Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16118
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An everyday favorite! Easy care (100% washable!) and quality construction.

Equifleece lined for chafeless comfort, a favorite for both schooling and showing. Elastic on both ends to equalize girth pressure. Stainless steel roller buckles. Nylon reinforcements.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth is rated 4.6811 out of 5 by 185.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need to change the buckles! I have three of these girths, one older and two newer ones. It washes great and works great for everyday use. My only problem is the buckles on the newer ones have started rusting where as the older one has not and all three sit in an air conditioned tack room together. Smartpak must have changed the material used for the buckles.
    Date published: 2014-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice girth for the price I bought this to replace an similar one that was too small. I like that it has a bit of elastic in it which makes it easier to put on. I haven't washed it yet so I can't say how well it will hold up to washing. The fleece seems to be reasonably thick, and the price was very reasonable.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth Easy to adjust for comfortable fit! like the fleece to prevent rubs.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value. Very nice girth for the money. Does shed a lot of fleece though when you clean it. This is the second one that I have bought because I like it so much.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, comfortable I bought a second one of these to keep in my show trunk. I also bought the SP Dri-Lex. (I like that one better.)
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for every day I've purchased the Smartpak fleece girth before & they're great for every day use and/or showing. This is my favorite girth because my saddle has long billets and there are extra loops to tuck the billets in. They wash and wear pretty well for the price!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the elastic I bought this girth about a year ago because it was cheap, but I keep going back to it because I believe my horse prefers it. The fleece is nice, but after a few months sort of mats down, I just try to brush it up after every use. The thing I think my horse likes is the very stretchy elastic. I have two other $200 leather girths, also with elastic, but they don't stretch as much. Excellent product, I'm getting another one.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth! This is a great girth. Like the fact that it has elastic on both sides to make adjustment much easier
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My new mare is extremely cinchy. I tried several different (mostly leather) options and this is so far the only one she'll tolerate. I like that there are elastic buckles on both sides for added comfort, that there are keepers for the straps, that it's washable and easy care, and that it's budget friendly!! I will be ordering more for my jumping saddle too.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best girth I have ever used. Had a fancy leather contour girth, but causing rub spots and sores. My horse immediately went better in this girth. I will say my saddle fits well, so I do not need a girth to help prevent saddle movement etc.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great girth! I bought this for a mare who tends to be very cinchy and she's doing great with this. Great quality for the price!
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality product for the price! I really liked this girth. It seems to be a great quality product and it has an affordable price. What I liked the most, compared to my old girth, is the elastics on both ends that makes it easy to adjust it on the horse and the multiple keeper loops to keep the billets nicely tucked in. Plus, the soft fleece provides my mare a comfortable ride and is rub free.
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Schooling Girth! I have had this girth for over a year now and I love it, it has held up really well to probably 40+ washes in the laundry, and several rides each week. I also have the lettia coolmax girth which did not hold up well at all. I plan on ordering another smartpak fleece girth to replace the lettia one in the near future. I use this girth mostly at home and at schooling shows. The extra billet strap holders are nice and keep my horse looking neat and presentable even just hacking around. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the price I needed a shorter girth for my monoflap jump saddle--this girth does the job at a great price. Like the double elastic and my horse seems to appreciate the soft fleece. Just wish it came in brown!
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a happy horse! I've had this girth for a few weeks now. I bought it to replace a neoprene girth that chaffed my TB gelding and made him cranky. Now he's happy! The elastic allows me to snug the girth enough to keep my saddle in place while allowing my horse to move and breathe easily. The fleece is soft and thick and provides the TLC my TB's delicate skin needs. I haven't laundered it yet, but the fleece responds to a firm brushing up from a stiff bristled brush. Perfect for every day use, and you can't beat the value for the price!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this as my first dressage girth. I really like it. It washes well. My horse seems to be comfortable in it. I like the elastic and fleece. I am sure it would be fine to show in but I plan to use it for everyday schooling. I really like the extra keepers to keep the billet straps held down as well. Great buy for a great price!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Looks nice enough to show with. My normally girthy horse is not with this girth. I think he finds it comfortable. I will be ordering another. Can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good girth, great price I love this girth. It looks nice and the fleece keeps my horse comfortable. No complaints, especially at this price point.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and Secure Needed a new girth. My trainer and others recommended this one and it's wonderful. Fits like a glove and I don't feel like I'm squeezing the breath out of my horse. The elastic allows him to breath and the fleece reduces girth rub. Easy to wash and dry. Very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth I bought this girth for my hard fit Arabian mare. I had tried may different styles of expensive girths, that all rubbed my horse raw. I finally went with this smartpak girth and have not had rub with this girth. I did get a second girth and changed it out after one year, as my horse is very sensitive. The price has gone up on this product and less expensive when I first purchased it. I will be getting another one, when this one wears out.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought a similar girth at three times the cost and I prefer this one.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Girth This is my second time purchasing this girth. i have one I use fir my mare and I recently bought a second one for another horse I am working with. The fit is great, it is easy to wash, and the price can't be beat. The padding is excellent as well! 
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent quality girth I bought this to replace an Ovation fleece dressage girth and the quality is at least as good or better than the Ovation.  Fits great and doesn't chafe a my thin skinned mare
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth! This is a great girth for schooling or showing. I got it for my new monoflap jump saddle, and needed to get a larger size to accommodate the shorter billets. Smartpak was great about the exchange! The girth looks great and my sensitive TB is very comfortable in it. Easy to clean too! I'm very happy with it, fantastic quality!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great girth. It even washes well and stands up to lots of use.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth! Great girth, especially for my sensitive OTTB. The girth seems plush, we'll see how it holds up after washings. Overall a great purchase! I'll be ordering a second one before next summer.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i was looking for New to dressage this girth is priced right and comfy for my mare. Ok to show in.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome girth This girth is really awesome, and fits true to size. I wasn't sure if it would, because I knew I needed either a 20 or 22, but the 22 is just fine! Love the fleece!!
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth for Sensitive Horses! I have one horse (the first in my life) that had seemed to get girth galls from every girth that I used. I purchased this girth, and no more galls! It is a bit narrower than other girths, so that might help out. Whatever it is, I really love it - and you can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth My first impression of this girth was it looks better than i thought. Nice roller buckles. The elastic makes for a nice even pressure. The fluffy fleece was comfy for my horse and dried quickly. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    • 2015-05-24T08:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_167
    • loc_en_US, sid_6118, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.