Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ShowSheen Hair Polish

Absorbine
- Item #10211
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).



ShowSheen Hair Polish - North America's #1 selling hair polish. Produces a show ring shine that accentuates body tone and definition and coats each hair shaft keeping manes and tails tangle free, reducing grooming time by as much as 80%. ShowSheen Hair Polish lasts a week between washings. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ShowSheen Hair Polish is rated 4.5935 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always use Show Sheen I have been using Show Sheen since I was a child. I use it everyday. Great product, something I could not live without.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Amount of Shine I have been using Show Sheen since I have started showing. Just a light spritz of it gets a perfect amount of shine... just enough to catch the judge's eye without overdoing it. If showing halter, use it all over, but if you are showing under saddle, make sure not to put it where the saddle lays, because it will make the horse's back EXTREMELY slippery. It is also great for de-tangling manes and tails.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using this product for 8 years to put a shine on a pony going to a show, and to detangle the mane and tail. I love it!
    Date published: 2012-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well for a long mane My horse has a mane that is long, coarse and literally begins to dreadlock when he shakes his head. Showsheen seems to work the best of the spray on detanglers. A little worried about the reputation of silicone as a drying agent but haven't had problems with breakage that I would attribute to this product and his mane would be impossible without it.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I've used this product since I was a kid. Great for keeping tails untangled after shampooing and conditioning. Don't put it on your horses body (other than rump) - it'll make your horse very slippery.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good price but not what I thought I like that it seems to help make the dust on my horse disappear but I hate the "rubber" feeling of my horses coat that it leaves, it seems awesome though.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyday Sheen This is quite possibly my favorite horse related product. I can't live without it. My trainer always gives me a hard time about my ShowSheen usage, saying that if it was meant to be used as much as I use it, it would be called "EverydaySheen". I mist just a little on and brush it in, and it really does work wonders. It keeps my mare's coat soft and shiny and it keeps the dust off. It cuts my grooming time in half because it really does help get the dust out of the coat and keeps it out. It works alright as a detangler, but I've never really used it as one anyways. It's nice to have in the summer, but it is simply a must have for those winter coats that are just so good at getting so dusty.
    Date published: 2011-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from new fragrance? It's been awhile since I last purchased ShowSheen Hair Polish. It seems to work as well as I remember at detangling my horse's tail, but I don't like the new fragrance. It smells like a cheap drugstore scent and doesn't belong in an equine product.
    Date published: 2011-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for dogs, too. I love this product. My horse had a long mane and tail, which was forever getting tangled. I would braid his mane, but then he would rub it... Show Sheen not only stopped the tangling, but he rubbed less with it on, his tail stopped getting snagged on every passing shrub, and he looked beautiful. But believe them when they tell you not to use it under a saddle...We also use it on our Newfoundlands' coats. It keeps snarls from forming, lessens hair pulling when grooming, and makes them highly huggable.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only covers up dust This product doesn't work as it claims, what it does is it covers your horses hair in a silicone blend to hide the dust, it actually made my horse look kind of dull, it doesn't remove dust or prevent it from getting on your horse even in a clean stall with clean shavings, and by "coating" the hair it's not allowing it to breath, it made my horse slippery but it does make their coats super soft. Again I wouldn't recommend this product, I would stick to something all natural. Good price though
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great As Always A staple product. Gets out tangles and leaves hair shiny.
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Show Sheen is a must have item in my tack trunk. Not only does it give hair a nice shine, but it repels dirt and works nicely as a detangler too. I spray this on my horse's socks and tail after a bath, and it's amazing how much cleaner she stays. I like the finishing mist as well.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from World Champion Pepi Works Much Better.... ShowSheen is okay at detangling, but it still doesn't even compare to Vetrolin Detangler. And as far as conditioning and coat shine goes, World Champion Pepi works a lot better. It works about the same as Vetrolin Shine, and Vetrolin Shine has a nice scent that matches all of their other products. I'd say that it is worth it to get two separate products for detangling and coat shine, because ShowSheen is just okay at both.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from # 1 hair detangler on the shelf Here at the farm we don't groom a mane or tail without using ShowSheen before and after and all of our students do the same.
    Date published: 2011-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never without it I use this all the time when I brush out their tails. It works pretty fast and with the spray, you don't get your hands messy.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product!!! I have 2 Flea Bitten grey hroses. My gelding LOVES to roll in the softest, dirt posible. This stuff helps keep a majority of the dirt and dust off of him. Help with manure stains as well. Yes they are both very soft and shiney, but hey, if it helps keep dirt off and keep them white longer, Im game!!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than ever a barn staple since 1982 but even better now with an updated conditioning formula.
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for mane and tail Shavings fall right off of my horses tail eliminating the need to brush it thus allowing it to grow out better
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always in my groom box I've use this for years on tails, because it makes the hair slick enough to brush shavings, dirt and snags out without pulling the hair out of the root. I was also very pleasantly surprised by this latest order of ShowSheen. They have changed the formula a bit and it now smells wonderful!
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a staple in my tackbox! No good rider should go anywhere without a few key grooming tools, ShowSheen being one of them. Not only does it work well as a mane/tail detangler, but it also helps remove coat stains and works as a wintertime shampoo. I spray my horse allover after he's had his bath to keep him looking shiny. I also coat him the night before a show to keep him coat sleek before I put on a slinky.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Show Sheen Absorbine has changed their ingredients, it smells different, and feels different. Im not sure I like it, I may need to move to Laser Sheen or another detangle product.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a staple for me I use this a lot, not so much for the shine as for its detangling. Tails brush out and stay nice for so much longer. I spray it on my horse's legs before hunting, to make the burrs easier to remove later.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST EVER I use this evey time I brush out my horse's mane and tail. It keeps the hair from breaking and combs out smoothas silk. I used it to keep the hair from breaking and M-T-G to help his tail and mane to grow and stay nice and strong.
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from ugh, hate it I might be the minority but I HATE showsheen...first of all it makes your horse VERY slippery..I hate the feeling of it..I can't even pet a horse that has been sprayed with showsheen...such a weird feeling..I never use it on my horse..I use cowboy magic detangler on the mane and tail..just ordered the body shine to see how that works..
    Date published: 2010-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone knows the 'sheen. Basically, if you have horses, you should have ShowSheen. It works instantly, leaving coats shiny and hair completely de-tangled. I've been using this product everyday for years. It gets the job done without leaving any residue.
    Date published: 2010-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know how I lived without it!! I am never caught without this stuff! Not only does it give my horse a beautiful shine but it also repels dirt and saves grooming time! I also have found that it reduces static on extra fluffy winter coats. Just spray it on and wipe the hair down! I cover my horse with Showsheen before I turn him out in the winter because it really works magic when trying to get the mud out if his crazy long fur! I really dont think I could live without it!!
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've tried other brands so save a few bucks, but Show Sheen is the best. I use it regularly at home, too, because it helps repel dirt off my horse's coat (even when he rolls outside). If I use it regularly, it really does cut my grooming time down. I'm not one to cut any corners when it comes to elbow grease, but it definitely makes a difference when I use Show Sheen.
    Date published: 2010-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show Ring Ready This stuff not only smells good on your horse but its a great finishing polish for your horses coat! It slicks down any hair and picks up any last bits of dust. It also leaves your horse super slick - don't put show sheen on before a bareback class!!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without it! No brush or comb touches my horse's mane or tail with Showsheen applied first!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Horse Show Must Have! Unbeatable product for detangling tails and keeping your horse's hair coat clean after baths. I use Show Sheen after bathing my horse before horse show (especially on white legs) and it seems to really repel the dirt and make any stains that they get overnight much easier to remove the next day without having to bath them again. HOWEVER, this product makes their coats very slippery so use with caution under the saddle area. Also, regular use of silicon-based products can really dry their coats, so I don't use this product daily, only before shows. Just my two cents... If you are looking for a great coat conditioner for daily use, check out Vetrolin Shine!
    Date published: 2010-05-13
    • 2015-05-26T09:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.