Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite (no fill), med/light (100g) Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g), nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69"-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 292.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket, good price I actually wanted another blanket, but it was out of stock so I bought the SmartPak Deluxe turnout. It arrived exactly as described. I would say that it runs true to size. I like the fact that there are both buckles and clips on the front - it helps to keep it closed! So far, so good. I gave this product 4 stars b/c I've only had it for about a month, and I'm not sure how it will wear over time.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made turnout This was bought for my gelding who never needed to be blanketed before. Sizing was easy and it's upholding to the mud we have.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket!!! I love this blanket. It fits perfect and keeps my mare, Ally Cat, cozy warm. Remember to measure your horse. I ordered an inch bigger b/c she was a half size. I love the quick clips on the chest. The delivery was the exact day Smart Pak said the blanket would arrive. Thanks Smart Pak!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I ordered the lite in this blanket. I called to make sure the lining was nylon as stated in the product description. I was assured it was nylon, not mesh for the lite. I even double checked as there did seem to be some confusion. Of course when I received it, it was a mesh lining over the back with nylon on the sides. I have told smartpak to change the description, but they have not. it is a mesh lining - it may be nylon mesh, but it is NOT solid nylon and sending it back has taken a month. I think otherwise it looked like a very good sheet, but not as advertised.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I bought this blanket for my Arabian to wear for turnout. It fits him great and does not rub or shift. Make sure you get any embroidery on the belly strap and not the hip because any punctures in will compromise the waterproofing of the blanket. Overall great value for the money
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality! I am very satisfied with the quality of this product. I ordered one for each of my two horses and am very satisfied with the customer service I received.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket I'm in the market for new blankets for my horse this winter. I bought a SmartPak Classic blanket, which I love, so I thought I'd try a Deluxe because I also wanted a 1200D. While the Deluxe is a beautiful, well made blanket, it did not fit my horse. She has a very bony point of shoulder. If I adjusted the front to give her shoulder enough room, the blanket gaped away from her neck. If I adjusted it so that it fit along her neck, then it was too tight across her shoulder. Sadly I returned it. But this would be a great blanket for a horse with different conformation.
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This blanket has been great so far for my horse. I did have to exchange for a smaller size than what my horse ususally wears, but the smaller one fits him beautifully! He has pretty high withers, but most of the high neck ones I've tried in the past just end up rubbing his mane out. This blanket fits him great and doesn't do that at all! And the black looks beautiful on my (very white) grey horse!
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket for price Well made and quality hardware. Super blanket for the price !
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok extra to have in the barn I was looking for a rain sheet and heard good things about SmartPak blankets, so I decided on this one. It is ok, but does not wear as well as I would like. It is true to size. It looks like the perfect fit, but I've tried the front buckles in different adjustments and the blanket still slips back. It leaves leaving a mark around my pony's neck. It may just be the way she is built, but I am not sure I would get another one.Seems to be good quality, but I've only had the sheet about a month, so I can't speak to the durability.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love smartpak blankets! This is my third smartpak blanket (I have a classic style lightweight, and a heavy weight stable blanket). I've been impressed with the quality and fit of the other blankets. I've previously had other heavy weights twist and not stay put, but I've not had that problem at all with the Deluxe Heavy Weight turnout. Hood attaches nicely and I expect this to last awhile (I just want to add I have a mare who is not hard on blankets)
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket I've ordered a few of these blankets and as always this one was no disappointment. They are well built, extremely good fit on my multiple horses, and very good looking. I love SmartPak and buy nearly all of my stuff from them.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I have a 16.2 TB and it fits him perfectly. This is a very pretty blanket and very durable.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Love this blanket! Fit is great. Quality is great!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This is a nice fitting, good quality turnout! All the materials seem to be a good quality and it fits my very narrow TB well.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the value I bought an 81 for my 16'3" Westfalen. He has a broad chest and this blanket fits him great in the chest but is actually long for him (I didn't exchange because I needed to use ASAP and was afraid a size smaller would be too tight in the chest). This blanket is great value! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Love the tough construction in this blanket. Looks like it will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought this plus one more for both of my horses and they both fit great......
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and quality product I bought this for my large warmblood and it fit him great! You get a good quality product with durability to last through harsh winters.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I haven't been using this blanket long enough to speak about durability but so far, so good! It seems to be of great quality, it fits my horse well, and I love the velco and front clips. Will definitely be buying more Smartpak brand blankets in the future!
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This turnout fits my TB perfectly and looks so "Smart". I love the quick clip closure and Velcro in the front - so much easier than buckles!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I ordered this sheet (no fill) specifically because it advertised having the mesh lining. BUYER BEWARE - THIS SHEET DOES NOT HAVE MESH LINING.
    Date published: 2014-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This is a truly top-notch turnout. I have it in both the heavy and the light weight because it's such a good product. The quick clip front buckles are awesome without compromising fit and the waterproofing is great. After my horse comes in after a heavy rain I can literally just shake it off and it's dry. The blankets look great too - my trainer is quite content to let my horse wear them at shows!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket Fits my warmblood like thoroughbred very well. Hasn't been cold enough for him to wear out yet, the blanket is very well made. My horse tends to be hard to fit, so I am thankful for a good fit.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, sturdy and fits well. It hasn't been very cold yet, but my mare appreciates her new blanket already. I like the way it fits over the shoulders and has nice gussets so she can move her forelegs freely without rubs. I also like how this blanket comes down farther on the sides than many other blankets.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "must have!" As a first-time horse owner, I bought this as my mid weight turnout option. It's really well constructed, sturdy, and comfortable. Haven't had it long enough to know about durability over time, but so far it's a winner!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Price The Smart Pak Deluxe Turnout is very good quality. I like the adjust-ability of the front snaps. It fits my Perch/TB great and I love the colors. I have had this turnout for other horses in the past and they hold up great. And you can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from after about 5 years of use I bought many years ago. I USE this blanket-- I have a teenager who abuses this blanket. I used it on three different horses-- latest one just passed on so I thought it time to clean it. I camp ..monthly... rain, mud, snow, my horses love to lay down..roll in the their blankets-- so you might think this blanket is getting a bit beat. Well, it is ...was... very dirty. I took my heavy duty power washer to it. I think I am a bit OCD because I went over it many times. Frankly, it doesn't look BRAND new but, well darn close to it. I LOVE this blanket and if I needed another, I would't even go shopping, I would just go directly and buy another.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Durability In the beginning of the winter season, I purchased three of these blankets. A sheet, medium, and heavy (plus a hood). Unfortunately, the sheet tore in the back near the tail flap, and the piping started to unwind. In the medium weight, a hole started to form and one of the front clips became defective. In the heavy weight, the clip that attaches to the hood fell off and we had to send it back and purchase a new one immediately due to what a cold winter it was. Also, the hood tore in the inside. We sent that back as well with the heavy weight and received a new one. A month later, that hood ripped in the same spot and one of the velcro straps on the outside came off. Very disappointed in quality because it is such a great price. My horse isn't very rough on blankets, which proved to me that since they ripped, the quality really could have been better. Although I must say, the fit is great and they are very attractive blankets. I got many compliments on them this winter. And of course, Smartpak's customer service is one of the best around.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great fit, cheap hardware I bought two of these on sale last summer, a medium weight and a light weight. They are a perfect fit for my tall narrow thoroughbred. He wore them all winter with no rubs. He managed to put a huge rip in the medium weight by the end of the winter. What really bothers me though is the cheap front clips. They get bent and then they won't close properly. My other horse's Weatherbeeta has the same front design and those clips have lasted two seasons with no problem. I'd pay a few bucks extra for better hardware on the SmartPak blankets.I'll be replacing the ripped blanket with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout that comes with a 10 year guarantee. Unless your horse is very easy on his blankets I recommend spending extra for the Ultimate Turnout.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    • 2015-08-29T12:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_269
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.