Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Shapley's Original M-T-G

Shapley's
- Item #16238
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Original M-T-G has been providing quick and effective relief from numerous skin ailments since 1938! Originally formulated for humans, this safe and easy to use product is the only one needed for relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems, such as: 

• Rain Rot
• Scratches
• Girth Itch
• Sweet Itch
• Dry Skin
• Tail/Mane

Original M-T-G provides results after just one application! Formulated to eliminate the causative agent creating the skin problem, it conditions the skin and hair around the damaged area, promoting both healthy skin and maximum hair growth. In fact, Original M-T-G has proven to work exceptionally well promoting hair growth. Users report up to 3 inches of new growth on manes and tails in a single month.

Original M-T-G creates a healthy environment for the hair follicle, resulting in maximum growth while keeping the length of the hair shaft soft and pliable for minimum breakage. Original M-T-G is a time-tested, user-supported solution to both skin healing and hair growth in a single bottle. An oil-based product that does not require washing or water for application, it is not only easy to use, but great for cold weather.

Original M-T-G is also safe and effective on dogs and other animals’ skin problems, such as hot spots, itching and dry skin. 32 oz.  

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shapley's Original M-T-G is rated 4.648 out of 5 by 125.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Truly Works & On Humans Also! I've used this and my hair grows extremely fast. Normally I have super-slow growing hair. But every time I have used M-T-G (once per week) my hair grows only after a few days of each use. It doesn't grow super long, but it does grow quickly. I'm a keeper. Also there's folks that use it on their horses that love it also and their horse's manes and tails are very, very long after such a short time!!! It smells like burnt bacon, but it's worth it.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WORKS GREAT It works great on rain rot. After treating with other products for weeks we saw and improvement in one use. I've also used it as a tail detangler for a horse with a VERY matted tail and it worked GREAT. The only negative thing about this product is the smell.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This worked great I have been battling this fungus for 6 months without much of a dent and one week of treatment it is almost gone...now if it wouldn't smell so bad it would have gotten a 5*
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grooming staple This stuff is really magic. Despite smelling a bit like bacon...its really helped my mare's tail and mane. I also put a bit in her ears occasionally because she tends to get dry/flaky skin. It's completely done away with her dry itchy ears as well! There's multiple uses for this product and its definitely a grooming staple!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product!! I bought MTG to treat rain rot and scratches on my mare. It began to clear up both issues within days! I am utterly amazed by this product! I don't even care that it smells like a smoldering camp fire, It works and that is all that matters to me!!
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best EVER MTG does a great job on my TB's summer itch, so I'd buy it for that alone.Even more impressive, though, is the way it worked on a recently adopted mini. The poor little guy was a rescue, and had thrush, worms AND lice. His coat was an absolute nightmare, and the hair was falling out in clumps, leaving patches of bare, itchy skin. Not pretty!Anyway, MTG was invaluable here. After treating for lice and worms, I began applying MTG every other day. It's only been a month since he arrived, but he already looks like a brand new horse, with lovely, shiny hair coming in like crazy.MTG is fantastic, and I just couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it claims! I just love this product. It helps my horses tail grow so fast and look healthy. I rub it on his tail bone and dock. I also use it if he rubs his tail. Helps heal itchy scaling skin.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proven impact I know there is a newer version of this, without sulfur smell, but honestly, I don't care. This product works to treat many skin conditions, thrush, miner injuries, shining coat, getting rid of skin flakes, etc. I hope they never change the formula
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Excellent product for scratches and getting hair to grow back. The smell is gross, but I can overlook that due to the results.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff might stink but it WORKS! I have a hard keeping TB that gets some rain rot every spring. This stuff softens the scabs within 24 hours and leaves behind healthy skin that is ready to grow a new coat of hair.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker! I bought this product after reading many great reviews and I am now so impressed that I will always have a bottle on hand! I started using it on my horse's mane and tail and the hair is actually growing longer and stronger. It has a funky smell but since it works it is well worth it!
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tails MTG is a great product for getting horses to stop rubbing their tails, and then encouraging the tail to grow out. The product is a little messy and is pretty oily, but it works.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for rain rot I tried everything for my mare's skin, but this product stimulated hair growth very well and kept her coat looking great through the rainy season.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this stuff really works it grows hair and has a treatment effect too. Recommended by vets and vet techs
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for skin conditions! Works great at healing crusty scabs on my haflinger's heels and doesn't need to be applied daily. Also works wonders on the mane and tail when washing is not an option in the winter or year round. Cleans up the funk and detangles thick manes and tails!
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo Very good product, cleans well and leaves horse, mane and tail shining.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for rain rot! My horse had rain rot on her back and M-T-G cleared it right up! It doesn't smell good but it does its job. Just purchase some rubber gloves and wear them when you use the product.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OVERALL GOOD PRODUCT Nothing really bad to say about this product. the smell is not the best. my mare had a decent tail, but i wanted it to be a WOW tail. The product does work. You just have to watch how much product you add because my mare did have a minor reaction to a large amount of this product. it really dried out her skin around her tail dock area and make her really itchy. Helped her tail get super thick and grow!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Hair Re-Growth! Used Shapley's Original MTG behind horse's ears every other day or so where halter was rubbing the hair off and irritating the skin. The bridle had also started rubbing the same place. Starting seeing results within a week and after several weeks almost all the hair has grown back! Strong smell, but a Great product! Make sure and shake well!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good, smells AWFUL Well this product works really good as a way to reduce rainrot, fungal infections etc. But it smells awful and is really oily! I also didn't think it helped much with growth on my horses tail. But thats ok. I Other than the fact it smells horrible (like bacon) its a really good product!
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing compares for moisture and growth This truly is a miracle product. It had been recommended to me for awhile as a moisturizer for the mane/tail and i never bothered with it. I hated the way it smelled.That was fine, until my horse started to get a humidity based fungus. I tried a couple different treatments until someone recommended MTG having used it on their horses.After applying it to this pesky fungus it cleared up in a couple days! Since i had a bottle of it left i decided to try it in my horses braids at the roots. I couldn't believe it. This stuff keeps the area moisturized for days. I got three inches of strong hair growth on my thin haired mare in two months.I have tried just about every other brand of detangler/conditioner/moisturizer/anti rub/growth promoting product there is.Nothing works like MTG.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ignore the smell...its works! I do hate the way it smells but, it will get rid of fungus and all other "crud" that my TB gets during hot & muggy weather.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For 6 months I have been trying to get rid of a fungus that was on my Thoroughbred's cannons, pasterns, and ears. I tried everything I could think of without any improvement. Last Monday I put MTG on the areas expecting nothing to change and the next time I saw him the fungus was almost completely gone! This is a serious must have for everyone. Can't believe it worked so fast.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love MTG, I always have a bottle in my tack room. I am so glad that Smartpak carries it!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works but smells This work great on horses that get itchy and rub out their mane/tail. It does have a strong odor & I do use gloves when I apply it. Make sure not to let the horse out in the direct sun after application (I put it on at dinner) because it is oil based & can cause the sun to burn the skin. Work great on sweet itch belly irritation also.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For horses AND dogs! I only ever used this on my horse for little scratches and such, but the biggest use I found for it was on my dog. In the summer time my dig gets terrible hot sport from her allergies, usually I have to end up clipping the spots to let them dry. I put this on the hot spots and I didn't even have to clip hem anymore. If I catch them early they re gone in a day or two. A wonderful answer to anyone with an animal who gets hot spots.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another product I will never be without No matter what problem you have for skin conditions or healing injuries, this is the go to product for hair regrowth and to get rid of that nasty fungus
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fine, IF your horses isn't sensitive I've used this on my mom's Standardbred gelding with no problems. My TB had a few spots that my vet said might be ringworm, and said to use the MTG on them. OH MY! Within a day of using it my poor boys hair was falling out all around it and it looked like he had chemical burns. I've stopped using this and opted for Blu-Kote- not that I love looking at blue of my chestnut gelding, but it sure beats all of his hair falling off. I really like the Eqyss- MicroTek is a lto safer, and smells better, in my opinion. DON'T use this if you have a horse with sensitive skin, and do your horse (and yourself) a favor and try in a SMALL spot first to make sure they aren't going to have a reaction. I won't use this stuff ever again since I only own TB's, but seems fine for some horses- I just don't like taking my chances!
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Miracles!! This is one of the most miraculous-working products I have ever used! My mare's tail used to be thin as she would sometimes rip it out when doing rollbacks or stoping. MGT has not only made her tail thicker but it is also making it longer as well! It also works wonders on getting rid of any sort of bacteria or fungus. In my opintion, the only downside to this product is the smell, not so pleasant! But hey if it works miracles it is golden in my book! MTG is a must-have for my mare and me. I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for dew poisoning I really like using this product to soften up the black scabs my gelding gets on his white legs every spring and summer. I apply heavily and then wait a day, and it's a lot easier to scrub them off with Betadine than it is to just soften them with water alone. The smell is bad and lingers forever, but I bought rubber gloves and that helps :).
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    • 2015-05-28T10:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_6238, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.