Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Safe-T Salt Block Holder

Item #11028
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Nearly indestructible, the Safe-T Salt Block Holder is made from one piece of molded plastic making it hard for horses to chew.

Favorite Features

  • Scooped sides and short wings for a snug hold
  • Won't rust or corrode
  • Two holes for mounting recessed screws (not included)
Sizing It Up

Will fit any 2" x 4" salt blocks.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Safe-T Salt Block Holder is rated 4.7612 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy salt block! I was looking for a salt block that would fit both the regular and Himalayan salt blocks, and I found it! Easy to install and seems durable so far.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Reasonably price easy to install perfect size for salt block
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe-T Salt Block Holder I am very happy with this product so far. I have had other salt block holders that were covered with a plastic that eventually wore out and the metal underneath rusted.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Salt Block Holder This salt block holder is great because it's very easy to install and once the salt block has worn down it still remains in place! With other salt block holders I find that the salt block becomes too loose or falls out once it has been worn down, so I really like knowing that my salt blocks are going to last down to the last bit and I don't have to worry about it falling out and scaring my horses. In my opinion it's a little pricey for a piece of plastic, but I think it's clearly the better buy over those vinyl coated salt block holders!
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great for my beastly creature My horse is very "rough" with his things. I normally go through the regular wire salt/mineral holders as often as I go though the licks themselves. This holder has already outlasted the previous one and I've only had it for a month. It hasn't moved or shifted at all so far. Great design. 
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Designed to take punishment!!! I am very pleased, finally salt block holders that can take a beating without breaking or bending. I am very pleased with this product.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first in the stall salt block holder. My horse has always just had free access in a pasture. But I really like the thickness of the plastic. I feel that it would be very difficult for the horse to break a piece off, even if it was playing with the empty holder. I gave it 4 stars on value just because it was more expensive than the lighter duty ones at the feed store, but I feel that it was worth it!
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt block holder out there I have used these for 15 years and have never had to replace one. Ever. They are made of molded plastic with no sharp edges and have drainage at the bottom. They attach with screws to the wall. You provide your own screws. Galvanized, heavy guage are the best. You will need to clean out the bottom of the holder from time to time as salt accumulates there. Remnants of a salt block are easily removed with a hoofpick when neccessary. The horses have good access to the block and readily use the device. I can't say enough good things about this product.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend Very durable and fits the salt licks perfectly. Also very easy to install!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Rusting! Finally no rusty mess for the salt blocks. Sturdy plastic with no muss.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Product So many of the salt block holders on the market seem to disintegrate over a relatively short period of time. The more flexible material these are made off seems to defy that trend. I only rated them 4 starts instead of 5 because it's pretty hard to get the standard salt block into the holder...very, very tight fit. But once it's in there...it goes nowhere except...into the horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good I haven't had this up very long but prior to this I had one of the plastic cage type holders and it broke and was down in a day. This one seems much more durable, and so far its holding up.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great replacement Had metal, rusted, corroded salt block holders in my newly acquired barn. Replaced with these easy to install salt block holders. Horse doesn't hesitate to use and looks soo much better! Easy to insert salt blocks - no cons. Highly recommend for your stall.
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product easy to install, fits the salt blocks and they stay in place. would highly recommend. Bought stainless steel screws so they do not rust.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salt brick holder I searched all over to find these salt brick holders. I saw them in a stable once and liked the way they held the salt block and had no sharp edges or anything to rust! So I ordered them for my stable. I am very happy with them! They are very sturdy and hold the salt brick very securely.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It I love this product. I Have bought numerous types of salt block holders to have my horses break them or hit them and they break.This product has no sharp edges and it does not rust like my old ones did. My horses love it too as it makes it easier for them to lick the blocks.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally ordered these... My horses tend to play with or chew their salt licks if they are on a rope or in a wire bracket. I was going through as many as two blocks a month per horse! So I decided to finally try something new. I'm glad I did because the solid Himalayan salt block is still going strong three weeks later. Now I'm kicking myself for ordering the salt by the case this time, LOL .
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from salt block So far, so good. I am happy with this holder and my horse seems to enjoy licking the salt block in this holder. It was easy to install as well.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and Sturdy I got this holder because my horse is a complete salt blockaholic! She loves her salt, LOL. I need something that will stand up to intense levels of attention, and this fits the bill. Plus, it has no sharp edges, easy to install, and looks nice (for a salt block holder!).
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, Safe and Works as Advertised I haven't had these holders up but a couple of weeks, but I'm pretty certain they're gonna last a mighty long time. They're made very sturdily, are easy to put up (two screws) and the salt blocks fit in there just right. A could of reviews I read said something about the salt block being hard to fit in there...that's a GOOD thing! My horses are giving the blocks a fit, and even with the blocks dwindling quickly, the holder is still keeping them secure. I'm happy with them and I'd recommend them to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I bought this to accommodate the pink salt blocks. It is flexible enough to do so, yet seems durable, so I think will last.
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better option than painted metal Neat way to hold salt blocks and no need to worry about flaking paint.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I liked that this product was made of one complete piece of molded plastic that wouldn't rust. I do find that I am having difficulty finding salt blocks to fit this design as most local stores have started carrying 4x4 blocks.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These! These salt block holders are safe and indestructible. They have survived the Belgian sitting on them and the Dutch horse kicking the walls. Well worth the price. I won't be going back to any other brands.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is much better quality than the one I bought at a farm supply store. My horse destroyed the other one by bending it & broke it where the screws went into the wall.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from replacement for first one This is an excellent product. The first one I bought lasted 11 years. It is safe for your horses, doesn't rust and looks good.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST These salt block holders are truly the best. Don't even waste your money on the metal ones. They don't disintegrate, hold the salt til the end, and are SAFE.
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product on the market this is the best salt block holder I have everpurchased. I have bought every style andbrand on the market, and these are by far thebest. They are safe and effective. Nothing torust, nothing to brake off or scratch the horse.Safe in foaling stalls. I am a breeder and wouldnever use an unsafe product in my foaling stalls.This is the best out there.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have one in each stall I place one in each stall. These blocks are pretty simple. Just slip in salt block. Block Holders keep salt clean and off the ground. Horses can consume salt as desired.
    Date published: 2011-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for your money. This salt block holder is great! I used to use metal ones, but they rusted and bent, and looked TERRIBLE after only a few weeks. This one, however, looks like it's going to hold up to my 2 year old's chewing and roughhousing.My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that the salt blocks are a little big for it..Just a tiny bit, with a little elbow grease you can jam it in. It seems easier for my horses to eat the salt too.
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    • 2015-08-29T13:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_1028, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.