Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad

Roma
- Item #15431
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Roma's ProTek Wither Relief Pad has been a staple in every barn for over 20 years!  Offers ultra-thin and lightweight protection for your horse's back.  Molded to fit high up into the saddle channel to give protective cushioning while allowing the spine and withers to be free of pressure.

Favorite Features

  • Available in either lift front or lift back depending on your saddle fitting needs
  • Front lift provides 1/2" lift in front while continuing to support the full length of the saddle
  • Back lift provides 1/2" lift to balance the back of the saddle while avoiding pressure to the withers
  • Closed cell foam that won't absorb moisture
  • Fits all styles of saddles

Sizing It Up

Measures 21" in length
One size fits most saddles

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to ...
Description:
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to be used in conjunction with Mattes sheepskin pads. The Mattes Quilt Only Pads are quilted with a layer of poly-flex that absorbs energy and eliminates bounce. Velcro billet and girth straps. All ...
The EcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is a the ...
Description:
The EcoGold Stabilizer Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximumProtection from impact while ...
The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from ...
Description:
The Medallion Liftback Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product that ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact ...
Description:
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. Opening at withers relieves saddle pressure and improve saddle fit. 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Wither Relief Half Pad absorbs ...
The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad ...
Description:
The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes ...
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
Description:
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort andProtection. The quilted design with Coolmax lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extraProtection where needed while maintaining optimum balance and contact. ...
The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made ...
Description:
The Medallion High Profile Fleece Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes a product ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Roma ProTek Wither Relief Pad is rated 4.610619469026549 out of 5 by 113.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick I bought this to take some of the pressure off my reining horses shoulders as my saddle sits down pretty low in her . I also felt a little forward in the saddle . The extra support seems to have resolved both issues . I put this pad on top of my regular western saddle pad and didn't have problems with slippage , but I didn't do much in the way of agressive riding .
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works for me with no fuss. I bought this pad because I needed to raise the saddle in the front for the saddle fit for myself, and it worked just right for me and the horse. It doesn't slide either.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at an affordable price! Finally, I found something that alleviates the pressure on my horse's withers! I have bought expensive saddle pads and while those helped, they didn't work as advertised. I've used this once, and I could tell a huge difference when my horse ran!
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy This shoulder relief pad was exactly what I was looking for . It is pretty much invisible to the eye. It dose not slip or shift. It dose not bunch up under saddle. I would buy it again .
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a good saddle fit better This is the 2nd pad like this that I bought. I have 2 horses and they share saddles, but one has higher withers than the other... Needless to say, one needs the front lift, and the other needs the rear lift. I like the pad a lot. It's lightweight, looks fine with my saddle pads, and really helps with saddle fit. It gets dirty easy in the tack room but is made of foam so cleans off easily. A very good item for the price.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad! I bought this pad because my saddle didn't fit properly. My Morab gelding is getting older and starting to get a bit of a dip in his back! The wither relief was perfect. I wish the back lift was a bit higher but that is specific to my problem. It was the perfect solution for me since I couldn't justify the purchase of a new saddle at this time.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Raises the saddle off the withers quite a lot without adding too much bulk under the saddle. Rescue thoroughbred has atrophied muscle and the Mt. Everest of withers, so was worried that it wouldn't raise the saddle enough, but it did. Molding of the plastic isn't great, with messy seams, but is good value for money.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Job I bought this as a temporary fix to help my current saddle fit my horse better until our new dreamboat saddle arrived. A big help to him--he would actually give me a sitting trot; before the rear panels would bump him in the back, driving him forward. Great product and reasonably priced. Will definitely be keeping for my tack room even once I sell my old saddle!
Date published: 2015-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does Its Job This is a good, basic wither relief pad at a very reasonable price. The foam seems to get dirty somewhat easily and tends to dent, but is much cheaper than the pads with removable shims. My only complaint is that the foam is very thick at the withers - I would have liked it a little thinner but my guess is it will thin out a bit with time.
Date published: 2015-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad I like how the half pad cushions the horse's back without adding bulk. The lift back puts the saddle in a better position. I bought white and would definitely buy this again.
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saddle Fits Great! I purchased this improve the saddle fit on the Thoroughbred I ride with high withers. Not only is it cheap, but it works! I've used it about 3 or 4 times now, and love it! It makes the saddle fit so much better, and is barely visable underneath the saddle!
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good wither relief pad I love these pads, economical and great wither relief
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did exactly what it's suppose to I purchased the lift insert to level out my daughters saddle. It works perfectly. My only suggestion is to NOT put it directly against the horses back. Stack the saddle pad, then insert and then the saddle. At first I stacked the insert then saddle pad and then the saddle and two of my horses bucked with it.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good foam support Nice lightweight foam provides a nice back cushion that my horse seems to appreciate.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this pad! This pad has just enough lift to help my saddle sit more evenly on my horse. The foam is soft but still supportive. I haven't owned it for very long so i can't comment or give a good rating on durability yet.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job After buying some very expensive pads, this does the job very well at a good price. It is better than the flat versions which you have to try and form to sit up under the saddle to not put pressure on the wither. I got the one that raises the back of the saddle and it is perfect - a moderate lift. Large was the right size for my 18" jumping saddle.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads I have the front riser and the rear riser in my tackroom. They are great when you just need a little saddle fit correction. Not too bulky but gives just the right amount of lift where you need it.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have an M. Toulouse with the adjustable system. My mare requires a wider-set adjustment to accommodate her broad shoulders, but this leaves the saddle pushing on her withers. My saddle fitter recommended I either ditch the saddle or get something with shims to alleviate the issue.I chose to go with this pad firstly based on the price. Shimmable pads start in the $100 range and that wasn't something I was willing to try for a "maybe" fix.I ordered the White front Lift pad & have been riding in it now for about two months.Saddle fit issues are a thing of the past, and this was the best $30 fix I've ever had!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for my new horse I first tried out this pad by borrowing from a friend then had to buy my own. My saddle fits my low-withered mare, and when I bought my gelding the saddle didn't fit him well over his higher withers. This pad is wedged in the front, meaning that the saddle doesn't ride on his withers anymore. I have ridden him several times with this pad and so far he hasn't been sore and the saddle fit is good. I bought it in white and hope that it will stay clean enough for schooling and showing
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I ordered this pad overnight while at a show because my horse developed whither rubs from a new saddle. It worked as well as much more expensive pads, looked fine in the ring (in white) and not I use it everyday.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, does the job I bought this pad to alleviate some slight fitting issues with a short-backed QH, with slightly low withers. All saddles that seem to fit also drop down too low in front. So I needed something to lift the pommel slightly without really changing the fit of the saddle too much. This fit the bill quite neatly. The horse seems comfortable with it, the closed cell foam is very resilient and does not make the saddle "bouncy" like some foam pads can. It was a bit pricey, but I think it will pay for itself over time.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adjusts saddle fit and increases horse's comfort I have been using this for about a month now. Lifts up the back of my saddle by about 1/2 inch and takes some pressure off my horse's back. It is holding up well. I have used it at least 20 times and no major wear so far.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Back Relief This pad has really put a lot of energy back into my mare. She enjoys being saddled now that this pad had provided her relief. It is used daily and has help up great.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goldilocks of Relief Pads Not too stiff, not too pliable, not too high, not too low, - you get the idea - it's just right.My 19 year old Thoroughbred seems to have a whole lot more energy now that his back is feeling better via the use of this pad. Great value. I hope it holds up to my intended daily use!
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the contour of this pad, shape stays the same I bought this pad for my daughter while her horse builds a bit more muscle. It is just what was needed and works wonderfully to fill the void between horse and saddle.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great pad this is a great purchase if you have had someone who knows what they are looking for assure you that it fits your horses back. other wise don't buy it. i only bought this pad because i had my trainer look at how it fit my mare's back before purchasing it online. otherwise a great product that works for me and my mare!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wither pad that actually works ! Not all of us can afford the perfect saddle for the multiple horses and our lives. My thoroughbred required 3 saddle pads just to make the saddle clear his withers. After purchasing this pad we can use one saddle pad! This is a perfect solution for high with her horses without adding too much bulk are worrying about the saddle being too high of the horses back. thank you so much smart pack for this wonderful product.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value for price I bought this to address a saddle fitting issue, and it works fine... i like that it  is dark, white ones tend to get dirty fast, plus this one is almost invisible under the saddle. I just bought it so i don't know how long will it last,  but it looks sturdy enough.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy for my Horses I bought this because I have a very uphill Westphalian gelding I got for eventing, and with just my normal half pad I felt like I was having to lean forwards to sit up straight. It really helped my saddle and my horse is a lot more comfortable now!
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very satisfied This pad was recomended to me by my saddle fitter. It has performed very well for us solving a fit problem.
Date published: 2013-11-21
  • 2016-09-25T13:04CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_5431, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders