Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
Description:
The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
Description:
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
The SmartPak Beta and CottonBreakaway Halter gives breakaway ...
Description:
The SmartPak Beta and CottonBreakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole look!Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient!Great for turnout and ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. ...
Description:
The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. This blanket has 300 grams of insulation, fur friendly taffeta lining, high bias surcingles, detachable elastic leg straps, faux beaver at the withers, surcingle front closure with elastic inserts and a detachable ...
The Fieldsafe Halter isdurable andhas VELCRO brand breaking ...
Description:
The Fieldsafe Halter isdurable andhas VELCRO brand breaking points that release at a given pressure. Favorite Features Made from a durable nylon Quick release cheek clip Adjustable noseband and crown piece Velcro breaking points that release when under a given ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.656324582338902 out of 5 by 419.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter I bought 2 halters a few months ago... It's beautiful and fits both of my horses great.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty Nice quality for the price. Just a little stiff upon arrival but softens with a conditioning. I read the other reviews about sizing and ordered a cob for my 1/2 Arab and it fit perfectly. The custom nameplate turned out beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picture doesn't do justice! Clean the leather before you put it on your white horse, as it does bleed. Other than that- the quality of the leather and the brass fittings are unmatched for the price. Great quality leather and buckles!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy but colors don't match The halter is well made and very sturdy. I was a bit disappointed because the cheek pieces don't match the rest of the halter - they are quite a bit lighter in color. Since the price was right and I bought it just for use around the barn, I am trying to oil it so that the colors match. Otherwise it fits great and I think it will last for a long time.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality! We have used this saddle pad for a month, and washed it numerous times. It is durable, keeps its color and will last a long time!
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Great, sturdy leather. I would choose this halter over most $80+ ones any day! It arrived within a week and I even got it personalized. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this for a turnout halter! I don't typically use a turnout halter but I was moving my horse to a new place and needed a good one for a short time! It is well made and since its leather it would break if he got hung up. He has learned to immediately pop off a safety halter so those no longer work for me! Beautifully crafted! A very nice leather halter that is affordable!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bet you can't find something better! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and I'm really glad I did! The leather was so soft and felt instantly broken in. Bought as a barn halter but decided because its so nice to keep it as a Travel/Show halter! One on the best halters I've ever bought, specially for the price!It does run big. I have a 17h Appendix Quarter horse with large jowls that normally wears a over sized Nylon halter on about the middle hole. I ordered this in a horse size (after reading reviews saying it ran big) and its on the smallest whole and fits about right.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I bought a horse size and it's really big! Our horse is 16 hands 1200 pounds. So I say buy the smaller size.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple nice leather In just a few days the name plate on it efficiently as ever it arrived !Easy and on time
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter I really wanted a nice leather halter that wasn't going to cost me and arm and a leg, I decided to get a name plate attached and it looks fantastic. I used a little oil just to help in break in and it looks amazing. For the price you get such an excellent halter that looks and feels like something that would be 200+
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought! I have the padded leather halter as my horse's everyday halter and bought this one as her hauling halter that I put fuzzies on to protect her face. I only oiled it twice before it was soft and ready to use. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was, and am happy with the purchase!
Date published: 2015-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quality halter! This is the nicest quality leather halter, especially in this price point. Definitely would recommend.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got this halter as a gift for my birthday for my newly purchased horse. That was back in July and it still looks amazing even after everyday use. Leather is soft and supple and I get compliments on it all the time, it also is a great adjustable halter for my TB with a mammoth head. My halter has an engraved nameplate which I adore and is in great shape. Favorite halter, a must have.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent halter My mare is between sizes, the horse size was huge and the cob barely fits on the last hole. It's a decent halter so I kept it as a backup, but I wouldn't order again.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchase this a couple months ago and am so happy with it! It did run a little big so I had to punch a new hole but aside from that this halter seems like it will last a while even stuck outside in the sun all day!
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this halter recently, and the cob size fits my petite, 15'3" thoroughbred very well. Good quality leather. My only complaint is that the "brass" has started rubbing off the metal pieces after only one weekend of use at a show. I'm a bit surprised it didn't hold up better.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter about a month ago and I love it. The quality is very nice, not too stiff. Our horse looks fabulous!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Handsome, quick turn-around and delivery! I bought this halter with a custom name plate for a beloved horse who works very hard at a therapy riding farm. Ordering online was easy and fast, and the turn-around and delivery only took one week -- very nice quality & quick service! Price was right on, too.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality purchased this halter for a gray horse- was worried it would stain his coat but it did not. The quality is very good and brass fittings look nice. Seems to run a bit large around the nose area (got a cob size for a 16h TB with a narrow face)
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good leather We ordered these halters as prizes for a horse show last minute. They are good quality and nice leather. Well made.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter!!! I bought this for my horse a couple days before an away show and I'm so glad I did. It's a beautiful quality for such a good price. My friend got the same halter and the only problem is it left a brown stain on her gray horse. But if you condition it first like I did you should have no problem.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I bought this, and had it engraved, and it came in three days! It was already oiled and the leather quality is perfect. It is super adjustable and fit my horses very small head with room to go even smaller. Really happy with this!!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter! I love this halter. It was shipped quickly and came oiled! I bought the horse size and it fits a variety of horses at the barn. Great purchase!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality BUT sizing is off I bought this halter years ago for one of my other horses and while the leather quality is great the sizing is not so much. My old horse had the "horse" sizing halter and it was huge on him but usable so I just dealt with it. I have another horse now and got him a new one, knowing that the horse size was going to be too large surely the Cob would fit.... it did...barely. The horse size is on the top hole and the cob on the very bottom. I've kept it in hopes that with use it will stretch out some.
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter!! This halter is great! It comes out of the package ready to wear and breaks in within the first few days of wearing it. It hold up really well and I have no complaints! It is well worth the money and looks as good as more expensive halters!Great product SmartPak!
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big for my Quarter Horse This halter seemed well made, but was way too big for my quarter horse mare. (She's part Thoroughbred and doesn't have a tiny head). I had to send it back...
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made, perfect fit Leather soft right out of box. Looks as nice as my other horses that cost twice as much.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful every day halter. I bought this for an everyday halter and was pleased at the quality. It could easily be used at shows. It's holding up very well and still looks brand new after quite a lot of use.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price Nice quality leather and hardware. My draft cross sometimes takes an oversize but not this time. Really really big, especially the noseband. Will have to exchange.
Date published: 2015-06-04
  • 2016-07-28T11:14CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_385
  • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders