Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16112
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth.

Handcrafted in premium leather with your choice of plain overlay or fancy stitching. Double-ply elastic at both ends to allow for even pressure distribution. Stainless steel roller buckles. Brown.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Exclusive VenTECH technology makes this cinch the standard ...
    Description:
    "Exclusive VenTECH technology makes this cinch the standard for equine comfort and technology with all the premium features you expect from a Professional's Choice product. Imported."
    "One of the few true 100% Mohair cinches ...
    Description:
    "One of the few true 100% Mohair cinches on the market. The premier material for cinches, mohair is a natural fiber that is sheared from Angora goats."
    "Tradition meets technology in this innovative new girth. ...
    Description:
    "Tradition meets technology in this innovative new girth. High quality leather gives a sophisticated look, while our breathable VenTECH™ technology provides your horse with the comfort they need to perform. The non-slip, neoprene VenTECH™ liner conforms to your horse, allowing ...
    "The very best in quality English design. The ...
    Description:
    "The very best in quality English design. The Edgewood Sheepskin Girth features soft top-grain leather, contoured for a perfect fit. Edgewood Girths are nylon liined from end to end for strength. Thick 3/4"" removable sheepskin lining, rounded stainless steel buckles ...
    "Why We Love This The FeatherFlex Roper Cinch ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The FeatherFlex Roper Cinch is extra soft, non-chafing, non-galling virgin neoprene that is self-lubricating, which reduces girth itch under extreme conditions. Favorite Features Antimicrobial and antifungal Stainless steel hardware Exclusive 6-layer construction eliminates twist and cinch ...
    "Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth ...
    Description:
    "Stylish and sophisticated, the Antares Classic Jumper Girth is crafted by Antarès Sellier, a successful French saddle maker that specializes in custom saddles and fine equipment for horses and is backed by decades of experience."
    "Mattes is the world's leading sheepskin products company ...
    Description:
    "Mattes is the world's leading sheepskin products company with unsurpassed quality, functional attributes and appearance. There is NO chemical treatment of the sheepskin; this product is 100% natural. The extreme density of the sheepskin, combined with the upright position of ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 82.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice girth for the price. I bought this girth for use with my new horse in the hunter ring. We've only used it a few times, but it seems to be very good quality. I did not have the same issues with the stitching that the other reviewers did---the stitching is very nice, and looks great on my horse!
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and does not stain my horse Bought this a few years ago and needed a smaller size for my horse and saddle so I purchased,it again. Great fit and looks great in the show ring.
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality We have used other brands of leather girths at our barn, and they have not held up. The SmartPak girth is a great quality, attractive girth, and it has stood the rigors of mud and sweat on long hunting days!
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective I thought that the girth would be great so from one side, it did look okay,I then placed my initials on the stretchy underneath side. Well I went to place it on him and noticed the inside of the girth going across the belly are lumpy sections. I now have an unusable marked girth that is useless!
    Date published: 2016-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft leather This is a classic leather girth. I bought this for my daughter. It makes show daysawesome! Her horse looks so fancy!
    Date published: 2016-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful detail! Beautiful girth that looks and feels of quality despite the excellent price. Matches perfectly with my figure 8 bridle and reins. I ordered a 52". Runs a little smaller than my prof. choice (50"). Fits perfect!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful girth I really like this girth. Seems very high quality and looks really nice. I got the regular stitching and it still seems pretty fancy to me. Very pleased with it.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Classy looking and nice! Really like this girth! Its soft on the underside and very classy looking. Fits true to size
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the elastic on both ends.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from classic huner girth best features - double elastic, roller buckles and good leather
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! I had been looking around for a girth to fit my huge mare and this one fit perfectly! The double elastic really helped the fit, and it looks nice enough to show in. I got the plain stitching because a girl at my barn had the fancy one and it stood out too much. The leather is really nice and it cleans up really well. I am planning on getting a second one for a schooling girth.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice This girth is pretty much as advertised. It's a nice girth for a decent price. I needed a girth quickly and in hindsight didn't really want the fancy stitching, but it not worth sending it back to exchange for another one.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, soft girth! I absolutely love this girth. It's super stylish and comfortable for my horse to wear. I recommend this to anyone who's looking for a new girth!
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Was looking for a schooling girth. It is great quality for the price and could also walk in the show ring with it. Its a great girth for the price. Love the product.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, Good Quality I love the color. No need to over oil it.Nice quality leather for a great price.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice...great price Looks great, arrived a flash...I have not oiled it yet or put it on my horse, will update review when I "do"...
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Girth I really loved this girth, its decent quality for a great price! Personally, I don’t mind that the leather isn’t super high end because it doesn’t seem to make much of a difference in a girth. The only thing is that if you have a grey I wouldn’t recommend getting it. After using it for about 3 months, it started leaving stains on my grey that I couldn’t get out! Considering I have to jog for my classes it was quite embarrassing! If you have a darker colored horse I would highly recommend. But I would stay clear if your horse is grey.
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one drawback.. A beautiful girth! I love the fancy stitching. The only thing I can complain about is the elastic. It was completely stretched out after a few months, so I only use it at shows now and I receive alot of compliments on it! Overall, its a great girth, especially for this price point!
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this girth almost a year ago after struggling to find a girth that would fit my giant horse. I had tried several different girths from smartpak and thanks to their awesome exchange policy, I had no problem with returning and exchanging.This is a beautiful leather girth and I am so happy that I found it. The 56" fits great on my big guy with my AP saddle with high billets.
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Does it's job. Not a fan of the stitching but really nice quality girth.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone tells me how beautiful it is! I ordered this girth after trying the Toulouse sheepskin lined girth. I was unable to find a Toulouse girth that fit my mare correctly so I decided to give the SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth a try after reading the reviews. They say that the third time is the charm and this was my experience. It fit my mare perfectly and I have received a lot of compliments of about the appearance and quality of the girth. The girth runs true to size. There lining of the girth does wrinkle slightly but does not seem to bother my mare at all. The elastic is heavy and good quality and is the perfect length. I have found some companies use longer elastic to decrease the amount of leather they have to use. Not in this case - the leather end of the girth comes up to the edge of the saddle flap so that minimal elastic is evident. This is a fantastic value and I would order this girth again if I need another size.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AA Circuit Style without the AA Circuit price I stumbled upon this girth while looking at pricier leather show girths for the hunter ring. The fancy stitching was some of the nicest i had seen, and seeing the price i decided to take a chance and order it. When it showed up i was blown away by the quality. I was prepared to shell out $300+ for an antares or CWD girth- NEVER AGAIN! The stitching on the smartpak girth is eye catching- and the color is beautiful. After a quick condition the leather really did feel like the butter- the only downside and why i am giving it a 4* in the quality is, while the inside leather is soft, it tends to wrinkle ever so slightly but my sensitive skinned TB has had 0 problems with it! I had a girth plate added and the fancy stitching compliments it beautifully. I've had so many compliments from strangers and friends over this girth at AA horse shows- they usually assume it's a very expensive girth and are always baffled at the price! I know many people who went out and bought this girth upon my recommendation and they all love it just as much as i do! Thanks smartpak for bringing AA show ring style without the AA show ring price!
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth at a Great Price I needed a leather girth for clinics and shows and this was just what I hoped it would be! I will only use girths with double ended elastic but I didnt' have $400 to shell out so I tried this one and am so very satisfied! I wish it didn't wrinkle so much on the inside but it doesn't seem to bother my horse. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hunter Girth Girth fits well but the ends are stretching after 2 weeks of use. Nice design and leather for the price of a show girth.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional, good buy This girth is well-made and is quite beautiful. The stretchable ends make it easier to girth up a horse that "puffs up" when you first saddle and allows for a firm but giving saddle tightness for comfort for your horse. My gelding can be a little "cinchy", so a little give keeps him performing his best.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchy! It's really nice, especially for the price. I like to have a leather girth with elastic on both sides. This is great, except the elastic is much stretchier than I'd expected, so I'd go down a size if buying again (I also have the smartpak fleece girth which, IMO, fits more true to size). It is a bit thicker than I would like also.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth I was looking for a new leather girth that was of nice quality but wasn't going to break my wallet. I found it!! My horse seems very comfortable in it. It also looks like it cost alot more then it did!! I'm very pleased with this purchase & have been reccommending to all of my barn friends. Also I love the smart perks discount!!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this This girth is not only high on style, but quality as well. I hate when a girth doesn't have elastic on both side. Finding a fancy show girth with double elastic in a large size was hard until smatpak came along. I get complements on it all the time.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit for Ponies More Fit When I started getting serious about getting my New Forest Ponies to a better fitness level about a year ago, I had to resort to my 48" and 50"girths I used on my warmbloods. After a year, I found myself needing a 44" girth, which is not a common size carried by local tack shops, but found a couple of options on the SmartPak web site. This girth was priced reasonably and I love the stretchies on both sides. The leather is a little stiff, but seems to be getting more pliable with Skidmore's and use.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_73
    • loc_en_US, sid_6112, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders