Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.


Made in the USA

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

 

Key Specifications
  • Material: Closed cell foam
  • Spine Measurement: 21"
  • Drop Measurement:
  • Style: Any

Sizing

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Closed cell foam
Spine Measurement 21"
Billet Straps/Girth Loops None
Style Any
Special Features Lift front, lift back or no lift options
Customizable No
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an ...
    Description:
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad is specifically designed for horses with flatter or ...
    "The English All-Purpose pad provides a Tri-Density Solution ...
    Description:
    "The English All-Purpose pad provides a Tri-Density Solution for saddle fit and comfort. 100% Merino wool on one side, closed cell high-density foam on the other, with a layer of slow-release open-cell memory foam in between. This unique layering arrests ...
    "The EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is a the ...
    Description:
    "The EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximum protection from impact ...
    "Everyone needs a little bit of sparkle in ...
    Description:
    "Everyone needs a little bit of sparkle in their lives sometimes, right? Shimmer and shine with these fun pads and their coordinating polo wraps! Lettia pads are well constructed with piping around the edges to prevent fraying. A quilted finish ...
    "Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to ...
    Description:
    "Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to be used in conjunction with Mattes sheepskin pads. The Mattes Quilt Only Pads are quilted with a layer of poly-flex that absorbs energy and eliminates bounce. Velcro billet and girth straps."
    "Mattes Square Pad with Sheepskin Panels offer the ...
    Description:
    "Mattes Square Pad with Sheepskin Panels offer the same benefits of the half pad, but in a full-pad style. The sheepskin panels offer protection while the bare unlined flaps minimize bulk under the rider's leg. The flaps are quilted with ...
    "The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made ...
    Description:
    "The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! Bought this a few weeks ago and it's perfect for what I need! I wanted something cushy but not bulky, and a little lift in the back. The bonus is the wither relief! I have a TB made who needs the cushioning and wither relief and my saddle needs just a touch of lift in the back. This product fit all my needs!
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for high-withered TBs I got this for my high and skinny withered TB mare nearly a year ago after a bad infection on her withers which left a huge scar that causes it to bleed again every time I rode her. I use this pad every time I ride her and never had any more hairs rubbed off of her. The only con about this pad is that it is slightly too small for my 17.5" saddle. Hope this helps :).
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roma Pro Tek Wither Relief Ok this may be a great pad for other horses but with my horse and saddle it did not work. It actually rose way to up in the back. I did not like it and either did my horse. I cannot say it was a good pad or bad...it did not work for my horse and me.
    Date published: 2016-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great size. I found this lifted the font of my saddle just the right amount and seemed comfortable for my horse - however I found this made my saddle slip! A lot! I put it between my saddle and a felt pad.
    Date published: 2016-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It seems to work Bought this to use with a saddle that is too wide for our mare. She developed a sore back from ill fitting saddle. Have used it s couple of times and seems to be working. Not sure how long it will last as material doesn't look to be very strong... but so far so good
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too thick- made saddle fit improperly I purchased this to help level out the front of my saddle but it ended up being too thick and my saddle didn't fit through the withers and shoulder after.
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noce pad for the money I actually bought the wrong one but kept it any way. Nice pad stays in place easy to clean. I cannot attest to the durability yet so I'm not sure how it will hold up in everyday riding.
    Date published: 2016-09-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely poor quality Tore at top on first useage - I need to return had purchased 7 for my riding school.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functions as advertised For my older high-withered mare this saddle pad is just perfect! We ride in rugged mountain terrain and she is traveling better than ever. It fits well under my Australian saddle and never slips. Great product!
    Date published: 2016-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought the pad a month ago and I'm happy I did. My horse has a low back so he needs the extra support when having a saddle on his back. We used it at the training barn he was at, but with relocating I decided to buy one of my own. It fit him perfectly, just needs to mold to his body but after a few more uses it will surely do that.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick I bought this to take some of the pressure off my reining horses shoulders as my saddle sits down pretty low in her . I also felt a little forward in the saddle . The extra support seems to have resolved both issues . I put this pad on top of my regular western saddle pad and didn't have problems with slippage , but I didn't do much in the way of agressive riding .
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works for me with no fuss. I bought this pad because I needed to raise the saddle in the front for the saddle fit for myself, and it worked just right for me and the horse. It doesn't slide either.
    Date published: 2016-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at an affordable price! Finally, I found something that alleviates the pressure on my horse's withers! I have bought expensive saddle pads and while those helped, they didn't work as advertised. I've used this once, and I could tell a huge difference when my horse ran!
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy This shoulder relief pad was exactly what I was looking for . It is pretty much invisible to the eye. It dose not slip or shift. It dose not bunch up under saddle. I would buy it again .
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a good saddle fit better This is the 2nd pad like this that I bought. I have 2 horses and they share saddles, but one has higher withers than the other... Needless to say, one needs the front lift, and the other needs the rear lift. I like the pad a lot. It's lightweight, looks fine with my saddle pads, and really helps with saddle fit. It gets dirty easy in the tack room but is made of foam so cleans off easily. A very good item for the price.
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad! I bought this pad because my saddle didn't fit properly. My Morab gelding is getting older and starting to get a bit of a dip in his back! The wither relief was perfect. I wish the back lift was a bit higher but that is specific to my problem. It was the perfect solution for me since I couldn't justify the purchase of a new saddle at this time.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Raises the saddle off the withers quite a lot without adding too much bulk under the saddle. Rescue thoroughbred has atrophied muscle and the Mt. Everest of withers, so was worried that it wouldn't raise the saddle enough, but it did. Molding of the plastic isn't great, with messy seams, but is good value for money.
    Date published: 2015-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this as a temporary fix to help my current saddle fit my horse better until our new dreamboat saddle arrived. A big help to him--he would actually give me a sitting trot; before the rear panels would bump him in the back, driving him forward. Great product and reasonably priced. Will definitely be keeping for my tack room even once I sell my old saddle!
    Date published: 2015-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does Its Job This is a good, basic wither relief pad at a very reasonable price. The foam seems to get dirty somewhat easily and tends to dent, but is much cheaper than the pads with removable shims. My only complaint is that the foam is very thick at the withers - I would have liked it a little thinner but my guess is it will thin out a bit with time.
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad I like how the half pad cushions the horse's back without adding bulk. The lift back puts the saddle in a better position. I bought white and would definitely buy this again.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saddle Fits Great! I purchased this improve the saddle fit on the Thoroughbred I ride with high withers. Not only is it cheap, but it works! I've used it about 3 or 4 times now, and love it! It makes the saddle fit so much better, and is barely visable underneath the saddle!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good wither relief pad I love these pads, economical and great wither relief
    Date published: 2015-04-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did exactly what it's suppose to I purchased the lift insert to level out my daughters saddle. It works perfectly. My only suggestion is to NOT put it directly against the horses back. Stack the saddle pad, then insert and then the saddle. At first I stacked the insert then saddle pad and then the saddle and two of my horses bucked with it.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foam support Nice lightweight foam provides a nice back cushion that my horse seems to appreciate.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this pad! This pad has just enough lift to help my saddle sit more evenly on my horse. The foam is soft but still supportive. I haven't owned it for very long so i can't comment or give a good rating on durability yet.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job After buying some very expensive pads, this does the job very well at a good price. It is better than the flat versions which you have to try and form to sit up under the saddle to not put pressure on the wither. I got the one that raises the back of the saddle and it is perfect - a moderate lift. Large was the right size for my 18" jumping saddle.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads I have the front riser and the rear riser in my tackroom. They are great when you just need a little saddle fit correction. Not too bulky but gives just the right amount of lift where you need it.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have an M. Toulouse with the adjustable system. My mare requires a wider-set adjustment to accommodate her broad shoulders, but this leaves the saddle pushing on her withers. My saddle fitter recommended I either ditch the saddle or get something with shims to alleviate the issue. I chose to go with this pad firstly based on the price. Shimmable pads start in the $100 range and that wasn't something I was willing to try for a "maybe" fix. I ordered the White front Lift pad & have been riding in it now for about two months. Saddle fit issues are a thing of the past, and this was the best $30 fix I've ever had!
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my new horse I first tried out this pad by borrowing from a friend then had to buy my own. My saddle fits my low-withered mare, and when I bought my gelding the saddle didn't fit him well over his higher withers. This pad is wedged in the front, meaning that the saddle doesn't ride on his withers anymore. I have ridden him several times with this pad and so far he hasn't been sore and the saddle fit is good. I bought it in white and hope that it will stay clean enough for schooling and showing
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I ordered this pad overnight while at a show because my horse developed whither rubs from a new saddle. It worked as well as much more expensive pads, looked fine in the ring (in white) and not I use it everyday.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_116
    • loc_en_US, sid_5431, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders