Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.6733 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good wither relief pad I love these pads, economical and great wither relief
    Date published: 2015-04-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did exactly what it's suppose to I purchased the lift insert to level out my daughters saddle. It works perfectly. My only suggestion is to NOT put it directly against the horses back. Stack the saddle pad, then insert and then the saddle. At first I stacked the insert then saddle pad and then the saddle and two of my horses bucked with it.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foam support Nice lightweight foam provides a nice back cushion that my horse seems to appreciate.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this pad! This pad has just enough lift to help my saddle sit more evenly on my horse. The foam is soft but still supportive. I haven't owned it for very long so i can't comment or give a good rating on durability yet.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job After buying some very expensive pads, this does the job very well at a good price. It is better than the flat versions which you have to try and form to sit up under the saddle to not put pressure on the wither. I got the one that raises the back of the saddle and it is perfect - a moderate lift. Large was the right size for my 18" jumping saddle.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads I have the front riser and the rear riser in my tackroom. They are great when you just need a little saddle fit correction. Not too bulky but gives just the right amount of lift where you need it.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have an M. Toulouse with the adjustable system. My mare requires a wider-set adjustment to accommodate her broad shoulders, but this leaves the saddle pushing on her withers. My saddle fitter recommended I either ditch the saddle or get something with shims to alleviate the issue.I chose to go with this pad firstly based on the price. Shimmable pads start in the $100 range and that wasn't something I was willing to try for a "maybe" fix.I ordered the White front Lift pad & have been riding in it now for about two months.Saddle fit issues are a thing of the past, and this was the best $30 fix I've ever had!
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my new horse I first tried out this pad by borrowing from a friend then had to buy my own. My saddle fits my low-withered mare, and when I bought my gelding the saddle didn't fit him well over his higher withers. This pad is wedged in the front, meaning that the saddle doesn't ride on his withers anymore. I have ridden him several times with this pad and so far he hasn't been sore and the saddle fit is good. I bought it in white and hope that it will stay clean enough for schooling and showing
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I ordered this pad overnight while at a show because my horse developed whither rubs from a new saddle. It worked as well as much more expensive pads, looked fine in the ring (in white) and not I use it everyday.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, does the job I bought this pad to alleviate some slight fitting issues with a short-backed QH, with slightly low withers. All saddles that seem to fit also drop down too low in front. So I needed something to lift the pommel slightly without really changing the fit of the saddle too much. This fit the bill quite neatly. The horse seems comfortable with it, the closed cell foam is very resilient and does not make the saddle "bouncy" like some foam pads can. It was a bit pricey, but I think it will pay for itself over time.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adjusts saddle fit and increases horse's comfort I have been using this for about a month now. Lifts up the back of my saddle by about 1/2 inch and takes some pressure off my horse's back. It is holding up well. I have used it at least 20 times and no major wear so far.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Back Relief This pad has really put a lot of energy back into my mare. She enjoys being saddled now that this pad had provided her relief. It is used daily and has help up great.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goldilocks of Relief Pads Not too stiff, not too pliable, not too high, not too low, - you get the idea - it's just right.My 19 year old Thoroughbred seems to have a whole lot more energy now that his back is feeling better via the use of this pad. Great value. I hope it holds up to my intended daily use!
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the contour of this pad, shape stays the same I bought this pad for my daughter while her horse builds a bit more muscle. It is just what was needed and works wonderfully to fill the void between horse and saddle.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great pad this is a great purchase if you have had someone who knows what they are looking for assure you that it fits your horses back. other wise don't buy it. i only bought this pad because i had my trainer look at how it fit my mare's back before purchasing it online. otherwise a great product that works for me and my mare!
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wither pad that actually works ! Not all of us can afford the perfect saddle for the multiple horses and our lives. My thoroughbred required 3 saddle pads just to make the saddle clear his withers. After purchasing this pad we can use one saddle pad! This is a perfect solution for high with her horses without adding too much bulk are worrying about the saddle being too high of the horses back. thank you so much smart pack for this wonderful product.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value for price I bought this to address a saddle fitting issue, and it works fine... i like that it  is dark, white ones tend to get dirty fast, plus this one is almost invisible under the saddle. I just bought it so i don't know how long will it last,  but it looks sturdy enough.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy for my Horses I bought this because I have a very uphill Westphalian gelding I got for eventing, and with just my normal half pad I felt like I was having to lean forwards to sit up straight. It really helped my saddle and my horse is a lot more comfortable now!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisfied This pad was recomended to me by my saddle fitter. It has performed very well for us solving a fit problem.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Advertised I got this to try and make my saddle work. I had to return it only b/c my Vet said no go on the saddle. The pad was fine, nice thick foam, pretty much as it appears in the picture. I like the firm wither relief. I've used others in my lesson barn that have taken serious use and abuse and are still around. They can make the horse sweat in the summer, so use a nice absorbent pad under it.
    Date published: 2013-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from life saver! After months and hundreds of dollars spent, I finally found a lift pad that works! My young mare has high withers and a short back, leaving little room for a typical western saddle. She needs a pad to lift the saddle up high enough that it doesn't pinch her withers or press on her scapula while not forcing the saddle back too far over her loins. I never guessed I'd find the perfect one in an English wedge pad! Thank you SmartPak, I was just about to give up!
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works fabulous This has been the best find ever. I have sent my dressage saddle in for fittings and still had issues.With this pad it fits perfect and my gelding is so much more comfortable.It is a bit awkward at first, needs to form to the horse.I have purchased the most expensive half pads and never had one work so well.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My trusty Stubben was a bit too wide for my new young OTTB who has narrow, high withers. since I knew that the odds were good that her back would be changing, I didn't want to go the route of a whole new saddle. (What? No saddle fitter called? I know, I know, I'm crazy like that!) So I began the quest to make do with what we had. I tried a couple of expensive half pads (bought gently used, naturally) and was pretty happy with the Mattes shim-able correction pad with the shims in front, but still wanted more. I tried this, and wished I had bought it to begin with. The front riser lifted the saddle well clear and the padding on either side fills in the hollows next to her withers perfectly. Roma wither relief pad FTW!
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for saddle fit Was having problems with saddle fit (horse was cinchy, sore backed) bought the wither relief pad and what a difference it made! Happy horse, happy rider!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THis is a great pad to fill in the shoulders! This is a very ligtweight pad. It fits over the wither for paddng and flls in my ol' girls shoulders.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good lift, hard to keep put This pad did lift up my saddle and provide adequate shock absorption for my horse's back... but it's very hard to use. Shifts a lot and is VERY light so even when you think you have it how you like it's apt to move. Wasn't much money so was worth a shot, but I won't be using in the future.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Back Riser Pad I purchased this pad to lift the back of my saddle as it was not laying on my horse's back correctly. It did the trick until her back filled in. Well made and durable. In hind sight I should've purchased the black because I got the white dirty, but I'm sure I could bleach it. I would recomend this.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great relief pad This pad does a great job of lifting the back of my saddle the few degrees it needs while absorbing some of the impact. Worthwhile investment.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All-Around Wonderful As a rookie trainer, this was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I have a school horse that is a high-withered Standard/Arabian and all of my saddles pinched him terribly. Now the saddles fit him well and he's doing great in my program! As an added bonus, this has helped a few other horses with less-than-optimal saddles fit them so much better. Now with this pad, I've been able to show students the basics of saddle fitting and helped save my horses backs!
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from solved my problem I have an arabian mare with narrow withers. My favorite saddle from my old horse did not fit her properly. The wither relief pad made my old saddle comfortable for her to carry which made me very happy!
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    • 2015-08-26T13:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_95
    • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.