Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Side Reins - Leather

Item #12080
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

3/4" Leather side reins with tongue buckle. Oakbark. 1 pair. Elastic or Rubber Ring.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Made of harness leather. Harness leather is hot ...
    Description:
    Made of harness leather. Harness leather is hot stuffed with oils and waxes so it's hearty and will withstand harsh weather conditions. Favorite Features Feels great in your hands Nickel plated snap and conway buckles Sizing It Up 5/8" x ...
    Hand braided nylon roping reins with latigo leather ...
    Description:
    Hand braided nylon roping reins with latigo leather ends Favorite Features Stamped diamond tooling Stainless steel hardware buckles Brass plated cinch snap Made in the U.S.A.Sizing It Up 5/8" x 7ft
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. The classic Antares colored blue and ...
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training ...
    Description:
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training tool, the Rockin' SP Leather Training Fork was designed utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders as our other Rockin' SP products. Featuring the great ...
    Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training ...
    Description:
    Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training tool! TheSoft and supple Rockin' SP Draw Reins help encourage flexion at the poll. Utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders Tim McQuay and Tom ...
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
    Description:
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively forKL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends; stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished bevel ...
    Dr Cook's Bitless Western Leather Reins are a ...
    Description:
    Dr Cook's Bitless Western Leather Reins are a perfect addition to your Dr Cook's Western Headstall. This quality leather feels great in hand and wears beautifully. Favorite Features Made of the same quality leather (Wickett & Craig of America) asDr ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Side Reins - Leather is rated 4.1111 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing First of all, these side reins were way too long. I had to punch 5 additional holes before it established even minimal contact. Then after 2 uses the stiching started coming undone. Unfortunately as I had to punch the holes to make them usable I cannot return - otherwise I would have returned since the quality is subpar. I do not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality - easy to use Good, quality side reins. Well made and easy to use. They are a bit long (we'll need to punch a couple extra holes) and had to buy a pair of clips to add to one end (they come with clips on one end only) but after a little customization they do the job. :)
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly as described I bought these a month ago for my 17 yo, 16.3 hh Holsteiner/TB and my 3 1/2 yo 17hh TB... These were really long when used on the higher notches of my surcingle for my upper level horse and when put on the lower rings of the surcingle he went around like a western pleasure horse/giraffe... However, they were a perfect length for my super green TB. With a few punched holes they'll be great for both horses. As to quality, they've held up nicely (only had them a month) but the quality is much much nicer than I thought they'd be. Love the elastic feature.
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought the side reins with the elastic. Fit my 15'3" quarter horse very well. Plenty of room to punch more holes if you need a tighter fit.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best side reins ever 2 days in these side reins was like 2 weeks of ride training, my large friesian gave to the reins and has made my rides since wonderful. I still use them to free lunge everyday, great product that makes life easier for the rider.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They do the job Was concerned when I couldn't get the donut style side reins that I've always used. But these are good quality and do the job.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure yet. We tried them this weekend with some reservation given the other comments. On 17.1 TB we are on the very first hole (longest possible setting). Easy to clip on. But very stiff. We'll see!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Long and Not Well Made I bought the donut version for my TB mare and they were much too long. I had to punch an extra six inches of holes for them to fit where we were perviously training. That being said, we lunge in fairly snug side reins and she's advanced in her frame exercises, so maybe they wouldn't be too long for someone just starting out. At least they're leather and I could punch holes in them. However, the first time I used them they keeper on the buckle snapped right off. Not great quality, but they also aren't super expensive. Decent for schooling side reins if you don't want to spend a lot of money like me.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality, but SHORT I bought the elastic version and would be very happy with them if they fit my horse. Unfortunately, they do not. He's not all that big (16 hh TWH), so I was very surprised to find these average side reins far too short for him. They do fit my two other quarter horses just fine, though, so I will be keeping them. Not sure what I'll do about my TWH...
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but a bit short Would have been perfect if they were longer. I liked how they were constructed, they seemed very durable. But I have a 16.3 tb and they're just a bit on the short side. If you had a smaller horse they would be fine.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice side reins but not for my horse... Got these to try on my guy and while very nice, they were too short for a 17.1 hh TB with a neck like a giraffe! Will hang on to them for sure - hopefully we can use them later on in his training...
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but a little short. I bought the leather and elastic (not the donut) side reins to use on my 15.2hh QH mare. I saw from the reviews that most said these ran short, however my mare has a short neck so I figured it would be okay. I have to use these side reins on the loosest hole and it's still a bit of a stretch. Other than that they work great and are really nice quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality High quality leather and fixtures. One little flaw is that the keeper is in a place that will make losing it very likely.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too large, needs room for adjustment Side reins were to large for our pony. Didn't have enough room to punch more holes. Overall quality looked to be OK Leather was a little bunched in places. Kincaid was the brand. Should have brand listed in description
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fit I was a bit hesitant about buying these because many of the comments said that they were good for ponies. The fit my 16.3hh OTTB very well, with room to loosen it and tighten it. One of my friends borrowed them for her 14hh pony great as well. My only complaint is that they are brown. I got the elastic ones, and I will be purchasing black donut ring ones because elastic just don't do good with my new horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for the money! For such a cheap price, I honestly had pretty low expectations, but my old side reins finally kicked the bucket and I needed a replacement that wouldn't break the bank. These are made by Tory leather and I was pleasantly surprised by them. They are decent quality, not the best leather, but not cardboard, either (which is honestly what I was expecting for the price). They are kind of long if you have smaller horses, but there is plenty of room to punch holes. Overall these are a good buy!
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product if you have a tiny horse This review is for the elastic version, not the rubber ring version.The leather is very nice. The hardware is good quality, and the elastic is soft without being flimsy or easily breakable. Unfortunately these are made for tiny horses. My horse is a 16.1hh OTTB with an average length everything. Even on the loosest hole, I could barely get them attached. They were SO short. I was stunned as they're advertised as horse sized.If you have a small horse, these are a great buy. If you have anything average or larger sized, these won't work.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I recommend the elastic version. I added clips to make it easier to take on and off. Had to add a few holes as this made them a little too long,
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Overal a very good product, good quality, nice style.The only reason I gave it one less star is the size. These seem to be made for a horse the size of an elephant (jk ;) I wished they had at least poked a few extra holes in it (like 15 extra or so) for my 15 hands TB mare. I could fix it by adding the extra hole so it wasn't a huge deal, just slightly annoying. Especially because when I want to change the setting, I have to add another hole in both reins etc.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price I bought these about six months ago.. and I'm so impressed with them. One of my friends got the same ones on dover for twice the price. They work on ponies a drafts, and everything in between. Definitely a buy you will not regret!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Short I was looking forward using these on my mare. But, they are WAYYYY too short for my small TB, who usually uses a cob size. I am not sure how anyone with a larger horse used the elastic ones. Quality seems pretty descent, but unfortunately I have to return them, due to how short they are.
    Date published: 2013-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I use these side reins EVERY time I ride at home. They are fantastic! I am so happy I purchased the ones with the elastic over the rubber ring. Everyone at my barn has the rubber ring and they are wanting to borrow mine all the time. When my horse wants to fight being in a frame at the beginning of my ride the elastic seems to make him fight himself with a slight natural give compared to the rubber ring. These are a great price and would recommend them to everyone I knw, especially since I used to ride with draw reins, which made it much more difficult for me to ride with 2 reins in each hand vs 1. Also the downfall of my draw rein I found sometimes my pressure was more on the draw rein than my regular rein. When this happened, my thoroughbred who is very sensitive to pressure would react immediatly. These side reins have turned him back into the hack winner he always was.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What you'd expect for the price This review is for the style with rubber rings. These side reins are just what you'd expect for the price--hardware and leather are so-so quality, and leather is very stiff. I put several applications of oil on the leather and hope it will soften over time.My main concern is the length. They are on the very last hole to use attached to my girth on a 16.3H warmblood and there's really no room to punch another hole before the end of the strap. They should stretch a little with use, but if you have an O/S horse, these probably won't work.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice with a great price This is a great product works well while lunging my mare. Great quality for the price. I wish it came in black but it's very nice looking and seems sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good Barn Staple I have never been one to use side reins much, but now see them as an important barn staple! These are a nice quality leather and I prefer the elastic so that there is some give if my OTTB mare needs it. She is just learning to use them so I like the extra give! I also added some baling twine to make them a bit longer whlie she is just getting used to the idea of the side reins being in place while she is on the longe line. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elastic ones are nice Nice leather. Good elastic. Worked well on my 16.3hh tb.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made. Have withstood quite a bit of use on multiple horses. Can't think of any negatives.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Good value. Reins work well and look like they will last. Should have known that they are too long for my large pony but I can punch holes. Not a big fan of the color or stiffness of the leather but it looks like it will darken and soften.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product I realy like these side reins. They are very nice quality and ao far they are holding up very well. Excellent product for the money!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I was very disappointed with the quality of theses side reins (both the leather and the clips). Thank you smartpak for an easy return!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    • 2016-05-29T16:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_2080, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders