Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
  • Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6264 out of 5 by 174.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased. Fits my aged horse with high withers extremely well!! No blanket rubs and easy for him to lay down and get back up.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fitting blanket It's been a tough winter in the Midwest!I bought this blanket after my Arabian gelding and his pasture mates destroyed his 2 other winter blankets by 2 other well known manufacturers. This one fits him really well, esp around the neck and shoulders, I really like the attention to detail and workmanship :)
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket! I bought this blanket a month ago and just love it. Very nice quality except the leg straps are a little cheap. The blanket stays in place and I love the high neck.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Appy/TN cross in hard to fit areas! I first ordered this blanket in a 78, my gelding's usual size. But it was HUGE. I returned it for a 75, and it fits perfectly. I am very pleased. We are always in the hunt for blankets that don't rub his shoulders or withers. These high necks work well for us. And of course, returning the first one was hassle free with SmartPak's super service.I would order this blanket a size smaller if you are concerned. Other then that minor hiccup, I am thrilled with the quality of the material and the stitching.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to pricier high-necked sheets I ordered the lite/no-fill version (the sheet) of this, and I couldn't be happier with it. I purchased it for my retired TB who lives turned out 24/7 with access to his stall. After particularly heavy thunderstorms and torrential rain all throughout the night, I was pleasantly surprised that he was still warm and dry underneath this sheet when I fed this morning. His head and the exposed part of his neck were soaked, so I know he did go out in the storm at some point.The sheet is quite generously sized (deeper drop, roomier shoulders and hips than his circa-2003 Rambo wug) and is great for larger-barreled horses. If your horse is between sizes, I'd order the smaller size if your horse has a fine or medium-fine build. For reference, my horse is an 1100lb, 16hh TB who wears a size 50 girth, is medium-narrow in most saddles, and measures 76.5" for blankets/sheets. I ordered a 78" sheet for him and needed to adjust the surcingles and leg straps as short as they could go to avoid them hanging below his hocks. But it worked out fine and it fits his body well.Overall, I'm very impressed with the quality of this sheet! It is a very suitable alternative to the pricier Rambo wugs, especially for larger-bodied/hard-to-fit horses.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the high neck HAs good fit and love the high neck in my wet clime. Leg strap clips are a little cheap but I take them off anyway.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from very adjustable in the front Didn't fit my 13.3 hand Welsh-Arab. It hung too low on his body and the leg straps adjust very low on the back of the blanket. I was afraid he'd get his legs caught up in it if he rolled. He is a 68 and the blanket's smallest size is a 69. However, the 66 PONY version fits him very well.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have a high-withered horse and finally, a blanket that keeps his shoulders dry! Great, sturdy material and hardware. We both love it. Well worth the price!!
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful fit! I got this blanket about a month ago after returning 2 others. I love it! It's runs a tad large and has excellent coverage. I have a 15.1H Arab gelding with high withers. He measures between 70-71 inches. The helpful staff at Smartpak advised that this blanket has a generous cut and to try the size 69. It's perfect! I like how high it comes up on his neck to help block out the wind and it also doesn't rub his mane out like my other blankets have. I got the medium weight. It's light to carry and swing over his back and is still warm and cozy. I like how the shoulder gussets are cut. They come up pretty high for good freedom of movement. That was the issue I had with the Weatherbeeta Orican high neck blanket that I returned. I highly recommend this blanket! It also is very attractive. I got the hunter green with burgundy trim.The colors really compliment each other. Thanks for making a GREAT blanket Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality blanket We have had a week of below zero temperatures here, so I wanted a heavy weight blanket for our Paint gelding. This blanket is good quality and feels like it will last. I like the front feature of buckles for adjustment but then there are front snaps and Velcro so you don't have to buckle every time. He tends to be easy on stuff so hard to review the durability. The colors are nice. I would have preferred a tail strap to leg straps and am thinking about removing them and using the back rings for a tail strap. Overall a really nice blanket so far.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket I bought this blanket in a midweight and was so happy with it that I bought the heavyweight as well. The fabric is really nice and I'm especially pleased with all of the adjustment that is possible in the front and the very deep shoulder gussets. It fits my draft cross guy really well with plenty of room to adjust. This is my first high neck blanket and I'm happy I chose that as well. It gives him just that little bit of extra protection and warmth on the low part of his neck without having to resort to a full hood. We have had a brutal winter so far, and my horse has been comfortable outside and in his stall in this blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the high neck I've only used this once as it's the heaviest version and I use the middle weight on my paint mare on a regular basis, saving this one for sub-zero temps. I really wish my usual one had the high neck this one does. Much nicer on the neck and withers as well as her mane. Like the hardware. Seems much nicer than the standard and more user friendly. Very happy with it so far. Love the placement of the Stitching on the hip. Looks great.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small Glad it is a high neck rain sheet (lite weight),rather than insulated.  Runs small (normally wears a 68, 69 was too small, 72 fits. 72 was too small for horses normally wearing 72, so they were returned for next size up, will see if 75 fits them.).  Shoulder darts could be placed further forward.  So far, is waterproof
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket, good looking and durable. Seems to have relieved the sore withers area on my Quarter Horse mare. 
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the lightweight feel I bought this a couple of weeks ago, I love how lightweight it is but it's so warm. The buckles are easy, but after 1 week there's already a small hole in the side. :(
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for an old horse Well made. I got good advice on choosing the size when I ordered. It fits. It stays put. And the heavy fill keeps my old horse warm in this winter that came hard and fast.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality blanket This is my first smartpak brand blanket and I am really happy with it. Love the snap front and material of the blanket. Looks nice on my horse and like the high neck - it gives more warmth without rubbing his mane out like a full neck does. Also love that the sides wrap under his belly for more coverage. Only downfall is that it is restricting in the shoulder but shouldn't be too big of a problem for my horse since he is mostly in  a stall or in a small private paddock so he isn't moving around alot. It runs true to size. Overall very satisfied.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I am very pleased with the fit (perfect for my retired Connemara) and the quality of workmanship. She is warm and comfortable turned out all day in near-0 temperatures. No rubs on her shoulders!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High neck Great blanket fits well so far no rubs very good weight and not bulky
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit i first ordered a to large size & used smartpaks return policy. the 2nd blanket fit my horse like it was made for him. i like the high neck as this styling takes any pressure of the withers. the function/fit keeps horse dry & clean & puts its self back in place after the horse roles around on ground.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket Fits nicely on my high withered horse.  I had problems with rubs on the withers and shoulder before, none so far with this blanket after several weeks.  It is a little long for her back, but fits nicely everywhere else.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choice! I bought this blanket for my 28y.o. Thoroughbred. I can't even believe how amazing it is. I bought the heavyweight and he is toasty at 20 degrees and not hot or sweaty at 50. This is my first high neck blanket and it fits very well. He is broad with high withers. Again, I am super impressed.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! I love this blanket and my horse does, too! It is very high quality with nice buckles and snaps. I love the lining - it polishes my horses coat! The outer shell repels dirt and you can easily just brush dirt off while they are wearing it. It is not bulky but it is very warm. I love the arches because when my horse lays down, the blanket poofs out like a tent all around his legs and keeps him warm. I just really like everything about this blanket and would buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good!!! I bought this a month ago for my TB/Holstein show horse. I am really impressed with the quality and the way it is designed. It fits her perfectly- And stays put- even after her acting like a bucking bronca in the field today! It's only been a month, but so far so good. :)
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the high neck. I bought this blanket right before we had a major cold snap. It arrived just in time. I had to quickly fit it to my horse and was very pleased with the front closure and how easy it was to adjust the strap so in the future I would only need to use the clips! The blanket has now been on for 2 weeks in a pen with 2 young mules as company. In their playing it has stayed put and is not showing any signs of wear from their nips. The only down side is the back leg straps. They will not stay tight. Will need to request new ones.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed I have always purchased Rambo brand blankets. They seem to last forever and keep my horses warm and dry. My 24 yo retired Morgan needed a new heavy weight blanket and I did not have the money for a Rambo. The Smartpak Deluxe High Neck Turnout has been fantastic! I love the front closure snaps and the high neck makes me feel like I have given her a "little roof" over her neck. We get a lot of freezing rain and ice in Virginia, so I was also impressed with how dry it has kept her. As for the leg straps, I just adjusted them slightly longer than needed and tied a knot in each. No more length problems! She is 15h and quite wide, I felt the 75 fit her length and width well. If this blanket holds up well I will be buying all of my replacements through Smartpak.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is a durable, attractive blanket. I wanted a high neck lightweight turnout blanket, and had a hard time finding one. I bought a 75 for my 14.3 hh quarter horse mare, and it fits her very well. She is not hard on her blankets, so I don't know how it would hold up with a destructive horse. I would definitely buy this one again. 
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet. I bought this sheet about a week ago, and so far its great.  I had read on a few reviews that the size ran slightly on the small side, so I ordered an 84" for my gelding who is 16.2.  The 84 was huge on him, so I sent it back and got the 81" instead, which fits great.  Free shipping both ways was so nice, and made my return effortless.  Smartpak sent me my new one quickly, too. 
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my TB true to size I recently purchased the sheet as an economical alternative to a Rambo Wug. I was told it would fit like my Rambo and it does. My horse is a 16.3 TB with high withers who wears a 78 Rambo and the 78 SmartPak sheet fits him well with room enough for a bottom layer if needed. He's only been wearing for a few days, so I cannot comment on how it wears, but it appears to be well made. I particularly like the overlap in the front and the quality of the clips. I will post an update after the winter.
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value and Quality The Smartpak brand provides excellent quality and value for the price. This is my second Smartpak brand blanket purchase. The fasteners are rugged and don't bend or break (like others I have had on more pricey rugs); the shell is sturdy and cleans up nicely, and stands up the horsey wear and tear.The back leg straps do tend to become loose after a few days but this is a very minor issue and should not deter a purchase of this product. I am 100% satisfied and would buy again!
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    • 2015-05-23T08:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_168
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.