Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Convertible Grooming Halter

Perri's Leather
- Item #11617
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

You really don’t need to overpay for top quality halters – you just have to know where to look. This Convertible Grooming Halter is handmade in Amish country. The Convertible Grooming Halter leather is soft and supple from day one. The solid brass hardware and quality stitching make elegant finishing. 3/4'' width. Brown. Horse Size.

Made in the USA

Please note, our halter nameplate will not fit this halter.

 Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy ...
The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple. Adjustable chin and rolled throatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. Favorite Features Rot-resistantHeavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength. Big ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
Made from a continuous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the features an extended 10' detachable lead. Favorite Features Brushed nylon Accompanied bySoft, 10' detachable solid-colored poly ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SmartPak Convertible Grooming Halter is rated 4.790697674418604 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it solid brass hardware a plusWell made halter and I happen to like the width of the leather
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOw did I live without it! I love this halter! The extra feature of being convertible is fantastic. Several people have stopped me in the barn to ask about my new grooming halter. The love the price point and quality.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality ! My first halter arrived with a broken clip but with super easy return I received my new one & we love it!! Looks expensive & shows off Willy s head :)
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect halter Well I'm not a huge fan of thick chunky leather halters so this one was perfect. The leather was soft right out of the box and it looks great on my guy. Plus it converts to a grooming halter which makes it a bit easier to brush his face.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small ordered one in size full for my Hannoverian. Just barely fit. Quality is exceptional though. Beautifully finished and soft
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous leather halter! I really like this grooming halter for a number of reasons. The narrow width of the leather, the color and suppleness, the hardware options, and the price!! Great deal!
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value and handsome halter The quality is very good. Received many compliments in the barn. Good fit. Leather is soft.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great versatile halter, doesn't rub I bought this to replace the same one that lasted for several years. It's a great turnout halter that won't rub the hair off your horse's face, but it's pretty enough to use as a show halter. The leather is nicely conditioned, and it's easy to adjust.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent barn halter I love this versatile, quality and economical halter. the leather is nice, hardware is nice, very adjustable as well for a perfect fit. If it came with a plate already on it it would be perfect. but for now we just put the bridle tags on them as it is to narrow for a halter plate and the bridle plates look weird. it is a bit more red than it appears in the pictures, I was worried it would bleed on my gray mare but has done fine. Looks like the leather used in a lot of western bridles.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from buy it I absolutely love this halter! My cotton one that I would use around the barn went missing and I needed a new one. Got this and love it! It's quality made and I got a dog name plate b/c the horse ones were too big and that worked great. Over all, the best halter I have had. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Another great product from Smartpak!
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable I've owned this halter for eight months now and it still looks brand new. People ask me where I got it and think it cost over $100! I have never oiled it or conditioned it, yet it remains as supple as ever. WORTH THE PURCHASE.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter. With snaps on both sides, grooming is easy.This halter is made well and not too heavy, as some leather ones are.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, versatile halter! I'm a huge fan of grooming halters for daily use - easy on & off, allows you to get all the nooks & crannies while grooming or washing the head, etc.But I'm also very practical and dont like having to buy a different halter for shipping, showing, etc. This smart little halter allows you to have your cake & eat it too. The leather seems to be quality & was well oiled by the manufacturer. My only gripe was that it turned my gray horse pink when it got wet. I later scrubbed it in warm, soapy water & re-oiled and it doesn't bleed any more. Still looks brand new! The straps are a little on the narrow side, which look great on my dainty mare. I don't think it would look quite as nice on a horse with a large head or coarse features for show purposes.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter, Great Price This is a lovely halter for the price! The leather is soft and breaks in nicely, the hardware seems to be quality, and the convertible feature is great.
Date published: 2012-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so supple! Beautiful, supple, and touchable halter! Runs slightly large. Looks fabulous!
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I groom properly before this? This halter is a really cool product. It's made grooming my horse's face/head so much easier. The materials are top class - fine leather, and brass buckles and clips. Feels luxurious, but is now a practical necessity! Excellent value.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely! Exactly what I was looking for. Quality leather and the thinner pieces look great on my TB's head.
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter It is a very nice halter; however, it is 3/4 inch leather and looks a bit skimpy on my 17.2 Warmblood (he looks better in 1 inch width). It would look great on a horse who wears Full size.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone should have one of these! I don't like buying leather halters because they're so bulky but this convertible grooming halter is the best thing I have ever purchased for my horse. It's nice because I can groom him and have access to those hard to reach spots on his face that I wouldn't be able to access with a normal halter and then I can take him to horse shows with the attachment. So convient, pretty, and excellent quality! Two thumbs up SmartPak (as always)!
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice halter very nice halter for the price. very adjustable as advertised. Would purchase again if needed another.
Date published: 2011-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! This halter is actually a Perri's Leather Halter. It is soft and supple right out of the package. Love the fact that it converts to a grooming halter. Lovely quality halter with nice brass hardware. I only gave it four stars because a chain cannot fit through the fittings. Great halter!
Date published: 2011-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice quality I love this halter! It arrived already soft and suppple - no breaking in. I love the fact that you can use it as an every day halter and then convert it to a grooming halter when needed. We have only had it about a month so I can't speak to how it wears, but if feels very solid and the leather is a great quality so I have no concerns.
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty good like the leather a lot, but it seems that it stretches a little, the halter gets bigger from time to time, I do have heavy use on it though (showers, the horse wears it outside...)It looks good, and is very practical for grooming. Im happy with it.
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find I bought the convertible grooming halter to replace a worn-out nylon halter which replaced a lovely leather halter that broke. This halter is made of nice leather that feels as though it should be durable. As advertised, it's easily convertible from a regular halter to a grooming halter. It fit my horse beautifully and it's very handsome too! All in all, a great halter for the price.
Date published: 2010-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase He looks great in it, several people at the barn complemented him on his new look, when I told them it came from Smartpak they said no wonder it's so good looking. I love your products and your service is the very best. I was intraduced to you thur your Smartpak supplements - started Danni on them 3 years ago, hes 21 and still looks feels great.
Date published: 2010-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice grooming halter Runs pretty large, but still fits my appendix well enough. Cannot fit a chain through buckles. Leather smells and feels great - seems like it will last a long time. Very pretty and easy to use. Good value!
Date published: 2010-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth your money!! Wonderful leather halter that is adjustable in many ways. It has a good feel to it and the quality is also great!Needs only little maintenance to stay good!
Date published: 2010-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from would have been great... but the halter they sent me had a broken clip. I was actually REALLY surprised at how soft and supple the leather was. We were shocked. The halter is very adjustable, and fit my horse well. Although, he does have a smaller TB head, so I had to adjust everything to the last hole. (he is right in between a Cob and a Full size.)Great value for a leather halter!
Date published: 2009-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two thumbs up on this one!!! The quality for the price on this halter is hard to beat. This halter is extrememly well made and beautiful to boot. I love its sizing and how it looks on my horse because he has a more refined structure.
Date published: 2009-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter! I have used this halter for a few years and I loved it. It was well-made and looked good with the nameplate I got that fit it. I also liked that the throat latch snapped off. My horse spooked today while tied and the halter broke so I can also vouch for the halter's safety.
Date published: 2009-08-13
  • 2016-10-24T12:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_1617, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders