Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
 
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
 
Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.
 
Sizing it Up
 
Cobb
Horse
Warmblood


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.4583 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I bought this for use during turn out (my new barn will only turn out with halters on) and am very pleased. It's well made but is light enough that I don't worry about it wearing (or weighing) on my mare's face. Great quality, great value! I'm very pleased!
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointing skimpy and insubstantial. i don't like the clasp either. it will serve as a "backup" halter for times i clean the other. i will say that my Bay looks great in the beautiful blue.
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter Its fits the thourghbred horse well, and is easy to use.
    Date published: 2015-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Everyday Use This is a great halter for everyday use around the barn. The only complaint I have is the size. Warmblood is ENORMOUS! I have a 17.2 hand Warmblood with the longest face I've ever seen and its huge on him.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breakaway Halter! Happy to have found these - economical and safe if you have to leave them up. They have held up well so far! Well made, a few colors offered, can repair easily if broken.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good turn out halter Bought this halter for turn out and like it.Leather on top of halter is breakable in case of the horse getting caught on something.
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I purchased two of the break away halters for my Quarter Horses about two months ago. The hardware is well constructed and I ordered both in horse size and the size fits well The only drawback is the material on the noseband started to frey after one month but other than that the halterrs are a good purchase
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I purchased this halter for my warmblood. Her head is usually to large for regular horse size and to small for warmblood sizing. This halter was perfect. Very adjustable and was able to fit it perfectly. Would consider it to run a shade on the big size , but was just what I was looking for...
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but too big! This is a nice halter but unfortunately it is going back. I have one horse who usually wears a horse size halter and one who wears a cob size. This halter in the cob size was much too big for either horses. It would work if I punched more holes in the leather but why waste the time when I can find something else. Overall, its a nice looking halter and seems to be well made but will probably only work on much bigger heads.
    Date published: 2015-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I bought this halter for my horse and I love it!! The navy color looks great on my chestnut mare. I get complements on this halter all the time. I think that the quality of the halter is great and it still looks really new.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!! I bought this product about a month ago. my horse is very hard on his haters so I wanted something that wasn't too expensive but would also hold up well. this halter did just that! I love to look of it as well, it was an overall great purchase and a quality halter.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Leather is soft and supple. Happy with this product.
    Date published: 2015-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses that live outside My Haffy lives outside year round, and this is the perfect durable and safe halter for him. When I bought him he came with a leather halter, but didnt live in his halter outside, he was allowed to be naked when in his paddock. I also love that you can buy replacement crown pieces as well.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great durability and quality I bought this 1 month ago, cleans up with water and does not leave marks on face.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I had to add a hole on each side of the leather to fit my Lipizzan's head, but other than that, everything is just right.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Bought this a month ago and it is holding up SO well even through the muddy season, and it cleans up beautifully!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good halter for daily wear. I bought this halter to be worn with the grazing muzzle I use. I was looking for a safe alternative to my leather halter and found it in this style. Good price, good product and think this halter is perfect for what I intended it for.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting halter This halter fits perfectly and we are now ready for daily turnout with a herd a mares that love to play halter tag!
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed The break away halter was exactly what I needed. It gave me the options of sizing it to better fit my horse. The quality of the halter was excellent. My horse loved it also until I put the grazing muzzle on it!! I am very pleased overall with the halter..
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter I bought black, horse size. It is nice looking and true to size. The leather strap seems about the right sturdiness - breakable, yet not too weak.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little big I have a very average sized horse so I typically buy all my items in horse size, and I don't often have issues. But, this halter was really big on him. The quality of it was nice and I liked the color, just big. Trying the cob size as that might fit better.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3 Horses same Halter I bought this halter for all 3 of my horses, I like the safety of the breakaway, but that it has the durability of the nylon for the weather. The snap at the throat comes in handy for easy on/off as well as clipping, a huge bonus is the double sided buckles so that if ever needed you can remove the halter from either side. These halters are hung up outside in weather and holding up well.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit, very adjustable, good quality materials. Have owned for 3 months, color has not faded, small size works well for my arab.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter!! I bought this for an everyday halter for my horse and it has held up amazingly! The navy looks very nice on my bay and it have very nice finishes!! love it!!!!
    Date published: 2015-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halters Bought two cob size halters, pleased with the quality
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Very pleased with the halter, it is a tad big, but a hole punched in the leather worked. thanks!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breakaway Needed a breakaway halter for the new boarding facility and this has performed fabulously. Nice color option and fits true to size. Solid and doesn't create rubs or hot spots. Bought a second for our other horse as well.
    Date published: 2015-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good find. It is difficult to find a quality breakaway halter. Am very satisfied with this one.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reasonable and looks nice too This is a very reasonable halter to use as a second one, and it looks nice too. It's a little flimsy at first putting on, but once it is adjusted and warn in a little, it's great.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! I bought this halter about a year ago and its great! My horse is outside 24/7 so his halter sits out in the rain, snow and sun. It is in great condition still. The buckles work AMAZING and I haven't needed to replace the leather yet. I deffinetly reccomend it! Beautifly made!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    • 2015-08-29T13:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_125
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.