Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16118

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An everyday favorite! Easy care (100% washable!) and quality construction.

Equifleece lined for chafeless comfort, a favorite for both schooling and showing. Elastic on both ends to equalize girth pressure. Stainless steel roller buckles. Nylon reinforcements.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth is rated 4.6853 out of 5 by 197.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought this girth as I have another fleece one that is too small for the current horse I ride. This isn't exactly the same girth and not as soft, but it definitely is a nice quality for the money. I've used it 4x a week for a few weeks and its holding up nicely. I don't expect it to last forever at the price point though.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, very durable This is the 2nd of these girths that I have purchased for use with my english style bareback pad with dressage billets. The first one lasted me 3 years of use and abuse without very good care on my part, and still held up well and did not rub my horse. The faux fleece is durable, detachable and machine washable, something that I didn't take advantage of the first time I purchased. I will take better care of this new one, and my old one is still in fine shape as a backup and an extra.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better at this price! I purchased the SmartPak Fleece Dressage girth to go with my new saddle and I couldn't be happier. Although I have only been using it for a little over a month, it looks like it will hold up nicely. It looks great and my horse likes it too. I don't think you can go wrong with this one.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit, nice value This is my second fleece girth. My first has held up very well (I just wanted a spare). My horse has never had any rubbing or girth soreness and the girth stays true to size (doesn't stretch out of shape). Very nice value!!
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluffy I tried this girth out yesterday and it's the same stellar quality as SmartPak's regular English fleece girth. It fit well, looks good and seemed comfortable for my horse. I liked that it had straps to hold the billets in place on both the top and bottom of the buckle (I'm not a big dressage person - I don't know if this is common practice).
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Overall This is a good value on a fleece girth overall, but I found that my horse and I didn't care as much for the fleece version. If we go for fluffy, we will stick with sheepskin as a preference. But SP was great about this girth not working for us and we ended up buying the SP Breathable Contoured Dressage Girth -also a great value!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth at an Awesome Price This girth was on sale and very affordable. It looks very comfortable and matches my saddle nicely.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value The girth does run ~slightly~ large but I will keep the size I purchased since I'm hoping my 4 yo OTTB mare will her fill out and grow into it. There is a bit of excess material that extends above the buckles on each side so do account for that when determining which size to get. The roller buckles and double elastic on both ends of the girth makes tightening this girth easy. This girth is wearing well and my mare seems comfortable in it. The value for the price simply can't be beat.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Having excellent results with this Girth. Had tried many others and my horse was getting sores from rubbing. Switched to this girth and problem solved.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice This girth looks to be well made. It's soft and has not hurt my mare. Can't beat the price
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Quality, Great Price! This is the 2nd girth of this type I've ordered. The first one is 3+ years old and still looks new after a wash. Had to get a different size. I bought my first planning to upgrade in the future but the girth was so nice I never did. They clean up beautifully, last years and look sharp! Best SmartPak buy!!
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! Can't beat the price! Nice girth, good quality, ride in it everyday. Just runs a bit large, had to exchange for a smaller size but smartpak does free return shipping on sized items!
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth Got this girth on sale for only $19.99. Works great, seems nice and comfy, and my sometimes girthy mare seems to like it, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Girth Bought a new girth for my OTTB after recovering from surgery - even though he already had one of these, thought it would be nice to start new- and ended up with the wrong size (as he had put some weight on). Called Smartpak and asked if I could exchange for 1 size up and they even paid for return shipping!! Best customer service!! Love the girth too, no rubs and stays clean :)
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me This girth appeared to be very well made. However, once I saw it I knew it was not for me. I would not want to have to wash it to keep it clean.
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Mare! Bought this girth to replace my County Logic that was constantly leaving girth sores on my mare! First day I used it I could tell the difference. My mare seems very comfortable and doesn't pin her ears when saddling.
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great product. True to size, durable, easy to clean, economical
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the girth! I had been trying to find a girth that didn't cost a forturne and also pleased my very sensitive Paint mare. This one sure seems to be what I was looking for. My horse is happy, and I am very pleased with the quality and value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I tried alot of very expensive girths for my horse and she would sore with all of them. I finnally decided to buy a less expensive girth instead of a the more pricey ones I had been purchasing. This girth rarely if ever causes any problems for my mare. The price is awesome. This is the second girth of this kind I have purchases. This one is for my new saddle. I definately recomend these. Thank you smart pack for another great product!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Girth for the Money Works great and cleans easily. Horse seems to like it better than my leather girth.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Price I've been really happy with this girth. I wanted a low maintenance, low cost schooling girth and this fits the bill. The stitching seems solid and I've been impressed with the rollers on the buckles. Overall definitely worth the price!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Dressage Girth Love the girth, and the fact that it has elastic makes it even better. I've only used it a few times, so I can't rate it yet on durability. Actually, I liked the girth so much, I bought a similar SmartPak fleece girth for my close contact saddle. Love that one too!!
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fleece girths These girths are a great value. They seem to me to be comfortable for the horses. They are easy to work with and easy to clean. And the price is great!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth! This is my 2nd Smartpak Fleece Dressage girth. I loved the first and got a 2nd in a larger size so I can use it on more horses. They do stretch a little after using for a few weeks. It washes well, looks good, and I've very pleased to find this girth at such a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to clean! I have used the SmartPak fleece girths for my close contact saddles for a long time, so it was a no-brainer that I needed this girth when I switched to dressage.I love fleece because it's so easy to throw in the washing machine. I've never had a problem with my horse getting too hot. When he's hot, I actually prefer a little more padding under there to keep him from getting irritated.I'm one of the few people who has a brown dressage saddle, so my only request is that SmartPak make it in brown too!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great fleece product from SmartPak I recently got a new horse who is not only smaller than the horse I used to lease (meaning I'd have to get a new girth anyway) but who is also very girthy (ulcers are suspected though not yet diagnosed). I already have the SmartPak Fleece Wither Pad and was definitely impressed with the value, so I was confident that the fleece girth would also meet my needs. I was not disappointed! I was a little worried that the loops above the buckles would make it harder to tighten, but they don't- I find it just as easy to tighten as a girth without the loops. My horse is still girthy, but seems a little bit less so than with the girth I was borrowing before purchasing this one. I only wish it came in the same off-white color that the wither pad comes in, as my horse is off-white (well... cremello) and sheds all over it!
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fleece girth I recently bought this girth and love it!!! My trainer uses them and loves them as well. My horses all have sensitive skin and responded badly to my previous girth, put this one on and my APHA mare didn't kick at me...didn't even pin her ears back! I think the elastic plays a huge part..I would definitely buy this girth again!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have used this girth for at least two years now (?) and love it.I need a 20" size for my new horse and I wish it came smaller so I could buy another one.Great fit, doesn't slip and looks great. I highly suggest this girth.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal and quality! Wow what a great fleece dressage girth for an unbelievable price! It has 2 sets of keepers which is fantastic. I have not washed it yet, but it has held up with daily wear for the past several months. Will buy another very soon and will recommend!
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic girth for the price! I absolutely love this girth! You can't beat it for the price, and it's held up better than any other fleece girth I've owned.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    • 2016-02-10T15:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_178
    • loc_en_US, sid_6118, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.