Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Breathable Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16115

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Breathable Girth is cushioned and contoured for comfort. The synthetic material offers a non-slip,
secure hold. The PVC waffle-weave allows air-flow for your horse and convenient, easy care for you!

Favorite Features

  • Double ply elastics
  • Nylon reinforcements
  • Stainless steel roller buckles

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Marielle Monoflap Girth is a beautiful shaped ...
    Description:
    The Marielle Monoflap Girth is a beautiful shaped padded leather girth. Designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master Saddler in France, using only French tanned leather which easily accepts oil. Favorite Features Stainless steel roller buckles Double ply elastic on both ends ...
    Edgewood girths are made with soft, top grain ...
    Description:
    Edgewood girths are made with soft, top grain leather and contoured for a perfect fit. Edgewood girth's are nylon line from end to end and outfitted with stainless steel buckles. Fancy stitched tops complete the classic Hunter/ Jumper look. Double ...
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
    Description:
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
    The Arc de Triomphe Anatomic Girth is the ...
    Description:
    The Arc de Triomphe Anatomic Girth is the perfect solution for both comfort and freedom for your horse to move. Shaped to contour to the body, yet to maintain width throughout the length of the girth. Imported. Favorite Features Offset ...
    The SmartPak Sheepskin Overlay Girth is designed for ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Sheepskin Overlay Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth. Handcrafted in premium leather with beautiful fancy stitching. Contoured design prevents against pinching ...
    The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Classic Hunter Girth is designed for the show ring but is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth. Handcrafted in premium leather with your choice of plain overlay or ...
    The SmartPak Split End Overlay Girth is classically ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Split End Overlay Girth is classically designed and is made so well that it will stand up to years of use as a schooling girth or show girth. Handcrafted in premium leather with traditional split ends on one ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breathable Girth is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent quality for $ The girth is decent quality for the price. The fit is pretty standard, the workmanship is average. My two complaints are that the hardware is already rusting after a month's use, and the girth edges roll under and wad up too easily, causing rubs.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Everyday Girth I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this girth. It is made of a very soft material and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth Nice girth for a nice price. Really well made and easy to clean. We bought this girth for my daughter's quarter pony that she uses for mounted games. Love that it is non slip- as you can see from the pic her saddle HAS to stay put! It's easy for her to adjust by herself with the double elastic.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value!!! Wears well, looks great, appears to be comfortable for the horse. Affordable quality. This is not a "fancy" girth but durable and can go into the show ring in a pinch!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable Girth Very breathable girth, great for summer use. Ran a bit smaller than what I expected.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Girth is supple, does not rub and has the sturdy elastics and stainless buckels usually found on quality leather girths.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Girth I love these girths. They are gentle on the horses belly. They are easy to wash and dry. Would always buy these girths!!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Girth Great girth for the summer months. Love how flexible and soft it is, plus its breathable!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-crafted! Bought this girth to replace a fleece lined girth as it kept getting so dirty. My very sensitive mare has had no problems with this girth, there's no pinching or rubbing. I love that it has rollers on the buckles! The color is a nice dark brown and it matches my Thorowgood saddle perfectly. When I get another horse this will be the girth I get for it!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Schooling/Show Girth I truly love this product. When I bought Jonah in March at the age of eighteen (now nineteen), I really didn't have a lot of money to spend on tack and other goodies for my boy. So I began my search for a cheaper girth that I could use for schooling, and for shows. I use hand-me-downs from my sister's old horse, so a saddle and bridle were already acquired (at least to use for the time being until I can afford a proper fitting saddle for my high withered boy). It just came down to a good price and a slight match in color. This girth has been fantastic to me. It gets a little dusty or sweaty from a workout, just hose it off, sit it in the sun for ten minutes and it's ready to be out away. The one concern I did have with the girth itself is, it looks EXTREMELY big in the packaging. I bought a 46' and was concerned it would be too long, but decided to try it out and it fit perfectly. So don't panic too much when you get a girth that looks horribly big! Overall, I am completely satisfied with this product and would recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth!! Great quality girth at a super cheap price :)This girth along with the success jumper pad keeps my saddle in place. My mare is round and we were constantly trying to keep her saddle from slipping. These two products solved my problem!!
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Girth for the Price Overall, I am very happy with this girth. I bought this to replace my fleece elastic girth for my draft cross. This girth doesn't have much stretch, which makes tightening kind of difficult. It seems to run a little small, too.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE I NEEDED AN INEXPENSIVE SCHOOLING GIRTHFOR A GROWING YOUNG HORSE, SEEMS LIKETHIS ONE WILL WORK OUT JUST FINE.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth for the Money Super reasonable girth for my Pony Clubber. Easy to clean too!
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, easy care, great price This girth was recommended by others at my barn. I was trying to replace an older leather girth (stamped with 50") with one 2" longer, so I ordered the 52", without measuring the one I had. The SmartPak girth was shorter than the length of my original girth (which, granted, may have stretched over the years). With the patience of SmartPak (thank you!), I eventually ended up with a 56" girth, which physically measured 53-1/2". Does it fit my horse? YES. Does he feel comfortable? YES. Easy to clean, looks good, win win! I would recommend to anyone, but would definitely suggest measuring either the horse and saddle, or a girth that fits prior to ordering (learn from my mistake.....).
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great girth Great girth for the price and does not rub the sensitive horses while providing a little nonslip grip. Very easy to wipe down after each ride. My only complaint is that prong on the buckle shifts side to side and can make tightening from the saddle more difficult.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Girth! This girth is great for summer because my horse isn't so sweaty because this girth is breathable unlike my fleece or leather girth! The only thing I wish was different is I wish it had elastic on both sides, but overall great buy!
    Date published: 2011-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday item Great everyday item. Easy to clean and the horses seem quite comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great girth My horse gets grumpy when I put a leather girth of him. I have been using the neoprene type and all has been well but decided to just try this girth as the price was inexpensive and didn't think I had much to lose. Long story short I am very happy with it as is my horse.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent girth I love the ease of care of this girth & my horse is loving the fit. It has a contoured shape that reduces rubbing & just enough give to allow my horse to move freely while still holding my saddle snuggly. If it holds up well it will be my new favorite girth!
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No rubbing and easy care I loved my old girth but it is no longer available, so when the buckles got bent in a move I looked for a long time before choosing this girth. I wanted a contoured fit, easy care, inexpensive, and I prefer no elastic. But other than all leather girths most girths seem to have elastic. So far I have been very happy with it. The rollers on the buckles make fastening it easier, the contoured fit reduces rubbing, & after I ride usually a damp cloth is all I need to clean it up.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the Best This girth is by far the best we have ever used. Our pony had the last one for 6 years and just now is starting to unravel a little. Can be used at shows and is comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent girth for the money Bought this for a mare I've just started riding - didn't want to spend a lot, as she's not mine. Quality seems good for the price, fit is accurate. I like the elastic at both ends.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort for my horse, easy care for me - and less expensive than other identical brands. What could be better? Time will tell whether it is durable, but so far it is great!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I bought one...make that 2 ! This is the 2nd girth like this I bought. I ordered a 46" for one horse and decided I needed a 42" for my other horse. I really like them. They do run big in size and the elastic is good and stretchy, so I would recommend ordering a size or two smaller than you would typically.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing issues Was not able to use, 44 was the same size as the girth my friend helped me try on my horse. This 44 was too small. Either her girth was marked wrong or some manufacturers measure differently, should have ordered a 48.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT !!! I bought this girth for my gelding and just love it. It fits him perfect and is easy to clean. He is less sweaty under this girth than his other one I have. I am planning on buying another one for my mare as she is a little smaller and needs the next size or two down.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not True to Size I was excited by the idea of this girth until I actually got it in the mail. It is two sizes smaller than the size it says it is. It is almost black and does not look good with most hunter/jumper saddles. If you must buy this get at least two sizes bigger than you need but I would recommend a different girth.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Girth!!! Love it! It's fantastic for schooling and so easy to clean when it gets muddy or hairy. The only thing about is probably the texture--it's a little rough on sensitive horses so it could cause rubs if not used with a cover.
    Date published: 2011-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Girth For Less I just received this girth recently, but it is a very attractive dark brown, which matches my leather saddle well (colour is not listed in item description). It fits great, and I love the ease of care of synthetic material. Very breathable, soft, comfortable material, looks to be well made. The elastic is very stretchy and is dark brown, not white, as shown.
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    • 2016-02-05T15:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_72
    • loc_en_US, sid_6115, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.