PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Kincade Side Reins - Leather

Item #12080
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

3/4" Leather side reins with tongue buckle. Oakbark. 1 pair. Elastic or Rubber Ring.

Made in the USA
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. The classic Antares colored blue and ...
    "The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, ...
    Description:
    "The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, mouth and neck. Applies poll pressure when the horse raises his head, encouraging the horse to lift, stretch and engage. Helps the horse develop the correct muscles for a rounded frame and ...
    "Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either ...
    Description:
    "Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either single or double thick, ensuring our valued customers products that have a long, dependable life. Hamilton's quality excellence approach to production is enhanced by an array of dazzling colors that makes Hamilton ...
    "This Lunge Whip is a 5 foot whip ...
    Description:
    "This Lunge Whip is a 5 foot whip with a 6 foot lash offered in an assortment of colors! Woven PE shaft and a black rubber handle for a secure grip - easy and safe lunging!"
    "The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international ...
    Description:
    "The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international show jumping rider Nelson Pessoa. The Pessoa Lungeing System is designed to encourage balance and a gradual build-up of topline. The Pessoa Lungeing System consists of an easy-to-put-together array of ropes, clips ...
    "A stylish and practical addition to any rider's ...
    Description:
    "A stylish and practical addition to any rider's bridle, Stubben Wrapped Leather w/ Inside Grip Reins offer a softer and lighter feel in the riders’ hands. Made with the quality you've grown to appreciate from Stubben, these reins have a ...
    Why We Love This The Professional Training Surcingle ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Professional Training Surcingle is made of webbing and leather. Elastic insets allow for equal pressure distribution while girthing and comfort while in work. Multiple Dee rings placed for use with any type of training system. Leather lined girth and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kincade Side Reins - Leather is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these side reins! We recently searched far and wide to find durable replacements for our aging side reins for our young warmblood dressage horses. These side reins were the perfect combination of price, quality, functionality and length that are perfect for our young warmbloods. The donut has the right amount of give and leather quality is excellent. We purchased 1 pair and loved them so much we purchased a 2nd pair.
    Date published: 2017-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right amount of give Easy to work with, good length (even for my giraffe of a mare), good thickness.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love these reins! They look professional and neat. Just add some more holes and your good to go!
    Date published: 2017-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Side reins I was very impressed with these side reins for the money. I have a 16.2 hand WB and they are long on him. I had to punch more holes in them. It's not the most supple leather but they easy to work with.
    Date published: 2017-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality for price, extra long! These side reins are nice heavy leather. However, they are super long. I've added 5 additional holes just to get to match up to the other ones I was using which are on the longest possible hole. The section from the bridle clip to the donut is even longer than the others I was using as well. I may end up taking to a leather shop and having them shorten for me.
    Date published: 2017-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but leather is not as good quality as before Meets my need but not as quality leather as I usually see with this brand. Kind of pricey for the quality in my opinion
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from They get the job done... The quality of these side reins is disappointing. They feel very cheap if they are even leather at all. Because they are so stiff, they are nearly impossible to adjust. If you never plan to adjust your side reins then I suppose these work well enough but I would much rather have gone with an adjustable web side rein...
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable I have purchased these in the past and have been very happy with them. They hold up well and I use them daily.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Side Reins for the Price Overall, I am happy with these side reins. They do their job, the leather is decent. I did have to punch more holes in them, as for my Morgans, they were SO long. But that was minimal work and now they work great.
    Date published: 2016-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great price Received the side reins and the leather is decent quality, priced less then other catalog companies.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stretchy I'm using these as a reminder to my ottb that he can't just gallop around on the lunge line like a racehorse. They're perfectly stretchy and do a great job letting him stretch and move through his back.
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Elastic Type Run VERY small I was very excited to receive these come to find that they would probably fit a pony. I have an "average" sized Holstiener, 16.1hh, he's not HUGE by any means, and even on the last hole he almost had his nose in his chest. They are much thinner in width than I had expected, too, otherwise quality seems fair. I can't speak for the ones with the donuts but these elastic ones are just way too small.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy for the price These side reins are a good buy for the price. They're long though. I had to punch some extra holes for my 16.1 hh Percheron x TB Gelding with a medium length neck. There is plenty of space to punch more holes.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! The leather isn't super soft, but they oiled nicely! Great side reins for the price!
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nicely made Great for the price. Lovely leather, soft and supple. I don't know what I would do with out them, since my horse has to be walked for a few weeks and he is quite a handful. I always use them for lunging too.
    Date published: 2016-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality leather & nice and long. I bought the side reins a few weeks ago for my 3yr old gelding who is over 17 hands, they really work great with adjustability and strength.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job Works well for a reasonable price. Quality seems fine.
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing First of all, these side reins were way too long. I had to punch 5 additional holes before it established even minimal contact. Then after 2 uses the stiching started coming undone. Unfortunately as I had to punch the holes to make them usable I cannot return - otherwise I would have returned since the quality is subpar. I do not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality - easy to use Good, quality side reins. Well made and easy to use. They are a bit long (we'll need to punch a couple extra holes) and had to buy a pair of clips to add to one end (they come with clips on one end only) but after a little customization they do the job. :)
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly as described I bought these a month ago for my 17 yo, 16.3 hh Holsteiner/TB and my 3 1/2 yo 17hh TB... These were really long when used on the higher notches of my surcingle for my upper level horse and when put on the lower rings of the surcingle he went around like a western pleasure horse/giraffe... However, they were a perfect length for my super green TB. With a few punched holes they'll be great for both horses. As to quality, they've held up nicely (only had them a month) but the quality is much much nicer than I thought they'd be. Love the elastic feature.
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought the side reins with the elastic. Fit my 15'3" quarter horse very well. Plenty of room to punch more holes if you need a tighter fit.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best side reins ever 2 days in these side reins was like 2 weeks of ride training, my large friesian gave to the reins and has made my rides since wonderful. I still use them to free lunge everyday, great product that makes life easier for the rider.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They do the job Was concerned when I couldn't get the donut style side reins that I've always used. But these are good quality and do the job.
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure yet. We tried them this weekend with some reservation given the other comments. On 17.1 TB we are on the very first hole (longest possible setting). Easy to clip on. But very stiff. We'll see!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Long and Not Well Made I bought the donut version for my TB mare and they were much too long. I had to punch an extra six inches of holes for them to fit where we were perviously training. That being said, we lunge in fairly snug side reins and she's advanced in her frame exercises, so maybe they wouldn't be too long for someone just starting out. At least they're leather and I could punch holes in them. However, the first time I used them they keeper on the buckle snapped right off. Not great quality, but they also aren't super expensive. Decent for schooling side reins if you don't want to spend a lot of money like me.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality, but SHORT I bought the elastic version and would be very happy with them if they fit my horse. Unfortunately, they do not. He's not all that big (16 hh TWH), so I was very surprised to find these average side reins far too short for him. They do fit my two other quarter horses just fine, though, so I will be keeping them. Not sure what I'll do about my TWH...
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but a bit short Would have been perfect if they were longer. I liked how they were constructed, they seemed very durable. But I have a 16.3 tb and they're just a bit on the short side. If you had a smaller horse they would be fine.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice side reins but not for my horse... Got these to try on my guy and while very nice, they were too short for a 17.1 hh TB with a neck like a giraffe! Will hang on to them for sure - hopefully we can use them later on in his training...
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but a little short. I bought the leather and elastic (not the donut) side reins to use on my 15.2hh QH mare. I saw from the reviews that most said these ran short, however my mare has a short neck so I figured it would be okay. I have to use these side reins on the loosest hole and it's still a bit of a stretch. Other than that they work great and are really nice quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality High quality leather and fixtures. One little flaw is that the keeper is in a place that will make losing it very likely.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    • y_2018, m_2, d_25, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_2080, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders