Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Samshield Premium Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19898
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Stay cool, dry and comfortable with the Samshield Premium Helmet. Designed in conjunction with actual riders just like you, it has all the features you want in a helmet with a stylish, modern look. Instead of unsightly exterior vents, the Premium uses air canals under the visor for incredible airflow. While the padding is fitted and comfortable, it doesn't make contact with the front of your forehead - no more helmet-induced headaches, dented foreheads or skin problems from sweaty padding! Over time, the memory foam inserts will not break down, so the helmet will fit as perfectly as when you bought it.

Favorite Features

  • Removable & washable lining
  • Waterproof and fadeproof Alcantara suede exterior
  • Leather harness
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 approved

Imported

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest ...
    Description:
    The Charles Owen AYR8 Classic Helmetis the latest blend of tradition and technology. This low profile helmet combines fade resistant velvet side panels with a vented velvet center for maximum airflow. It's the perfect combination of classic and cool! Stay-soft ...
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a ...
    Description:
    The Custom Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Endless ...
    TheSamshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's ...
    Description:
    TheSamshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption.Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; each ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Favorite Features Front air ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision that will get you noticed in any show ring! The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside ...
    The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the ...
    Description:
    The GPS First Lady 2X helmet is the first helmet developed for ladies! Same technical assets and same comfortas theSpeed'air model Features aeration, safety, light weight. Favorite Features Large visor designed toProtect skin against sun MetalGPA badge 2X nuca which ...
    TheCharles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile ...
    Description:
    TheCharles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet thatcombines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic. Developed for the equestrian ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Samshield Premium Helmet is rated 4.827586206896552 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HELMET! I bought this helmet a week ago, and I'm already in love with it! It is appropriate for every show ring, and is a wonderful schooling helmet as well! For sizing, I got one size smaller than what I normally am! BEWARE: This premium helmet fits differently than the matte one because the padding inside is different. I was 6 7/8 for the matte and I went a size down for this one. I love the classy but modern look this helmet has. <3 it!
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look! Finally got the helmet we were lusting after! Our trainer is sponsored by Samshield and we love all her fancy helmets BUT, most important are the safety factors and the cooling vents...awesome!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I bought this when it first came to the states and I love it! I don't have headaches when I ride anymore, and despite the hot Florida sun, my head stays cool and dry throughout the show day! I did buy it from the vendor in Wellington so it was a little pricier, but definitely worth it! I purchased the grey with the black stripe, and my sister loved it so much she ended up buying one too! It looks very chic, and it's very comfortable. I was between this and the leather First Lady, but I'm glad I chose this! No doubt the best helmet out there! I can wear it in the jumper ring, then go do the performance hunters and it'll still look appropriate for my attire!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST HELMET IN THE WORLD I bought the Samshield Premium helmet because I was moving and needed a new, ventilated helmet. This helmet was perfect. this product is excellent quality and is super safe. I recently fell off a 16.3h horse who I had never ridden, who was an ex-racehorse and this helmet saved me. I got thrown into a concrete wall and in I didn't have this helmet my injuries would be a lot worse than a sprained ankle and a chipped tooth. I love this helmet with my life and would continue using this product.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful hard hat This is an absolutely gorgeous hard hat but you definitely have to have the right head shape for it , which I didn't have! It looked terrible on me so I had to return it.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I bought this around 2 weeks ago, and it fits wonderfully, along with looking fabulous. I'll never go back to my CO or Speed Air again! 
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet After reading all the glowing reviews here and elsewhere, I decided to take the plunge. I was looking for a helmet cooler than my CO, and just as comfortable for my long oval head. I was pleasantly surprised to find it was MORE comfortable than my current helmet. It is definitely cooler. I still sweat, but not nearly as much. I can feel the airflow through the venting system when working at the trot. Add to that, the helmet is very well made and attractive both off and on my head. There is nothing I don't like about it, except maybe my smaller bank account. Even at that, I don't mind paying for a clearly superior product.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet is perfect I needed a new helmet desperately because I was moving to a really hot place and needed a ventilated helmet. I tried on all different ones and they just weren't ventelated enough. The lady at the store told me when you ride in this helmet you can feel a breeze going through your helmet. She was RIGHT!!!! I love this helmet sooooo much.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love So I went to a horse show this past weekend and was in the market for a new helmet. My previous show helmet was an IRH which I like. However, my IRH was getting a little beat up and my schooling helmet no longer fit my head so I decided to buy a new show helmet and use my IRH for schooling. A popular barn in my area is sponsored by Samshield and all of their riders have one. At first I wasn't sure I liked the look but after seeing them more and more I have been drooling over them. So I went to the show and tried some on at one of the tack shop vendors. After a few days of trying to find the right fit. I found one that fit my oval head, not to mention I have pretty thick hair. I absolutely love how they don't touch your forehead and for previously riding in IRH it was a totally different feel. They are light weight and are gorgeous! I am anxiously waiting to receive mine after a long debate of exactly which one to buy, but I know I will be happy. I think it is a lot of money for a helmet but it is totally worth it.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! I tried the Charles Owen ayr8. It was way too big for my head. It made me look like a bobble-head doll. Next, I tried the Samshield. The first one I ordered was my usual size. It was way too big. I ordered the next size down. It was still a little bit too big. Finally, I went down again to the next size. It fits perfectly. I really like my New helmet! It is comfortable and had great airflow to reduce sweating. I just got this a month ago, So I can't really rate the durability yet.However, I have a feeling that it is very durable.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helmet! So cool (cold and good looking;)!) and very stylish! I loved my GPA SpeedAir but this helmet is very comfortable and has just as much airflow. I'm very excited to have it!
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet out there! I have never loved a helmet as much as I love my Samshield! While helmet shopping, I was hesistant to even try it due to the price. Once it was on my head, there was no going back! It's the most comfortable, unique helmet, and very stylish. It kept my head pretty cool during the summer, and the liner is washable in case you do sweat! No more smelly helmets!It does run a little bit large. I love that it doesn't give me the bubble-head that most helmets do though. I got the brighter silver chrome with the leather strip down the middle of the helmet, and I LOVE the way it looks in the sunshine! It can sometimes reflect strangely in photos but it's so worth it.Try this helmet, your head will love you! (Your wallet not so much, but it's worth it for something you wear every time you ride)
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I love this helmet. It is very comfortable, breathable, and stylish. I replaced my GPA Speed Air with this helmet after a fall. It looks very sharp with my navy dress coat in the dressage ring. Can't go wrong with this one. Because the memory foam lining is thin, it does seem to run a bit large. Tough to buy online, but I lucked out ordering a size down from my GPA.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Should Have This Helmet! I was looking to get a new helmet that would keep my head from sweating less. After I ride my head is always damp, if not drenched in sweat. I saw the Samshield had a removable liner that you could be washed to get the sweat and lovely helmet head smell out. After riding in it almost everyday for two weeks my head has not been the least bit sweaty and the helmet still smells like it just came out of the box! The air vents work quite well and the helmet is very comfortable.The sizing does run large. In a Charles Owen I had a 6 3/4 helmet and I needed a 6 1/2 helmet in the Samshield.If you have a smaller head or narrow face and are on the fence about with option to buy I would suggest getting the leather down the middle. The leather looks more flattering on a small face because it separates the alcantara. For me all helmets look sort of look like a mushroom cap on my head, but the alcantara and leather option did not give that appearance as much as the all alcantara did.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beauty & Comfort I'd admired this when I first saw it, and now that I have it, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! The customization is beautiful (got the black chrome blazon) and I get lots of compliments. The fit is great, soft and comfortable, but secure on my head. And Smartpak's customer service is first rate!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! This helmet is fantastic and well worth the investment. It runs true to size, the pull out washable liner is a god send and the shape is very flattering to every head. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good air flow I was looking for a quality show helmet that was cool on the head. This helmet was just that and has removable, washable liners. My only problem is my head is a 6 1/2 and the helmet did not go small enough so the tack shop added extra padding and padding in the front. It fit well until the padding squashed down, now is slightly loose. The front padding fell out since it just had some glue on it. I still use the helmet but it is a little loose.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous helmet, didn't look good on my head I was very excited to receive this helmet. It totally held up to my expectation in terms of looks and padding. However, for some reason it looked like a mushroom cap on my head. It was low profile, even more so than the helmet I ended up with, but it was wide on my head (in looks not fit). So it had a very odd appearance on me. However, if it had looked right, I would have spent the money to buy it. Nice helmet.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samshield premium helmet I love the helmet, the difficulty is finding the right fit since none of the tack stores carry them. It is a matter of getting them to try on and sending back if not the right size! But I do love the helmet and cannot wait mine to arrive (currently backordered). The helmet is beautiful and does not look huge on my head like some helmets.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting helmet!! I got this helmet about a year ago as a gift from my parents and it is probably the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn! I absolutely love the way it looks on my head with my hair up or down, and it is comfortable either way. I have the helmet with the leather on the top and it is very scratch proof, as is the alcantara. I have dropped this helmet a few times, and have fallen off in it and it hasn't scratched yet! I hope this helmet will last me for years and I might never buy a different brand!
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not perfect for round heads I tried on this helmet, but did not end up purchasing it. I am one of those poor souls with a large round head, so it's nearly impossible to find a helmet that both fits and doesn't make me look like a bobble head! This helmet has a fabulous design, it's really innovative and seems like it would be really cool and comfortable. The customization options are also really fun (but dangerous for the pocketbook!). However, it ultimately did not look as flattering on me, the bowling-ball head, so I instead opted for "that other expensive helmet that some say looks like a bug." I would definitely give it a try if you are considering one of the top of the line brands; everyone I know that has one absolutely loves it.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Helmet This was the best helmet purchase I ever made... only wish SmartPak had offered it when I bought. The fit of the helmet is fantastic with the gap in front padding allowing it to fit a wider range of head shapes and personal preferences. I love the distinctive look of the leather accent and the air flow couldn't be better. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    • 2016-07-26T10:43CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_9898, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders