Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet

SmartPak
- Item #21106

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from poll to tail this summer with the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet! Made from a soft polyester fabric, this fly sheet is fully breathable and does not restrict your horses natural movements. With built in UV protection, this fly sheet is a no brainer!

Favorite Features

  • Soft polyester fabric is breathable and provides a layer of physical protection to keep the bugs from bothering your horse
  • UV protection in fabric protects your horse from 95% of harmful UV rays when he's out in the summer sun
  • Stainless steel hardware is designed to last
  • Adjustable surcingles and double surcingle front closure with VELCRO® brand fastener ensures your blanket fits snug around your horse
  • Tail cord keeps tail flap from blowing in the wind
  • Oversized tail flap provides additional coverage

Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Genero Fly Sheet made Exclusively for SmartPak is made from a lightweight polyester mesh that keeps your horse protected from flies and insects. Favorite Features Lightweight mesh perfect for warm climates Singular chest strap Belly Band ...
    Why We Love This A soft, fine weave ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to provide coverage and protection for your horse against pesky biting insects. Favorite Features Fine mesh to help block tiny biting flies and insects Detachable neck Detachable belly band ...
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love! Favorite Features Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face Soft ...
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now ...
    Description:
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UV protection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot ...
    This sheet does a great job of protecting ...
    Description:
    This sheet does a great job of protecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating. Favorite Features 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh Closed front ...
    You're sure to love this blanket for its ...
    Description:
    You're sure to love this blanket for its classic styling and durable manufacturing at a price that can't be beat! Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable 600 denier outer shell is durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected ...
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect ...
    Description:
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UV protection Adjustable and removable belly ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet is rated 3.7959 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice blanket but not true to size I really like the quality of this but my horse has always worn a 75 and it was quite big. I returned it for a 72, haven't rec'd it yet. Maybe because he's an Arab his body, width wise is smaller?
    Date published: 2015-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for my OTTB I really love SP's Classic Turnout sheet (it fits my OTTB perfectly) and when I saw this fly sheet, I thought why not. Unfortunately, it fit completely different than expected. Although the material seemed tough and it was lightweight, it did not fit. The only part that fit was the length, but besides that the shoulders were way too big & sat too low and even when the belly straps were tightened all the way there was still way too much room. Just wish there were more styles that fit slim horses.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I am really pleased with this flysheet. It is very lightweight-- my extra-hot horse wears it in the barn and doesn't sweat even when it is in the nineties, but it is also durable and provides relief from flies. I have used this for about 3 months and it has no tears, fabric failures, etc. (though he does not wear it in turnout so can't comment on that). As others have said the drop is a bit long, but works well with the low surcingles to give some added belly protection. I am pleasantly surprised with the quality and functionality of this flysheet. The fit seems about the same as other Smartpak blankets (my 15.3 cobby TB wears a 75 in all items).
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet in Texas!! Since I have noticed that most of the riders here live up North and your summers aren't as hot as our summers in Texas, I live in the Houston area and it gets ridiculous. I was up in the air on which fly sheet to buy my mare.So I have bought this one and it's the lightest weight fly sheet I have yet to come upon on. It's lighter than the Weatherbeeta fly sheets. This fly sheet is also is very breathable, she doesn't sweat in it either.I have a Appendix Paint, with high withers and very lean, she wears about a 80 winter blanket and she is about 16 hands. I bought the 78 and it fits her great.If you are wanting a lightweight, thin, breathable fly sheet and you live in ridiculous hot weather and worried about your horse sweating, this is the one for you.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Lightweight Sheet! Most flysheets are too heavy for warmer weather. I can use this one for those times. It is also great to keep the horses from getting super muddy when they roll after a rain and I don't have time to scrape off mud. It washes up very well and dries quickly thrown on a fence in the sun. I did add neck fuzzes to prevent the neck from rubbing out manes. If it had been made that way I would give it a 5-Star rating.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and a good value I bought this for a 3 year old mare, and it has held up well with daily turnout. This withstands most bugs, and when used in conjunction with fly spray, offers good protection. I ordered a 75 for a narrow TB mare, and I found that it fits true to size.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad rubs Solid material and very light weight! However I had some sizing issues and after only one single day in the sheet, my horses shoulders were rubber raw
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't recommend My last fly sheet lasted for 2 1/2 years, this one looks like it's about done and it's only been 2 1/2 weeks! I've got a large warm blood mare, the cut looks good and the blanket doesn't seem to twist or slopped off with the tail cord. But the Velcro close at the chest rubbed a huge sore and scab on my mare's chest because the inner flap files back against her skin when she walks. So I'm not at all happy about that. Her shoulders have also been rubbed hairless. We use it as a stall and turnout sheet. The fine mesh is nice and light weight, but hay sticks to it like crazy. All in all, it was worth a try, but I wouldn't buy one of these again and doubt that it will last long.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much tail coverage I like the material that this blanket is made of. So far, seems to be durable. What I don't care for is the amount of tail coverage. The material causes his tail hairs to break and tangle. I don't see the point of tail coverage since the tail is so important to a horse's defense system against flying pests. I actually cut the tail piece.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Sheet Very nice sheet, I have a high withered horse and this hangs beautifully on him. It's long and covers the majority of his body, protecting him from bites. The quality also seems great.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight The flysheet that my horse was wearing was too hot and he would get sweaty on hot days. I purchased this flysheet and it is much lighter and my horse is able to stay cool on hot days...and bugless. :)
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good if your horse is alone and never rolls I bought for my two TB geldings. Fabric is nice but tears easily. So if your horse gets a nip from buddy or likes to roll this will not hold up. Nice otherwise. I bought Weatherbeeta Bugbeeta Detach A Neck and its great! My gelding gets hives all over if he is not covered so he wears it 24/7 when bugs are bad.The size on the SmartPak sheet runs small so order next size up.
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from thin fly sheet I like that it is light weight. However, the second day there were rips and small holes in all three of them. I am using them in a pasture. The Velcro in the is pulling back.I have been still using them now over a month and they are still working.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped in three days The fly sheet fit my horse really well but it ripped in two places just after three days.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from High Hopes. Low Performance. SmartPak is quality. No doubt. But this flysheet lasted me all of one week and I even had it monogrammed. My horse is not a flysheet monster but it has ripped on both shoulders and just over the tail. $60+ bucks down the drain. Time to order another one. But not this one.
    Date published: 2015-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Fits well and nice Velcro closure . Liked the fabric which has held up so far.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fly / sun protection! A barn mate pointed out that our dark green show fly sheets were really hot for our boys on a warm day? This is lite weight and protects my grey from the sun after a bath. Great for grazing or ringside. The double Velcro front closure and doubles belly straps are perfect. Worth the money! Wish Smarpak would cut back on the double branding of everything on their products. On both belly straps and another label slapped on the front is overkill and tacky (seam ripper will take care of the later).
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped after two days. Two days on my horse and there is rip on the shoulder of the sheet. If this had happened a month after wear I wouldn't have blinked an eye! I liked the lining on the shoulders to protect from rubs and the extra closures to secure a good fit.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable fly sheet at a great price Sheet stands up well to daily use. Good fit for my quarter horse
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big! I ordered the 75, and my horse measures 76. It is at least 4 inches too long and hangs down low past his belly. Its good quality though. I love it, just needed a smaller.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's OK I think this would be a good product for stabled horses with short turn outs or older horses. The three horses I tried this on run in large hillside paddocks and they roll & play, I will be having the stress points repaired and I am sure I can use them again next season. Also flies were able to get up and under the sheet, that didn't happen with the Rambo fly sheets I ordered for the other three horses. I am going all Rambo next year.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Sheet This sheet is well worth the price! My little Arabian mare wears hers out in a pasture with 4 others horses. I have had the sheet for over a month and so far only normal wear (a couple of very minor snags). I didn't give it fivestars because it runs so large. My mare normally wears a 72. I bought a 69. Neck/ shoulders fit great, the rest of the sheet is way to long. I would recommend that smartpak add fleece to the withers because the binding is narrow and causes minor mane rub. Over all a great sheet! Very light weight!
    Date published: 2014-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality made I like it but not as well as the one I had before. I ordered one size larger but this one seems way too big at the chest and straps underneath but not that much longer. I didn't think one size larger should be so different. They also changed the tail closing. the Proportion seems off to me.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very sturdy I bought this a month ago and it has held up better than other brands. Also, it is thicker and protects against sun rays too.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This is a good, basic fly sheet and the fit was accurate. My horse is happier, and more comfortable. The silver color helps reflect the sun, and it washes well. This sheet won't last in a pasture full of young, playful horses; but it works fine if your horse is in a well-settled group of pasture buddies.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very lightweight I usually purchase Amigo flysheets. The linings of those consistently tear out and the mesh rubs the hair off of the shoulders of my horse. So--I thought I'd try the SmartPak brand. So far so good. It's only been a month and the shoulder lining is intact. It is very lightweight. I have noticed that stains do not wash out--but that's ok. Good value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, great fit, high quality! I tried another brand first, but didnt fit right. I love this fly sheet! Soft material, lightweight enough for Arizona heat, really easy to put on, with only 2 buckles to deal with! Stays in place too. Very happy with this sheet!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from First smartpak product i dont like I normally have great reviews but this fly sheet didnt make the cut. I loved the fit when I first put it on. But one day in the sheet and my horse had a huge rub on the top part of his shoulder towards his neck. The binding along the neck just took all the skin and hair off. One of my bell boots snagged the fabric yesterday when I hung the sheet on my stall door. Not really happy with the sheet and it looks like it will head towards the tack trunk of products i dont really use. :(
    Date published: 2013-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from consider sizing down i ordered a 75, which is the size blanket this horse wears,but the sheet was to big. i had to return it & request a 73 or 72 whichever is available. still awaiting the exchange
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and soft Nice soft sheet, can rinse it out in a regular bucket as it is not bulky. Has a couple snags after pasture use but nothing major. Does run a bit large in the neck but it light enough that the binding is not too bad. Like this much better than the stiff bulky ones.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    • 2016-02-09T14:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_11106, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.