Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17376

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite (no fill), med/light (100g) Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g), nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69"-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout is rated 4.5574 out of 5 by 366.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe turnout blanket . About to these blankets one per horse and one for a pony. They fit great and look great .
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought this blanket about a month ago and after just a few times wearing it the snap to one of the leg straps broke. I also have the SP mid weight and one of the chest snaps broke on that too (SP did replace). Overall a decent blanket but SP needs to improve the snaps/clips.
    Date published: 2015-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! I am so happy I tried out this blanket for my mare! She is a very stout short girl and after trying on just about every brand imaginable I was relieved this blanket actually fit in the chest/shoulder area. I bought the medium-weight and find it much heavier than other brands of the same gram fill. I do though wish the belly straps would go a bit shorter. Otherwise, it seems like a nice quality blanket.
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what our mare needed! Our aging mare needed a little extra warmth this winter and this blanket fit the bill! She is looking quite stylish out in the pasture!
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout! This is my second turnout blanket for my warmblood. Great quality, great fit and great look. Surcingle's are secure and easy to put on and take off. Great price ... This is a no brainier!
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheaply made Fit through shoulders was extremely tight even though the size was correct on a pony without exceptional conformation so I returned it, but it was not a hassle free return
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket ! Love this blanket ! Fits great .. Perfect lighter weight .. & I love the clip closure up front !
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket This blanket is of excellent quality. Looks great and colors are very nice. We are very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality! I purchased one just prior to winter, and when it arrived I was able to adjust it to fit my Arabian~thoroughbred beautifully, and it was made of tough material and so well-sewn with quality clasps, that I went right ahead to order another for my quarter horse, and that fit wonderfully too! Through that winter, we intermittently had minus 50 degree weather, and I had complete peace of mind that both my horses were securely in their blankets on those days. Oh, and they were outdoors all winter with available shelter, and the blankets looked almost new by the end of winter season! When a friend came by and saw the blankets, he said that he wished he had one of those for a sleeping bag, they looked so thick and warm and well-made!!
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a custom-made shirt! This is my second SmartPak Deluxe Turnout purchase, I had gotten a 3-season a month or so ago and was so impressed that I decided to get a mid weight as well. It has the same awesome fit for my muscular, warm blood-type gelding. I love the front clips, and the blanket is cut so there is no binding around his neck when he lowers his head, but there is still good coverage around his withers and shoulders with no gapping. SmartPak, our prersonal blanket tailor! I sense a heavy weight blanket in our future...
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I bought the medium weight last winter and it has held up incredibly. It still looks new. I bought the turn out sheet this fall for when it wasn't too cool and for days when it warms up. My only complaint is that when my horse roles in sand, sand gets in the lining. It's easy to get out so its not that big of a deal.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality blanket I bought this last month and glad I did. I haven't used it yet. Not cold enough for my mare yet. I love the quality and features and know it will last a long time for her.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful design and construction! Love the product, but per my trainer's guidance, it is a little heavier that what I really needed. Since I'm REALLY pinching pennies, it's going back, but I love the look and fit of it for my OTTB
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Impressed with the quality and value of the blanket. Glad I ordered it!
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket My horse loves his new blankie enough that he has not destroyed it - nor have any of the other geldings ripped it in a good game of "horse play". Warm and good looking.
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More versatile than I expected Fits well, sturdy and well made, was useful for fall and early winter temps for both a trace clipped horse and one who just moved here from a warmer climate with not enough winter hair.
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, inconsistent sizing Love these SmartPak turnouts. This is my third one, and therein lies my one complaint. My horse measures 80. He has the Heavy and the Medium in size 81. So when his lightweight needed to be replaced, I ordered another 81. It was HUGE. So I exchanged it for a 78 and it fit. Inconsistent sizing was the reason I stopped considering Weatherbeeta. Free return shipping is great, but the delay in getting the sheet was frustrating. The quality and durability are great, and I like the gussets and multiple adjustments. Would buy another.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is probably the 4th blanket I purchased. The quality is great and well matched with a great price.
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the options Love the medium lite fill option for my California horses. Most "winter" blankets are overkill for our mild weather
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Bought this awhile ago and it's great! So far it's held up and I love the thicker elastic on the leg straps. It also keeps my mare warm. Plus the green and burgundy go really well together. It should last her for quite a while
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I own a Haflinger that is very tough on his blankets and this has held up against him. It is a good weight for our climate and fits him very nicely. It is a great price.
    Date published: 2015-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this blanket I have always been a Rambo person, but I purchased the heavy weight Deluxe last winter for my growing youngster and was so impressed with the fit and quality I purchased the medium weight this year.
    Date published: 2015-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality and the fit This is my first SmartPak blanket and I am really happy with it. The quality is impressive. The fit is awesome! My horse is often mistaken for a warm blood due to his build, and despite trying a variety of brands of blankets, he usually ends up with shoulder rubs or the blankets don't drape smoothly on him. This one does, the shoulder gussets have enough ease, the neck fits properly, the length of the blanket is sufficient to cover him properly, and there is a good sized tail flap. I just ordered the medium weight version today!
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket ever Fagan just started wearing his Smartpak deluxe turnout, and after 2 weeks of wearing it. It looks brand new still. It fits super well considering my horses large size, the size 84 fits very well Andy have not had any problems with rubbing. Plus I love having the matching hood for, the blanket and the hood look like they are built to last forever.
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and great quality! I bought the turnout sheet for my young horse, it fits great and is very well put together! It matches my SmartPak ultimate too which makes it nice :) the durability and price is very hard to beat.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliability, comfort, and super value! Love the overall fit of this blanket, shoulder gussets, tail cover and neckline! I would recommend this product to anyone looking for great value, hearty protection, and complete comfort for your horse! 5 Stars out of 5 Stars!
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good shoulder clearance I haven't used this much yet so I can't comment about durability, but the fit is nice. My horse has pretty large shoulders so finding a blanket that wasn't too tight was important to me. This blanket has the shoulder clearance that my horse needs.
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, sturdy blanket! After about 13 years, it was finally time to replace my trusty old Weatherbeeta blanket. While searching for which new blanket to purchase, I came across the SmartPak Deluxe, which also happened to be on sale! I was looking for something that was waterproof, had more than 0g fill, but didn't quite have as much fill as a a medium weight blanket. I live in Georgia, and so it doesn't usually get very cold here and my horse grows a pretty good coat. However, I like to have something for the cold/rainy/windy nights. So far, this blanket has been great. We had a rainy spell that lasted for a week and a half and when the blanket was on his body was warm and completely dry. The stitching is nice and the clip front buckles are a huge time saver and much easier to undo than a traditional blanket buckle with frozen fingers.The "SmartPak" tag on the front is reflective, which is nice for finding ponies in the pasture in the dark with a flashlight. Fits true to size...my horse measured 72" and 72" fits like a glove. Time will tell if it will hold up 13 years like my old Weatherbeeta, but so far I'm impressed!
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great! Value in this blanket I am extremely pleased with the fit,look, and quality of this blanket I will never need to look any further when its time for replacing blankets at my stable I have a horse that can be pretty ruff on blankets but this one does the job
    Date published: 2015-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice turnout for spring and fall. Bought this lightweight turnout for spring and fall use. It fits my warmblood gelding generously. It is almost too big for my thoroughbred gelding who wears the same size. The way the back end is cut looks bulky. For use at home it is fine. Reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    • 2016-02-08T14:07CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_340
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.