Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite (no fill), med/light (100g) Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g), nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69"-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 292.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I am selling all my other blankets and switching to ONLY this blanket! I have all three weights. I have used this brand for 2 years now and the blankets still look new! Even in the very coldest days my horse is warm and dry. This fits my narrow shouldered horse vey well and does not rub as other blankets have done.
    Date published: 2015-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from blanket We brought this blanket after our horse destroyed the last one. The blanket was delivered in 2 days before the coldest winter ever. Our horse was happy and warm. The blanket fit well and moves with her.
    Date published: 2015-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, cozy, and no rubs! I bought my gelding a used Deluxe Blanket. He has problems with raw spots on his withers because he is an appendix and this blanket has good padding for him. Only a few tears in hind haunch area. Nice to have water proof material if he gets caught in rain! On cold days the medium weight is what he uses and it keeps him nice and toasty. He has the matching Deluxe Neck Rug which is also very nice and clips on easily! My gelding loves it!
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice I have this blanket in the high neck also, so it was a no-brainer to get this blanket for a second horse. The ONLY thing I don't like is the mesh lining. The high neck style is not like that. The mesh holds the blanket in place better, but you can't tug on it to fix it because the mesh grabs the hair.Overall I like the SmartPak blankets. They look nice and hold up nicely. This fits my stocky QH just fine with no rubs and lots of movement. Love the quick release snaps in front so I don't have to remove my gloves to take the blanket on/off.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to blanket! I bought two of these blankets for this winter season. My horse is terribly rough on blankets and after about one week she tore the piping out of the medium wight around the haunches. The tail flap looks a little sad now, but they have held up to all the antics shes put them through the rest of the season. Smartpak offered to pay for the fixing of the blanket, which makes them an even better place to shop!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from velcro wrong I bought a 72 inch for my 14.2 hand QH and it fits him very nicely. There is a velcro strip just under blanket in the chest area. Why would the velcro strips be sewn on perpendicular to each other? Makes no sense. Instead of 3 inches of stick-um, there is one square inch. Someone wasn't paying attention.
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chest Strap Issues on 2 Blankets I loved this blankets looks and ordered 2 for my thoroughbreds...one for a mare and one for a stallion....first night on the stallion the top chest strap unraveled and came off...returned it and had new one sent...less that a week later same thing happened to the new blanket and top strap is once again broken. The mares blanket I've had no issues with....I'm so disappointed that this blanket did not work well with my stallion...I wish they would change the strap design and have it as a regular buckle and not the snap on it has now......Smartpak has been extremely helpful in returns but I'm not a fan of washing and returning blankets and will most likely get a different blanket for next season
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I recently upgraded to this blanket and am very happy I did! I've only been using it for a couple of weeks, but it seems very durable.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit & unbeatable quality! I have the blanket/rug for another horse in the barn, and had a different company's brand for this horse...the quality & fit of this product are SO MUCH BETTER!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality blanket Been using this blanket for a few weeks. It is well made and fits my 15 hand hanovarian mare very well.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from true to fit. I have an atypical quarter horse, more the long body rather than bulky hind end, and this blanket fit her perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SP turnout blankets are the best out their ! One of the best blankets in the market and sp is the best co. To deal with . All of my boarders have the same blanket.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent fit and well made I have been struggling to find a heavy weight blanket to fit my growing 3 year old with breaking the bank. This blanket fits him very well and the quality is great. Love this blanket
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made, heavy duty hardware Have only had about 1 month but so far am very pleased. Easy to fasten at the chest, hardware seems sturdy, overall feels like a high quality product.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent turnout blanket I bought this a month ago for my 16YO OTTB. It fits him perfectly. Keeps him warm and looks great. Excellent quality.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality is in the details This blanket is true to size, fits great, and is complete with the easiest chest buckles. I love them. I had it embroidered with my farm name - complete quality there. I am impressed with the quality of stitching, overall appearance and durability. I have received many compliments at the barn. Great blanket. It is pricey, but any heavy turnout will be.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price My boy only goes out with one other horse and they like to rough house. Sadly he came in with a large L shaped rip from them nipping each other and I had to stitch the blanket back up. Also the white cording on the tail flap has started to bunch up. I really wish these blankets had the 10 year like the ultimate does, I would of bought the ultimate but it doesn't come in heavy weight. :( Overall, I still really like this blanket and the features it has.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I have used for 1 month blanket is excellant !!!!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from handsome! Very handsome, good fit, looks like it will hold up.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is one of the nicest blankets I've purchased. It has stayed amazingly clean. We just hit a particularly cold snap, and this blanket has kept our horse nice and warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mesh lining in the light weight I ordered this blanket in a 84 light weight for my 4 year old 16 hand quarter horse and I was a little disappointed when I opened up the packaging.. The description states that these blankets have nylon lining.. The light weight has MESH lining! I did not want mesh lining. I expected it to have nylon lining because I bought a SmartPak Classic turnout blanket 2 years ago in a smaller size and it has nylon lining. Other than the mesh lining.. This blanket is beautiful, I think it fits great, and it's very good quality. I love the quick-clip front closures for easy on and off.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality Blanket Extremely well made and durable. I have horses that are rough on their blankets and this one is holding up!!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket : DURABLE This is the second SP Turnout I have purchased, the quality is excellent and this balnket is durable. I have 2 horses that are turned out as they please, these blankets are warm, in particular I like the hood attachements that go with them, and I love the fact they have the leg straps that you can replace every year. they clean well and look good!!
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well constructed turnout I was happy with the construction of this turnout. It appears to be very sturdy. The shoulder gussets are substantial enough to allow full freedom of movement. I haven't had it long so can't speak to durability, but I expect it to hold up very well.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great waterproof turnout I bought this turnout with no fill to keep my pasture-boarded horse dry and relatively clean. I've had it for six weeks now and he's worn it pretty much 24/7 since there's been a lot of rain. He has always remained dry and clean under the sheet. Some rain will creep down his chest/shoulders, but that may be because I have it a little loose up front so it can go around his huge Norwegian Fjord neck comfortably.He has his own pasture so I don't know how the turnout would hold up with buddies biting at it, but it's a very tough material and I suspect it would take a lot of damage before tearing. The front snaps are really convenient as you can set the straps to the correct length, then just snap/unsnap them. I haven't had a problem with the sheet moving or slipping at all. Overall, I'm very happy and will likely purchase another so I can have a spare.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout is great Quality. As expected from SmartPak, they have done it again. The seams are strong. Buckles are tight. The weight is exactly as it was listed. This is my third horse wearing this. And the embroidery is beautiful.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I am really glad I made this purchase. I've been looking for a quality turnout and this is it.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from extra fill for warmth, easy close front, waterproo daughter is happy with blanket horse even happier because he needed a new one
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! My Morgan mare is 33 years old and I got the heavy blanket. It's extremely warm, very tough and has great features. I did not get the hood yet, but it's nice to know I can attach one whenever I want to!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice hardware I bought this a few weeks ago and I love the blanket, fits my thoroughbred great! Love that it has easy buckles and neck piece rings.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    • 2015-08-26T12:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_269
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.