Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16112
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth.

Handcrafted in premium leather with your choice of plain overlay or fancy stitching. Double-ply elastic at both ends to allow for even pressure distribution. Stainless steel roller buckles. Brown.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth ...
    Description:
    "Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth is crafted by Antarès Sellier, a successful French saddle maker that specializes in custom saddles and fine equipment for horses and is backed by decades of experience."
    "The very best in quality English design. The ...
    Description:
    "The very best in quality English design. The Edgewood Sheepskin Girth features soft top-grain leather, contoured for a perfect fit. Edgewood Girths are nylon liined from end to end for strength. Thick 3/4"" removable sheepskin lining, rounded stainless steel buckles ...
    "Updated design includes new premium English leather, fancy ...
    Description:
    "Updated design includes new premium English leather, fancy stitching and removable T-Foam liners. Great for girthy horses. Superior stability, comfort, fit and freedom of movement make the EquiFit T-Foam Anatomical Hunter Girth the most advantageous girth on the market. T-Foam ...
    "The Lettia Memory Foam A/P Click Girth is ...
    Description:
    "The Lettia Memory Foam A/P Click Girth is a chafeless, contoured memory foam girth with patented spring-loaded tongue which allows for quick adjusting even while mounted. Soft gel inserts provides maximum comfort. Imported."
    "The M. Toulouse Anatomic Shaped Padded Girth features ...
    Description:
    "The M. Toulouse Anatomic Shaped Padded Girth features a cutaway design allowing more freedom of movement at the elbow points. Center & side D-Rings for training aids, Stainless Steel buckles and double elastic ends. Color: Chocolate or Cognac."
    "The Marielle Monoflap Girth is a beautiful shaped ...
    Description:
    "The Marielle Monoflap Girth is a beautiful shaped padded leather girth. Designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master Saddler in France, using only French tanned leather which easily accepts oil. Color: Chocolate"
    "The Ovation Leather Belly Guard Girth is a ...
    Description:
    "The Ovation Leather Belly Guard Girth is a specially shaped padded girth offering added protection for horses jumping with studded shoes.This girth features stainless steel roller buckles, triple elastic at both ends, and d-rings for martingale or breastplate attachment."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchy! It's really nice, especially for the price. I like to have a leather girth with elastic on both sides. This is great, except the elastic is much stretchier than I'd expected, so I'd go down a size if buying again (I also have the smartpak fleece girth which, IMO, fits more true to size). It is a bit thicker than I would like also.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth I was looking for a new leather girth that was of nice quality but wasn't going to break my wallet. I found it!! My horse seems very comfortable in it. It also looks like it cost alot more then it did!! I'm very pleased with this purchase & have been reccommending to all of my barn friends. Also I love the smart perks discount!!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this This girth is not only high on style, but quality as well. I hate when a girth doesn't have elastic on both side. Finding a fancy show girth with double elastic in a large size was hard until smatpak came along. I get complements on it all the time.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit for Ponies More Fit When I started getting serious about getting my New Forest Ponies to a better fitness level about a year ago, I had to resort to my 48" and 50"girths I used on my warmbloods. After a year, I found myself needing a 44" girth, which is not a common size carried by local tack shops, but found a couple of options on the SmartPak web site. This girth was priced reasonably and I love the stretchies on both sides. The leather is a little stiff, but seems to be getting more pliable with Skidmore's and use.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the price This is a nice, affordable girth for every day or for show. I like the elastic and rollers on both sides for tightening. On the downside, it is a little darker in color than today's standard hunt saddles and is quite a bit more narrow than my more expensive girths.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice solid girth Great girth, although I can't comment on durability - ordered the wrong size and had to exchange. Seems to be very true to size though (I just made a mistake). Nice leather, and the fancy stitching is nice - not too much, just enough.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the money I can't speak to durability as I've only used the girth a handfull of times. However, it appears to be well made, and it looks much more expensive than what I paid for it. I purchased the girth for a schooling girth, but I may actually end up using it for shows as well. I like the double-elastic, as it makes girthing up a lot easier.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Girth for a Good Price I ordered the fancy stitching. It is a wonderful accent. My 14.2" pony fits in the 44". The elastic stretched nicely the first ride. Great Product!
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Girth I love this girth it fits my large throughbred perfectly and doesn't give him rubs while at the same time looking fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful girth Leather is super soft, very pretty girth. Love the elastic on both ends. Can't vouch for durability, have only had it for 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Runs true to size. It's the perfect chocolate brown color to match my saddle, although I wish the fancy stitching was a little more subtle - it's BIG, but looks good I think. I've been using it for less than a month, so I can't really comment on durability, but so far so good. My horse really seems to like the elastic on both ends - coming from a split end girth he is much less girthy now when tacking up.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wrinkles? I actually decided not to keep this girth. The leather was nice quality and it was good looking, but I noticed that the inner leather wrinkled once the girth was ridden in once. It looked like it would cause rubs. I guess it needs more stitching to keep the leather from wrinkling when the girth is bent?
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift I bought this for my friend's birthday. I have the split end version of this girth and I love how fancy it is with the stitching and how affordable it was for the quality and looks. My friend's TB is girthy so I got her the double elastic to help him be less girthy. She loves it and I would buy another one and recommend it to everyone. It's great for schooling and fancy enough for shows
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent girth I bought this girth a month ago and couldn't be happier with it. Takes oil well, the stitching is beautiful, and the elastic on both sides is really convenient. I've had so many compliments on it at hunter shows to cross country schoolings. I noticed that the leather seems to be wearing a tiny bit from the saddle flaps, but nothing a little oil can't fix. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! Excellent quality girth, love the double elastic. I have several sizes of this girth and they hold up really well. The fancy stitch looks great in the show ring!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth Really impressed with the quality and looks of this girth. A little more than I wanted to spend but am very impressed with the product overall. Am using for schooling and showing.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Girth! This girth is amazing! I have a large collection of leather and fleece girths, but they are all too small for my horse. He has been getting in shape and gaining weight. When I bought him, he was a skinny, unhealthy four year old who had been broke to ride and left in a field for a year and a half. He has gained about 500 pounds since I bought him, and has gained a lot of muscle also. He is in perfect weight now, with the help of a good vitamin, quality hay and grain, and an omega 3 supplement. I have a saddle with relatively short billets, and this is one of the few leather girths I could find in 56". I adore it. The leather is soft and the padding is nice. With the elastic on both sides, I know the pressure is distributed evenly. To conclude, I love this girth and would recommend it to anyone with any size horse, even a VERY large one!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Girth I purchased this for a show girth. Quality seems nice, comparable to the Dover split end girth, but this is better because it has elastic on both ends. Can't really comment on the durability as I've only used it once. I would like it better if the elastic was matching brown.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was what I needed I needed a girth to hold the saddle on the horse and this girth holds the saddle on the horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy. I was beyond excited to find a nice leather girth for this price. It is perfect with the elastic on both sides. I have used it a few times and it looks awesome! I can't wait to use it in the show ring this year! It has the stitching of the higher priced girths, but you couldn't tell it was this price. My trainer loves it and thought it was super expensive and was thrilled with it! The 50 fit my 17.1hh OldenburgxTB(he isn't a big round guy), who is putting on just a little more weight, but it will easily still fit!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality at a reasonable price This girth is beautiful...show quality. The leather is soft and flexible. After one month's use, it looks brand new. Once again, I am not disappointed by SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Due to the weather, I haven't had the opportunity to try the girth yet. However, I can give it a great rating for leather quality and it looks fabulous. Plus, the double-ended elastic is always great.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GIRTH EVER This girth is amazing! It is great quality for a fantastic price. I use it for daily riding as well as showing. The stitching and leather has held up wonderfully! A great buy!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather is soft but sturdy; padding is lovely; roller buckles are gentle on my saddle's billets. Can't comment on durability yet, but I've used it 4 times per week for the past 3 weeks and love it so far
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Girth! Bought this girth yesterday at the Equine Affaite, I've been eyeing it for a few weeks on line. I easily noticed the girth hanging on the rack, it has a beautiful rich havanah color that I've been searching for. The leather is soft with out being worked, and with the %15 off that SmartPak offered at the Equine Affaire, you couldn't go wrong with an already "bang for your buck" quality girth. SmartPak, you never cease to amaze me!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy This girth wasa great buy. It did not break the bank but looks great and the pony and child rider both seem to like it.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely girth! Excellent quality girth, looks fancy and fits well. Great job SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the nicest pieces of tack I own I was very impressed with this purchase! I didn't want to spend a lot of money, but I wanted quality and that is what I got! The color matches my collegiate saddle very well and is shaped nicely for an excellent fit. I would highly recommend this girth!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful girth My daughter loves this girth. Nice quality and with elastic on both ends makes it easier to tighten. Thanks again Smartpak for a great product.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Girth I ordered this girth on thursday, and was amazed at how cheap the shipping was ($10 for 3day! Dover is $15 for regular shipping.) I chose it with Fancy Stitching as I wanted to look fancy no matter what, whether I was in the jumper ring or Equitation ring. I got it today, and was SO surprised at how nice it was. It was a bit stiff, but totally understandable. I immediately rode my horse in it and it softened up a ton [he also really liked it!]. The 42 fit him perfect, with some room to spare! It got dirty super easy, but thats fine, just needs wiping off. And not to mention the price was AMAZING for the quality, and the fancy stitching is gorgeous. If I ever need a new girth, i bet it'll be this one I buy. (: Can't wait to take this to the rated shows [as there are none around here..]. I bet It'll have eyes set on it!
    Date published: 2010-09-22
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_79
    • loc_en_US, sid_6112, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 172ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders