Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad

SmartPak
- Item #19504

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Perfect for schooling. 

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight
  • Breathable
  • Quilted

Poly/cotton blend.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

21 ¾" spine x 20" drop.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad is rated 4.6734 out of 5 by 199.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price! I have four or five of these pads and really enjoy them. I so appreciate having a professional looking pad that isn't expensive. I recently gave a monogrammed one to a student and she loves it. Her comment was that the burgundy was "the perfect shade!".
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful saddle pad Nice saddle pad with beautiful embroidery. Great price too!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit Great pad fits every horse and looks great with the monogram for horseshows.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, good value Gorgeous, well made for the price. Thicker than a baby pad and shaped but not as thick as traditional pads. Love it!
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from besthorse106 I bought this a month ago and i love it so much.I love how it looks!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Decent square pad; I mostly appreciate that it has girth loops but doesn't have the Velcro keepers that end up getting cut off later.The optional monogram did strike me as relatively small in proportion to the pad, but I ordered online and took my chances. NBD.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality but not the best fit for us A really nice quality baby pad at great price! It has washed beautifully and comes out sparkling white with a little non-chlorine bleach and doesn't seem to wear much in the wash. Dries fast and good moisture wicking. Just didn't fit my 17hh Thoroughbred well--he widens out so quickly in his back that the bottom edge of the pad becomes diagonal. Perfectly functional, just looks goofy.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! It shipped fast and looked just as I wanted it! The saddle pad was a present and the person loved it!!
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for price I bought this pad with the added embroidery as a gift, and it turned out great! The navy trim perfectly matches the navy embroidery. Both my mom and I have been using these pads for about a year now, and they've only started to pill a bit recently due to frequent washing. Otherwise, great weight and durability!
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Style and price suits purpose. Bought this under a month ago for a gift, Monogram came out well. Basically it will be used for Schooling and normal barn wear on pony.
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value, I now own 3 of these pads, and I absolutely love them! I use them under my half pad, so I needed something without billet straps. This pad is perfect. And I'm so thankful SmartPak had the thought to shape the spine of the pad to fit the horse! I no longer have to annoyingly "pull up" the pad to the pommel like I do with pads from other companies. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SP lite saddle pad Great saddle pad for a great price, the embroidery is always very well done
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This is my third time purchasing this pad. Not because the others fell apart but because I love them and just like to have a variety. Love them. They hold up perfectly and are great looking. I use mine for schooling and showing.
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for showing This time I bought 4 in different colors, these are low cost really good saddle pads that I use for showing my horses, and I match the border with the ear bonnet for a clean, sharp look.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Affordable Pad Really well made, wash up great, lovely colors. I'm just bummed the wither isn't cut higher for my shark-fin withered horse.
    Date published: 2015-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I got the purple trim and chose monogramming in purple thread and it's a perfect color match! The pad is very nice quality and looks great on my horse. Washes up well and doesn't shift under the saddle even though I don't use the girth straps. I love that it doesn't come with billet straps as I tend to just cut those off my pads, only using the girth straps if I need to keep it in place. Love this pad, and plan to get another one for my other horse soon.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my personalized pads! I just got my 2nd monogrammed saddle pad; they're great! It is so helpful for my lesson students to see the horse's name on the pad.
    Date published: 2015-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fitting pad I bought this pad about a month ago, and have been pleased. It's attractive and fits my jumping saddle well (devoucoux mono flap 17.5").It is holding up well and does bunch or ride even when jumping or going cross country. I'll probably a couple more!
    Date published: 2015-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I bought this to use during the hot time of the year. Used it during a Combined Test -- it was very warm out -- and it looked very nice - clean and correct. Good value!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from for the price, can't be beat! I typically only use Ogilvy baby pads, but was looking for a less expensive customizable option. I purchased one Smartpak Lite AP pad, and was very pleased with the quality; I have since purchased 4 more. The pad stays put; even in sweaty summer conditions. The pad is durable, has not shown any signs of wear or tear despite frequent use. I have washed the pad numerous times, and it comes out nice and clean. There are fewer custom choices compared to Ogilvy, but if you are looking for a less expensive everyday baby pad, this is a great option!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the money Can't say enough good things. Love it. Cleans up perfectly, like new. Got white with teal and it's so cute. Thanks, smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad What you see is what you get with this one it's quality made and washes well I have at least three and use them all the time
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Smartpak Good utility product and looks super nice embroidered !
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price, great quality Great price, great quality. Perfect schooling square
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for the price They did a great job matching the thread color to the piping for my friend's birthday. Unfortunately, the pad is a little short for her 17" close contact saddle, she still uses it and loves it, because she uses a half pad with it, so the saddle does not sit directly on her horse's back, but for those who don't use half pads, this is probably not a good idea unless you have a small saddle.
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, great service A good looking, quality pad at a great price; great service adds to the positive experience.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little pad! I love that it doesn't have the billet straps, and it comes in fun colors (I got the grey-trimmed one). I wish it were a tad deeper. Fits my all-purpose saddle just fine, but it's a little small and disappears a bit under my thinline half pad and saddle. Would definitely get more though!
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle Pad I bought this saddle pad a while ago and it is so great! It fits really well on my 16.2hh thoroughbred. It looks so cute and has very good stitching. The colors are very vibrant and are just as bright after multiple uses and washes!
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice cheap pad I bought this as an all purpose pad for showing hunter. It looks nice and worked well. There are no keepers for billets on the sides but that didn't seem to matter.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Updated review Here is what I had to say about this saddle pad before a wash:I was quite impressed when I received this pad in the mail, I was expecting it to be much thicker but I'm really happy with how it is. I use this pad with a half pad so I was very happy to find out that it is thinner than I expected. I wish this pad was an inch longer as the back of my half pad sticks out a bit but that is just me being picky. I also wish the pad came in different base colours as the white gets very dirty, I have yet to wash it so I don't quite know how it will hold up after a wash. I was a tad sceptical about how the pad will stay in place without the billet straps, but I must say that I am very impressed. After a really good jump school in really hot weather, the pad didn't move and inch and I will definitely buying and all white one for shows!UPDATE REVIEW:I washed the pad once for a small schooling show. I washed it on a delicate cycle and i used oxiclean on the really badly stained parts. I took it out of the washer and let it air dry, after some inspection I noticed that near the back corner the stitching has completely came undone as well as the stitching holding the girth strap has disintegrated. I really wish this pad held up in the wash and I hope smartpak finds a way to use thicker and stronger thread for the quilted pattern
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    • 2016-02-07T15:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_187
    • loc_en_US, sid_9504, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.