ties are made in the USA. Original plaid."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 503.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical I purchased these to hang in the sheds when it snows and the horses cannot graze. It gives them something to do and eat all day without the downsides of feeding loose hay or round bales. They are a pain to fill and one of them came untied when I opened it out of the packaging and it took me forever to figure out how to fix it.
    Date published: 2017-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bag for the price! Bought this for horses to eat out of when stalled on rainy days. Works great and slows them down but putting hay in bag can be a little challenging.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality made and works great! Used this hay net when my overweight mare was on stall rest for an injury. Worked great by making her three flakes last longer and keep her busy. It was recommended by one of the customer service representatives!
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I tried out several brands and this is by far the best. I still have mine from 2011/2012, even though it has a little hole or two now i use an extra clip to make it smaller and still use them.It was time to order more so i went back to these.I did try the expensive freedom feeder hay net and my horse got a hole in that one too...so it can happen with every brand.Buy and extra hay bag esspecially if u just starting your horse on smaller hole hay bags.For beginner slow feeder this has helped me trasnsistion with my horse:Feed them half hay in the bag ...half outside...this way they wont attack your bag while starving. After a few days lessen the hay amount outside the bag.I think it took me like 10days.I like when my horse has something to eat all the time so i stead of a roundbale 24/7 i hang up these several haynets.I use a big clip to tie the bag together and hang it up i stead of the string, works for me better.I fit anywhere between 4 to 6...depending on how big... 2 string squarebales 'slices' in it...havent tried 3 string.When i fill up the bag real heavy what i always do i never had a problem with the material not being able to take it, oposite i am more impressed...My horse isnt very gentle with haybags. I would reccomend these to anyone.Way to go smart pak on this product!!!
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed We bought these hay nets to help save hay instead of having it trampled all over the stalls from feeding on the floor of the stalls, and they work perfectly! The horses have very small piles now under the hay nets, with no waste mixed through the shavings and thrown out. They're also entertained for much longer since they have to work to get the hay out, so the nets help with boredom issues, too. Great quality and super easy to use!
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well Using these new nets for the last month. They have a larger capacity than those purchased several years ago, easily holds 20# orchard grass with room to spare. Sturdy cord construction withstands 'mortal combat' style of young colts eating from a net and prevents hay being scattered and used as bedding. More importantly, having hay available at all times, they eat a smaller amount more slowly, learn patience and become less food focused.The tie cord is in tight circular wrap around the net in the shipping package. Unfortunately, the coil memory remains in the tie and the last foot of the tie end coils around one's hand like a slinky when attempting to tie it thru a ring or to a post, not impossible, but very annoying. Also won't hold a knot in the tie ends, taped them together so they don't slip out of the net.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bag is indestructible and saving on hay
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Haynet! I bought this haynet a few weeks ago, and so far I really like it. The only thing I would have to say that I didn't like was the tie string. It was so stiff I could not tie it. What I ended up doing for temporary, was taking a clip and running it through each rope ring and hanging it on a ring. It is troublesome, having to keep taking it out and putting it back on, but it works.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great net! This is our second (and back up) hay net. Love it! Great price.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! We purchased 6 of these nets & use them mainly on our fence posts to set up feeding stations in our paddocks so horses won't push each other off. This works great. We can fit 2 large square bale flakes (3x3) in them. Having the nets has eliminated wasting hay & makes the horses eat more leisurely which really helps out our senior horses. These bags can also be used in stalls & in your trailer. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted three days Sorry to say these nets lasted only three days. Both horses ripped large holes in the bags. Material is not strong enough for my horses.All the other SmartPak products I have used have been wonderful.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hay Net This is the best hay net! It keeps the hay neat, not wasting or dropping all over. More importantly the smaller holes as compared to conventional hay net keep my horse munching at a desirable rate, not pigging out! It is very durable, the netting is strong. It does hold at least 4 flakes as the video stated, which makes me very happy!
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decline in quality These were my go-to nets for two years and they held up great. In the past 6-12 months though, there's been a decline in quality. The netting hasn't held up as well, developing lots of holes. Lately, the ones I've bought have come with big loose knots in the tie string that are impossible to keep secure. After wasting time every day trying to re-tighten them so the whole thing doesn't fall to the ground and present an entanglement hazard, I gave up and decided to try the Niblet premium poly net from Riding Warehouse. It's $6 cheaper, seems to be made of similar material, and has a secure knot.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars from Cody I have had these hay nets for over three years. At first I just used them in my horse trailer because they were easy to fill, and big. Last year I started using it to feed second cutting hay to my horse in his stall. I have a hard keeper who is also picky so I was reluctant to use a small hole hay net because I want him to eat more! The hay net actually helped him eat more because I stopped losing so much hay to him trampling it and pooping on it. I can put 6+ flakes in at night and he will consume them all without it being mixed into his stall. I use this every single day, and my horse throws it around and it has held up great.
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought this about a month and a half ago to leave in my horse's stall. He inhales hay so needed something to slow him down. Bought this net because it was cheap, not expecting it to last long but it seems to be holding up great!
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Exactly what I wanted and needed...great quality, great price!
    Date published: 2016-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bag holds alot of hay This is one of two that I have purchased. Although it is made of nylon, the same material as my other one, it holds quite a bit more food. I bring this to hang up as a munchie bag to keep my guy busy. It does the trick!
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great, I just wish the tie rope wasn't so stiff.
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No waste. Hay lasts longer I bought these for my walk in so on those cold wet to the bone days my horses have dry hay in the shelter to munch on. The floor in the shelter is dirt so I needed it up off the ground. They love them.
    Date published: 2016-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supet haynet We bought this for our senior mare who wastes hay when eating. This net slows her down and keeps excess off the ground for her to step on and ruin.
    Date published: 2016-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holes Bigger than Expected The hay net is nice and large, but the holes are bigger than expected and not slowing down my Cushing's pony enough. Perhaps specifying the actual size of the holes would help.
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made product I bought this product a month ago for my QH who is a fast aggressive eater. I like the quality and size. I was able to fit about a 1/2 a bale into the net. Unfortunately the holes are too large for my piggy of a horse. I have since been able to find a hay net with 1" holes. That seems to be working better to slow him down.
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not to bad It worked well but my horse chewed a hole through it in just a few weeks.
    Date published: 2016-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay bag! I bought this product so my horse had to work at eating his hay in small amounts.
    Date published: 2016-10-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Update to previous review It has now been almost 4 weeks since I started using these hay nets. Both of them have developed large openings (6" as of this morning) where the horses grab the strands of hay with their teeth and inadvertently grab the plastic net too. I am now tossing out more and more wasted hay. I shouldn't have to be spending my time repairing them, either. ... pretty pricey hay nets for such a short life-span.
    Date published: 2016-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm My Morgan could probably live on air and be fat... This is a super durable hay net. He hates it, I love it!
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works . I'm using it on a hay hoop. It slows down eating and saves hay.
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have been using these small hole hayfeeders for about two weeks now. My two elderly horses, both with Cushings disease, cannot be on pasture, so their forage is an alfalfa mix hay, previously dispensed in their hay racks. The hay is pricey and having to toss half of their ration away after every feeding was quite frustrating - being elderly, they can no longer chew as well, so they would grab huge mouthfuls and gum it to death, only to spit it out and grab another mouthful. They would leave a large pile of uneaten, wet, soggy hay covered in flies. I switched to using the SmartPak small hole hay nets, and now I am cleaning up maybe a small forkful of wasted wet hay instead of half a flake. I did have to teach them how to use the nets by pulling some hay part-way out of several of the holes, but they caught on quickly. They pull small bits at a time, which allows them to actually chew the hay and swallow it since their mouths aren't stuffed full. One of my horses has a chronic throat obstruction which causes him to choke. His episodes of choking have already diminished. In his case, I keep the hay net lower so that he doesn't have to reach up for it. I also make it easier on my old guys by securing the bottom of the net so that it is more stable. If they were younger, I would let the bag swing for added 'slow-down'. I find these nets extremely easy to fill. I place the net inside a muck bucket and stretch the opening over the rim. I fluff my horses' hay first before filling the net to make it easier for them to extract the strands through the holes. I am really hoping that the durability issue of these nets has been addressed by the manufacturer as they are currently working out very well for me. My only suggestion at this time for improvement would be for the thicker hanging rope at the opening to be made of a constrasting color which would make it that much easier to work with.
    Date published: 2016-09-21
    • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_471
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders