Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Shoulder Guard

Weatherbeeta USA
- Item #11943
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Does your horse get shoulder rubs from its blankets?  The Shoulder Guard can help protect your horse's sensitive shoulders from unnecessary rubbing and irritation.

Favorite Features

  • Stretchy 100% nylon
  • Touch tape closure
  • Full shoulder coverage
  • Available in Navy

Imported

Sizing It Up

Small (Pony)
Medium (Cob)
Large (Horse).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shoulder Guard is rated 4.125 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from returned no in between leg strap I preferred to have with strap between front legs to keep in place
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product! Easy to put on, seems durable, drawback...it makes the blanket slip.
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits fine, already ripped? I bought this for my gelding because he was getting wither rubs from his blanket, this helped prevent that but it does make the hair go in weird directions. It already ripped, and my gelding is not very rough on his blankets...
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! When ordering, I was concerned whether the large would fit my 18 hand warmblood. No problem!! It looks a little like a muscle shirt on him, haha, but the material stretches perfectly to fit right over his "rub" area. Great price, fast shipping, and as always SmartPak's customer service was awesome!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cob fit a 15.1-15.3 hand horse easy Runs large. Fits nice once you get the right size figured out.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lasted the season, may have rubbed? I was impressed this guard lasted the WHOLE season (although full disclosure Wisconsin's season was a little shorter than usual). As usual I waited until after his shoulders were rubbing out, but the guard did succeed in keeping the rubs from getting worse, and allowing the hair to grow back. It machine washed several times and retained it's shape and stretch. Only possible caveat is towards the end of the season I discovered a pretty nasty wither rub. He has never had rubs there before, and I am not certain if it was a seam from the guard (I did not see excess hair or ick on the guard when I checked it out), but he didn't wear anything different from last year either. And it didn't happen until the very end of the season. So I'm not certain if maybe the guard stretched out and started rubbing, or what--when it comes to nicks and scrapes with my horse, really anything is possible.Wrapping it up, I will probably try this one (a new one) again for next season and keep a closer eye on his withers for possible rubs and if it happens again, try another brand. I was impressed that he managed to not destroy it before the season was out, and am not convinced the rub was directly from the guard.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great idea a good solution if winter blankets are rubbing. Quick & easy to put on.
    Date published: 2012-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good shoulder guard Doesn't stretch out or fall out of place. Fits my large bodied 16.3 TB well!
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality product but too big! The quality of this shoulder guard seemed good, but horse size was way too big even for my 17 hand Hanoverian mare. I had to take it off after a week because it slid way back, and the top of the neck opening was at the middle of her withers. It pushed the hair up backwards and caused swelling in that area. I definitely should have ordered cob size.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Serviceable shoulder guard Product is doing its job but the elastic is already getting stretched a bit after just about a month of fairly constant use. Product is ok for the sale price I paid but I would be disinclined to purchase at full price.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Large is a medium i have had this one for a short so I can't talk about durability but I have a large horse and this is too small. It needs to come in a XL.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops shoulder rubbing Winter blanket shoulder rubs are a continual problem for my endurance Arab gelding. Shoulder guard solves the problem. Nice and stretchy, with velcro closure which minimizes bulk and snagging under the blanket. Good value, useful purchase.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I purchased a large for my very broad shouldered Lusitano and it fits him perfectly. There is much higher coverage than a previous other brand I had, yet it does not constrict his huge Lusitano neck! Great product, have only used for a month, so cannot comment on durability.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from would buy again fit my narrow high withered TB very well! but rides up a bit on my broader shouldered TB..but overall very happy.. The hair started to grow back after 1 week! very pleased and the price was right!
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great product to prevent blanket rubs, but it tends to slide way back on my horse's back. I think that if it was a little smaller and had a piece that went between the front legs, it wouldn't slide back so much. I love that this shoulder guard is a little bit longer than most and gives more coverage along the withers and back because those are the main areas my TB gelding always gets blanket rubs on. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone dealing with blanket rubs!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I purchased the medium for my 16.1 hh young, thin warmblood and it fits wonderfully. The neck opening was the right size and it stays in place. Material has a nice feel to it also. It has plenty of adjustment around the belly. Definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from held up well this winter Got this because my horses winter blanket was rubbing the hair off her shoulder. It fit well and held up to the winter use. In the spring I threw it in the washer and it came out great.
    Date published: 2011-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect addition I purchased the shoulder guard to eliminate rub, perfect fit, super comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This shoulder-guard is perfect for preventing shoulder rubs and protecting already present ones. I own two!
    Date published: 2011-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!! The large fit my 16 hand thoroughbred perfectly, the quality is fabulous and I could see hair growth in just a few days.
    Date published: 2011-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted Perfect to prevent shoulder rubs from stable sheet.
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fix for blanket rubbing Great fix for blanket rubbing! Horse is no longer loosing the hair on her shoulders! Fits great.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this because my horse and pony wear blankets all winter due to our cold climate and they get shoulder rubs. I bought an XS for my welsh pony and a L for my horse. The L fit well for my horse. The XS for my pony was loose in the chest, but still did the job. My pony is not big in the chest. Product is decent, good velcro.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product for the price This is a good product to use to prevent shoulder and wither rubs from turnout blankets, however, if it doesn't fit correctly it will rub the tops of their legs. A size medium would have ft my 16h TB better than the large. However, it does the job...the velcro is nice and durable, and the material is easy to wash and stays clean. Good to use under the Rambo Wug turnout for extra warmth in cold weather, also.
    Date published: 2010-09-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Until I washed it... I loved this product until I washed it. I washed it in cold water, hung it to dry, and the elastic belly band was ruined, as there was no more stretch to it, therefore deeming it useless. It is unfortunate, because it was a nice product for the price.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good fit I ahve a 15.2h Saddlebred mare, I had to order a large because of her big shoulders and neck and it fits great. stays in place and best of all the blanket rubs went away!
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from snug fit i ordered the large for my 15.2 ASB mare and it fits perfectly. easy to take on/off
    Date published: 2010-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for blanket rubs My horse had a decent size blanket rub on her left front shoulder. This shoulder guard works greatunder her blanket now to protect the shoulder and prevent it from happening again.
    Date published: 2010-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fix the Rub My horse had rubs marks all along his shoulders where the blanket was rubbing the hair off. This is great - he seems quite comfortable in it - it isn't binding and the fabric appears to wear well.
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I have a Welsh pony, who, when I measured is a cob type. And having read some reviews it seemed like it may run small. So I decide to get the medium, hoping that it would be better bigger than smaller.I wanted it because his blanket has been rubbing him horribly in two spots, at the whithers and front shoulder. The "shirt" as I call it covers both of these.The material is a nice soft spandex so it stretches, and I suppose you should plan on it stretching because there was enough slack in the fabric and with the blanket on it would pull back on the shirt anyway. It still covered him, but it would have been better to have the small, as it slid further down his back.I noticed it got a little staticky when I pulled it off to ride, but that is to be expected.The only reason the overall rating is 4 stars is because I could use the small, not because the product is bad.
    Date published: 2010-02-24
    • 2015-08-30T15:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_1943, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.