Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat

Item #11971
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Some days even hardy dogs need a little extra warmth. Use our soft fleece coat alone or as a base layer under a second coat on extra-frigid days. Its VELCRO® Brand closure along with surcingle and chest closure offers easy on/off and adjustability.

Favorite Features

  • Machine washable
  • Shrink resistant

Imported

Sizing It Up

Small (13")
Medium (15")
Large (18")
X-Large (21")
XX-Large (24")
XXX-Large (27")

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat is rated 4.7535 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually fits! I bought this for my dog who is part pit-bull. In the past I have had a hard time finding coats that fit because he has a deep chest. However this one fit great. Looks like the quality is good and it should be plenty warm. Can't say about the durability yet, to early in the fall still.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for oddly shaped pets I bought this coat for my pug who has a very broad chest for his overall size. All coats and sweaters would either be too tight in the chest or too long. The straps are very adjustable and is made of quality material. I love the customization which was also high quality. I would recommend this to anyone - my dog stays warm with unrestricted movement.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak fleece dog coat This coat is excellent for cold weather. It's soft and keeps the heat inside. The closures keep the coat fitting right on the dogs body. I'm so happy I got this coat in time for cold weather.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Bought it a month ago holding up great!! Our dog stayed warm during the"polar vortex"!!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality I had to send this back due to it didn't fit my dog (way too big) but it was my mistake. Seemed to be a nice quality blanket and very soft! Wish it had fit!!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft, comfortable and warm and Cozy!!! We bought these for our 3 Jack Russell Terriers and they absolutely Love them they are soft and comfortable to them!!!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Coat With Horse Blanket Quality I bought a SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat for my daughter"s rescued pit bull puppy, almost 1 year old. I had no idea if he would tolerate wearing a coat since he had never had one on before. I measured him and ordered an XXL in hunter green with red trim. He is thin- skinned and cold even in the house during our PA winter. Well, it was easy to put on and adjust with the velcro, and he has not tried to chew or remove it, even if left unattended. I think he likes it, and he really does look handsome in it. Sort of like a tiny pony! I think the quality is good and the service at SmartPak is always excellent so I did not hesitate to order it from them. In fact, I have ordered the SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat for him for Christmas. This can go over it on really cold and/or wet days.  I do highly recommend the SmartPak Fleece Dog Coat based on our experience. experience.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and comfortable I have purchased a number of dog coats from Smart Pak and really like them. This one is a good one for when it is cold but not wet outside.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product awesome price bought this for our short haired dog to wear inside as our house is cool. we recieved the product and were very happy with the quality of the fleece. our dog loves it, and he stays warm even when he goes outside for his 10 -20 bathroom/ play break. And the price you cant beat it's a great product. I w[ill for sure order more. thank you for a great product at a great price.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy, perfect fit for the active winter dog!! I never write reviews but am so pleased with this coat for my German Shorthaired Pointer. She LOVES it and typically tries to destroy any coat I put on her. The weather in Northern Michigan during the winter can be brutal and very cold but she is as cozy and active as ever. Fits great, washes easily and she runs like the wind with it on. It moves with her and fits perfectly. She is on the small side for a GSP and the size XL was just right. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect coat for a barn dog Looks great, works well on rainy days, so durable!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for keeping Baylee warm! My Australian Cattle dog x rescue, Baylee, is originally from Georgia, so I wanted to get her something to help her get through our Minnesota winter. I had a couple SmartPak coats for my old dog but they were a bit big on Baylee, so she got her very own. She is very energetic and loves to run and I am so happy this blanket stayed in place on her, no problem, even when rolling in the snow.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality for the price I have a 140 lb bullmastiff and it fits easily on him. Reminds me of a nice horse sheet. Very comfortable for him to wear but it just isn't long enough for his big body. I ordered a XXXL and it doesn't go to his tail.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value My 13 year old Queens Heeler had shreaded a couple of doggie sweaters and several human t-shirts on the quest to find a jacket that would keep this old boy warm. Looking to my 30 year old horse that keeps a light blanket on in the winter. Despite laying down and rolling the horse blanket stays on. The dog blanket designed like a horse blanket caught my eye. The soft fabric feels good against Spike's old joints and the blanket stayed on in and out of the house. Washed up nicely too.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this! Glad I read others reviews & ordered a larger size for my male golden retriever, xxl just fits him & he's not a real big pup. Make sure to order a size larger then what you think you need. Otherwise it's very well made. I do like it...
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog coats I've found Purchased three dog coats all the largest sizeavailable. They material quality is excellent,and the workmanship flawless. I havent foundbetter dog coats anywhere. And yes I have already recommended SmartPak to my friends.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I ordered the same blanket in fleece for my dog and I loved the way it fit him. I saw this blanket was on sale too and decided that he could use a waterproof one for when it snows. It fits perfectly, I wouldn't change a thing about the blanket. It runs true in size, unlike a few other blankets that I have purchased.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far great! Fits perfectly, and is easy to put on and to remove. My older arthritic dog looks adorable in it and keeps warm in twenty degree weather. Haven't washed it yet but so far it's great.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best dog blanket i have tried! I have a 20lb mix dog who is hard to fit. however he is thin skinned and thin haired so he needs "cloths" when its cold out. So i decided to give the smartpak dog blankets a try (since i love there horse stuff). when i first got it it was a little big for him however I'm glad i kept it because he has grown into it just fine and the fact that the belly strap and chest straps can be "let out or pulled tighter" really helped. Ajax loves this coat and wears it all day long (in fact hes sitting here wearing it now). I also love how well it has held up! its almost 4 years old now! its been washed a million times wore to the barn and rolled around in outside. the only reason why i will have to buy him a new one soon is because he was playing with a puppy and the puppy tore 2 small holes in it. well worth the money and fits much better then the "pet store brands". I also really like the thineslate blanket for him too, he wears that over this blanket when its really cold (witch it gets here in IL) the thineslate blanket is also really water proof. best dog blankets!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm & comfy We use it under thinsulate coat, and its work just perfect
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my skinny mini warm! My only complaint is that the velco strap is a bit long, so it sticks up in the air. That being said, she's an active girl, and it has never come undone. (She's a mutt, but picture a whippet and you have her body type, guessing most wouldn't have this issue.)
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice & warm Very happy with this dog coat. Fits well, seems very well made. Jackson is very pleased with the monogramming.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dog is warm! My dog isn't fond of the snow, nor of wearing "clothes", but, he does not seem to mind this coat at all. It fits him perfectly and he comes in nice and dry after a walk. I just wish I had had it embroidered.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice coat I read all the reviews and saw that sizing is all over the place. I figured that was because dogs are all shaped differently. I got a size small for our rat terrier. She weighs 13 pounds and is 12 inches tall at the shoulder. Like many other reviewers noted, it sits up on her back allowing cold air in. That's because there are darts that are supposed to shape the coat to fall over her hips. However, the coat isn't long enough to do that so instead, the darts hold the coat up a bit. If I would have gotten a larger size, there wouldn't be enough velcro to attach it around her and a longer size would have also interfered with her tail--which stands straight up most of the time. Overall, it does seem to keep her warmer and I think it's a pretty nice coat. I also got the thinsulate outer coat and together, they are a nice warm combo. She looks darling in it. It reminds me of a miniature horse blanket. So cute.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from maybe not for little dogs? I ordered one for my JRT, who wears a small. The way the fabric worked out with the small s ize, all that shows of the Newmarket pattern is black stripes on the mustard background (no red), which really isn't all that attractive! (Unless you like the bumblebee look). Haven't used it, so won't rate it down, and am waiting for a response from Customer Service on whether an exchange might be worth it.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice blanket, but not for a slim dog We have a slim great dane, and while this blanket was a good length and fit her well in the chest, there was no way to secure it against her slim belly, so the entire blanket immediately twisted and hung off one side. If it had more straps it may have worked. I'm sure it would fit well on most dogs, but for one with a greyhound-type build, it will be too loose and floppy from the ribcage back to stay in place.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coat I ordered/purchased two of these coats for my two labs. the xl fit perfectly however the xxl which i purchased was way too large and fits very poorly. my two labs are nearly the same size, one is just a bit longer bodied. i love the xl, but the other is a poor fit and shifts too easily.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great fit! I bought this coat for my dog about a year ago and am very satisfied with my purchase. It is stylish, warm and durable, holding up to daily walks and runs through wooded paths. My only request would be additional color choices. I highly recommend this coat for your dog(s)!
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its like buying horse ... I bought this fleece for my dog this fall. It fits him perfect. I use this to take my Jack Russell mix on walks.This is perfect for the quick run outside.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Coat Bought one of these coats for my Terrier mix. It's a very nice, soft and cozy coat. Easy to put on and take off. Just thick enough! I ordered one more just like it for my Doberman and it fits her perfectly and looks great! Good Value. I highly recommend it. I found that it runs true to the chart sizing.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    • 2016-05-06T13:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_136
    • loc_en_US, sid_1971, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders