Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17374
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat!

Favorite Features 

  • Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected
  • Nylon lining with the choice of three different weights - Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g) so you can keep your horse warm in any weather 
  • Two buckles for simple front closure and
  • Stainless steel low cross surcingles keep the blanket in place
  • Elastic leg straps ensure comfort and flexibility  
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Fleece wither protection helps ward off blanket rubs

Imported.

Please note:  We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Turnout Blanket is rated 4.624 out of 5 by 125.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable Quality I bought this as a xmas present for our horse. The color is rich so our boy looks handsome in it. It seems good quality. He's been wearing it every day since then. It was an affordable price.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for the price Great sheet for the price. It has nice features such as the extra protection over the surcingle attachment and the shoulder gussets. I bought a second one for another horse who was outgrowing his old one.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartpak classic turnout blanket Nice quality, fits good, it's not too heavy. I love the color and so far no shoulder rubbing.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I bought this blanket almost two months ago. All of the straps allow you to fit the blanket perfectly to your horse. My horse tends to be rough with his blankets, and so far this one has been super sturdy!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality. Fit. Price. I bought this blanket for my tb gelding to use for turnout on those colder mornings. It fits true to size, is comparable quality to a high brand blanket, and was on sale at an amazing price! The front has a velcro closure, as well as two regular buckles. The belly straps are well stitched, and the leg straps are solid! I am so thrilled about this purchase. I wish I bought two. TWO THUMBS UP!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the price! My horse needed a lighter weight blanket that he could wear during rainy or very windy days. This blanket meets his needs wonderfully. Generous cut and could have gone down a size but liked it so much I didn't want to wait to exchange it.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed to fit the horse. This is a well made, good looking blanket. It's easy to put on because it's flexible and the front straps are soft and actually fit in the keepers. I like them better than snap hooks!!! The surcingles are attached low and this gives the blanket stability and durability. I want another one but it seems it's been discontinued.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific turnout! I bought the sheet version of this turnout a year ago and I liked it so much that when it came time to replace my gelding's worn-out heavyweight turnout this year, the SmartPak high-neck turnout was an obvious choice. With more adjustability through the chest and deep shoulder gussets, this blanket allows my high-withered, retired TB more freedom of movement than his old Rambo wug did. It hasn't rubbed him anywhere, and the fit is deep enough to cover his sides and belly. (For reference, I ordered a 78" for my 1,050-pound, 15.3h TB). He is turned out 24/7 with access to his stall, and I am pleased to say that the turnout has held up very well in these conditions. It's a great high-quality alternative to pricier wugs, and I will definitely consider getting one for my other horse when the time comes to replace her blankets, too.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight I bought this sheet for my mare who tends to sweat under blankets. It offers her protection from the rain without making her overly warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for a great price I have several of these blankets now and am confident of the quality. The only draw backs I have found are the fit around the neck can be sloppy on narrow horses, and there is no label on the blanket indicating weight, making it hard to distinguish between the mid weight and heavy weight once they are in use. But the best thing about Smart Pak blankets is the great staff and a company that stands behind their products.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor performer This fit my broad-chested TB like it was made for him, and it looked great, so I was quite excited. The first rain - just an off-and-on drizzly day - it was fine. The second day - actual rain most of the day - it soaked completely through, neck to tail. It was going to rain again in a couple days (no time to get a new sheet!) so I washed and waterproofed it. Again seems to work OK in drizzles, but the next real rain saw water seeping through. I know it's a low denier, but it is NOT waterproof, and apparently can't be truly waterproofed. Also, got a small tear in the second use that the ripstop worked to stop it (only about an inch long). But on the fifth wear, about an 8" strip tore out. It's a low denier on clearance, there's a reason.... The highlight was SmartPak's customer service!!! They were excellent to me when I complained about this product. So I'm disappointed with this product, but still a loyal customer and happy with the brand overall.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout for the money Very happy with product. Fits my large warmblood well and is excellent quality
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great! Just started using on my horse. Its light and fits great. He doesnt mind wearing it at all and protects him from the rain/sleet/snow with out being too heavy!!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised My new horse did not fit into any of the turnouts I had on hand...looked like a child playing dess up in adults clothing and no amount of surcingle adjustment would have made him safe overnight to move around at pasture or retreat to his stall. This Smart Pak light weight turnout fits beautifully, allows free movement and keeps him dry but not clammy...he seems comfortable in it and NOT anxious to have it removed each morning. It was a super price with quality construction....I would purchase again if needed, although I anticipate this one lasting for years and years.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable This is an ok lightweight wind blanket but it does get wet underneath in rain heavier than showers. I do like the gussets that allow more movement than a traditional cover. The velcro in the front is nice (although 1 of ours came with 2 of the same side!) For the money this is a good starter
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality blanket for the price! Nice sturdy blanket for the price! Fits my horse perfect. Good sturdy snaps.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from flimsy, not durable tore in one week. Doesn't have clip closures--have to buckle every time.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sheet! I bought this blanket when it was on sale for the 12 days of Christmas deals and I wish I had ordered one more for my other horse at that deal! This sheet is perfect, great, high quality material and the sizing is spot on! Doesn't run small or big it's JUST PERFECT! It's the perfect weight for by TB that runs very hot and sweats in anything else but his new sheet! I got Hunter green and it's really nice looking. We'll be ordering another! Highly recommend this turn out sheet!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had this blanket long, but so far, so good. Fit is generous, I like that it hangs long on the sides. We're in So. California so the weight and warmth is perfect.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I purchased this for my daughter's family horse that is new to the family as a Christmas present. They were thrilled with it & said everybody at the barn raved about how nice it looked as well. Sounds like we made a good purchase!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I bought this as my first blanket for my horse and it's great! He's only worn it three times but.... he's out in a pasture with cows and it has held up great! No rips, tears, snags or holes anywhere and everything is still attached. My horse seems to like wearing it too.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ordered 2, only wish I could have gotten both, one for each horse. Excellent buy!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket I bought the medium weight blanket for layering on those days that the SmartBlanket app calls for Heavy+. My little horse is really hard on blankets, so I think the 600D will hold up well as a layer underneath his 1200D turnout. I haven't had a chance to use it yet, as the weather hasn't been too terrible, but I think this will be perfect for what I need. You can't beat the value on this. These were going really fast, and had almost sold out, but SmartPak was awesome and worked with me to fill my order. I didn't mind what color I got as long as I got the right size. I love SmartPak and rarely find myself doing business with anyone else!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent fit Although it hasn't been cold enough to "field test" it yet, I was impressed with both the quality and the fit.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blankets So far staying waterproof and no tears! I will buy these again
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior blanket I was truly & pleasantly surprised at the quality of this blanket. Although I can't completely vouch for the waterproof feature, it has already kept my boy dry through a little bit of rain. The fit is super, the longer-than-normal tail flap enhances the coverage, and the leg straps are much heavier duty than what you find on most other blankets. I just wish SmartPak made a lighter weight version of this blanket. I'm very impressed!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! My horse loves this turnout. It fits well and is very warm without a lot of weight.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty, fits very well, but not very durable Beautiful blanket, the fit is wonderful, but it ripped overnight with the first wear. SmartPak will pay for repair because they have awesome customer service, but I will look for something more durable in the future.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I read the reviews for this blanket prior to purchasing and I was not disappointed. Very nice blanket and fits her exactly. I am very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality great fit. I bought this because it was on sale and I have been wanting to try a SmartPak blanket. I have not used it yet, but the fit is perfect and it seems to be a very well made sturdy turnout.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    • 2015-05-24T08:32CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_7374, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.