Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Breakaway Halter

SmartPak
- Item #12425
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why we Love This
 
Breakaway Halters are a barn staple! The SmartPak Breakaway Halter offers heavy nylon webbed noseband and cheek pieces for durability and a leather crown piece with adjustability on both sides making this halter great for everyday use.
 
Favorite Features
 
• Adjustable Chin.
• Brass Plated Hardware.
• Made in the USA.
 
Sizing it Up
 
Cobb
Horse
Warmblood


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish ...
    Description:
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of fashion ...
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate ...
    Description:
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate any horse's lookwhether it's just around the stable or at a show! The British Halter is made of English hand rubbed bridle leather in 1"two-ply leather for lasting durability.Havana leatherand white thread ...
    Big DHalters are built to last. The halters ...
    Description:
    Big DHalters are built to last. The halters are made withHeavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled stitched for strength. The buckles, rings and squares arepremium qualityand guaranteed not to break. Favorite Features Customizable Triple stitched Sizing It Up ...
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond ...
    Description:
    Made from a continous piece of rot-resistant diamond braided poly rope, this halter isSoft to the touch for both horse and handler and the 8' detachablelead is the perfect length. Favorite Features Made fromSoft, two-toned, diamond braided rot-resistantpoly rope Accompanied ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Breakaway Halter is rated 4.460732984293194 out of 5 by 191.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this halter a month ago and it is holding up ok. My only complaint is that I wish it was a heavier gauge of nylon and thicker
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the navy blue. I love the navy blue color to match my horse's fly sheet. It looks great on him and fits well.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter I'm like the 10th person in the barn to purchase one of these halters and I'm glad I did! It's sturdy and looks great. Not to mention it's a great price!
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality halter, well made. Runs large. Buckles and snaps are of good quality, solid halter. Looks great. Runs large. Overall, good quality for the price.
    Date published: 2016-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great every day halter Perfect for turn out. Runs a little big, but still fits.
    Date published: 2016-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality I am very happy with the quality of this product. I purchased two since our pony is hard on halters and typically requires frequent replacements. However, the first one has held up so well that we have not yet needed to use our backup. My only issue was that the size was too big. We were able to adjust the fit by punching an extra hole in the leather band.
    Date published: 2016-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs large I was disappointed that while my horse usually wears a large in weaver brand and oversized in bridles, this halter is too big and have to adjust on the last holes. Quality is less than weaver. The snap under his cheek is backwards so it faces toward his cheek instead of away so it pokes him. Also unhappy that it snags and collects shavings so my poor guy is wearing his bedding all the time. I needed a halter that he could safely wear 24/7 due to recent haltering issues.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this halter for our new old pony. It is well made, fits very well and expect it to give us long service.
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality This halter is very nice, I do wish it fit my horse a little better. I have the crown piece adjusted to fit a shorter head, but then the strap that clips under her throat is just a little too snug. She seems to be between the cob and horse size.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable My horse is in a situation that he has to wear his halter all the time and gets turned out with a large group of horses during the day. My horse being a 4 year old plays all the time and this halter has held up and still looks nice.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great basic Halter I needed a halter for everyday use, and chose this one because it offers the breakaway feature, nice colors, and is reasonably priced. I was happy with the overall quality when I received it.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy halter I bought 2 halters to use for turn out. They are very durable. The only thing I don't like is that they are not stiff around the nose making it difficult to get on at times
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good halter for a good price I like to keep an extra halter or 2 around the barn, just in case! This is a great product that won't break the bank.
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter for a great price! Perfect turnout halter- looks nice and fits well. Great Value.
    Date published: 2016-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter Not as heavy as Hamilton Halters, but nice quality. I think adjustable nose runs big and did not fit my horse.
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! I bought this for my daughter's OTTB. Great halter she loves it!
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not to bad for the money ... but The halter is ok ... but I am already having issues with the clip - like its starting to spring...like its broken already
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter, weird sizing I tried to love this halter, but it just didn't work for my 16.3 tb gelding. It is very nice quality with soft nylon, but I'm not sure about the sizing. My gelding has the Wellfleet hunter bridle in a regular horse size, and numerous leather and turnout halters in horse size, but this halter was HUGE. Even on the smallest hole the horse size was enormous. The throatlatch strap was dangerously loose, I was afraid he would catch his hoof while grazing. Smartpak is awesome and sent me a cob size, which I really tried to make work, but in the end it just was not fitting. The cob was still pretty big everywhere except the noseband was tight. It is possible that my gelding just doesn't have the right shape head for this, so I'm still giving it 4 stars, and smartpak is the best as usual!
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great choice for home halter purchased this halter to hang on the fence gate of paddock for horse at home. just needed something that could be in the weather, but also be breakaway, and adjustable because horses face is funny sized and not break the bank. this halter fit the requirements perfectly. the nylon is soft and doesnt shrink like other halters, color is nice and the adjustability works great for my funny sized thoroughbred head. glad I purchased it
    Date published: 2016-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit i brough this about 2 months ago love it fit well and looks great
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality halter Have been using the smart pak break away halter for a few weeks now for stable and turn out use. So far so good. I got it because i needed a new breakaway and i like the leather strap break away style and i know someone who likes the way their smart pal one is holding up.
    Date published: 2016-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made, beautiful color Bought this for a sales horse to send with him and wanted to keep it for my own!
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love these halters, both my boys wear these halters for turnout
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Turnout Halter Bought 2 as gifts and one for my horse. I needed to punch more holes to get a good fit in two of the horses.
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking halter I love how this halter looks. It is nicer than a plain nylon halter and the breakaway leather not only looks fancy but has a functional purpose to break if it needs to. I found a matching navy lead in a local tack store and the set looks great! My horse has a large head and the top leather strap is adjustable to fit. Very happy!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, classic and comfy Got this for my Boy when he returned to his winter barn and it fit and looks great on him. It has held up to many hours of halter tag and cleans up easy.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy halter, but odd fit Nice halter, but the throatlatch piece fits very tight and there is no good way to adjust it. Am using with a grazing muzzle, so fit flexibility is key.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Looks fantastic on him and great quality! I got the black in horse size which fits perfectly on his big head, so I guess I would say it runs a bit big. Love it though!
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality / Runs Big Great Quality compared other brands same style breakaway halter. Only concern warm blood size runs big, which is easier to adjust, than if too small !
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Great for a pasture halter. My horse has destroyed 2 all leather halters now so I needed a more durable product but with the safety of the leather break away piece. So far so good.
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    • 2016-07-24T10:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_169
    • loc_en_US, sid_2425, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders