Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End

Rockin' SP
- Item #20890
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders

What do you get when you combine our smarts and obsessive attention to detail with the insight of world champion riders? You get the innovative design of the Rockin' SP Split Reins! We worked closely with champion reiners Tim McQuay and Tom McCutcheon, and their insight from decades in the saddle led to more than great quality - it paved the way for innovative design. We wanted Rockin' SP to be a cut above your average working tack. With over a year in development and more than 20 different iterations, we finally created perfection, and these split reins are it!

Favorite Features

  • Tapered ends add just enough weight to allow the reins to hang perfectly
  • Heavy duty Hermann Oak harness leather is oiled and hand rubbed
  • Soft finish supports the perfect grip
  • Tie ends for a classic look
  • Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

These reins are 7 1/2' long.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality ...
    Description:
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality working tack that's built for real riders, and the Rockin' SP Browband Headstall is no exception! This heavy duty headstall provides extra security, making it great for young horses. It really is ...
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality ...
    Description:
    Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality working tack that's built for real riders, and the Rockin' SP Single Ear Headstall is no exception! This heavy duty headstall is popular with riders of all Western disciplines. It really is ...
    Designed to match the Cashel Western Trail Saddle, ...
    Description:
    Designed to match the Cashel Western Trail Saddle, these pliable, split reins of chocolate skirting leather are a great choice. Favorite Features Adorned with stamped diamond tooling Tie ends Chocolate skirting leather Made in the U.S.A. Sizing It Up 5/8" ...
    This premium leather reins offers a high end, ...
    Description:
    This premium leather reins offers a high end, show-ring ready look, without the high end price. Favorite Features Adorned with etched nickel brass spots Chicago screen bit ends Sizing It Up 5/8" wide x 7' long.
    Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training ...
    Description:
    Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders The ultimate training tool! The soft and supple Rockin' SP Draw Reins help encourage flexion at the poll. Utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders Tim McQuay and ...
    One of Weaver's most popular collections, the Back ...
    Description:
    One of Weaver's most popular collections, the Back in Black Collection comes in black leather for an authentic cowboy look. These premium English bridle leather reins have a smooth and refined feel you'll appreciate. Made in USA Favorite Features Double ...
    Buy a Bundle & SAVE! When you buy ...
    Description:
    Buy a Bundle & SAVE! When you buy a Rockin' SP bundle, you'll get a headstall, reins, and curb chain with a 5% savings over buying each product alone. Just add your bit and you're ready to ride! Favorite Features ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End is rated 4.6081 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockn 1/2" reins Nice feel, gave them a coat of neatsfoot when I got them and they softened right up. I love a thinner rein.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I love em! I bought this and used them a couple times now. They are great!
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter was very happy. My daughter needed these and loves them. It was a surprise gift.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Feel I only hope they have as nice a feel in the very cold weather
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins This is my first set of split reins and I really like them for riding in an arena or doing drill team or lessons. The underside is nicely finished and they are long enough for my 16 hand paint.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feelin the hand This is the second set of SP split reins that I have gotten. I love them. I think I prefer the wider reins but they both have a wonderful weight and feel in my hands and a perfect drape overall. I have had several clinicians get on my horse and comment very positively on these reins. I strongly recommend these.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel! I bought my reins this summer and love the feel and weight of them!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Was able to use these reins right away they are so supple. Recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I ordered I did not get what I ordered. I hoped to ride in my new reins the weekend after they came, but they were the wrong style. When I called, the person argued that they were what I ordered, but they were totally not. I hate reins that tie to the bit. So, now they are just sitting in the same box. I could return them, but who needs the hassle of driving into town and finding a place to do that? I will probably just throw them away because I get angry every time I see them in the box. I don't plan to EVER purchase anything but supplements from this company again. The woman I talked to offered NO help except that I could ship them back and THEN they would replace them. Too late for my event. Not good for me - this it NOT what I ordered.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins Good buy! Would buy again. You can use right out of the box!!
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality. Very thick but supple to hold. I purchased thee a month ago and happy that I did. Great quality!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super reins i love these reins. they are so soft and pliable and hang just right.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and well made Love these reins.. soft like they are already broke in... they are a bit shorter than my other set but does seem to make any difference.. I will purchase another set!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positively Perfect! I have been using these reins for a year, and they hold up really well. I love the feel of them and the way they come ready-to-use at delivery. They have just the right weight, too!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for training I am very pleased with the quality of the leather - very supple and soft, and the ties are easy to use. These reins are great for work/training, but wish they came in 8' length and wider than 5/8" for show use. I like longer, heavier reins for showing, so I will have to find those elsewhere. Otherwise, these are great for at home and seem like they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight :) I received a pair of these for Christmas, and I like them so much I just ordered another pair. These are my favorite!! They're super thick and heavy, but still soft, supple and ready to use right out of the box. Thank you, SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice reins Nice rein. Bought these for all around training. not bad for the price.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great reins at a great price. I have always wanted to get a pair of these reins because they looked so nice and well made and many of the reviewer seemed to love them as well. When they were in the 12 days of christmas deals I had to get some. I have yet to use them but they are so supple all ready I'm looking forward to riding with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel and the quality of the product! I have bought two of the Rocking SP Reins with the tie ends and I absolutely love them! They have a lot of feel, which I'm really picky about with my reins, great quality, and durable. Just love them! Never going to buy reins anywhere else again!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins These are amazing quality and I love the look and weight. So excited to try these out.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Whats so great about this set of reins? I ordered these reins after reading all of the glowing reviews. But I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble, since the quality of these reins are not so fantastic. Yes ,they a nice weight however I expected the edges to be finished and the section where you hand goes should be skived down These are thick and bulky. My local saddle maker puts out reins much nicer than these and for a better price point.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love These I bought these wanting to try something different and I am glad I did. They were a little more expensicVe than another brand I was looking at, but after reading the reviews I decided to just spend the money. They came out a little more stiff then I thought they would, but after a few days of use, they are soft and flexible. My horse likes them too, they are long enough that he does not feel restricted and can stretch his neck down but not to long that I feel like they are unmanageable.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!! This is my second pair of reins and I love them. They are soft and have a ton of feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, hope SmartPak will carry more Wester Good leather, reins well matched, edges nicely finished. Heavy weight, not too oily. I prefer 3/4" width, and 8' length, but I can use these on one of my smaller horses
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality So happy I bought these! I've been using them for a month now and they have such great feel - supple and the ends are the perfect weight. Great communication with my horse. These aren't like the cheap ones that are stiff, poor quality leather and so light they flap all over the place. Plus free shipping with my SmartPaks. What more could you ask for? I'll be buying these again when I need another pair!
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly as description Reins are very comfortable..drape nice...exactly as described
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins My new reins just arrived, and I love them. What a great feel! I do a lot of long distance trail riding and some showing. I've tried many reins over the years and know how hard it is to find that "just right" set. This is it. I opted for the 1\2 inch which offers a better fit for my hands.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent reins, but too thick for my liking Nice reins and the width is fine, but the thickness of the leather makes the reins not feel very pliable. I thought about keeping them, but they just don't feel very pliable due to the thickness. I also found similar reins for a lot less money.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin' SP Split Reins Purchased these reins after my favorite local tack store closed. Nice feel, decent price. I use them multiple times a day. I would purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Search is Over! After looking at multiple tack stores and scouring countless websites for the perfect pair of split reins, I took a chance and ordered these. They arrived promptly and I raced to the barn to try them out. After using these reins, I will never buy a pair of split reins from anywhere but Smartpak. The 7 and 1/2 foot length is perfect for my 15.2 hh Quarter Horse, with plenty of room to allow him to stretch while not being too long if I need to take up contact. Unless you have tiny hands or are buying these for a child, I would recommend the 5/8 inch. Having used thin, hard, lifeless, and noodle-like reins for nearly a year, I was happy to find that these reins were nothing of the sort. They are thick, heavy, soft, supple, and drape beautifully thanks to the weighted ends.. They truly are as described- ready right out of the box. While i cannot comment on durability because i have not owned them long, I expect that they will last for years to come. You WILL NOT regret buying these reins.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    • 2016-04-29T17:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_72
    • loc_en_US, sid_10890, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders