Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17376

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite (no fill), med/light (100g) Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g), nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69"-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout is rated 4.5543 out of 5 by 368.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged and handsome Thanks SmartPak for making a rugged turnout that is the envy of my barn. Fits my horse well
    Date published: 2016-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket Fits well, plenty warm, and "solid" for those crazy playful horses!
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Not as good as some other turnouts I have but very well made, fits my horse well and significantly cheaper. I would buy another and you can't beat Smart Pak shipping and return policies
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and cleans up well! My horse tends to get crazy in turnout and has ripped past blankets. This one has held up really well. The day after I got it I also found my horse laying in a puddle of mud in it. I washed it and it looks brand new again. I love these blankets and plan on buying more!
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Medium turnout This is one if the most versatile blankets I have owned. My third one, just 2 sizes bigger for the new horse. Perfect weight for New England. Quality throughout and no rubs at all on our guy. Wipes down easily. Easy snap closures make this blanket A +
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lite Turnout Purchased the med-lite. Just what I wanted - a little more than a sheet, but not a full blanket weight. Great product. Well made, very good fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made, Great Value Was looking for a 100g blanket to replace an old blanket for those in between days. I wanted quick snaps in front, tail cover, high denier and great reviews. This fit the bill!
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet This sheet fit my Quarter Horse/Arabian very well. He isn't the easiest horse to fit and it allowed the extra room in chest and shoulders without being too big for a 14.2H horse.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect weight for heavy furcoat with trace clip I bought this blanket for a horse living in the cold, windy, Great Lake Region of .western New York. I needed a blanket that was durable and clould protect him from the Lake Effect wind.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice blanket! This blanket is the perfect weight for California winters, it is soft, fits perfect and looks like it is well made. I have only had it a month so I can't testify to durability but I expect that it will hold up well due to to the construction.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality. Beautiful turnout blanket. Excellent quality, features, and fit. Beautiful turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought this rug two months ago for my appy gelding. He wasn't growing any hair this winter, so he needed blanketed fast. The rug came in the mail only a couple days after I ordered and it fit him like a charm. The heavyweight fill easily keeps my boy nice and warm and I love how it looks on him. I plan on investing in more SmartPak rugs and sheets.
    Date published: 2016-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from With stands serious horseplay My 4 year old outgrew her other blanket and was getting rubs on her shoulders. This blanket fits her great and can withstand a mouthy pasture mate and her antics.
    Date published: 2016-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough, looks nice, fits great Loving this blanket so far! I bought the black with grey piping for my buckskin TB/Morgan and it looks and fits great on him! I've had it on during a few sleety/windy days, and when I take it off of him, if it's still pretty chilly out, he'll nicker at me when I go into the barn with it as if to say "Hey! I was enjoying that!"
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I needed a blanket that had 100 gram fill and came across this one and so glad I did! It is very true to my horses size and fits perfectly! Only thing I dislike is the leg straps but that's any blanket that has leg straps in general because my horse prefers tail straps. Great durability and color! Will have to purchase another!
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best blankets I've bought for my horse. It fits him perfectly and is made of very durable material. I love the color and added piping too!
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I needed a new winter blanket and with these being on sale decided to make the plunge! Ideally I would have liked a 1680 denier because my horse's pasture mate is hard on his blankets. This blanket has helped up decently thus far! I like the quick close snaps, and the hardware seems decent. I like the piping colors! I'd say they do run true to size, a 78 is just a little to short through the but on my 78" gelding, but if I were to go up to an 80 it would be way to big in the front....so we have to compromise! I'm not going to give this product outstanding ratings yet because I need to see how it holds up the rest of the winter....
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than Expected The quality of this blanket is terrific and it fits pony just beautifully. The closures are of very high quality, and I don't have to feel that I am putting something flimsy on my new, beautiful mare. It completely exceeded expectations. Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong fabric & hardware! This blanket stands up to my Hanoverian's need to lie down and roll everyday!She is out in the field most days and her rugs take a beating. I love this blanket.It is deluxe!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought this blanket for a light blanket for my horse. I have been having trouble finding a blanket that fit her and stays on her, and this one does. It seems well made and is easy to adjust to your horse.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made I got this just for Florida Cooler Nights ..works out perfectly..& it's so well made
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I just got this blanket and so far it is great. I love the med/lite 100g weight. It has been perfect for this warmer than usual winter we have been having. It fits true to measurement. I was convinced my horse would wear a 78" but he measured as an 81" and the 81" fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm blanket I bought this for my 21 year old thoroughbred mare. This blanket is perfect for when she needs something more than a sheet for alittle extra warmth. She has broad hindquartersand chest. No rubs and it fits so well.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! Just bought this for our new 5 year old thorough bread mare. Nice quality blanket and other people have bought this blanket and it seems to be holding up well for them a swell.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made blanket! This blanket is well made and will carry our stout Irish sport and lanky OTTB through several seasons! It has plenty of room in the chest and long enough to cover a generous barrel.Washes well.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket but not the best fit on narrow TB I have had this blanket for about a year. I have the no fill sheet. I have been impressed with its waterproofing. My horse was dry underneath after 24 hours of constant heavy rain. This blanket just doesn't fit his narrow frame well. It slips back and twists every time. It is a nice blanket, it just doesn't fit his frame well.
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for heavy use I got this blanket for our old very arthritic horse. He is turned out all the time and does realy well with this blanket. He has even learned that he can roll in it, and it stays put. We live in Montana ... lots of snow and bad weather. Great blanket!
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Great Smartpak quality and customer service as always. I would just recommend ordering a size up if your horse is wider in the shoulders.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely happy! I bought this after my horse destroyed (quite amazingly too) her medium weight blanket. This blanket fits her better than her old one and is exactly as described. It was also a great price.We have had such mild weather this winter she has only worn it twice so far but as long as the weight and fit are right (which they are) I would recommend this blanket to anyone.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought one originally for a new horse and keep buying more for the rest of the horses because I like this blanket so much.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    • 2016-02-13T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_342
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.