Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.
Favorite Features
  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
The hay net should be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the nylon mesh is extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure the hay net is safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Collapsible box fan holder has removable bolts that ...
    Description:
    "Collapsible box fan holder has removable bolts that allow for shipping and toting the box fan holder with ease. The box fan holder is made of black coated metal with rubber stoppers. Box fan holder will fit securely over stall ...
    "The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra ...
    Description:
    "The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay. Poly. Imported. * Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the ...
    "The Cinch Net Mini attaches easily to a ...
    Description:
    "The Cinch Net Mini attaches easily to a trailer, eye hook, fence or tree, it's perfect for keeping your feeding program on track while on the go. Ideal for: Keeping your stalled horses busy, in your pasture or paddock, hauling: ...
    "The patented Free-Up Feeder is great for stall ...
    Description:
    "The patented Free-Up Feeder is great for stall hay feeding and swings open to fill in less than 30 seconds! The metal Free-Up Feeder Frame measures 12"" x 24"" and features safe, rounded corners, plus a threaded locking nut. Open ...
    "Horsemen's Pride Stall gate are made of sturdy ...
    Description:
    "Horsemen's Pride Stall gate are made of sturdy steel guaranteed to last! Constructed of 1"", 18 gauge tubing. Very easy to install with hardware included. *Ships for free!"
    "Slow Feeders help regulate feed intake for a ...
    Description:
    "Slow Feeders help regulate feed intake for a natural, healthy grazing effect which may improve digestion. It reduces the risk of colic and minimizes stable vices. The poly netting is comprised of 1.5” squares to slow consumption and the durable ...
    "Space age technology has made these polymer mats ...
    Description:
    "Space age technology has made these polymer mats the fastest growing floor in the industry. At only 12 pounds each you can snap a floor together in minutes. Use them at show grounds, grooming areas, in trailers and in most ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 540.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large size but not sure on the quality I bought this bag to use in the trailer and pasture. The size is great as I can load a good amount of hay and the nylon mesh material is soft. Unfortunately I've only used it for a couple of weeks and it's already started fraying at several knots. I ended up purchasing another more durable bag and use this one as a back-up.
    Date published: 2017-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hay net hole size Small holes are same as my 2" Hay net. I was expecting 1-1/2" holes. Not what I was expecting.
    Date published: 2017-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Net is fine, hole measurement is innacurate These nets have 5cm holes, not 3.5cm, making them not actually a slow feed net. These will work well if you want to keep hay contained, but 2" holes do not actually slow vigorous eating horses down.
    Date published: 2017-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made well. I bought this to feed my horse that is on rehab from a cut leg. It lets him have hay all day and not become so bored with being in a small enclosure.
    Date published: 2017-09-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Net is pretty good, rope handle is a pain Bought 4 of these hay nets for my 3 horses. 1 bag was chewed through within a week, but the other 3 are working. The worst part of this product is the rope handle. Comes not tied, so it's a pain to put several knots in it, plus it's AWFUL to twist up which keeps one from opening the net to fill or empty!!! Does reduce some hay waste, but really hate that rope handle. Am going to try another type, your nylon slow feed hay bag, to see how that works. Hate to have to pay that much but have had enough frustration with that rope handle!!!
    Date published: 2017-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Have purchased this item over and over large holds a lot of hay and good quality great price too
    Date published: 2017-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price Bought this for my fast eater, definitely slows him down, makes him pay attention and work for his forage.
    Date published: 2017-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good hay net This is a good slow feed hay net although the rope at the top of mine didn’t come tied, and it’s a slick material, so when I tied mine, it comes untied all the time when I’m loading hay, then I have to re-string the rope through which is a pain. Maybe if you are a Boy Scout or a sailor and know super fancy knots you wouldn’t have this problem. Otherwise, make sure you buy a double ended clip or some sort of snap to go with this to hang it! It’s a good quality net and I really like it.
    Date published: 2017-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minimal mess in trailer Purchased two of these nets to keep the horses busy in the trailer. Most of the hay stays in the net and lasts the entire trip. Very happy with product and price!
    Date published: 2017-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay net! I was looking for a sturdy Hay net and this one has not disappointed!
    Date published: 2017-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality product This is a great product but can be found on line for much cheaper. If you are qualifying for free shipping, this evens out the value.
    Date published: 2017-07-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Holes larger than advertised The hay net holes were almost the same size as the 2" hay net I presently use. The inch equivalent to 3.5 cm is 1.37 inches. The hay net holes were larger than 1.37 inches. I returned the product.
    Date published: 2017-06-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The quality is good, it's sturdy but its difficult to hang. It would be great if it had clips or a sturdy bottom for filling & securing to the corral.
    Date published: 2017-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This hay bag is easy to use. Opens wide easily and is easy to tie. Many plastic hay bags are hard to open and tie. Not this one. The material is more pliable. And it slows eating down which is better for digestion and less waste.
    Date published: 2017-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Love this slow hay feeder. It's easy to fill and more durable than I thought it was going to be.
    Date published: 2017-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfectly! I bought the small hole hay net 5 months ago, and have been using it ever since. I had the regular hay nets to help keep waste down when feeding my big pony mare, but hay would fall out anyway, and she wood eat so quickly, that she felt hungry and bored while no one was around. A bored pony is never a good thing.... This haynet was the perfect answer! It slowed her eating and stretched out the time it took her to eat keeping her from getting bored so quickly and helping her to eat better. I find the net is very durable. I've inspected it for any damage thinking she might chew on it from frustration, but the entire net is intact. I noticed that there was advertising for an "easy fill" hay net shortly after I purchased the regular version. I don't need it, this one has been fine for me, WAY better than my old ones! I found the smaller holes make the net stiffer. When refilling it, I simply open the top completely and fold it over to the outside about 6-12 inches. I then just fill it up! I've noticed I can put 4-6 leaves or so in there so plenty of hay for twice daily feeding for my situation. I highly recommend this product to anyone needing a way to slow down a fast eater. Great quality, great price and fast shipping. Thank you, Smartpack!
    Date published: 2017-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasted 3 years I bought this hay net 3 years ago and finally just now have to replace it after consistent use. Easy to load-literally could fit 60 lbs of hay no problem, you don't wear the hay. Just add a double end snap to make hanging easier, and voila! It took my mouthy horse 3 years to chew a hole through it.
    Date published: 2017-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fill Long lasting and super easy to fill. Wish they would make one with smaller holes too.
    Date published: 2017-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from okay not great I bought this after my old ones started wearing out and these are made of a heavy nylon that will probably wear well but are more difficult to tie off and hang.
    Date published: 2017-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Net I'm a long time user of small hole hay nets and have tried several brands. I have searched for a hay net that holds a large amount of hay with small holes and that will also last more than a few months. I have only had the SmartPak nets for a month but so far I am very pleased. The size is perfect, the holes are small, but not too small, and the material seems to be quality. I definitely recommend these nets.
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not For Me I am a happy Smartpak customer, but I unfortunately this haynet is not for me. It was too long for my tastes as I prefer a wider rather than a tall net, and I did not like the feel of the material- too slick. I chose to return them rather than try them on my horses to see what they thought (they sometimes have different opinions about things than I do). I use haynets daily, and I really want something I enjoy using.
    Date published: 2017-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and does the job I got these for my 3 geldings and after you have used them it gets easier to load. I fill them up and it lasts them all day on my 12 hour work days!
    Date published: 2017-03-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother These bag holes are NOT 3.5 cm's big. They are 3.5 INCHES. If you are looking to buy small hole slow feed bags, these are not them. I ordered them because I thought they were going to be smaller than the typical slow feed bags and now I have to eat the cost to ship them back.
    Date published: 2017-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid bag I bought this to hang in a stall to reduce waste. Fits the need. Do wish it had a solid ring at the bottom
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Use for my over eater but notice it keeps the youngsters occupied.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! I purchased four of these nets for daily use. I was skeptical when I first saw the net material and concerned that it would easily weather and become brittle. After 2 months of daily, outdoor use the nets are in the same condition as they came. They have held up to naughty ponies and the crazy Maryland weather so far.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed review I'm a haybag addict and this one was on special. It's overall great but the cord is way too long in my opinion so its one of my more difficult one's to secure since I knot them and attach to a snap. That's my only criticism.
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this hay net for my horse who is on stall rest due to an injury. I'm not a huge fan of hay nets, but that is because in the past I have paid $40+ to quickly learn that the horses have managed to pull them apart. This hay net is fairly easy to load, holds a sufficient amount per horse, and HOLDS UP! So far, no destruction and it does it's job by allowing the horse to slowly feed. Another advantage is that there is less waste - less mess! I purchased a second one so that both horses have one now. I plan to purchase more when they are on sale.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Good product but I needed smaller holes for my horse
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haybags Bought my second slow feed hay net. Made my barn chores so much easier! User friendly. Fills easily and Made well. My horse, goats and donkey can throw it around and stays secure on hook. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_506
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders