Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Fleece Cooler

SmartPak
- Item #13879
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This is a staple in our beautiful SmartPak Blanket collection. This piece does double duty! It can be used alone as a beautiful fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep your horse warm and snuggly. 

Favorite Features

  • Buckle front closure
  • One surcingle
  • Tail cord

Sizing It Up

Imported

Sizes: Small (70 - 72), Medium (74-76), Large (78-80) and XLarge (82 - 84)

How to measure a horse

Customers Also Shopped For
A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
Description:
A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over.Favorite Features Waterproof VELCRO brand and double buckle closure prevents ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand ...
Description:
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Ultra Cozi Turnout Blanket combines ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta ComFiTec Ultra Cozi Turnout Blanket combines everything you would want in a durable turnout blanket, comfort, fit, and technology! This turnout is made from extremely strong 1680 denier ballistic nylon outer shell with Teflon coating that is both ...
Big D quality and features in this top ...
Description:
Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
Top of the line features that no other ...
Description:
Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Favorite Feature Waterproof ...
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Fleece Cooler is rated 4.6923076923076925 out of 5 by 117.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made, looks great! I am very happy with this cooler. It fits my Spotted Saddle Horse gelding perfectly, and he can be hard to fit properly through the chest and withers.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I bought this and I'm so glad I did, I can now give my horse a bath on a cold day and he's dry in less than a hour.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I bought this cooler for my mare and I am so pleased with the quality! It has a good thickness and it fits her perfectly!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Looks great and fits well. Easy to put on and has a belly strap so I can leave it on when necessary
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality and very soft! Bought this cooler a couple of weeks ago and I love it. Being in Texas the winters are so crazy (warm then cold, then warm again!) We have to body clip our horses and the cooler is great to help after an evening ride. This one is super soft and the fit is fabulous. My horse is an 84" and the XL fits perfectly. I have washed it two times and it looks brand new still.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great I bought it a month ago but only used it once so far. It fits terrific though!
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice & cozy cooler I've only had a chance to use this cooler once since I received it, but look forward to using it again! I bought it primarily to throw on my boy after lessons that I trailer to and wear for the ride home. My big TB looks very handsome in it! I probably should have gotten a L instead of XL though. Although he's over 17h, it does hang off his butt some ;)
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice thick fleece cooler I really like the heavier weight of the fleece and the size small fits my 14.3 welsh/tb really well with or without the saddle underneath. The cooler is really nice quality and well made. The only thing that i don't like about the cooler is that it does not have a fleece patch up by the withers and does not have a seam running down the middle of the back so it can be very difficult to figure out which end is which when you pick the cooler up and unfold it. I didn't like the tail cord it came with so I bought a smaller clip on tail cord which makes it easier to figure out which end is which.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! This item is of good quality. Solid hardware and attractive styling/fit. Nylon lining in the shoulder area.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fleece Dress Sheets! I ordered two SmartPak fleece dress sheets in different sizes for my two horses. I got the large for my thoroughbred. He is 16 hands and not narrow. Still it fit him well across the chest and the length was a bit long without a saddle, but would be fine over tack. It looked very sharp (hunter green with red and white piping) on a chestnut. Just to see, I tried it on my warmblood and it was too tight across her chest, in fact, it was not close to even closing! Luckily I had read the reviews and ordered the extra large for her. She is also 16 hands, but broader with a large neck and chest. The extra large fit her perfectly, without pulling across the chest. (The navy with the white piping looked sharp on a bay.) I am so glad I purchased these fleece sheets as they seem to be well-made. The only drawback is that the buckle for the surcingle is plastic, so I will have to be careful it is not stepped on!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and cozy!! what a wonderful present for my horse, and timely! it's been in the teens here and it's been really nice to be able to throw this on Blanco while he cools down. we even throw this on our horses backs sometimes and gently walk around the arena to cool down in style and warmth. love it!!
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cooler! I purchased this for my first horse ever, Starscream. He has a blanket clip this cooler works great. I throw it on him when we are grazing outside after a ride or if we are just hanging out and he isn't even sweaty. It absorbs water excellently - we were actually outside just last night and it started randomly raining (Houston, TX checking in!) and when we went inside I pulled it off of him and he was completely dry! So not only does it absorb sweat, it apparently also works great if you get caught in a unexpected rain. I don't really get the tail cord, it's just a piece of rope that you can tie to either end of the blanket but we just took it off and don't use it.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall a great cooler! I use this to cool out after a hard ride when it's cold out, and this fleece wicks moisture away pretty efficiently while keeping my boy warm enough. It runs a tad large - some extra room at the shoulder and a little long, but he is on the slimmer side at the moment - but the fit doesn't interfere with its job. It's secure enough that I can layer it under a turnout blanket when it's cold. It does get a little staticky if you try to tug it off quickly, but if you remove it carefully it shouldn't be a problem.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I like the material and the finishing is well done I'm very satisfied with this purchase
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I've had this cooler for 2 weeks and so far, so good! Great fit, great quality and great look. I also got the embroidery do I know which fleece is mine. It looked great!
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice coolder Just bought this cooler in two sizes and so far I am very happy with them. They fit very nicely and stay in place well. The sizing does seem to be a bit on the small side though. I have warmbloods of varying sizes and would definitely recommend the XL for nearly all of them. A really nice cooler
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fit, only okay as a cooler I recently ordered this cooler as I live in a warmer climate but with a non-clipped horse. On chilly riding days, he gets quite sweaty and I thought this would be great to help dry his coat after such rides. The fit is fine - the SmartPak Deluxe blankets and this cooler are a really great fit on my horse. The cooler doesn't really seem to do much to help with drying so I'm a little disappointed with that since that is its purpose. Also, the monogram (my initials) was supposed to be on the left barrel. It really is over the left hip instead and looks really odd. Overall, not thrilled with this one. I do love the SP deluxe blankets but this cooler misses the mark.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago and haven't gotten to use it yet. However the quality is amazing for the price. I got an extra large for my 16.2 full bodied Quarter Horse. I had to make the belly strap as tight as it could go but the fit everywhere else is perfect. It will also be a great layering blanket for horse shows.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great I bought 2 for my big boys. You can see the moisture on the outside of the cooler, amazing!
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! I absolutely love this cooler! It is super quality and it nice to use every day or at horse shows. Size and colours were exactly how the website described. No complains about this product. Already recommended it to my coach and friends!!
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detail and price Bought for awards loved the value,detail and quality
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not meant for the long haul I bought this cooler for my mare, who is VERY easy on blankets, about a year and a half ago - excited to have found such a "great deal" on a cooler. Lesson learned. It has since lost it's tailcord (shredded at the pressure points), ripped inside on the nylon liner, and started to come apart at the "leather" (not real) piece that holds on the female end of the buckle. The belly band is also far too long, but that's not really been an issue.The fleece is also very thin, so if your horse is a blanket abuser, and you plan on letting them stand in this, you may want to steer away.I'll be purchasing a RAMBO or a Schneider's cooler when this falls apart this year.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I found these coolers I'm so happy I saw these coolers in the catalog. The price is great and the customer service was so friendly and cheerful. They fit our horses perfect and the small size fit's our large standard donkey really well too. Seriously a positive shopping experience buying these coolers. :-) Now the horses and donkey won't be chilled in the trailer after a ride. Thanks
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made This cooler has been a essential cooling off my little mare after workout. It is really well made. I pasture board, so she has a pretty good winter coat already.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and cosy I am pleased overall with this cooler. It fits well and has a closing under the belly which was important to me. The color combo ( green/ wine/ white) is very attractive. I only wish the embroidered name had been centeredbetter over the belly. Otherwise no complaints.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fleece The SmartPack Fleece Cooler is everything I expected and more... it keeps my horse warm on a chilly day and washes well.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic cooler! I bought this cooler a few weeks ago and absolutely love it! My monogram looks fantastic and I am very happy with the quality of the fabric. Wicks the moisture away quickly and fits my horse well!
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from innovative ideas I really like this cooler - works exactly the same as more expensive ones. I upgraded this cooler with a red&blue quilt (my mom in law helped a lot). The cooler looks even better!! :-) get the cooler and let your fantasy work :-) you can make any design you want on this cooler
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the SmartPak Fleece Cooler! Well made, ultra soft and great fit! Very happy with this product and so is our horse! He'll be cozy all winter in the cold of the Colorado mountains in his new fleece cooler...and so handsome!
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Bought as a gift for my daughters blue roan pony. We purchased the black w gray piping. Looks great on him and fits him well.
Date published: 2015-09-24
  • 2016-09-25T13:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_3879, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders