Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.6607 out of 5 by 392.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good quality leather. poor engraving I bought this product and the halter is excellent. The engraving part was terribly done. It's to small
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product for price. Great halter. True to size. Soft, supple leather. The nameplate really classes it up.Looks good enough to be used for a show/shipping halter without spending a fortune.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a very nice turnout halter for the price and looks great with the added nameplate. I did find that is runs small. Originally ordered cob but had to return for horse. Couldn't even buckle the smaller sized to try on. And he is a cob size in most other things.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! This is a great halter. The leather is very supple and the brass name plate I had attached is beautiful (and so nice to have SmartPak attach it before sending!). Reno is Ranch Horse trained and this halter gives her a nice look without any bling. Just perfect!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a great halter for the price. I oiled it twice the first week, and that's all it needed. The leather was pretty supple right out of the box, but now is even better. My TB has a more petite head, so I ordered the cob size. It fits him really well!
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter I bought 2 halters a few months ago... It's beautiful and fits both of my horses great.
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty Nice quality for the price. Just a little stiff upon arrival but softens with a conditioning. I read the other reviews about sizing and ordered a cob for my 1/2 Arab and it fit perfectly. The custom nameplate turned out beautiful.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picture doesn't do justice! Clean the leather before you put it on your white horse, as it does bleed. Other than that- the quality of the leather and the brass fittings are unmatched for the price. Great quality leather and buckles!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy but colors don't match The halter is well made and very sturdy. I was a bit disappointed because the cheek pieces don't match the rest of the halter - they are quite a bit lighter in color. Since the price was right and I bought it just for use around the barn, I am trying to oil it so that the colors match. Otherwise it fits great and I think it will last for a long time.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality! We have used this saddle pad for a month, and washed it numerous times. It is durable, keeps its color and will last a long time!
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Great, sturdy leather. I would choose this halter over most $80+ ones any day! It arrived within a week and I even got it personalized. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this for a turnout halter! I don't typically use a turnout halter but I was moving my horse to a new place and needed a good one for a short time! It is well made and since its leather it would break if he got hung up. He has learned to immediately pop off a safety halter so those no longer work for me! Beautifully crafted! A very nice leather halter that is affordable!
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bet you can't find something better! I bought this halter a few weeks ago and I'm really glad I did! The leather was so soft and felt instantly broken in. Bought as a barn halter but decided because its so nice to keep it as a Travel/Show halter! One on the best halters I've ever bought, specially for the price!It does run big. I have a 17h Appendix Quarter horse with large jowls that normally wears a over sized Nylon halter on about the middle hole. I ordered this in a horse size (after reading reviews saying it ran big) and its on the smallest whole and fits about right.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I bought a horse size and it's really big! Our horse is 16 hands 1200 pounds. So I say buy the smaller size.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple nice leather In just a few days the name plate on it efficiently as ever it arrived !Easy and on time
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter I really wanted a nice leather halter that wasn't going to cost me and arm and a leg, I decided to get a name plate attached and it looks fantastic. I used a little oil just to help in break in and it looks amazing. For the price you get such an excellent halter that looks and feels like something that would be 200+
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought! I have the padded leather halter as my horse's everyday halter and bought this one as her hauling halter that I put fuzzies on to protect her face. I only oiled it twice before it was soft and ready to use. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was, and am happy with the purchase!
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quality halter! This is the nicest quality leather halter, especially in this price point. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I got this halter as a gift for my birthday for my newly purchased horse. That was back in July and it still looks amazing even after everyday use. Leather is soft and supple and I get compliments on it all the time, it also is a great adjustable halter for my TB with a mammoth head. My halter has an engraved nameplate which I adore and is in great shape. Favorite halter, a must have.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent halter My mare is between sizes, the horse size was huge and the cob barely fits on the last hole. It's a decent halter so I kept it as a backup, but I wouldn't order again.
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchase this a couple months ago and am so happy with it! It did run a little big so I had to punch a new hole but aside from that this halter seems like it will last a while even stuck outside in the sun all day!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this halter recently, and the cob size fits my petite, 15'3" thoroughbred very well. Good quality leather. My only complaint is that the "brass" has started rubbing off the metal pieces after only one weekend of use at a show. I'm a bit surprised it didn't hold up better.
    Date published: 2015-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter about a month ago and I love it. The quality is very nice, not too stiff. Our horse looks fabulous!
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Handsome, quick turn-around and delivery! I bought this halter with a custom name plate for a beloved horse who works very hard at a therapy riding farm. Ordering online was easy and fast, and the turn-around and delivery only took one week -- very nice quality & quick service! Price was right on, too.
    Date published: 2015-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality purchased this halter for a gray horse- was worried it would stain his coat but it did not. The quality is very good and brass fittings look nice. Seems to run a bit large around the nose area (got a cob size for a 16h TB with a narrow face)
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good leather We ordered these halters as prizes for a horse show last minute. They are good quality and nice leather. Well made.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter!!! I bought this for my horse a couple days before an away show and I'm so glad I did. It's a beautiful quality for such a good price. My friend got the same halter and the only problem is it left a brown stain on her gray horse. But if you condition it first like I did you should have no problem.
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! I bought this, and had it engraved, and it came in three days! It was already oiled and the leather quality is perfect. It is super adjustable and fit my horses very small head with room to go even smaller. Really happy with this!!
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter! I love this halter. It was shipped quickly and came oiled! I bought the horse size and it fits a variety of horses at the barn. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    • 2016-02-11T15:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_361
    • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.