Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat

SmartPak
- Item #13910

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Warm, waterproof and the hit of the dog park!
 
So fabulous looking, you’d never guess there are 220 grams of Thinsulate™ insulation inside keeping your dog toasty warm and dry…without a hint of added bulk. Durable 600-denier outer shell stands up to rain, snow and the most enthusiastic playmates. VELCRO® Brand chest and belly closures, for easy on/off and adjustability. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

What size coat does my dog wear?  Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.

Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBlue® and SmartPink® Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7218 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, Warm and Bruno Likes It! I just recommended this coat to a friend and saw the reviews with pictures and thought I'd add a picture of Bruno wearing his coat. We bought this coat at least six years ago and it looks like new despite heavy use. It is really easy to put on. We leave the neck strap fastened and just slip it over his head and fasten the belly strap and off he goes. He gets lots of compliments too when we are out on outings! Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2015-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable coat! Waiting for the colder weather so I can use this coat. It is made very well and looks thick like a horse's winter coat.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute and Warm! Bought this for my lab mix who is a total baby when it comes to the cold! Anything below 50 F gets her shivering; we get a good amount of rain and the occasional bit of snow so I wanted something warm and waterproof. This is a good thick coat and a steal at this price! I love that it also matches my garment and boot bag, and the embroidery is just over the top cute!My one issue is the fit, but I've gotten used to having problems with fitting since my girl is deep chested. We bought an XL, she's 55 lbs and 21 inches neck to tail, with a 25 inch girth. It's just a tad short of reaching her tail, and the strap around her barrel is placed awkwardly and fits loose even at the tightest setting so I'll need to trim the excess. Ideally I like coats a little long so they have full coverage around the rump, but I think the next size up would be too big for her frame. If you want something for them to lay down in and stay warm this may not be the best option; it's very thick and a bit stiff so it lifts when she lays down, but it's great for walks and outdoor playtime in cold weather. Overall I'm very pleased! It's cute and functional! I purchased the fleece coat to layer for extra warmth as well, and it wraps nicely against her body if she needs some extra warmth indoors.
    Date published: 2015-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SmartPink Thinsulate Dog Coat This is our second Thinsulate Dog Coat, they are very easy to put on and take off. Super warm and durable!!! Great coats!!!
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for winter! A perfect purchase for winter! Helps keep my doggie warm and dry in the snow
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the rain! I live in Seattle and although my lab/mastiff doesn't mind the rain, I was tired of having to towel her off after every walk!She is the size of a tall, long Labrador and is about 90lbs. I couldn't find anything that would fit her. I ended up getting the XXXL for her. It fits well around her chest and ribs. It's a little bigger around her hips but she doesn't seem to mind.She still runs, fetches and does her business just as easy when she's not wearing it. I also got her the blue because I liked the color much better. It's a really pretty light blue and I really like the plaid. Overall, great blanket for my Seattle pup!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, really durable This coat works perfectly on our boxer and thus far our black lab has not been able to tear it up. It seems to be very comfortable and I am more then happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking and functional! I was looking for a coat that would provide some warmth and water protection and was eye catching so I can let my dog run in the woods during hunting season. This coat provides all of those features and is easy on/off. My dog is a lean 45lb pointer mix and the large is the perfect length but very ample in the body. The straps work well to secure the coat even though the body is wider than it needs to be. He loves it!
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put on Bought this for my goldens that get trimmed down pretty far for ease of dirt and mud on the farm. Fits nicely although it could use an extra inch along the back to cover to tail a bit more. Very easy to put on and off, especially on a 2 year old daffy acting golden retriever! I left the front velcroed at the chest and just slip it over my dog's head each time I need it. Good quality materials; same as a horse sheet. Fill is minimal but warm enough. Bought a second one for my other dog and glad I did.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big hit at the dog park! Great product. Price has gone up considerably! since I bought one for other dog. Sizing is very difficult. Could benefit from crossed belly straps like horse blankets. Wears well. Washes well. Appreciate that it keeps dogs warm but also dry and clean!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Have been using these on our dogs for years! They hold up well and are waterproof--easy to get the right fit.
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Styling! I searched all over (store and the web) for a good winter coat for my dog--and finally found this one. It's so very nice looking & well made. Runs a bit small--I have a 38-kb border collie, and ended up getting an XXL.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from STYLING! This is such a beautiful coat. It's so well made, and durable.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog coat I haven't used them yet as maybe winter is over. But the fit is good. I had to return one earlier and get a larger size. They're nice looking and wish I'd had them for this winter.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect coat!!! I recently purchased this coat for my dog. It is like a mini horse blanket!Perfect fit, nice quality, and very attractive! Keeps my Jack Russell dry in anyweatherI am so pleased with it.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought this coat for my yellow lab. She's getting a bit older and really feels the cold. She likes her new coat so much she wears it around the house and dosn't want to take it off!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog coat EVER! These coats are adorable and they fit my two Sheltiesperfectly...they are true to size, keep the pups warm and dry in a foot of snow, and hold up nicely after hours ofwrestling at the dog park!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Christmas present for the pup!!! I bought this for my black lab as a present for Christmas. It's been in the single digits where we live and it's nice for her to have her warm blanket to go out walking in :)
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reviews were helpful After a recent cold snap I decided to buy this coat for my lab mix who lacks an insulating undercoat. I was unsure about sizes (measurements indicated he was XXL) so reading reviews from other buyers was very helpful. I did buy the XXL and it is a perfect fit. Bonus -Rocky seems to like it!
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket for the right price Fits well, just a little small. I would maybe order the next size up. My dog loves this blanket and it keeps her dry during when it rains or snows.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pug loves it! We bought this coat to keep my pug warm and dry on wet winter days. It works very well and she looks very stylish in it. We got her name embroidered on the side, and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and Warm! I bought this product a year ago for my dog Chloe and am specifically coming back to review it (again?) because I am so impressed. Today at the dog park my new dog Annabelle, who thinks coats are dumb and won't ever need one, was chasing Chloe who was wearing this coat. Annabelle is slower so when she does catch up she resorts to playing dirty and today this meant grabbing Chloe's coat and hanging off of it in an effort to slow Chloe down. I am thrilled to report there is not a single scratch, tear or pull in the fabric despite Annabelle's best attempts! Awesome product SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks cute and stays on XL Fits my Amstaffs well, they both are wearing XL although the male is about 55 lbs and the female 42.  The coats stay on through some rough play and they must be relatively comfortable because they have removed other coats pretty quickly.  No fill but I just wanted these to keep the rain or snow off their backs and if they are playing, their heat builds up nice under the coat. 
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty in Pink I bought this for my new rescue dog just before an anticipated cold spell so haven't had it too long...but so far so good.    Things I have noticed - because it's made of stiff material, it flips up in back when dog's nose is to the ground, pretty much negating any warmth containment.  And there's extra belly strap that extends well above the velcro area when it's fastened, but my dog is on the slim side.  I could remedy that by cutting off the excess, but I'd rather be able to velcro the entire strap - one, for extra security, and also in case she gains weight or I want to use it on another beefier dog.The pink plaid looks nice on my white dog, we'll see how it hold up through the winter.Bonus point:  The loud plaid pattern causes my horse (a confirmed dog stomper) to cast a hairy eyeball on the dog and keep well clear, lol. 
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket 60 pound labor wiener wore an XL. Love the blanket for my mare as well as our dog!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!!! Very durable. Fits my 60 pound Springer Spaniel perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute, but thin Love this dog coat! Fits my Rat Terrier perfectly. I though it would be insulated, but it's really like a sheet. Very nice though
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from needed a matching one for another dog I have one of these and wanted another one for another dog.I ordered, had to exchange it for a larger size, and still it was too small.I ended up just returning it - got very frustrated by the sizing issues.Unfortunately, I can't read the size on the original - too well used.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daisy Loves her Jacket I got this for my 7 year old boxer. She gets a little chilly when she comes out to the barn with me, so I thought she would like this, and she does! She stays outside longer with this jacket before she comes and hides in the barn with me, or runs to the porch to ask to come in. It fits her really well too.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oops picture! For some reason my picture didn't load last time! Here it is again. This is the smallest size on my 11 pound chiweenie.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    • 2016-02-09T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_121
    • loc_en_US, sid_3910, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.