Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Baby Pads

SmartPak
- Item #16525

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

*Select Colors Only On Sale!*

Why We Love This


Simple, practicality! Once you try it, you won’t be able to ride without it!

Favorite Features

  • Wicking lining gives our baby pad a little more substance than others you may have tried
  • 100% cotton baby pad with a wicking
  • 100% polyester lining
  • Machine wash cold and dry

Imported

Sizing It Up

Measures 26" spine, 17'' drop

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Baby Pads- Select Colors Only on Sale! is rated 4.3889 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great baby pad I bought this a month ago and it's held up well to my riding and the colors don't fade they are fleece on the under side which is fine for my body clipped horse
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Baby Pad!!! this is the best baby pad!! My horse loves it! It's so soft.
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so soft! I love these baby pads!!! My horse is so comfy now
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely baby pad I like this baby pad a lot, it looks great. I wish that the sides were slightly longer and that it was a little easier to make even on my horse's back, but definitely worth the money. I've only had it for less than a month, so I'm not sure how well it'll hold up over time.
    Date published: 2015-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! I bought this about a month ago and I love it. I use it under my regular saddle pad. I'm also using it for desensitizing my pony. It's big but on the thinner side.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, affordable pad! I wanted a pad long enough to protect my half pad from getting dirty (regular square pads weren't cutting it) and this pad is perfect! I have to fuss with it a bit to make sure it's even on my horse's back, but otherwise I love it. I had mine embroidered and it looks pretty sharp.
    Date published: 2015-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad Really like the pad. Has a soft, brushed cotton bottom. Got mine embroidered and looks smart. Wish the side lengths were a bit longer but great product would buy again.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicks sweat! My horse sweats A LOT, and this was great for keeping my new saddle pad clean and wicking the sweat away! I bought the 3 pack and couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dirt doesn't stick to it! Usually I just use it under another pad and you could never tell that it's dirty. The hair doesn't stick to inside of it and the dirt just rushed off! It's pretty great. the only con is that it's pretty stiff meaning that when you pull up the front to make room for the withers, it bunched weird and ends up flat.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like these pads! My first experience with this pad was from borrowing from a barn friend and found I really liked it. I have a pad collection ranging in multiple styles and thicknesses. Riding with a half pad and any of my other pads tend to be either too bulky or too thin and the pad won't stay in place. The combination of the half pad and the SmartPak Baby Pad underneath is the ideal combination for me! These baby pads stay in place and don't bunch or slip around under the saddle. They wash up nice, although I recommend drying on low setting or hanging as there can be some shrinkage from the dryer. I had mine monogrammed and it was a really nice touch! I really like these pads and definitely recommend them!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, doesn't lay flat. I bought this baby pad a month ago and it is really good quality, but it doesn't lay flat on my mares back. I've tried on a couple other rides, basically the same result. Will still use, just kind of an annoying feature.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love my custom baby pads! I ordered the 3 pack of baby pads embroidered with my horse's name on them. They looked just like I thought they would and are working really well for me. Exceptional price, too.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great as a western pad liner I use this as a liner for my western saddle pad. Instead of folding it the way it would normally go i fold it longways or hot dog style and it fits perfectly under my western pad. This is so much easier to wash and keep clean than a bulky, heavy fleece western pad. It is very good quality and super easy to wash. It keeps my horse cooler under a heavy, hot western saddle and pad in the summer.I can tell a difference in the amount of sweat under saddle after a ride. Its not expensive either so you can buy multiples for in between washings.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and affordable! I haven't had mine for very long but i love it. It is lightweight which is good for the summer and it is big enough to reach just the bottom of the leg flap on my saddle.
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great product! I absolutely love them and the price was right. I have only used it a handful of times. so far it still looks brand new show quality.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Pad The thing I really love about this pad is the moisture-wicking lining. My main problem with baby pads is that in warm weather the horse's sweat bleeds right through onto the saddle. The fleece type lining on this pad helps absorb some of the sweat and keep it off the saddle. The pad has a shorter drop than most regular saddle pads, so if you have a longer flapped saddle the saddle flap will probably come down farther than the pad. This is the case with my saddle and I don't have a problem with it, however it is something to note. My only complaint with this pad is that it does not have a contoured spine, and even on my horse who has fairly average withers, it puts pressure on them. However I have yet to find a baby pad with a contoured spine (except ogilvy, but I'm not paying that much for a baby pad) so it's not a problem exclusive to this product.
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have multiple SmartPak baby pads and I love them all! The best quality baby pad I have found. I have washed my many, many times and they still look brand new!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad, great price! I bought these personalized pads for my students and was pleasantly surprised with the quality and softness. Thanks again, Smart Pak! Another great product!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought a 3 pack of the black baby pads and got them embroidered. They are great quality! I love that they are fleece lined.. Totally worth the purchase!
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I did not like this pad! I got this to use under my half pad. I understand it is a baby pad but the first thing I did not care for is the size, I feel like it is super small and short. It also moved around a ton while I rode, scrunched up and rode back all the way under the saddle. I did like the underside material however.
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite baby pads to use These are great! I've bought other baby pads and my horse hates them, there were the only ones he hasn't tried to grab out of my hands when I'm putting them on. They fit a lot better than the other brands I've tried.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made I bought this to use under western saddle and pad for our welsh pony. It fits great. I have a hard time finding western tack to fit our welsh ponies and this has worked out great.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one complaint It is possible I am an idiot, but this pad doesn't mark the center which means I never get it even on both sides. It is a constant failing struggle. Otherwise, I really like it. I use it to protect my EcoGold half pad without adding bulk, and it does a great job.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I bought this to go under my new memory foam half pad and it works great. Very well made and it's nice and thin. Keeps my pad from getting dirty and looks great! I also like the felt underside
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought a few of these for xmas presents and am thorough pleased with them!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great basic pads I use these under my half pad and while they are a very basic, no frills type pad, they do their job and they do it well. Other pads, even baby pads, would end up damp after some summer rides, but the backing on these pads really does wick away the moisture. I haven't had any issued with slippage either. Finally, I love that you can buy them in a three pack.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Sturdy for a Baby Pad! I've been using these pads for about a month now and I'm thrilled with what I received! They have a cool moisture-wicking back, are made out of a more durable and sturdier fabric (more like a normal pad than a baby pad), and haven't slipped while I have used them. They are a touch long but I like them like that compared to other more square pads. Overall I'm very happy with these and will definitely be purchasing again when I am in need!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice baby pad for the price This is a good baby pad to use for the price, but it does have a different texture underneath than the normal quilted feel that is the top. I didn't mind it, but another lady at my barn didn't like it so she returned hers. I've been using the pad for a few months now and it seems to be holding up to every day use and frequent washings.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this with a gift certificate that I'd received & it's beautiful! I got the light blue thread for my embroidery & it matches wonderfully! I will definitely be buying some more in the future !
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Find something else... These pads bunch up a lot. These were a mess - the sweat bled right through them and left really dirty spots that did not wash out. I'm all for Smartpak products, but these were really a waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    • 2016-02-07T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_97
    • loc_en_US, sid_6525, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.