Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
    The Walsh Fancy Stitched Padded Halter is one ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Fancy Stitched Padded Halter is one of the nicest leather halters we have ever seen. The leather is of exceptional quality, and the stitching and workmanship is flawless.A halter for the horse who has everything!1" wide triple stitched, ...
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality ...
    Description:
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality halter at an everyday halter price that's built to fitstockier horses!Rockin' SP really is smarter gear for smarter riders. Each halter is handmade in the USA by skilled Amish craftsmanfrom the highest ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed,featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to ...
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate ...
    Description:
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate any horse's lookwhether it's just around the stable or at a show! The British Halter is made of English hand rubbed bridle leather in 1"two-ply leather for lasting durability.Havana leatherand white thread ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    The Walsh Signature Pony Halter, made especially for ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Signature Pony Halter, made especially for your little guy is seriously adorable! This 3/4" padded halter is made of the finest Havana leather and padded with your choice of high end garment leather.The white fancy stich on the ...
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.6602 out of 5 by 412.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this for a turnout halter! I don't typically use a turnout halter but I was moving my horse to a new place and needed a good one for a short time! It is well made and since its leather it would break if he got hung up. He has learned to immediately pop off a safety halter so those no longer work for me! Beautifully crafted! A very nice leather halter that is affordable!
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bet you can't find something better! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and I'm really glad I did! The leather was so soft and felt instantly broken in. Bought as a barn halter but decided because its so nice to keep it as a Travel/Show halter! One on the best halters I've ever bought, specially for the price!It does run big. I have a 17h Appendix Quarter horse with large jowls that normally wears a over sized Nylon halter on about the middle hole. I ordered this in a horse size (after reading reviews saying it ran big) and its on the smallest whole and fits about right.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I bought a horse size and it's really big! Our horse is 16 hands 1200 pounds. So I say buy the smaller size.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple nice leather In just a few days the name plate on it efficiently as ever it arrived !Easy and on time
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter I really wanted a nice leather halter that wasn't going to cost me and arm and a leg, I decided to get a name plate attached and it looks fantastic. I used a little oil just to help in break in and it looks amazing. For the price you get such an excellent halter that looks and feels like something that would be 200+
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought! I have the padded leather halter as my horse's everyday halter and bought this one as her hauling halter that I put fuzzies on to protect her face. I only oiled it twice before it was soft and ready to use. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was, and am happy with the purchase!
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quality halter! This is the nicest quality leather halter, especially in this price point. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got this halter as a gift for my birthday for my newly purchased horse. That was back in July and it still looks amazing even after everyday use. Leather is soft and supple and I get compliments on it all the time, it also is a great adjustable halter for my TB with a mammoth head. My halter has an engraved nameplate which I adore and is in great shape. Favorite halter, a must have.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent halter My mare is between sizes, the horse size was huge and the cob barely fits on the last hole. It's a decent halter so I kept it as a backup, but I wouldn't order again.
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchase this a couple months ago and am so happy with it! It did run a little big so I had to punch a new hole but aside from that this halter seems like it will last a while even stuck outside in the sun all day!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this halter recently, and the cob size fits my petite, 15'3" thoroughbred very well. Good quality leather. My only complaint is that the "brass" has started rubbing off the metal pieces after only one weekend of use at a show. I'm a bit surprised it didn't hold up better.
    Date published: 2015-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter about a month ago and I love it. The quality is very nice, not too stiff. Our horse looks fabulous!
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Handsome, quick turn-around and delivery! I bought this halter with a custom name plate for a beloved horse who works very hard at a therapy riding farm. Ordering online was easy and fast, and the turn-around and delivery only took one week -- very nice quality & quick service! Price was right on, too.
    Date published: 2015-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality purchased this halter for a gray horse- was worried it would stain his coat but it did not. The quality is very good and brass fittings look nice. Seems to run a bit large around the nose area (got a cob size for a 16h TB with a narrow face)
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good leather We ordered these halters as prizes for a horse show last minute. They are good quality and nice leather. Well made.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter!!! I bought this for my horse a couple days before an away show and I'm so glad I did. It's a beautiful quality for such a good price. My friend got the same halter and the only problem is it left a brown stain on her gray horse. But if you condition it first like I did you should have no problem.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I bought this, and had it engraved, and it came in three days! It was already oiled and the leather quality is perfect. It is super adjustable and fit my horses very small head with room to go even smaller. Really happy with this!!
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter! I love this halter. It was shipped quickly and came oiled! I bought the horse size and it fits a variety of horses at the barn. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality BUT sizing is off I bought this halter years ago for one of my other horses and while the leather quality is great the sizing is not so much. My old horse had the "horse" sizing halter and it was huge on him but usable so I just dealt with it. I have another horse now and got him a new one, knowing that the horse size was going to be too large surely the Cob would fit.... it did...barely. The horse size is on the top hole and the cob on the very bottom. I've kept it in hopes that with use it will stretch out some.
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter!! This halter is great! It comes out of the package ready to wear and breaks in within the first few days of wearing it. It hold up really well and I have no complaints! It is well worth the money and looks as good as more expensive halters!Great product SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big for my Quarter Horse This halter seemed well made, but was way too big for my quarter horse mare. (She's part Thoroughbred and doesn't have a tiny head). I had to send it back...
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made, perfect fit Leather soft right out of box. Looks as nice as my other horses that cost twice as much.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful every day halter. I bought this for an everyday halter and was pleased at the quality. It could easily be used at shows. It's holding up very well and still looks brand new after quite a lot of use.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price Nice quality leather and hardware. My draft cross sometimes takes an oversize but not this time. Really really big, especially the noseband. Will have to exchange.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good Quality. Well worth it. Engraving l looks awesome
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft leather I'm happy I bout this product not only did it fit great , leather was soft from the first use, and at great price
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking halter for the price! We have ordered this halter for both of our horses and it retains its good looks & quality over time.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well made I was pleasantly surprised in how well this is made. Very thick leather doubled and tripled. Since I am used to using rope halters, I can't say if they used the best quality hardware, but so far so good. The horse I purchased it for is almost 16 hands, with a very long body and large head. The regular (horse) size halter I had was too small for him. So I ordered the Oversized Draft halter. It is plenty big, but after punching a few more holes to take it up, if fits him just fine. Very pleased with the look of the name plate as well. Thank you again Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! Great Price! Speedy Service! I bought this halter on sale and snagged one for a friend's new horse as well. They fit great, they're a lovely leather, and I would buy them again!
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome halter I bought this halter for my mare to wear when we haul her to shows and off of our property. I love the engraving and she looks stunning in the dark colors. It really looks like I paid a TON of money for it! It's truly a wonderful product for the price you get it for. The only problem I had with it was the transfer of the color of the material on her fur. I would suggest wiping it down thoroughly before putting it on your horse. Otherwise, I always get tons of compliments whenever she wears it.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    • 2016-05-26T15:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_379
    • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders