Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad

SmartPak
- Item #19504
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Perfect for schooling. 

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight
  • Breathable
  • Quilted

Poly/cotton blend.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

21 ¾" spine x 20" drop.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad is rated 4.6871 out of 5 by 147.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice size pad for H/J saddle Got the free monogramming - pad looks nice and is the right size, not toobig, not too small. I also like the thickness. Will likely buy a few more in the future.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect price and Quality Love the look and proportions of this pad. So far it is very durable and cleans up easily with bleach. Not thrilled that the Engraving I got on it was only placed on one side. Would have appreciated it on both for the price. That is personal preference though. Definitely going to buy more in the future.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this I bought this for my horse because we are going through a purple phase at the moment. The quality is fantastic!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saddle pads Affordable clean cut pads I use for schooling but will use in the show ring as well.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never buying anything else These pads are simply perfect! No annoying velcro straps, always stay in place, perfect thickness between a baby pad and an all purpose. The colors always look great, and with a monogram they look super elegant. Perfect for schooling or small shows.I hope more colors are released, maybe with a different base color other than white.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great simple pad I really like this pad for every day use, and I will likely be ordering more for schooling. It doesn't slip, is a nice weight and size, and looks stylish - especially with the monogramming.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Saddle Pad Very pretty saddle pad! I was very impressed with the quality for an affordable price and with a monogram it looked super sharp. I got this as a present for my friend and she loves it and uses it often! The hunter green looks great on chestnuts (no big surprise there!). I like that there aren't those annoying velcro tabs (which I always end up cutting off on other saddle pads). I will definitely look to this pad whenever I need to get another saddle pad! Would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Found I have been looking for this weight pad to use under fleece, to keep the fleece cleaner, under bareback pads, and alone. I have several and wash them almost every time they are used. Gradually, they are wearing out. The two I purchased are the first I have found that are just right, appear to be going to last well, and are a reasonable price. I am going to order more!
    Date published: 2015-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! I absolutely LOVE this AP pad!! I got it with embroidery of my mare's name and the derby jumper in royal blue. It came out so nice that my trainer actually stopped mid-sentence to say "Wow, I LOVE that pad!" It's thick enough without being too thick to use with her Thinline pad. The quilting is soft and the edges aren't raised where it would cause pressure on my mare's skin, which is a big concern due to her sensitive skin. It could be just a hair longer due to being used with an 18" saddle, but it still fits well. Love it!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Cheap pad but made well. Love the fit and will most likely order again!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the embroidery Everyone on my team has one of these pads! I had to get one! They come in maroon which is perfect because that's out teams colors. Plus it's even more perfect with my teams name and my name plus the eventer logo! Overall love this pad! Perfect!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad I bought four of them and really like them all.. Would recommend..
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle pad I love that the pad is contoured so that it doesn't rest on my horses withers. Quality saddle pad!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality for price for the price of this pad, the quality is very good. holds up to washing without loosing shape or size.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Pads! I got a few of these pads for the girls that ride with me. I had them embroidered and they look fabulous. The pads fit the horses very well, the contoured topline is wonderful. I believe they are a great light-weight pad and should wash easily.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect schooling pad I was skeptical of getting this pad because, 1) it was lite and I was afraid I'd need an extra pad under it and 2) its missing the key feature of an extra strap at the front. HOWEVER I was incredibly impressed. The pad was thick enough for me to not need an extra pad underneath and it actually does not slip around. I tested it in a lesson where my trainer had me doing grids and it barely budged! I bought it for a clinic and I'll definitely be using it then, and many more times afterwards. It also fit my saddle pretty well, and I ride in an HDR close contact with an 18.5 seat.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! Every time I need a saddle pad, I buy one of these. The price is great, they hold up well, they launder well. Hard to beat!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE the embroidery!!! I purchased this pad as a gift for the young lady leasing my horse. I decided to get a customized schooling pad for her, and after looking at my options I got just her first name embroidered. I was, admittedly, a little apprehensive, as it appears most of the custom work is done with both a graphic and text, but I just wanted her first name with no graphic. I was worried that her name wouldn't be centered as nicely without the graphic and it might be too small. Boy, was I wrong!!!!! They're clearly no spring chickens, the folk(s) who did the sewing. It's PERFECT! Nice, clean, bold, centered. My OCD was tickled to death when I saw the job. The pad itself is very light and breathable (exactly what I wanted) and is of excellent quality. I will be buying more for my friends and myself.
    Date published: 2015-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done! Ordered for my daughter for Christmas and she loved it. The monogram was nicely done and the product is well made. Great price too.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect light pad! So many baby pads are too thin and my horse ends up sweating through to the half pad, others are much to thick and cause fitment issues. These are perfect! Smartpak hit the nail on the head with these!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saddle pad I LOVE these pads. So light. They are very durable and wash well.
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from new favorite saddle pads I love these! They're the perfect size and shape for my saddle, and don't seem to collect hair like my other pads. And no billet straps are a plus for me, since I don't like them anyway.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive and well done I had the opportunity to take advantage of SmartPaks low SmartPerks discount and the free embroidery on this pad. I put our mares name and breed logo and chose the royal blue border and red embroidery ... looks very nice and it's in my daughter's preferred color combo, red white and blue. Thanks SmartPaks for this lovely pad. Since I'm familiar with the pads and they are great, the embroidery was the icing on the cake!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely pad I purchased this pad for schooling. It is well constructed and the perfect thickness for a well-fitted saddle. The pad does not have the billet tabs, but it pad stays in place nicely under my custom fit saddle. It slides back under my slightly narrow saddle. Great pad for a great price. I am always pleased with Smartpak products. If it came in more solid colors, I would buy one of each!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Lightweight, easy to clean, great fit, doesn't slip, and durable.Love the different trim colors.I have three, one of which with embroidery, which of course turned out beautifully.Thank you smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love! This is my 2nd pad with a different monogram but I love both of them! And the embroidery is amazing! Can't wait to show in it next week!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality and Very Affordable! This saddle pad fits my 18" Tad Coffin saddle and my 17 hand Selle Francais (who's built like a tank) perfectly! I was a bit worried the material may be to heavy for use in Florida, but that is not the case, it is quite light weight and not at all stiff either! While it does get quite dirty on the underneath after about a week of daily use, you'd never know it after a quick trip through the washing machine. I've been riding in this saddle pad almost daily for about a month now and washing it about once a week or once every other week and it still looks and feels brand new. I actually just bought another, this time with my horse's name on it. I'd definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year old and still going strong Purchased 4 of these pads a year ago and they still look fantastic. I wash them with bleach and they hardly fade. They are lightweight and do not add bulk under my saddles. They look as if I spent far more money on them even after a year of use.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very slippery pads! I bought 4 of these pads (monogrammed) for my 3 show horses prior to the start of the show season. I haven't had any problems with the pads falling apart (like some of the other reviews mention), and they're absolutely lovely! They've washed up well and held up through a season's worth of use. But for some reason they slip on my big jumper to the point that I can't ride him in any of them. Doesn't matter if I add non-slip pads under and over the pad, the pad still slips back to the point that it hurts his withers and he starts reacting to it. I have never had a problem with any other saddle pads on this horse (though he is a TB with stereotypical TB withers), and was very surprised by how these pads move on him. They work fine on my other 2 show horses, but I won't be ordering more of this particular pad. And it's a shame because I love the shape and size and....well....really everything except for how slippery they are!
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! I've only used this pad a few times, but so far so good. It's very lightweight and thin, so it works great with my Mattes half pad. It is a little on the small side for my 17.5" monoflap jumping saddle, but that's okay. I do wish it came in base colors other than white because I would definitely buy like 4 more! I'm sure I'll be buying more in the near future though.[Excuse the dirt on the pad in this photo. White pads are hard to keep clean. ;) ]
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    • 2015-05-26T09:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_137
    • loc_en_US, sid_9504, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.