Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
 
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
 
Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.
 
Sizing it Up
 
Cobb
Horse
Warmblood


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.5194 out of 5 by 129.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed The break away halter was exactly what I needed. It gave me the options of sizing it to better fit my horse. The quality of the halter was excellent. My horse loved it also until I put the grazing muzzle on it!! I am very pleased overall with the halter..
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter I bought black, horse size. It is nice looking and true to size. The leather strap seems about the right sturdiness - breakable, yet not too weak.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little big I have a very average sized horse so I typically buy all my items in horse size, and I don't often have issues. But, this halter was really big on him. The quality of it was nice and I liked the color, just big. Trying the cob size as that might fit better.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3 Horses same Halter I bought this halter for all 3 of my horses, I like the safety of the breakaway, but that it has the durability of the nylon for the weather. The snap at the throat comes in handy for easy on/off as well as clipping, a huge bonus is the double sided buckles so that if ever needed you can remove the halter from either side. These halters are hung up outside in weather and holding up well.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit, very adjustable, good quality materials. Have owned for 3 months, color has not faded, small size works well for my arab.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter!! I bought this for an everyday halter for my horse and it has held up amazingly! The navy looks very nice on my bay and it have very nice finishes!! love it!!!!
    Date published: 2015-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halters Bought two cob size halters, pleased with the quality
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Very pleased with the halter, it is a tad big, but a hole punched in the leather worked. thanks!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breakaway Needed a breakaway halter for the new boarding facility and this has performed fabulously. Nice color option and fits true to size. Solid and doesn't create rubs or hot spots. Bought a second for our other horse as well.
    Date published: 2015-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good find. It is difficult to find a quality breakaway halter. Am very satisfied with this one.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reasonable and looks nice too This is a very reasonable halter to use as a second one, and it looks nice too. It's a little flimsy at first putting on, but once it is adjusted and warn in a little, it's great.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! I bought this halter about a year ago and its great! My horse is outside 24/7 so his halter sits out in the rain, snow and sun. It is in great condition still. The buckles work AMAZING and I haven't needed to replace the leather yet. I deffinetly reccomend it! Beautifly made!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made! I love that you can buy replacement crowns and that it has two crown buckles. I have a mare that loves to pull back and the safety of this halter is what I like. When it breaks all I have to do is replace the crown instead of the whole halte.r
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I ordered this halter in black for my bay OTTB and it looks great on him. I ordered a cob size, after reading that it ran a bit large and it is just perfect. I would recommend this halter.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality and Value Needed a halter for turnout. This halter fits great and looks smart. No one has chewed it up yet, either!!
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter It's perfect for an everyday halter and the clip is lighter so it is easy to take on and off.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a break away halter I really like this halter. Unfortunately my horse broke it about a week after I bought it. She was tied up to a pole and pulled back. The leather broke, like it is supposed to do, and she was not injured. The halter is actually still usable so I'm still using it!
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted two hours... My gelding was turned out in the paddock for less than two hours before he ripped the nylon chin strap away from the hardware. The rest of the halter, ironically including the leather crown piece, stayed intact. Not sure how he managed this, but looks like we're back on the great halter search yet again...
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit The halter was well made but didn't fit my foundation quarter horse. The throat latch was about 2 inches too short. I bought the cob size for a 15 hand horse. I thought it fit so he wore it and I didn t ask for a return. My loss and I will donate it.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs really large! Really well made, great hardware, and nice color choices but the entire fit is quite large. I purchased the cob for my 16H Arab gelding and it was still quite big for him. Also, be aware that this halter is not IMO thick enough to hold a halter attached grazing muzzle on. The weight of the halter is very light which is great for those pastured with halters on but not for those looking for a breakaway solution with their grazing muzzle. Besides the fit being on the large size, it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Happy that I have one now - UPDATE After having this on my guy for a couple of weeks, I have to lower the overall rating. The nylon on the halter started fuzzing out into long thready like pulls on the bottom side of the nose band. Whether he rubbed it or not, not certain but it (the nylong webbing) didn't hold up nearly well as a Hamilton halter he's had and worn for years. I am pleased to say that SmartPak was great in exchanging it for another -- which I'm more than willing to retry just in case the first halter was a "lemon". I have to agree with another reviewer that the halter does flip around inside out quite easily.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy that I have one now I received this halter about 2-3 weeks ago and am glad I bought it. It's seemingly well made and it is really helpful that it can be adjusted both at the poll and noseband. It fits my Arab quite nicely and the green is very appealing on him. I thought I'd get to see him put it to the test when we gave him a bath recently (the boy is a bit chicken when it comes to gentle sprays of water on him). He pulled back on the lead and post he was connected to but happily not enough to cause any damage to himself or anything else. Hopefully, he won't ever need the breakaway feature of this halter in the future. I'm glad I purchased this and probably will use this type vs. the standard halters from now on. Can't put a price on peace of mind, right?
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value! Great looking halter at an unbeatable price. The only downside is the fabric isn't stiff enough and flips inside out.
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good quality, runs a little large though This is a great halter, but does run large, we have 2 average sized QH geldings and had to punch holes in the crown piece for both horses, 2 holes for one of them, 1 hole for the other. The quality was good enough that we would rather punch holes in them than return them.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Item I really like this break away halter. It has the nice feel of a more expensive halter
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and safe I recently moved my horse to a new barn where they like to turn horses out in safety halters like this one. I got this one from Smartpak and am very happy. The blue color is cheerful, the halter is light but well-made, and fits well. I bought the horse size for my 16.2 Irish Sport Horse and I did have to punch an extra hole in the leather crown piece on each side, but he usually is on the last holes on horse size bridles and halters so I would say it is sized appropriately. Just got it so I can't say yet how the hardware will hold up.
    Date published: 2014-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit, looks good too. Bought this for my new TB and so far so good. Need a breakaway during turnout and it fits great. The adjustable chin makes the fit unique for each horse. I'm picky about halter clips and this one fits the bill.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value! I've only used this a few times but it seems like a decent halter for the price. I was looking for a halter with the breakaway feature and this one seemed to be the best quality for a good price.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality I bought this about a month ago and so far it is holding up very well, it is on the horse 24/7. Looks very sturdy and nice quality. Bought it for a 15.1 quarter horse, built on the small side and the cob sizing fits very well. I tightened it up about 2 holes on each side of the crown piece.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rusty Nice looking halter for the price, but the hardware rusts! We hang out halters on the fence during turnout, and the hardware has rusted in about 2 months. We bring horses inside when it rains, so it's not like it is getting wet on a regular basis. Besides that, it is a lovely halter. I replaced the breakaway piece with the padded breakaway crown the Smartpak sells. It really makes the halter even nicer!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    • 2015-05-22T08:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_110
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.