Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End

Rockin' SP
- Item #20890
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders

What do you get when you combine our smarts and obsessive attention to detail with the insight of world champion riders? You get the innovative design of the Rockin' SP Split Reins! We worked closely with champion reiners Tim McQuay and Tom McCutcheon, and their insight from decades in the saddle led to more than great quality - it paved the way for innovative design. We wanted Rockin' SP to be a cut above your average working tack. With over a year in development and more than 20 different iterations, we finally created perfection, and these split reins are it!

Made in the U.S.A.

Favorite Features

  • Tapered ends add just enough weight to allow the reins to hang perfectly
  • Heavy duty Hermann Oak harness leather is oiled and hand rubbed
  • Soft finish supports the perfect grip
  • Tie ends for a classic look

Sizing

These reins are 7 1/2' long.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Arc De Triomphe® bridles and reins are made ...
    Description:
    "Arc De Triomphe® bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smooth soft finish. Imported."
    "The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied ...
    Description:
    "The ShowQuest Vintage Stock Tie is a pre-tied stock tie made with top grade fabrics in delicate and beautifully crafted designs, and an attention to detail that is unsurpassed. Imported. Stock pins not included but can be purchased separately - ...
    "One of Weaver's most popular collections, the Back ...
    Description:
    "One of Weaver's most popular collections, the Back in Black Collection comes in black leather for an authentic cowboy look. These premium English bridle leather reins have a smooth and refined feel you’ll appreciate. Made in USA"
    "The Equilibrium Stretch & Flex Training Wraps were ...
    Description:
    "The Equilibrium Stretch & Flex Training Wraps were designed with protection in mind. The revolutionary Stomatex polyester material is comfortable to wear and helps to regulate skin temperature – the hotter your horse, the more breathable the material. These wraps ...
    "Made from the finest collections of European fabrics, ...
    Description:
    "Made from the finest collections of European fabrics, RJ Classics Platinum Collection Stock Ties offer you the look of refined elegance and optimal performance in the show ring. 100% fine cotton. Imported"
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear ...
    Description:
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear shops to find a tie suitable for the show ring! The Showquest Men's Tie is the perfect finishing touch to your show attire. Made in England"
    "Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a ...
    Description:
    "Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. Customization embroidery font is Block. Sold in singles. Imported."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel Right out of the bag these reins had a great feel. Which each use they just keep getting better.
    Date published: 2016-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins These reins have a nice weight to them and will look great on my show bridle!
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wasn't That Impressed... Don't get me wrong, these have great weight to them, like the length, but they weren't "ready to ride" right out of the box. They were pretty stiff. Maybe I just got a dud pair, but the dye job on them is awful! They have dark and light blotches all over them. I might try them just to see if I like them, but overall my local tack shop makes much nicer reins for a fraction of the price. Paying for the name on these for sure. I usually love all things smartpak, but these will probably be going back unfortunately. I'll update my review if I change my mind after trying them out.
    Date published: 2016-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft pliable reins! These reins are soft and pliable, and ready to use when they arrive. However, even my strong fingers struggled with the leather tie ends to undo them to put on my reins. Obviously if you plan to switch bridle reins often, go for the buckle ends. That said, I wish the tie ends came in package untied, they arrived snugged down pretty good, and I can't understand why, they should be ready to attach to a new bridle straight away, had to use my teeth to get the darned things untied. Just something to be aware of. Otherwise lovely.
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice feeling reins I like the feel of these reins, just wish there was an option for 3/4 inch width.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockn 1/2" reins Nice feel, gave them a coat of neatsfoot when I got them and they softened right up. I love a thinner rein.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I love em! I bought this and used them a couple times now. They are great!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter was very happy. My daughter needed these and loves them. It was a surprise gift.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Feel I only hope they have as nice a feel in the very cold weather
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins This is my first set of split reins and I really like them for riding in an arena or doing drill team or lessons. The underside is nicely finished and they are long enough for my 16 hand paint.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feelin the hand This is the second set of SP split reins that I have gotten. I love them. I think I prefer the wider reins but they both have a wonderful weight and feel in my hands and a perfect drape overall. I have had several clinicians get on my horse and comment very positively on these reins. I strongly recommend these.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel! I bought my reins this summer and love the feel and weight of them!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Was able to use these reins right away they are so supple. Recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I ordered I did not get what I ordered. I hoped to ride in my new reins the weekend after they came, but they were the wrong style. When I called, the person argued that they were what I ordered, but they were totally not. I hate reins that tie to the bit. So, now they are just sitting in the same box. I could return them, but who needs the hassle of driving into town and finding a place to do that? I will probably just throw them away because I get angry every time I see them in the box. I don't plan to EVER purchase anything but supplements from this company again. The woman I talked to offered NO help except that I could ship them back and THEN they would replace them. Too late for my event. Not good for me - this it NOT what I ordered.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins Good buy! Would buy again. You can use right out of the box!!
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality. Very thick but supple to hold. I purchased thee a month ago and happy that I did. Great quality!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super reins i love these reins. they are so soft and pliable and hang just right.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and well made Love these reins.. soft like they are already broke in... they are a bit shorter than my other set but does seem to make any difference.. I will purchase another set!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positively Perfect! I have been using these reins for a year, and they hold up really well. I love the feel of them and the way they come ready-to-use at delivery. They have just the right weight, too!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for training I am very pleased with the quality of the leather - very supple and soft, and the ties are easy to use. These reins are great for work/training, but wish they came in 8' length and wider than 5/8" for show use. I like longer, heavier reins for showing, so I will have to find those elsewhere. Otherwise, these are great for at home and seem like they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight :) I received a pair of these for Christmas, and I like them so much I just ordered another pair. These are my favorite!! They're super thick and heavy, but still soft, supple and ready to use right out of the box. Thank you, SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice reins Nice rein. Bought these for all around training. not bad for the price.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great reins at a great price. I have always wanted to get a pair of these reins because they looked so nice and well made and many of the reviewer seemed to love them as well. When they were in the 12 days of christmas deals I had to get some. I have yet to use them but they are so supple all ready I'm looking forward to riding with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel and the quality of the product! I have bought two of the Rocking SP Reins with the tie ends and I absolutely love them! They have a lot of feel, which I'm really picky about with my reins, great quality, and durable. Just love them! Never going to buy reins anywhere else again!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins These are amazing quality and I love the look and weight. So excited to try these out.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Whats so great about this set of reins? I ordered these reins after reading all of the glowing reviews. But I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble, since the quality of these reins are not so fantastic. Yes ,they a nice weight however I expected the edges to be finished and the section where you hand goes should be skived down These are thick and bulky. My local saddle maker puts out reins much nicer than these and for a better price point.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love These I bought these wanting to try something different and I am glad I did. They were a little more expensicVe than another brand I was looking at, but after reading the reviews I decided to just spend the money. They came out a little more stiff then I thought they would, but after a few days of use, they are soft and flexible. My horse likes them too, they are long enough that he does not feel restricted and can stretch his neck down but not to long that I feel like they are unmanageable.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!! This is my second pair of reins and I love them. They are soft and have a ton of feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, hope SmartPak will carry more Wester Good leather, reins well matched, edges nicely finished. Heavy weight, not too oily. I prefer 3/4" width, and 8' length, but I can use these on one of my smaller horses
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality So happy I bought these! I've been using them for a month now and they have such great feel - supple and the ends are the perfect weight. Great communication with my horse. These aren't like the cheap ones that are stiff, poor quality leather and so light they flap all over the place. Plus free shipping with my SmartPaks. What more could you ask for? I'll be buying these again when I need another pair!
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    • y_2017, m_1, d_24, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_10890, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders