Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #17374
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat!

Favorite Features 

  • Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected
  • Nylon lining with the choice of three different weights - Lite (no fill), Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g) so you can keep your horse warm in any weather 
  • Two buckles for simple front closure and
  • Stainless steel low cross surcingles keep the blanket in place
  • Elastic leg straps ensure comfort and flexibility  
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Fleece wither protection helps ward off blanket rubs

Imported.

Please note:  We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
    Description:
    A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over. Favorite Features Waterproof VELCRO brand and double buckle closure ...
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Favorite Features Medium weight has ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    Battle the elements this winter with our toughest ...
    Description:
    Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug. Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra ...
    Top of the line features that no other ...
    Description:
    Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Favorite Feature Waterproof ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Turnout is rated 4.5915 out of 5 by 142.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout for the money Very happy with product. Fits my large warmblood well and is excellent quality
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits great! Just started using on my horse. Its light and fits great. He doesnt mind wearing it at all and protects him from the rain/sleet/snow with out being too heavy!!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised My new horse did not fit into any of the turnouts I had on hand...looked like a child playing dess up in adults clothing and no amount of surcingle adjustment would have made him safe overnight to move around at pasture or retreat to his stall. This Smart Pak light weight turnout fits beautifully, allows free movement and keeps him dry but not clammy...he seems comfortable in it and NOT anxious to have it removed each morning. It was a super price with quality construction....I would purchase again if needed, although I anticipate this one lasting for years and years.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable This is an ok lightweight wind blanket but it does get wet underneath in rain heavier than showers. I do like the gussets that allow more movement than a traditional cover. The velcro in the front is nice (although 1 of ours came with 2 of the same side!) For the money this is a good starter
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality blanket for the price! Nice sturdy blanket for the price! Fits my horse perfect. Good sturdy snaps.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from flimsy, not durable tore in one week. Doesn't have clip closures--have to buckle every time.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sheet! I bought this blanket when it was on sale for the 12 days of Christmas deals and I wish I had ordered one more for my other horse at that deal! This sheet is perfect, great, high quality material and the sizing is spot on! Doesn't run small or big it's JUST PERFECT! It's the perfect weight for by TB that runs very hot and sweats in anything else but his new sheet! I got Hunter green and it's really nice looking. We'll be ordering another! Highly recommend this turn out sheet!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had this blanket long, but so far, so good. Fit is generous, I like that it hangs long on the sides. We're in So. California so the weight and warmth is perfect.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I purchased this for my daughter's family horse that is new to the family as a Christmas present. They were thrilled with it & said everybody at the barn raved about how nice it looked as well. Sounds like we made a good purchase!
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I bought this as my first blanket for my horse and it's great! He's only worn it three times but.... he's out in a pasture with cows and it has held up great! No rips, tears, snags or holes anywhere and everything is still attached. My horse seems to like wearing it too.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ordered 2, only wish I could have gotten both, one for each horse. Excellent buy!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket I bought the medium weight blanket for layering on those days that the SmartBlanket app calls for Heavy+. My little horse is really hard on blankets, so I think the 600D will hold up well as a layer underneath his 1200D turnout. I haven't had a chance to use it yet, as the weather hasn't been too terrible, but I think this will be perfect for what I need. You can't beat the value on this. These were going really fast, and had almost sold out, but SmartPak was awesome and worked with me to fill my order. I didn't mind what color I got as long as I got the right size. I love SmartPak and rarely find myself doing business with anyone else!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent fit Although it hasn't been cold enough to "field test" it yet, I was impressed with both the quality and the fit.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blankets So far staying waterproof and no tears! I will buy these again
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior blanket I was truly & pleasantly surprised at the quality of this blanket. Although I can't completely vouch for the waterproof feature, it has already kept my boy dry through a little bit of rain. The fit is super, the longer-than-normal tail flap enhances the coverage, and the leg straps are much heavier duty than what you find on most other blankets. I just wish SmartPak made a lighter weight version of this blanket. I'm very impressed!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! My horse loves this turnout. It fits well and is very warm without a lot of weight.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty, fits very well, but not very durable Beautiful blanket, the fit is wonderful, but it ripped overnight with the first wear. SmartPak will pay for repair because they have awesome customer service, but I will look for something more durable in the future.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I read the reviews for this blanket prior to purchasing and I was not disappointed. Very nice blanket and fits her exactly. I am very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality great fit. I bought this because it was on sale and I have been wanting to try a SmartPak blanket. I have not used it yet, but the fit is perfect and it seems to be a very well made sturdy turnout.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Morgan well. Needed a light weight waterproof sheet for my stock morgan and found this sheet fit the bill at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from 600 denier probably not enough The blanket looks and fits great, but it ripped within 10 wears. The horse is new to me, so I don't know if he plays rough and he is at fault or if 600 denier just isn't enough for a turnout on an average horse.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fitting blanket! Blanket fits great! Size 69 for 14.1 hand Welsh/Arab. Will be perfect to keep him dry and not too warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and great fit!! These turnouts are awesome!! I have 2 mares that usually destroy each others turnouts every winter, and so far these are holding up great, no rips or tears. Plus the fit is fabulous. They offer full coverage and are cut deep along the sides. Will definitely buy more next year for the other 2 horses.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays in place! I purchased this blanket in medium weight for a pastured horse in North Carolina who doesn't care to take cover when it rains. During a 12 hour rain, the horse stayed completely dry underneath this blanket. I was very pleased at how this blanket stayed in place, even after several rolls in the mud. Highly recommend this reasonably priced turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket I bought this blanket and I love it. Great heavy weight turnout that fits my older tb perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not breathable This blanket is advertised as a breathable sheet but I found that with the crazy Colorado weather, my horse was sweating under it on days where it was over 40 degrees. I would not recommend this blanket for climates that vary between cool days and cold nights.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Love this blanket. Bought about a month ago. Happy horse!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid blanket at a great price Last year I bought a sheet of this style. I have a TB mare with very prominent shoulders, and finding blankets that don't bind or rub her is a challenge. The sheet fit well and kept her nice and dry. This winter she needed new blankets, so I ordered a heavyweight version. My only complaint about the fit is that I wish the top strap in front was a tad lower. When she puts her head down to eat it seems a bit restrictive. I also bought a WB Freestyle, which is wonderful in that respect; the lower cut in front and comfort cuff are very non restrictive. I like that the Smartpak Classic blankets have regular buckles across the chest. I'm not a fan of the quick snap variety as they add unnecessary weight to sometimes already heavy blankets.I think the Smartpak Classic blankets are a great value and I like that the cross surcingles have elastic where they attach to the body of the blanket which allows for some give. I also like the 600D weight, which is nice for single horse turnout or if the weather isn't too ghastly out. I do have 1200D blankets for those high wind, snowy days. I hope SmartPak doesn't discontinue this style-which is what I gather from what appeared when I tried to order a wt & style no longer in stock. There is a real need for quality, basic blankets and I would be sad to see these diaper.
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket for the price! Although I haven't been using this blanket that long, it fits my horse very well and keeps him dry in our rainy start to the winter that we sometimes have in central PA.
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! I bought this blanket for my daughter's horse about a month ago. I was leary about the size, but we measured her according to the directions given on the website and the blanket fits perfect. The weight is just right too. Also had it monogrammed which is a great feature! Great blanket that doesn't break the bank!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    • 2016-05-03T15:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_7374, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders