Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

- Item #17378
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles


Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against ...
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against flies and insects. The unique zebra print design is theorized to add additionalProtection against flies by utilizing patterns in nature thought to confuse and dissuade insects. Favorite Features Finely woven material Belly ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtection to keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight ...
The Amigo Flysheet is a super-soft, breathable, lightweight flysheet that is sure to keep your horse comfortable this summer. Offers head to tailProtection from insects, UV rays and dirt. Favorite Features 95% UVProtection Soft-knitted polyester Includes removable neck cover Azure ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your ...
An adorable, colorful fly sheet to helpProtect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UVProtection Adjustable and removable belly wrap Full ...
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome ...
Four-way stretch shoulder guardProtects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Imported. Favorite Features Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting Fully adjustable Fast and easy on/off Sizing It Up Small (70 - 72) Medium (74-76) Large (78 ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6546184738955825 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fit! I bought a smartpak deluxe high neck turnout for my Morgan gelding one month ago. The quality of the materials and workmanship are excellent. I will definitely buy another one for next winter.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy blanket. Def waterproof. I boight this for my other horse 18 months ago and its held up. I purchased a second for my new guy and it def keeps him dry.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this high-neck style! I got this to replace my damaged Ultimate High Neck Turnout until the Ultimates come back in stock (great service, SmartPak!), and it is equally nice. The neck opening does seem smaller than the Ultimate's, but still fits my horse well. Generously sized; I could probably go down a size for my horse
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love for horses with smaller shoulders! I have this blanket for both of my horses, one with no withers, another with an uphill build. The horse with no withers is hard to fit, but this fit her perfectly with no rubs or anything. The other horse with an uphill build became itchy where the high neck stopped, but no actual rubs. The only thing I didn't like was that both blankets got small tears in them after only a few months. Neither of my horses are hard on blankets, so it's a bit disappointing.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I bought a light weight version a month or so ago. It has held up very well; I looked it over after I took it off last time and there were no rips or tears. The elastic leg straps are much better than they used to be and have not stretched out at all. I bought a heavy weight one several years ago and as it was on a boss mare in a field with 9 other mares and then on a bottom-of-the-pack gelding turned out with probably 6 other geldings it does have some wear and tear but I am impressed with how well it has held up.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed For years I've stuck to Weatherbeeta blankets for my horses because I like the quality and I know they fit. I wanted an extra medium-weight blanket for each horse this winter so thought I'd try the Smartpak Deluxe because they were on sale. I'm so impressed with these blankets that I put the Weatherbeeta blankets away and use these all the time. The construction is excellent and they fit perfectly. They lay well and, even the high neck blanket, doesn't bunch up on my gelding's back. Really glad I tried them.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Turnout Blanket. Sharp looking, performs! This is a very nice looking turnout and I enjoy the ease of use of the straps and buckles which can be "set" then left in place to just snap on. I bought one, then bought two and will buy another two next winter. Need more colors for more horses!
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second Review!!!!! Thought I would emphasize my confidence in this product with a couple of photos. My horse lives in dry lot here in Nebraska AND when the snow melts he loves to roll. I recently brought the mud caked blanket home to hose it off and then off to the laundromat to wash. So check out the awesome outcome of "before & after"!!! (BTW, I used Tide and medium dryer heat)
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fit. We added this to our collection after purchasing he medium weight in the Fall. Who knew we'd have some incredibly warm days in the middle of winter! We would have loved to have him have a day with no blanket but the mud would not have been fun to brush off.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this blanket but front closure broke already! I love the look and quality of this turnout blanket but unfortunately one of the front closures ripped right off the first night my horse was turned out in it! My guess is it happened during "play time" but that really shouldn't happen so easily on a quality product. I bought two of the same turnout blankets for two different horses and the other one is holding up fine! Again, love this product, just disappointed this happened.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and warm, horses are happy! I bought two of these as a gift for a friend. Her horses have access to shelter but are turned out 24/7. We live in Oregon and both are staying dry and warm!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout I have 2 of these. One I bought last year, and is still in perfect condition. The blanket fits well, true to size and does not shift side to side which is common with many styles.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! my mare was outside in the pouring rain with this on and when I brought her in she was completely dry underneath! Also I got my monogram on it and it looks amazing!
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit! So far so good. We're entering our mud and rain season and so far this item keeps my boy dry!
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really water and windproof! Purchased this in Dec and thanks to unusually warm weather in NJ actually had a chance to use it. My horse and I love the high neck. The 78" fits my 16.1 heavyweight TB fine and is roomy enough to fit over his heavier rugs on cold days if needed. The clip front opening makes this easy to put on at all times. This sheet is breathable and really stays in place thanks to the removable leg straps. The only thing I'd add to it would be reflective tapes to make it a little easier to find a dark horse, wearing a dark sheet on a dark night! Definitely will recommend this to my stable buddies.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY holds up! I bought this 3 years ago in the medium weight (size 78) for my 16+hh OTTB. While Upstate SC is generally mild, we do have some cold and icy storms in the winter and he has never quite gotten the hair coat of our other horses. He's now 24 yrs. old and this blanket has kept him warm and dry through the last 3 winters. I came back on today to order replacement leg straps. One set of replacement leg straps in 3 years is pretty good. I am very, very happy with this blanket!
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deluxe high neck turnout Love this blanket fits true to size and seem really durable. Doesn't rub out mane and keeps my horse dry and warm. I got the medium weight and it's perfect. I'll be ordering another soon.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful fit, great color Bought this 3 weeks ago, fit was great, slightly bigger than the usual size for my OTTB. But easily adjusted. Fits high on the neck to help keep out the cold western PA wind and snow. Highly recommend this blanket, great buy and on sale!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really a GREAT blanket For years I've used Horseware blankets (Amigo, Rhino, and Rambo). I was having issues with the attach a neck on my Rhinos rubbing manes out on two of my horses. Also, the Horseware blankets just have the butt rope at the back end and I was getting tired of all the poop on the rope and the tails were gross. So, I purchased this blanket because I wanted a high neck so there was no seam on the mane, the price was great, and it had good reviews. Well, I've been using this on one of my horses for a month and it is a great blanket. It fit well and it doesn't shift at all. I was also having problems with the Rhino and Rambo blankets shifting across the back and falling off one side of the hip. I'm sold. Hopefully it holds up in the long run.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE Turnout Blanket I like the high neck and it still provides a good fit and movement.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, well made. Love smart pak blankets! I got the high neck turnout sheet and it's great.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the $ This is the third one I've purchased this year! Great quality and an even better price.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High neck heavyweight Love this blanket. It hasn't been cold enough this year (crazy!!!!) to use it but it fit my OTTB very nicely when I tried it on him to make sure it fit. Looks to be a high-quality blanket and it was for a very reasonable price!!!
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS "mid-weight" turnout By far, although abit pricey, one of the best turnouts out there! The fit has been fairly true to size, and I've a variety of shapes (breeds) to accommodate; if your equine partner is a 'tween, I found going up to the next size worked fine. Just wish my colt would finish growing so I could order him one!I had ordered a few when they originally came out, and was pleased with them then and am still using them! My only disappointment was the rear leg straps, which stretched out way too fast and had to be replaced their 2nd season. The NEW version, has a different style strap -the jury will be out on this for abit, by I'll hope they hold out better.Otherwise, extremely pleased (happy horses, happy trainer!)
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only blanket I will ever buy! my horses are very hard on their blankets living out in Colorado. This blanket delivers! Ask for the name embroiderd on the tail flap.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and wears great. I've had two of these blankets for over five years and they have worn fabulous. Just bought two more of the heavier weight ones and love them. They fit well, true to size. Waterproofing has held and we live in a very rainy, windy climate. Priced well for the quality.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice turnout I have 2 of them. They hold up well and do not shift sideways or backwards on horse. Very cozy and warm for Central NY winters.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! My horse has worn this in some heavy, cold rain and stayed drier than any of the other 5 horses. She is a quarter horse and it fits her perfectly. Lots of adjustments to get it just right.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the high neck! My horse is outside 24/7 and this turnout means he won't have water dripping down his shoulders. I like the turnout so much, I bought a medium blanket of the same style and am equally pleased.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Sheet Was looking for a rain sheet (no fill) for my furry boys that was durable turn out and fit great. This sheet hit every single point I wanted. One of my horses is very tough on his blankets too so it's held up! Love both sheets I bought.
Date published: 2016-01-19
  • 2016-10-24T12:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_238
  • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders