PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! 

Material:
1200D Polyester Rip-Stop

Imported.

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug & SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g) also available.

Don't forget the matching SmartPak Deluxe Dog Blanket for your canine friend!

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features
  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell
  • Med/light (100g) Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g), nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1200D
  • Fabric: Rip-stop
  • Fill: 100g, 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip double buckle

Sizing

Available in size 69"-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1200D
Fabric Rip-stop
Fill 100g, 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip double buckle
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs.
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "Keep your horse warm and dry in style ...
    Description:
    "Keep your horse warm and dry in style with The Pessoa Alpine 1200D Turnout Blanket! This top of the line waterproof and breathable turnout sheet features a 1200 denier Oxford polyester outer shell and 420D quick-dry nylon lining. Your horse ...
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, ...
    Description:
    "Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, this stable blanket is cut to accomodate broader shoulders, chest, and hindquarters and features a slightly shorter drop and a cutback at the withers to provide the fit and features you need ...
    "Let your Quarter Horse battle the elements this ...
    Description:
    "Let your Quarter Horse battle the elements this winter with the Rockin' SP Ultimate Waterproof Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 533.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Blanket I'm thrilled with this purchase. This blanket looks great, fits really well, seems to keep my old girl toasty and dry, a challenge in the Pacific Northwest! Dried mud brushes off easily, a real plus since she loves to roll in the mud!! I hope it holds up as well as anticipated.
    Date published: 2017-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Blanket! I purchased this in light/medium weight for my Welsh Cob mare and have used it several times. Nice, true to size fit, good quality turnout blanket. The color is very pretty too!
    Date published: 2017-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing blanket! This blanket is wonderful! Super sturdy and waterproof! I had one last for 5 plus years on my gelding. One bought a new one because my current young gelding outgrew his. I will always buy smart pak blankets!
    Date published: 2017-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought for my TB and couldn't be happier. Great value for the money!
    Date published: 2017-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Keeps my horse dry during turnout and so far he hasn't managed to tear it apart. Great sheet for a great price!
    Date published: 2017-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made This is a good quality blanket that fits well. The 1200 weight is sturdy and warm enough.
    Date published: 2017-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy material and buckled I purchased a week ago and am really happy with everything about it.
    Date published: 2017-11-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They won't honor warranty with pictures. I have had problems with the blankets that should be covered by the 10-year warranty. The problems are clearly visible and I thought that SmartPak would replace the blankets with photos. NO. You have to mail the heavy things back. When a company mails items out to a consumer, they get a business discount that consumers don't get. It would cost me at least $50 to mail two blankets back. I'm not sure how to handle this, but it seems like a good way for SmartPak to get out of honoring their warranty! The damage: I bought several of these in a light sheet and in heavyweight. They said they were warrantied for 10 years. The first objectionable thing I noticed is that the hardware is nickel-plaited and rusted in the first season on several blankets. I didn't report this until the other things turned up. The next problem was that one blanket got "scratched up", probably from the horse rolling. The blanket looks scratched and lost its water-proofing. The next blanket to give out was a heavy one. The lining ripped and the string inside the trim at the back, above the tail area, began to come out and dangle down. It's not clear why. The blanket isn't damaged otherwise.
    Date published: 2017-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for a full feature turnout sheet I bought this blanket during a SmartPak sale and I'm so glad I did. It fit our horse beautifully and was perfect for a pre-season 0 weight blanket. Great price for a well made turnout sheet!
    Date published: 2017-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout sheet It's durable, beautiful and stays put after a good round of rolling and bucking.
    Date published: 2017-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sheet I have several Smartpak sheets, coolers and blankets and all are well made and a good fit.
    Date published: 2017-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit and features fits my 15H wide horse great, love the clip fronts as well!
    Date published: 2017-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I was so surprised by the quality and how it fits just perfectly!
    Date published: 2017-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet I'm very happy with this turnout sheet. It's really nice quality and for a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2017-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid all around blanket This blanket is truly waterproof and breathable! Like all smartpak products, it is good quality and very trustworthy. I haven't had it for very long but it seems to be durable as well. Great blanket!
    Date published: 2017-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket Just ordered my 3rd blanket. Tried this last year and loved it. I like the 100gm fill, as it is great for days where it’s too cold for just a sheet but too warm for a medium. This blanket is also very well made.
    Date published: 2017-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout blanket I'm new to this whole blanket thing but I just installed the blanket app and it tells me when to blanket and not to blanket based on info I provided about my horse. What a God send!!
    Date published: 2017-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality blanket for a reasonable price! I purchased the lite/med weight but it’s been so warm I haven’t needed it yet. It is very good quality for the price and fits really well. I bought an 81 inch for my 16.2 Dutch gelding.
    Date published: 2017-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have bought this blanket for both of my horses. Great fit and great quality. Strap broke off of one, and Smartpak offered a replacement.
    Date published: 2017-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't get enough of them! This is the third Smartpak Turnout Sheet I have purchased! I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2017-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits and suits my big guy. Redman, my big Hancock-bred quarter horse, likes his new waterproof/windproof sheet. In NE that latter is really important. Being a big red roan he looks very elegant in his black sheet and he MOVES in it, too, gallops freely and bucks.
    Date published: 2017-10-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof at ALL Bought this for a turnout rain sheet back in the fall for my appy mare. Color is accurate, fit is quite large everywhere except length. My mare is 15.3hh about 1,100lbs and stocky - the neck is huge on this, the drop is quite big, and the overall size runs large. This sheet is NOT at all waterproof. More like water resistant- for the first 30 minutes. I originally got it because my mare will stand out in the rain for hours and refuse to go in her run in or in the barn, so figured I'd give her a little extra protection. Within the first half an hour this sheet is drenched through, as in actually WET underneath, not even damp. Suck because I paid a pretty penny for it and it definitely does not do what its supposed to. I've never had an issue with any other smartpak items, but I can't really return this because I didn't know it had a problem until it came to actual wear and use, thought maybe it was a fluke until even light rain soaked it. I never washed it or anything else that would affect its rainproof ability either- within the first use it was wet through. Pretty disappointed and now I have to spend more money to buy a different sheet. /:
    Date published: 2017-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I bought this blanket for our Morgan gelding several months ago. Other brands of blankets did not fit him very well and most were either too tight around his neck or too loose. The SmartPak blanket fits him perfectly! He is also pretty hard on his blankets but so far this turnout blanket has held up very, very well.
    Date published: 2017-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the turn out but I have three of these turnouts, light, medium, and heavy and while the blankets are holding up fine the leg straps don't survive the first week. I finally got around to contacting SmartPak to report the problem and was disappointed when I was told I could purchase replacements on the website. Obvious from the photos, there is NO WEAR on the straps yet both have broken buckles. Very disappointed in the response. Buyer Beware.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This is a nice lightweight blanket for those 30 to 40 degree nights in the barn, when its not quite cold enough for a 200 plus weight as it is only 100 grams. Very nice for the price especially when you get it on sale with an extra 15% off.
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Bought this for my quarter horse and it fits perfectly. The generous shoulder gussets makes it a great blanket for big shoulders and chest.
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! Shonti's old blanket had finally bit the bullet last season. My barn's owner highly recommends SmartPak and their products, so I figured I'd give it a try last Fall. This blanket was well worth the price (I had looked at comparable blankets at other sites and thought this was a much more reasonable price) and Shonti was the handsomest horse on the farm! It is a perfect fit and he stayed warm, dry, and clean all winter in New Hampshire. He's a pretty quiet dude who is out with a quiet little mare during the day, so it didn't get exposed to rough wear and tear. It actually still looks brand new at the end of winter. Having handled it myself quite a bit, I do think it would hold up to a rougher horse, but I can't be definite about it. With SmartPak's warranty and awesome customer service, it's definitely worth a try! Will try to get a photo to upload later!
    Date published: 2017-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice blanket Much better quality than I expected. Lots of adjustability in the fit. The 100g fill is perfect for the spring weather.
    Date published: 2017-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I bought this blanket when it was on sale for my QH mare. I bought a mid-weight. So far, so good. She's romped around in the mud with it quite a bit and it's still in one pretty piece! I accidentally mis-recalled (read: completely forgot) her size and ordered a size too big. No worries, the blankets are very adjustable and despite being a larger size... actually still fits.
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality and fastners in front I don't clip my Canadian horse and he wears a blanket, on and off, for about 2-3 weeks in jan/feb. I have a medium weight, but wanted a heavy weight for temps below 0. This is very nice weight and will provide the warmth that my med. weight does not. I like the fasteners in front. The size is 78, which is a little big, but I think the 75 would not have fit as well. I bought this at end-of-year sale so won't be using it until next winter. However, it seems like a quality blanket that will withstand wear. I gave it a 4 only because I haven't actually used it, but it could be a 5 star.
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    • y_2018, m_2, d_17, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_493
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders