Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16112
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth.

Handcrafted in premium leather with your choice of plain overlay or fancy stitching. Double-ply elastic at both ends to allow for even pressure distribution. Stainless steel roller buckles. Brown.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is rated 4.6875 out of 5 by 64.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone tells me how beautiful it is! I ordered this girth after trying the Toulouse sheepskin lined girth. I was unable to find a Toulouse girth that fit my mare correctly so I decided to give the SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth a try after reading the reviews. They say that the third time is the charm and this was my experience. It fit my mare perfectly and I have received a lot of compliments of about the appearance and quality of the girth. The girth runs true to size. There lining of the girth does wrinkle slightly but does not seem to bother my mare at all. The elastic is heavy and good quality and is the perfect length. I have found some companies use longer elastic to decrease the amount of leather they have to use. Not in this case - the leather end of the girth comes up to the edge of the saddle flap so that minimal elastic is evident. This is a fantastic value and I would order this girth again if I need another size.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AA Circuit Style without the AA Circuit price I stumbled upon this girth while looking at pricier leather show girths for the hunter ring. The fancy stitching was some of the nicest i had seen, and seeing the price i decided to take a chance and order it. When it showed up i was blown away by the quality. I was prepared to shell out $300+ for an antares or CWD girth- NEVER AGAIN! The stitching on the smartpak girth is eye catching- and the color is beautiful. After a quick condition the leather really did feel like the butter- the only downside and why i am giving it a 4* in the quality is, while the inside leather is soft, it tends to wrinkle ever so slightly but my sensitive skinned TB has had 0 problems with it! I had a girth plate added and the fancy stitching compliments it beautifully. I've had so many compliments from strangers and friends over this girth at AA horse shows- they usually assume it's a very expensive girth and are always baffled at the price! I know many people who went out and bought this girth upon my recommendation and they all love it just as much as i do! Thanks smartpak for bringing AA show ring style without the AA show ring price!
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth at a Great Price I needed a leather girth for clinics and shows and this was just what I hoped it would be! I will only use girths with double ended elastic but I didnt' have $400 to shell out so I tried this one and am so very satisfied! I wish it didn't wrinkle so much on the inside but it doesn't seem to bother my horse. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hunter Girth Girth fits well but the ends are stretching after 2 weeks of use. Nice design and leather for the price of a show girth.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional, good buy This girth is well-made and is quite beautiful. The stretchable ends make it easier to girth up a horse that "puffs up" when you first saddle and allows for a firm but giving saddle tightness for comfort for your horse. My gelding can be a little "cinchy", so a little give keeps him performing his best.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchy! It's really nice, especially for the price. I like to have a leather girth with elastic on both sides. This is great, except the elastic is much stretchier than I'd expected, so I'd go down a size if buying again (I also have the smartpak fleece girth which, IMO, fits more true to size). It is a bit thicker than I would like also.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth I was looking for a new leather girth that was of nice quality but wasn't going to break my wallet. I found it!! My horse seems very comfortable in it. It also looks like it cost alot more then it did!! I'm very pleased with this purchase & have been reccommending to all of my barn friends. Also I love the smart perks discount!!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this This girth is not only high on style, but quality as well. I hate when a girth doesn't have elastic on both side. Finding a fancy show girth with double elastic in a large size was hard until smatpak came along. I get complements on it all the time.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit for Ponies More Fit When I started getting serious about getting my New Forest Ponies to a better fitness level about a year ago, I had to resort to my 48" and 50"girths I used on my warmbloods. After a year, I found myself needing a 44" girth, which is not a common size carried by local tack shops, but found a couple of options on the SmartPak web site. This girth was priced reasonably and I love the stretchies on both sides. The leather is a little stiff, but seems to be getting more pliable with Skidmore's and use.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the price This is a nice, affordable girth for every day or for show. I like the elastic and rollers on both sides for tightening. On the downside, it is a little darker in color than today's standard hunt saddles and is quite a bit more narrow than my more expensive girths.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice solid girth Great girth, although I can't comment on durability - ordered the wrong size and had to exchange. Seems to be very true to size though (I just made a mistake). Nice leather, and the fancy stitching is nice - not too much, just enough.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth for the money I can't speak to durability as I've only used the girth a handfull of times. However, it appears to be well made, and it looks much more expensive than what I paid for it. I purchased the girth for a schooling girth, but I may actually end up using it for shows as well. I like the double-elastic, as it makes girthing up a lot easier.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Girth for a Good Price I ordered the fancy stitching. It is a wonderful accent. My 14.2" pony fits in the 44". The elastic stretched nicely the first ride. Great Product!
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Girth I love this girth it fits my large throughbred perfectly and doesn't give him rubs while at the same time looking fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful girth Leather is super soft, very pretty girth. Love the elastic on both ends. Can't vouch for durability, have only had it for 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Runs true to size. It's the perfect chocolate brown color to match my saddle, although I wish the fancy stitching was a little more subtle - it's BIG, but looks good I think. I've been using it for less than a month, so I can't really comment on durability, but so far so good. My horse really seems to like the elastic on both ends - coming from a split end girth he is much less girthy now when tacking up.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wrinkles? I actually decided not to keep this girth. The leather was nice quality and it was good looking, but I noticed that the inner leather wrinkled once the girth was ridden in once. It looked like it would cause rubs. I guess it needs more stitching to keep the leather from wrinkling when the girth is bent?
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift I bought this for my friend's birthday. I have the split end version of this girth and I love how fancy it is with the stitching and how affordable it was for the quality and looks. My friend's TB is girthy so I got her the double elastic to help him be less girthy. She loves it and I would buy another one and recommend it to everyone. It's great for schooling and fancy enough for shows
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent girth I bought this girth a month ago and couldn't be happier with it. Takes oil well, the stitching is beautiful, and the elastic on both sides is really convenient. I've had so many compliments on it at hunter shows to cross country schoolings. I noticed that the leather seems to be wearing a tiny bit from the saddle flaps, but nothing a little oil can't fix. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! Excellent quality girth, love the double elastic. I have several sizes of this girth and they hold up really well. The fancy stitch looks great in the show ring!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth Really impressed with the quality and looks of this girth. A little more than I wanted to spend but am very impressed with the product overall. Am using for schooling and showing.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Girth! This girth is amazing! I have a large collection of leather and fleece girths, but they are all too small for my horse. He has been getting in shape and gaining weight. When I bought him, he was a skinny, unhealthy four year old who had been broke to ride and left in a field for a year and a half. He has gained about 500 pounds since I bought him, and has gained a lot of muscle also. He is in perfect weight now, with the help of a good vitamin, quality hay and grain, and an omega 3 supplement. I have a saddle with relatively short billets, and this is one of the few leather girths I could find in 56". I adore it. The leather is soft and the padding is nice. With the elastic on both sides, I know the pressure is distributed evenly. To conclude, I love this girth and would recommend it to anyone with any size horse, even a VERY large one!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Girth I purchased this for a show girth. Quality seems nice, comparable to the Dover split end girth, but this is better because it has elastic on both ends. Can't really comment on the durability as I've only used it once. I would like it better if the elastic was matching brown.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was what I needed I needed a girth to hold the saddle on the horse and this girth holds the saddle on the horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy. I was beyond excited to find a nice leather girth for this price. It is perfect with the elastic on both sides. I have used it a few times and it looks awesome! I can't wait to use it in the show ring this year! It has the stitching of the higher priced girths, but you couldn't tell it was this price. My trainer loves it and thought it was super expensive and was thrilled with it!The 50 fit my 17.1hh OldenburgxTB(he isn't a big round guy), who is putting on just a little more weight, but it will easily still fit!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality at a reasonable price This girth is beautiful...show quality. The leather is soft and flexible. After one month's use, it looks brand new. Once again, I am not disappointed by SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Due to the weather, I haven't had the opportunity to try the girth yet. However, I can give it a great rating for leather quality and it looks fabulous. Plus, the double-ended elastic is always great.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GIRTH EVER This girth is amazing! It is great quality for a fantastic price. I use it for daily riding as well as showing. The stitching and leather has held up wonderfully! A great buy!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from leather is soft but sturdy; padding is lovely; roller buckles are gentle on my saddle's billets. Can't comment on durability yet, but I've used it 4 times per week for the past 3 weeks and love it so far
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Girth! Bought this girth yesterday at the Equine Affaite, I've been eyeing it for a few weeks on line.I easily noticed the girth hanging on the rack, it has a beautiful rich havanah color that I've been searching for. The leather is soft with out being worked, and with the %15 off that SmartPak offered at the Equine Affaire, you couldn't go wrong with an already "bang for your buck" quality girth.SmartPak, you never cease to amaze me!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    • 2015-05-25T10:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_6112, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.