Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Shapley's Original M-T-G

Shapley's
- Item #16238
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save 5% (Details)

days
You'll save $ per shipment, or $ per year!
(Discounted price will be reflected in your cart)
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Original M-T-G has been providing quick and effective relief from numerous skin ailments since 1938! Originally formulated for humans, this safe and easy to use product is the only one needed for relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems, such as: 

• Rain Rot
• Scratches
• Girth Itch
• Sweet Itch
• Dry Skin
• Tail/Mane

Original M-T-G provides results after just one application! Formulated to eliminate the causative agent creating the skin problem, it conditions the skin and hair around the damaged area, promoting both healthy skin and maximum hair growth. In fact, Original M-T-G has proven to work exceptionally well promoting hair growth. Users report up to 3 inches of new growth on manes and tails in a single month.

Original M-T-G creates a healthy environment for the hair follicle, resulting in maximum growth while keeping the length of the hair shaft soft and pliable for minimum breakage. Original M-T-G is a time-tested, user-supported solution to both skin healing and hair growth in a single bottle. An oil-based product that does not require washing or water for application, it is not only easy to use, but great for cold weather.

Original M-T-G is also safe and effective on dogs and other animals’ skin problems, such as hot spots, itching and dry skin.   


Made in the USA

Sizing

32 Oz.
What Customers Say:

Ingredients

Mineral Oil, Sulfur, Zinc State, Glycerin, Cade Oil (rectified)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This A must in all ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This A must in all barns! Strong, conformable veterinary tape for securing bandages and other applications. Made in USA Favorite Features     • Convenient, custom fit around hard-to-tape areas     • Durable, strong backing ...
    "CalmCoat® All Natural Spray is your one stop ...
    Description:
    "CalmCoat® All Natural Spray is your one stop shopping destination for immediate relief to itching, allergies and skin irritations. This comprehensive formula provides relief for summer sores, fungus, ringworm, rain scald, sweet itch, cuts, insects bites and much more. Finally, ...
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! ...
    Description:
    "Find out what Veterinarians have known for years! DERMAfas® Veterinary Wound Cream is great for treating cuts, abrasions, burns, ear plaque, and summer itch. The patented amino-acid vitamin complex formula has proven successful in supplementing and encouraging natural regeneration of ...
    "Equine Bandaflex is the first all-in-one, no adhesive ...
    Description:
    "Equine Bandaflex is the first all-in-one, no adhesive bandages with a wound patch attached, making it a truly one step system! The patented non-slip grip assures no slippage, but with out the dreaded stickiness and residue of more traditional bandages, ...
    "Tea-Pro Equine Wound Spray does just what its ...
    Description:
    "Tea-Pro Equine Wound Spray does just what its name states- it offers first aid healing in the treatment of open wounds, lacerations, cuts, sores in the mouth, puncture wounds, abscesses and other wounds involving the skin and underlying dermal tissue ...
    "No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, ...
    Description:
    "No Rub frees from dandruff and relieves itching, thereby preventing frayed long hair, bald tail root and short, unsightly manes. With bio-sulphurous fluid and urea to normalise all biological processes, the hair thus becomes shiny and healthy! Made in Germany" ...
    "Lucky Braids Handy Salve is an effective treatment ...
    Description:
    "Lucky Braids Handy Salve is an effective treatment for scratches, itching, nicks, bites, scrapes, rubs, etc. Quickly solves problems from every direction by reducing inflammation, soothing, cooling, moisturizing and fortifying roots, skin and hair. The Lucky Braids Handy Salve has ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Shapley's Original M-T-G is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 145.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, multiple uses! This is a great product for many uses ! I've used it to treat scratches , and to promote tail hair growth, I use it to promote overall coat growth, it adds a nice sheen and conditions hooves and softens dry skin patches.
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have a very sensitive skinned chestnut who always seems to have perpetual scurf/rain rot in various areas of his body. I've always been careful of what products I use to treat his skin issues as many things I've tried have made him break out in hives. I was worried about trying this on him as it seemed strong, but he had no bad reaction to it AND it cleared up ALL his skin issues within two days! I'm truly amazed by how well this has worked and I plan to always keep some around now should he ever have a flare up again.
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY I used MTG on my horse as a treatment for rain rot, it cleared it up but caused a massive sore on his butt ( which WAS NOT rain rot). Unless you want your horse to have sores, DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!! If I could rate this product a zero I WOULD! It also turned my palomino's mane green!
    Date published: 2016-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Chestnuts! My new horse is a chestnut and this is the best product for his sensitive coat! He got a case of rain rot and it did wonders to clear it up and grow the hair back quick. I use it as a preventative now as well as to condition his tail . I have also started using it on his legs. I use wear disposable gloves just to make clean up easier but you can put it on with bare hands and it is good for your hands too. It does separate in the bottle so just give the bottle a good shake. I can't say enough about this product and how great it is and how many uses there are for it.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great - takes time I've been using this product for a few weeks now to treat scratches on my Senior OTTB's back feet pasterns. It's taking some time but does seem to be working. Be diligent and give it some time. Smells bad so I wear latex gloves.
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells great &I it works! I bought this for my mare that scratches - it was very easy to use and my mare loves it!
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the good stuff I have added this to my coat dressing mix for my show cattle, it is great for all skin issues and keep the coats in shape, I use it every time I groom cattle for show or sale.
    Date published: 2015-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used it forever! Read the bottle!!! Test your horse for a reaction before using this product!! I like to test on an inconspicuous patch on the rump, if there is a reaction it won't be hideously in the way. I started using this when my gelding lost his forelock! It kind of grows the hair back in little tufts if you apply it to the whole follicle. I recommend really trying to get only the roots of the hair. I've used this on blanket rubs, trailer tail rubs, and mare tail. If you're put off by that smell I'm sorry but most medications don't smell pleasant and this is in my opinion a medication. It does work, just crinkles your nose. Also, people use it on themselves? I haven't tried it but I hear it works!
    Date published: 2015-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle for rain rot! My poor boy got a pretty nasty case of rain rot recently. I tried for the better part of a week to treat it with other shampoos and sprays. I was leery of using the MTG because I was concerned about sunburn (its oily and I had read it may cause sunburn). However, boy am I glad I did finally try it!! I liberally put the MTG on his rain rot areas one evening and let it be overnight. The next day I was amazed! Those nasty little patches came right off with a sponge and some water! No more picking at my poor sensitive skinned boy, or rubbing him raw with curry combs! This will be the FIRST thing I grab next time, so I can start regrowing hair and stop tormenting my pony!
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOES THE JOB I am using this for itchy tail. It seems to take immediate effect. I did it 3 days in a row just to be sure.
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS PERFECTLY Two of my mares had rain rot on their hindquarters last year and this got rid of it all within a week or so! I ever recommended it to a friend (her horse had pretty bad rain rot that just wouldn't go away) and it cleared it all up! If you're looking to get rid of your horses rain rot, definitely use Shapley's Original M-T-G!!!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smelly and greasy...but it WORKS! I was losing a battle with rain rot on my mare's hind legs. I had been washing her legs with the medicated Eqyss shampoo and applying the Equyss spray afterward, but after a week the rain rot was not getting any better, it was actually spreading (her taking daily mud baths while out in the pasture during the day was obviously not helping, but the weather in Texas this year has been rather wet!!!). So I bought a bottle of MTG at my local feed store. It is smelly (smells more like rotten egg than bacon in my opinion) and super greasy, BUT in two applications, her rain rot was gone!!! So I will put up with the cons (I do wear gloves when applying, which makes a huge difference) since the product really exceeded my expectations. I have not used it for hair growth and not sure if i could put up with my mare having a greasy and smelly tail/mane... But I will definitely use it again for medicated purposes. I do wish it came in a spray bottle though...
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product - have used it for years My horse came in his stall today and turned his rump to me and looked at me. I figured out he had an itchy tail and applied MTG liberally. He couldn't have thanked me more clearly.....great stuff !
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MTG This is the best product for any skin condition In your horse!!
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I've got a 9 month filly with dry skin in her mane - so I've been using this once a week for the last 3 weeks now & it looks so much better! I also have a 10 year old Morgan with a tail I can NOT get to grow out so I've been applying this once a week for the last 3 weeks and HOLY SMOKES it already looks so much better! I'm so happy I ordered this and I can't wait to see how it keeps working!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It WORKS! Miracle Product! I bought this for my new lease and I LOVE it! When I came to try him, I noticed that he had ugly rain rot on the back of his gaskins. I heard that MTG is THE product to use for rain rot, and everyone is right! I made sure that no one else was applying anything to his rain rot to make sure there was nothing for it to react to (I'm not sure if MTG reacts with anything, but I don't want to make anything worse) and started applying it. I only see him about 4 times a week, so after the first time I applied it and came back a couple days after, his rain rot had healed by 50%! I have been applying it about 2x a week (I have gotten a little slack about it) and it's been getting better, but when I only aapply it once a week it's not enough to cure it. I'm sure if I get more strict about applying it often, then it will heal. I sort of wish that it came in a different dispenser; when I apply it to his rain rot it's very sensitive and he lashes our with his hind legs. I have been applying it with a cloth to reduce him getting annoyed by it, but I think it works best when you can dispense it directly to the area without putting it on a rag first- it's a bit more concentrated. (And is it bad that I enjoy the semi-burnt bacon smell??) I haven't gotten a chance to use it on his mane or tail yet. His mane is pretty thick already, and I'm worried it may make his tailbone look greasy.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMELLY, BUT WORKS!! This stuff really works! Be sure to shake it well and put it on clean skin/hair. It does collect dirt because of the oil, but works great, especially on itchy horses.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from anyone with any type of feathered horse, for prevention of scratches.. MTG will save alot of headaches..Best for rainrot...Love, love . It does everything it says it does, with many uses...
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Used this to clear up rain rot on my horse! Cleared it up quickly! Also good to use on horses with feather!
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Truly Works & On Humans Also! I've used this and my hair grows extremely fast. Normally I have super-slow growing hair. But every time I have used M-T-G (once per week) my hair grows only after a few days of each use. It doesn't grow super long, but it does grow quickly. I'm a keeper. Also there's folks that use it on their horses that love it also and their horse's manes and tails are very, very long after such a short time!!! It smells like burnt bacon, but it's worth it.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WORKS GREAT It works great on rain rot. After treating with other products for weeks we saw and improvement in one use. I've also used it as a tail detangler for a horse with a VERY matted tail and it worked GREAT. The only negative thing about this product is the smell.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product This worked great I have been battling this fungus for 6 months without much of a dent and one week of treatment it is almost gone...now if it wouldn't smell so bad it would have gotten a 5*
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grooming staple This stuff is really magic. Despite smelling a bit like bacon...its really helped my mare's tail and mane. I also put a bit in her ears occasionally because she tends to get dry/flaky skin. It's completely done away with her dry itchy ears as well! There's multiple uses for this product and its definitely a grooming staple!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product!! I bought MTG to treat rain rot and scratches on my mare. It began to clear up both issues within days! I am utterly amazed by this product! I don't even care that it smells like a smoldering camp fire, It works and that is all that matters to me!!
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best EVER MTG does a great job on my TB's summer itch, so I'd buy it for that alone. Even more impressive, though, is the way it worked on a recently adopted mini. The poor little guy was a rescue, and had thrush, worms AND lice. His coat was an absolute nightmare, and the hair was falling out in clumps, leaving patches of bare, itchy skin. Not pretty! Anyway, MTG was invaluable here. After treating for lice and worms, I began applying MTG every other day. It's only been a month since he arrived, but he already looks like a brand new horse, with lovely, shiny hair coming in like crazy. MTG is fantastic, and I just couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it claims! I just love this product. It helps my horses tail grow so fast and look healthy. I rub it on his tail bone and dock. I also use it if he rubs his tail. Helps heal itchy scaling skin.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proven impact I know there is a newer version of this, without sulfur smell, but honestly, I don't care. This product works to treat many skin conditions, thrush, miner injuries, shining coat, getting rid of skin flakes, etc. I hope they never change the formula
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Excellent product for scratches and getting hair to grow back. The smell is gross, but I can overlook that due to the results.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff might stink but it WORKS! I have a hard keeping TB that gets some rain rot every spring. This stuff softens the scabs within 24 hours and leaves behind healthy skin that is ready to grow a new coat of hair.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker! I bought this product after reading many great reviews and I am now so impressed that I will always have a bottle on hand! I started using it on my horse's mane and tail and the hair is actually growing longer and stronger. It has a funky smell but since it works it is well worth it!
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_6238, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders