Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad

- Item #19504
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Perfect for schooling. 

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight
  • Breathable
  • Quilted

Poly/cotton blend.

Sizing It Up

21 ¾" spine x 20" drop.

Customers Also Shopped For
For jumping or flat work. Easy-Change Gullet System ...
For jumping or flat work. Easy-Change Gullet System adjusts to fit horse's withers. Handcrafted in Easy-Ride Pre-Treated leather, soSoft and pliable it is preferred by most riders and feels instantly broken in. Remarkably detailed contrast stitching and stained edges. Medium ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. Opening at withers relieves saddle pressure and improve saddle fit. 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Wither Relief Half Pad absorbs ...
A timeless classic with unsurpassed comfort and quality, ...
A timeless classic with unsurpassed comfort and quality, Dansko Professional Clogs are long favored by professionals who spend long hours on their feet. These Dansko clogs' patented construction even carry the seal of acceptance from the American Podiatric Medical Association. ...
The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing ...
The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber. This saddle pad effectively warms up your horse prior to work and helps keep muscles loose and supple. It also promotes an accelerated recovery time ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Carefully designed and manufactured to our own specifications and available exclusively at SmartPak. Extra fine stitching and supple rich leather finished with ...
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer ...
Please note, this item is on temporary manufacturer backorder. 42" wide Wooden Blanket Rack is made with sturdy oak finished dowels and durable 1 1/2" web straps. Strong and large enough for full size blanket, rug or saddle pad storage. ...
out of 5
96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad is rated 4.687022900763359 out of 5 by 262.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this saddle pad as a gift for my niece during SmartPak's 25% off SmartPak brand items sale. As with all SmartPak brand items the quality is great and I couldn't beat the price (even at full price its a good deal). I also like that the pad is light and dries out easily. I'm planning to get another for myself soon.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I got this saddle pad for a great price with SmartPak's 25% off SmartPak brand items sale and a free embroidery code, but I would definitely pay full price for it. I chose gray piping with a pink monogram and it came out to be super cute! This is a thinner pad but still plenty of cushion under my saddle and Thinline half pad. Nice, bright white. I've gotten lots of complements on this pad.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So versatile! I got this a little over a month ago and it has worked beautifully in both the show and schooling rings. Since it is a very plain saddle pad it gives you lots of room for embroidery (which is what I did with mine).
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad, though a little stiff This is a great pad for schooling or even some shows. My only complaint is the fabric is stiffer so it sometimes doesn't lay well on the horse. But that's just nitpicky, and it's a great pad for the money.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted. The pink is a little darker than in the picture but it's a really pretty pink. The pad is of really good quality. I got it monogrammed and it seems like it is a really good quality embroidering, I don't know much about embroidering though. Would highly recommend for a show pad!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these pads I am admittedly addicted to buying my horses stuff - and I love these pads I can get them new pads economically and they hold up beautifully to washing them them - I also had them embroidered which turned out gorgeous! Thank you
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect pad! I just received this pad a few weeks ago and I am IN LOVE with it! I ordered 3 of them (gray, burgundy, and hunter green) each with a matching monogram. These pads are a great quality at a perfect price!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for schooling Love how well this pad washes and it is a great size
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pad This pad is everything I look for in a pad:* It isn't stiff (crams nicely into my washing machine)* It is the right size under the saddle* No billet loops (you know you usually cut them off anyway)* Fun piping lets you personalize while maintaining a classic look* Great value for moneySeriously...what more could you possibly want out of a pad?
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty for VERY light use I ordered 2 of these for a show with the embroidery. I was thrilled they came in a week just in time for the show and they looked pretty good. The stitching was a little smaller than expected, I would probably go with a different script now knowing how small they came out. I was disappointed after the first wash to see the stitching coming out at the seam and on the 2nd wash they are pilling. I only use these for shows and wash them right away to keep them nice and white, I wouldn't recommend them for everyday use as they'll be pretty beat up quickly.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! Great pad for the money. I always cut the keepers off anyway, so this is perfect! I like that it is a nice cross between a thin baby pad and a thick fluffy bad that creates too much bunk. It's just thick enough to protect my half pad, but not too thick to affect saddle fit.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily my favorite saddle pad! I love how lightweight and breathable this pad is. It is perfect for schooling and jumper shows, especially in warmer climates. I ride in a 17" forward flap County Solution saddle and it has been fairly difficult to find lightweight pads that fit properly, but this one definitely does the job. Even better, the contoured shape takes pressure off my horses' withers and the fit is perfect for them. I like it so much, I bought three more in different colors. They have held up very well, too. I'm impressed that they haven't faded or shrunk after heavy use and near-daily washing. This is my new go-to saddle pad for daily use. Love it!
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, awesome pads These are perfect for a nice summer schooling saddle pad. They are even nice enough, you can use them for local shows, which I did a few weeks ago and it looked great! The lack of billet straps is also really nice for those of us that have stopped using them even if your saddle pad has them. Very clean-cut and nice saddle pad. And I love that they come in several trim colors, so you get a pop of color without it being overwhelming.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, fits nicely This pad is lightweight and great for schooling. I especially love how good quality it is without any weight during our exceptionally hot summers here in SC. Got mine with initials embroidered on the side and they look great. Also fits very nicely under my saddle and riser pad. Will order again.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic pad! Love the shape and quality of this pad! Got it embroidered with my barn name and it shipped very quickly. Great pad fir the price.
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I bought this pad and had it embroidered for my daughter's birthday. Not only was I happy with the work but it was done and shipped so fast! Will definitely be ordering more custom embroidered stuff!!!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pad Really a great pad for the price, lots of options available and it holds up nicely. Also looks great with embroidery!
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite saddle pads Absolutely love these little schooling pads! I have a few of them, and the last one I purchased, I had monogrammed. It came out exactly how I wanted. These are a great weight for any riding weather, they have a very nice top line to them, and they stay secure under the saddle. They also stay nice after washing them multiple times!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pad for cheap price Love this saddle pad!! Extremely durable and fits well. 100% would recommend this product!!
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Got this for a gift for a lady at my barn and she loves it. I monogrammed it and it came in a timely manner and looks so cute. It's held up pretty well that I can see and she loved it!
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This is an awesome saddle pad, looks chic, lasts a long time, and comes at a great price.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This pad is lovely. I was concerned about previous reviews showing imperfections in the stitching, but mine was perfect, arrived quickly, and the monogramming is lovely. I like the thickness of this pad. I prefer very thin pads and a half pad and this is perfect for that.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I love this pad! It looks great on my horse and I've had it for a couple months, use it almost every time I ride and it's holds up great!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price! Fits well and washes will
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, on the small side Good product for the price, the size is a bit small though for an AP pad. It could be a few inches longer. The embroidery turned out great though and it's very lightweight.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality, great price! I just got this pad because of the deal on embroidery and needed a plain show pad. I was worried it might be thin or of cheap quality because it such a great price but I was thrilled to have gotten an great quality pad with beautiful spot on customization. The only down fall to this pad is that it barely fits under my 17 inch saddle. Its beautiful but just almost really close to too small.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to pad! I love these! The perfect schooling lad that I don't even need to snip those darn billet keepers off of! I do wish it came in plain white, by I had a little fun when they had the free embroidery promo and got a couple fun color piping. Fits great even with my half pad!
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I haven't used this pad yet - but am delighted with this purchase decision. Not only was it affordable, but the quality is great!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Gift I bought this as a graduation present for a student. I had it monogrammed when the monograms were free and matched the trim color to the monogram. As always, it arrived quickly - and she was Thrilled. Good Job Smartpak
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice schooling pas I bought this to use on my very wide draft pony . The saddle would slide with thicker pads so this one has been such a help. It fits very nicely on him.
Date published: 2016-05-19
  • 2016-10-25T12:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_245
  • loc_en_US, sid_9504, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders