Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17378

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction.

Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers extra protection against the elements and winter drafts.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof and breathable
  • Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell
  • Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) Heavy (360g)
  • High neck design reduces pressure on the withers and offers better protection from the elements
  • Two stainless steel quick clip front closures which can be adjusted to achieve the perfect fit
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps help to prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain while helping to keep the blanket in place
  • Two stainless steel low cross belly surcingles
  • Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout is rated 4.6393 out of 5 by 219.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! My horse has worn this in some heavy, cold rain and stayed drier than any of the other 5 horses. She is a quarter horse and it fits her perfectly. Lots of adjustments to get it just right.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the high neck! My horse is outside 24/7 and this turnout means he won't have water dripping down his shoulders. I like the turnout so much, I bought a medium blanket of the same style and am equally pleased.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Sheet Was looking for a rain sheet (no fill) for my furry boys that was durable turn out and fit great. This sheet hit every single point I wanted. One of my horses is very tough on his blankets too so it's held up! Love both sheets I bought.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly Nice and warm and cut high enough to eliminate wither pressure
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I bought this blanket as my horse has issues with regular blankets that rub and hurt his withers, even if they have fleece on the wither area. This blanket not only fits great, but he no longer has any problems with the wither area rubbing or hurting him. Both of us love this blanket!!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good coverage, comfortable for my horse I like the high neck for the rain & wind. Also like the bit of elastic...it has some give for him
    Date published: 2016-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TURNOUT I loved it , but I exchanged it for the ultimate turnout. This one fits my thoroughbred better, and I like the better quality too. He looks so handsome in it.
    Date published: 2016-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket I've ever owned Purchased this as a no-fill to layer on my hard-to-fit, hard-wearing mare. This turnout fits her pretty well, and only has one tiny snag so far, which is a miracle! Will be purchasing these as long as they continue to be made.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I have had such a hard time finding a blanket that is comfortable for my horse. Inevitably, he ends up with hair rubbed out or the blanket slides back and is super tight across his chest or wither. I love this blanket, it fits him so well
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak High Neck Turnout Sheet. I am very happy with this blanket. It is waterproof, dries quickly and fits well.
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit for Young Warmblood, but... Received the Lite version in December 2015 and during average rainfall, it seemed to keep my 5 year old Warmblood dry. I will say it fits her large shoulders very well with no rubs whatsoever. But, during the huge torrential rain storms we had on December 24th, she came in soaked. The other two horses (10 yr old Quarterhorse and 17 yr. old Appendix) had new Rhino Lite waterproof sheets and they were completely dry. So, either she was playing in the water (the field had large portions of standing water for the first time... ever!) or the sheet wasn't completely waterproof as the Rhino;s... which is why I am still giving it 4 stars. My girl loves to paw in the water and is a 'swimmer'.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great fit, warm and looks good too! The 1200D outer shell gives me some peace of mind with my very playful TB gelding
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits well I bought this a month ago and I'm so glad, since all we have had is rain and the high neck prevents my horse from having wet shoulders.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit Got this for a gift for a friend and she and her OTTB love it. Fits him like it was made for him. She was super excited thast it was in her color combination too
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket to have for 30-20 degree weather Got this blanket about a month ago and it's worked really well for my horse. Keeps her dry and warm whether it's rain, snow or sleet. The high neck is nice because it keeps Sienna from getting sore because she has high withers.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate sizing Wanted a high heck heavy turnout that kept my horse warm, dry and didn't create any rub spots. This blanket fits great and meets all my requirements.
    Date published: 2015-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice turnout for the price My horse is aging so I decided to try this high neck to provide better coverage with less rub on withers and chest. So far, I am very happy with the fit. After a few more rainstorms, I might change the rating to 5 stars if it retains its waterproofing
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Bought this for my 16.1, bigger bodied Hanoverian. He's between a 78-81, so I originally ordered a 81 but exchanged it for the 78. Unless your horse is FREAKISHLY long, I'd recommend sizing down if in between sizes. Can't speak too much to the durability, but I ordered the heaviest fill and 1200d, and seems to be exactly what you'd expect. I love the higher neck. Paying under $140 for a new heavy weight? Can't beat that.
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High necks rule! I had been looking for a non rub wither blanket with a little more neck protection and voila here it is!
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This blanket fits well and seems to be a well made product. I use it on both my thoroughbred mare and my warmblood mare.
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these SP blankets! I have many of the SP blanketes; stable, Deluex sheet & heavy. All I needed was the medium to complete the collection. Since my mare has a roached mane, I wanted a high neck to avoid any weird pressure point or rubs (she is a large bodied 16.3hh TB). In her sheet/stable/heavy I had ordered an 81, but noticed on occasion when her neck was down, her banket would creep forward leaving her buns exposed. I opted or an 84" this time. While the butt is a little saggy, it is not offensive to me, and keeps her cheeks covered. It fits everywhere else. Looks sharp too. I already know these blankets lasts, as my others are going on 2-3 years of daily herd turnout. All in all, Im very happy with this purchase & even happier I got it at such a great price.
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, excellent fit My horse is hard to fit, but this blanket fits him perfectly. Wasn't sure about the high neck before buying it, but really like the way it fits the horse now that we have it, avoids rubs on his withers.
    Date published: 2015-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love smartpak.. But not this blanket I purchased this blanket as my first high neck for my gelding. I was dissapointed in the cut and fit . Perhaps it works for a different build of horse but not my guy. Exchanged for one that works , love smartpak's free return shipping on sized items!!
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High neck I love the high neck fit. It doesn't pull on the shoulders at all.
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't used long enough but... I love the quality of this blanket. Haven't used very long yet but so far so good!
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great blanket! I love the fit of the high neck turnouts. This is my first year getting away from the standard fit blanket and changing to this style. Fits my fast growing yearling very well and there is lots of room for adjustment as she grows. Also keeps her very dry, hasn't soaked through or wicked in from the edges like all of the other blankets I've used in the past.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Just bought my first Smart Pak blankets this year and so far am very happy. They fit very nicely and stay put on the horses out in the pasture. So far, no rubs and they seem to be pretty comfortable for the horses. Like the weight of them too. They aren't too heavy but keep them plenty warm enough.
    Date published: 2015-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price and durable I have 2 versions of this blanket: the medium fill for my pony and a no fill to serve as a rain sheet for my older gelding. Both fit very well. I've not had rubs, and the pony's has lasted a year looking good as new despite his constant rubbing.
    Date published: 2015-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I bought the sheet earlier this year as it was in our barn colors and I have a TB so I wanted to get the high neck. I loved the fit so much that I ordered the other two blankets for the winter. My horse measures an 80, but I chose to order the 78 and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in everyway. I was searching for a blanket that would not only provide warmth and protection from the rain but mostly I was looking for comfort as my old Arabian has a short body with high withers. I love everything about this blanket; easy on and off, full protection and my horse doesn't just tolerate this blanket, he actually seems to love wearing it.
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    • 2016-02-05T14:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_211
    • loc_en_US, sid_7378, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.