Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.

Don't forget the matching leads: Poly Nylon Lead with Solid Brass Snap, Poly Nylon Lead with Brass Plated Chain, Flat Nylon Lead with 24" Chain

Please note, all breakaway halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

Made in the USA.

Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.

Key Specifications
  • Material: Nylon
  • Breakaway: Yes
  • Metal Type: Brass
  • Customizable: No

Sizing

Pony, Cob, Horse, Oversize
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Nylon
Breakaway Yes
Metal Type Brass
Width 1"
Special Features Leather crown piece is adjustable on both sides
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case ...
    Description:
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case scenarios with the Emergency Halter. This halter is combined with a lead rope so it is ready to use if ever faced with an urgent situation. Perfect to place in the front ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The fashion-forward designs of this halter is made ...
    Description:
    "The fashion-forward designs of this halter is made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort. This halter is adjustable by the ...
    "The fashion-forward designs of these halters are made ...
    Description:
    "The fashion-forward designs of these halters are made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort."
    "The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate ...
    Description:
    "The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate any horse's look whether it's just around the stable or at a show! The British Halter is made of English hand rubbed bridle leather in 1""two-ply leather for lasting durability. Havana leather ...
    "The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been ...
    Description:
    "The Rockin' SP Custom Overlay halter has been designed specifically to fit Quarter Horses and other like stock breeds! Perfect for turnout and around the barn. Your horse will be as comfortable as ever with a halter made for his ...
    "Big D Halters are built to last. The ...
    Description:
    "Big D Halters are built to last. The halters are made with heavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled stitched for strength. The buckles, rings and squares are premium quality and guaranteed not to break. Please note, this is ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 230.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice breakaway halter This is a nice halter. I love the color. It is a little light weight for my taste. I would prefer a heftier nylon.
    Date published: 2017-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Looks great, I'd definitely order this again in different colors!
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter I bought this halter for my new OTTB. The navy color looks great on her and the quality of this halter is good. The leather piece is thick. I ordered 'horse' size and I am at the top hole on both sides, and the top hole on the noseband. It is still big, but will do for grooming.
    Date published: 2017-02-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nylon is Flimsy The halter itself is fine, however the nylon is very flimsy, which makes it harder to put on.
    Date published: 2017-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality you can count on. These halters wear well and some of the best made in the category of 'breakaway' halters.
    Date published: 2017-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I've bought a couple of these for horses who are not great in cross ties and they've done exactly what they're meant to do, i.e. break at the crownpiece if something happens. The halter does run a tiny bit big in my opinion, a horse size has been pretty loose on two normal sized horse heads. So if your horse's head is on the smaller size, I would definitely go with a cob. Overall great product and what I've come to expect from Smartpak products!
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only safe way to tie a horse! I use these breakaway halters on all of my horses, because they are frequently tied overnight while camping during NATRC (North American Trail Ride Conference) competitions. My newest QH has a very petite little head, and this cob size fits her very well.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value
    Date published: 2017-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily adjustable Bought for all 3 of my horses....Cob/horse/warmblood. All Sizes fit as described!
    Date published: 2016-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kind of thin. Will use as a backup Bought this as a replacement for the halter that goes out with my horse then hangs by the fence. Not sure that is a good role for this one. Seems thin and flimsy. I'll use as a spare in my trailer instead.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! I bought this halter a month ago, and so far it has withstood bad weather and 'halter-tag' very successfully!
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! Have a Percheron paint cross and was worried about finding a breakaway halter to fit him. The warmblood size was perfect! Also the halter is soft and supple, unlike most draft horse halters!
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as expected Nice enough product however I was expecting something sturdier and better made.
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for big horses Finn loves his new halter! Even though he's not even 2 years old yet- he is 17 hands and has a huge head and face. But not uncommon for a Clydesdale! Fits him great and he looks handsome!
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this halter a month ago and it's holding up very nicely. The leather crown is soft and dirt brushes off easily.
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed Great product for the price! And my lovely mare already tested out the breakaway feature. It works. I love the green color. I'll probably buy more.
    Date published: 2016-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price Super Good Construction I love the breakaway halter I got for my 4 1/2 year old gelding. It is very well constructed. My horse has a beautiful slender face and I wasn't sure which size would work for him, so the rep. recommended I get both sizes and they included a return mailing label for the one that was the wrong size. I will say they run large and I though the smaller size was going to be to big for him, but it worked fine on the tightest holes. He looks great in it and if I ever need to get another halter I would not hesitate to order this one again.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for! Was looking for a basic breakaway halter for my horse and this is exactly it! It does run big so I ordered a cob size for my 16.2h TB and it's adjusted to the 2nd hole from the top on both sides of the leather piece.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classically smart halter I bought this everyday halter as a nice streamlined safe way to keep my mares leather halter in good condition. Its good-looking, she wears it for turnout, the leather is soft and strong, the brass buckles are sturdy. I actually bought 2 incase one gets muddy and I have to wash it :=}
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, a well-made utility halter. Fits well, leather crown is of sturdy weight, fittings are good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2016-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well Bought this for my mare who has to wear a blanket bib when stalled. I like the breakaway crown and the halter is roomy enough to add plenty of halter fleece.
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durability and quality This halter has a heavy quality feel . It is fit to size our horse is not hard to fit but this halter also fits our friends QH. The break away leather portion feels durable. The price makes this halter afordable but is high quality and it has done well in the weather. The color has not faded.
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too bih One size does not fit all. Why not offer cob, horse and oversize versions?
    Date published: 2016-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice breakaway halter I bought two of these for my 'boys.' They fit well and are smart looking. (no smart pak pun intended) I had previously purchased the nylon web with knotted nose, which I also liked. These have a nice smooth webbing and it turned out I needed the breakaway feature. I followed the fitting tips from other buyers and they fit fine. My 'regular headed' Saddlebred wears the cob and my long headed one wears the regular.
    Date published: 2016-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good products with reasonable prices! The break-away halter is a "must" for my operations. The halter I purchased from Smart Pak is of excellent quality for the price.
    Date published: 2016-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent These are decent quality for the price. The nylon parts are very soft and comfortable. The biggest flaw is the hinge area of the clip closure has this little area that seems to just attract mud. Then you can't get the clip open to take the halter off without either digging the mud/dirt out or hosing the whole thing off. It's frustrating enough that I'm not sure I would buy these again. But if you aren't using them for turnout that isn't a problem.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable halter I use these on all my horses and have my boarders also purchase these halters for safety and ease of use. Straps adjust and buckles make clipping halter quick and easy.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bout this about a month ago and it fits my dainty ottb well in a cob. Love the green color!
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter I really like the quality of this halter, but it does run very big. The horse size was way too big for my horse, so I returned and exchanged for a COB, the exchange went very smooth and very happy with this product and the service
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I didn't read the reviews before I jumped on this and ordered a horse size, received it and it was extremely big on my horse, however, the return is so simple, I boxed it up, filled out the paperwork, attached the label and took it to the UPS store and exchanged for the COB size, which fits perfectly. Appears to be great quality too. No hassle returns.
    Date published: 2016-08-17
    • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_207
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders