Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug

SmartPak
- Item #17512
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Experience full neck protection against the elements with the SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug.

Imported.

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)
SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket (Fill: 100g, 220g, 360g)

Favorite Features
  • Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier ripstop outer shell is ultra durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected 
  • Lined with nylon to prevent rubbing 
  • 220g of polyfill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional hook and loop closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1200
  • Fabric: Rip-stop
  • Fill: 220g
  • Closure Style: Hook-and-loop closure

Sizing

How to measure a horse'>How To Measure
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1200
Fabric Rip-stop
Fill 220g
Lining Nylon
Closure Style Hook-and-loop closure
Special Features Waterproof and breathable.
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Accuhorsemat is an innovative acupressure blanket designed to ...
    Description:
    "Accuhorsemat is an innovative acupressure blanket designed to reduce muscle tension and soreness, alleviate pain, and accelerate recovery after exercise. The acupressure mats on the hindquarters and shoulders are held in place by the royal blue nylon blanket. Wearing the ...
    Why We Love This We've done it again, ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This We've done it again, this time we've created the ULTIMATE dream team in blanketing protection! Get a Rockin' SP sheet, Medium and heavy weight blanket in one bundle at a 10% discount. This is our toughest blanket ...
    "The Weatherbeeta 1200D Parka Dog Coat Provides ultimate ...
    Description:
    "The Weatherbeeta 1200D Parka Dog Coat Provides ultimate durability with a waterproof, breathable and strong 1200D triple weave outer shell. With 220g of polyfill this blanket is guaranteed to keep your dog toasty all winter long. Finally, a touch-tape chest ...
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ...
    Description:
    "RapLast is a unique product which uses natural ingredients to prevent horses from chewing on wraps, blankets, wood, manes and tails, and more. There's one word to describe it: Effective! This is because RapLast works in three ways; by sight, ...
    "The fit and features you need for a ...
    Description:
    "The fit and features you need for a comfortable, warm horse. The Rockin' SP Hood has a contoured design specific for stock breeds like Quarter Horses. 300g fill"
    "This nine panel hood will provide a perfect ...
    Description:
    "This nine panel hood will provide a perfect contoured fit over your horse's head and neck. Features a 420 denier nylon shell, Big D show coat lining, and 300 gram fiber fill. Coordinates with the Big D Kodiak Blanket for ...
    Why We Love This Made to the same ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Made to the same high standards as the All American Blanket, this nine panel hood will provide a perfect contoured fit over your horse's head and neck.  Features a 420 denier nylon shell, Big D show ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works with my weatherbeeta Since Weatherbeeta doesn't sell single neck rugs (you have to buy a new blanket+neck rug together), I ordered this one from Smartpak. My mare is a 16 1" appendix that wears an 81 weatherbeeta. I bought the large and thought it was a bit too wide for her neck, but kept it anyway because I was worried a medium would be too short. There's a top clip and an elastic band with velcro on either side to connect the neck rug to the blanket. It lined up perfectly and I like that it has the elastic to let her move her neck comfortably, although I noticed that when she had her head down to eat hay, it sometimes slides over her ears, probably because it's a little wide around the neck. In true neck rug fashion, there's a little gap at her chest between where the blanket ends and the neck rug begins. Oh well. It stays in place in the pasture really well even with wind, and is totally waterproof. We've already had wet snow and sleet and she was completely dry underneath. It looks nice and well constructed, the trim is pretty. I wish it were more adjustable to fit the neck, and that it would come in Navy with burgundy trim. I would definitely buy this again, and it has made me consider trying Smartpak's blankets too.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Neck Rug This neck rug fits great with the Smark Pak blanket I had already purchased.and has never moved or shifted since it was put on. My horse just loves having it on with all of the cold windy weather we are having. Great purchase!!!
    Date published: 2016-12-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult to fit my 15.2 hh WB Stallion. I purchased the SP Deluxe neck rug - no fill because I had done a strip clip on my boy .Even though I purchased the correct size neck cover for the 72" SP Deluxe sheet there was a huge diamond shaped gap that one does not see in the photo because the horse in the catalogue ,is side view only . I called SP, and being fantastic as they are they sent the large for me to compare . That was just to big and would have needed to be to fold under at the top by the ears. So I opted to keep the 'correct' size for the rug. Frankly it has been a frustrating purchase because the base flips up when he rolls so there is a band of wet if it has rained or snowed while he was out. I guess I am going to have to buy some extra velcro to sew on to the rug and neck rug to keep the thing down. This is not the least of my issues though. It seems to constantly shift one way and pushes the 1/2 of his mane under the hood to the opposite side . the only way to alleviate this issue is to put a slinky hood under it but that would get wet . UGH
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I bought this to go with the matching heavy turnout blanket. "Unfortunately", the weather's not been cold enough to put it to the test, but it fits my guy very well, makes him look extremely handsome, and I know he'll appreciate the extra protection that this will afford during the winter months! The "GOOD" rating is only because he hasn't put it to the real "horse test"!
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this for my 14.1 pony who lives outside. She is a 66 blanket so I ordered the small, but that was a little short on her neck so I returned it and got the medium. It is a little large in the shoulder area but fits the rest of her neck well. Not a perfect fit but it will definitely keep her warm and stays in place nicely.
    Date published: 2016-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality We bought this hood to compliment a blanket purchased last year. The blanket has held up well and the hood appears to be the same quality. Good bang for your buck
    Date published: 2016-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatt Product Excellent closure, good materials, warm, good fit.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gap in front a bit too big My 6 yo, 15.2 hh WB stallion ( baroque shaped barrel ,but not broad chested yet) ,has the SP size 72 T/O sheet and since he is now out at night and has a chaser clip and will be moving up to a high trace or blanket clip once I get my new clippers , I wanted some more neck protection. I got the medium which ought to have been the correct size BUT even though fits just right on his neck as for length and depth yet snug enough to not slide or bunch down there is a large ( 7" from top point to bottom point) diamond shaped gap between rug front and the way this neck rug comes together. This is a bit frustrating since the underside of the neck is where the wind pipe is and is also the 1st place to get clipped. OK so I did not read all 54 reviews before ordering and out of the 10 I did read everyone says " fits great " , no one mentioned a gap! SO I called Customer service ( SP's customer service is why I keep shopping with them) and they did say there is NOT supposed to be a gap so they sent me a large just to compare. The large arrived today the gap is smaller but still there even after I snugged up the rug chest closure to it's shortest/smallest points which I worry may be too tight for his shoulder. Unfortunately the Large is too long for his neck ( his dam is actually dual registered 1/2 Arab and Oldenburg and he pulled alot of Arab from her) so we will have to make do with the Med but I am not happy about having to make do. I feel like there could easily be extra fabric given to the bottom front part of the hood. If I were designing it I would add a sort of 'bib' that comes across the chest and snaps or hooks on one side.
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good option for versatility I got the Deluxe blankets in Lite and Medium weight for my new mare. She wears a 78 so she should be in the L neck rug; the first time I tried it it seemed HUGE and she has a slightly short neck for her measured size so I thought the M would work. Unfortunately, when she puts her head down to graze, the M leaves large gaps around the blanket so I've exchanged them again for the Large. I hope the fit works ok. Not sure of the durability of the attachment straps, but she isn't super hard on blankets so it should be fine.
    Date published: 2016-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Neck Rug I recently purchased this item along with the Deluxe blanket. I got the no fill as I was just looking for something to protect him from the elements, not warmth. This will definitely do the job. When I took this out of the bag I thought it was going to be way to big, but it fit perfectly! I am excited to see how it holds up. I will be sure to post on how it holds up after a few uses!
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this hood! I bought this to go along with my Deluxe T/O sheet and I love it! My mare has a long neck me wears an 81 blanket and the large hood fits her perfectly. I love the added protection it gives her.
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Neck Rug & Great Price!!!! This neck rug is a perfect addition to my pony's heavy weight blanket. I bought it because it had the same attachment as the older Weatherbeeta blankets, and it works better than I expected. The neck rug comes down well over the edges of the blanket and up to the ears, so even when the pony is grazing it doesn't raise up like some other neck rugs.
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product great price I bought this a few weeks ago and have had it on my guy ever since. It's pretty cold this time of year where I live and I just needed a little extra protection for him so I got the no fill. It keeps him warm and dry and it's seems very durable! It's held up very nicely and I will definitely be buying more like this in the future.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent addition to the smartpak deluxe blanket! Great for those chilly nights to add some additional warmth! Fits great with the smartpak deluxe blanket and stays in place all night long. (Has 3 secure places it attaches so it stays in place!) Quality is excellent just like the matching blanket.
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made! I bought 2 of these last month and am extremely pleased!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I hope it works! I'm so glad Smartpak is good about their returns because my gelding does not follow the sizing guidelines! He is half arab and has a very petite neck! He wears a 78" blanket and the mediums size hood seems to be a decent fit! I wanted a hood for a little extra warmth on the days when we are below zero here in MN. Time will tell how it holds up and if it rubs on his mane at all....In the future, I think it would be nice to have all snaps to attach to the blanket instead of the two velcro pieces however! I do like the double velcro in front as I have found single velcro straps do not stay put!
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the Deluxe turnouts Our horses are out a lot more where they are living now so having some extra neck protection on the colder days and nights is important. These handy neck rug covers easily attach/detach to/from the Deluxe turnout blankets for convenience and are an exact color match, too.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good.... Just got this neck rug. It fits well and has good attachments. I am using it with a blanket and sheet from another brand and it fits them fine. Horse was turned out in heavy rain and stayed dry. Don't know how it will hold up but I am hoping it will last!
    Date published: 2015-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit The neck rug fits well. It easily clips on and off of the blanket.
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Destroyed in about a week Bought this for my field boarded QH. He isn't that tough on his blankets, had a neck cover that previously lasted all last winter and most of this one but it was a bit too big and becoming worn.Sprung for this cover, and he broke the velcro closure to the point it wasn't functional in about a week! Also tore the connector that went from hood to blanket. Not impressed at all.
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good crossover I bought this in lightweight for my other branded turnout sheets/blankets. The other brand only had medium or heavy hoods available. I simply sewed a new ring to the wither pad on the blanket/sheet and was able to attach this hood just fine. I use it only periodically for heavy cold rains or very snowy days. The black matched my sheets fine and kept my horses' necks dry.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!! Leave the hood attached to the blanket all the time!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features This is a very good quality and is easy to attach to the blanket
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought separately from Blanket but Perfect fit Did not buy neck rug since did not think it got that cold here but this winter is much colder and wetter than usual. Would have ordered the wrong blanket but customer service saved me. Easy fit and easy on and off, my mare seems to like if. Keeps mud off her mane.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Initially great...but broke quickly I bought this to go with my ultimate turnout blanket, figuring I'd save a little $$ and get the cheaper neck rug...how much abuse can a neck rug go through anyways?? Well about a week and a half after purchasing my mare came in with the neck rug un-velcroed but still attached to the blanket, the top velcro piece has fallen off, the stitching had come loose. It was still attached to the neck rug and I was able to stitch it back on. I contacted smartpak and they were great! I was able to return it (had to wash it first) and in the meantime purchased the Ultimate neck rug and have been happy with the quality of the ultimate.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers well Fits great. The only problem I have with it which was the same problem I had with the quilted one I purchased the year before is that the stitching for the velcro tabs are not reinforced so I had to repair both neck covers. Once that was done they both stay closed very well.
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I was looking for in a neck hood. This is pretty much exactly what I was looking for. I was looking for a Weatherbeeta neck cover but they don't make them anymore sold separately. So this was a good runner up. I like the material and neck closure much like Weatherbeeta. The top strap is to short to attach to the blanket I have so I just use the Velcro on the sides. I also would have preferred a 300 gram fill but that was not an option so I got the 220. It seems well made and over all is getting the job done.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection Purchased this neck rug for a little mare who is in an in/out stall in all weather. It has given her good protection from the wet weather we have been having. It is on 24 hours a day and has stayed put. Just what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit function and quality Bought this neck rug for the matching deluxe turnouts in medium and heavy. Attaches easily, stays on comfortably, no gaps or rubs. Fits true to sizing guide. Excellent construction. Horse is cozy and dry even though he likes rolling in mud. So glad I bought the set. Thankful for reasonable price.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality product I bought this a month ago, it fits great and attaches easily to matching blanket.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_7512, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders