Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
 
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
 
Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.
 
Sizing it Up
 
Cobb
Horse
Warmblood


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality ...
    Description:
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality tack and the Rockin' SP Foal Halter is no exception! This Hermann Oak leather halter provides a high-quality, well-fitting option for your foal. It really is smarter gear for smarter riders! Favorite ...
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter is a ...
    Description:
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter is a show-quality halter at an everyday halter price that's built to fit stockier horses! Rockin' SP really is smarter gear for smarter riders. Each halter is handmade in the USA by skilled Amish ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed, featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully ...
    Keep your horse comfortable during transport with a ...
    Description:
    Keep your horse comfortable during transport with a Sheepskin Shipping Halter. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Double stitched 1" shipping halter has an adjustable double buckle crown, throat snap for easy on, ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.4545 out of 5 by 176.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter for a great price! Perfect turnout halter- looks nice and fits well. Great Value.
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter Not as heavy as Hamilton Halters, but nice quality. I think adjustable nose runs big and did not fit my horse.
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! I bought this for my daughter's OTTB. Great halter she loves it!
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not to bad for the money ... but The halter is ok ... but I am already having issues with the clip - like its starting to spring...like its broken already
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter, weird sizing I tried to love this halter, but it just didn't work for my 16.3 tb gelding. It is very nice quality with soft nylon, but I'm not sure about the sizing. My gelding has the Wellfleet hunter bridle in a regular horse size, and numerous leather and turnout halters in horse size, but this halter was HUGE. Even on the smallest hole the horse size was enormous. The throatlatch strap was dangerously loose, I was afraid he would catch his hoof while grazing. Smartpak is awesome and sent me a cob size, which I really tried to make work, but in the end it just was not fitting. The cob was still pretty big everywhere except the noseband was tight. It is possible that my gelding just doesn't have the right shape head for this, so I'm still giving it 4 stars, and smartpak is the best as usual!
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great choice for home halter purchased this halter to hang on the fence gate of paddock for horse at home. just needed something that could be in the weather, but also be breakaway, and adjustable because horses face is funny sized and not break the bank. this halter fit the requirements perfectly. the nylon is soft and doesnt shrink like other halters, color is nice and the adjustability works great for my funny sized thoroughbred head. glad I purchased it
    Date published: 2016-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit i brough this about 2 months ago love it fit well and looks great
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality halter Have been using the smart pak break away halter for a few weeks now for stable and turn out use. So far so good. I got it because i needed a new breakaway and i like the leather strap break away style and i know someone who likes the way their smart pal one is holding up.
    Date published: 2016-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made, beautiful color Bought this for a sales horse to send with him and wanted to keep it for my own!
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love these halters, both my boys wear these halters for turnout
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Turnout Halter Bought 2 as gifts and one for my horse. I needed to punch more holes to get a good fit in two of the horses.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking halter I love how this halter looks. It is nicer than a plain nylon halter and the breakaway leather not only looks fancy but has a functional purpose to break if it needs to. I found a matching navy lead in a local tack store and the set looks great! My horse has a large head and the top leather strap is adjustable to fit. Very happy!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, classic and comfy Got this for my Boy when he returned to his winter barn and it fit and looks great on him. It has held up to many hours of halter tag and cleans up easy.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy halter, but odd fit Nice halter, but the throatlatch piece fits very tight and there is no good way to adjust it. Am using with a grazing muzzle, so fit flexibility is key.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Looks fantastic on him and great quality! I got the black in horse size which fits perfectly on his big head, so I guess I would say it runs a bit big. Love it though!
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality / Runs Big Great Quality compared other brands same style breakaway halter. Only concern warm blood size runs big, which is easier to adjust, than if too small !
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Great for a pasture halter. My horse has destroyed 2 all leather halters now so I needed a more durable product but with the safety of the leather break away piece. So far so good.
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Everyday Fits a variety of horses with the adjustable nose. Clean and simple. Downside is that the navy nylon faded really quickly in the sun. Would buy again for young horses though, just don't leave outside.
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price Bought it as a replacement for a leather halter. Did not know if I would like going from the leather to this halter. It is great. Sturdy and easy to get on and off. Very adjustable so I am able to get a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Breakaway halter Really like this halter. Very well made. Good fit on my Quarter Horse.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted! It is a great halter at a great price! Fits well and I trust the manufacturer.
    Date published: 2015-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value I got a Horse and Cob size as backup halters in our trailer for guest horses in case of an incident. Seem white well made. Perfect simple breakaway
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs large I bought this halter for my warmblood who is between cob and horse size, so I ordered the horse size. The halter was nice but ran extremely large, more appropriate for warmblood or oversized.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality hardware. Very well made! I wanted a few cheap breakaway halters in my barn for turn out. We had a rainy spring and I didn't want to ruin my nice leather halters. I was SO impressed with the quality for the price!
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from DURABLE!!!!! This halter is very pretty out of the box!! Ran a little large though. I love the breakaway feature. I keeps pease of mind when my horse and her friends are playing halter tag in the feild. Great product and it still looks new with a little hose off.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Buy I haven't had the halter for long, so I can't speak to the durability. However it's a great buy; it's soft and adjustable. Would definitely buy it again.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price, easy snap to open I like these halters very much- good for bringing horses in and out and sturdy enough for trailering and cross ties while knowing they will break if a problem. They do run large and seem to stretch over time.
    Date published: 2015-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft, yet sturdy Love this halter. Soft enough not to run my horse's face but sturdy enough it doesn't break.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good every day Halter I've had this for 6weeks and it has held up well. Lacks some of the quality I've seen in other brands of breakaway halters.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fit well, but failed within a week This halter seemed a bit cheap in its construction, but fit my horse well and I like the adjustable chin so I considered it worth the price. Until the metal hardware on the side of the face above the chinstrap broke within a week of normal turnout use. This horse is not a wild child and has never broken a halter before. At least the leather breakaway strap was salvageable...
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    • 2016-05-01T17:20CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_156
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders