Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End

Rockin' SP
- Item #20890
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders

What do you get when you combine our smarts and obsessive attention to detail with the insight of world champion riders? You get the innovative design of the Rockin' SP Split Reins! We worked closely with champion reiners Tim McQuay and Tom McCutcheon, and their insight from decades in the saddle led to more than great quality - it paved the way for innovative design. We wanted Rockin' SP to be a cut above your average working tack. With over a year in development and more than 20 different iterations, we finally created perfection, and these split reins are it!

Made in the U.S.A.

Favorite Features

  • Tapered ends add just enough weight to allow the reins to hang perfectly
  • Heavy duty Hermann Oak harness leather is oiled and hand rubbed
  • Soft finish supports the perfect grip
  • Tie ends for a classic look

Sizing

These reins are 7 1/2' long.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Rainbow Reins are an effective and fun training ...
    Description:
    "Rainbow Reins are an effective and fun training aid with colored panels for beginners to learn correct contact. Hook stud ends. Imported."
    "Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide ...
    Description:
    "Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide for strap goods made in the U.S.A. Extra crack resistant with a rich chestnut finish, these pieces oil beautifully. Stainless hardware is used on all pieces of fine fancy raised leather works. ...
    "Arc De Triomphe® bridles and reins are made ...
    Description:
    "Arc De Triomphe® bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smooth soft finish. Imported."
    "All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
    Description:
    "All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively for KL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends; stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished ...
    "Arc De Triomphe Double Layered Ultra Grip Reins ...
    Description:
    "Arc De Triomphe Double Layered Ultra Grip Reins have all of the advantages of rubber reins, yet none of the bulk. Imported."
    "The Tory Leather Rubber Grip Competition Reins are ...
    Description:
    "The Tory Leather Rubber Grip Competition Reins are 5/8"" x 60"" long leather reins with 3/4"" rubber wrapped hand hold and nickel hardware. These reins are made with environmentally friendly vegetable extract tanned leather for long lasting character. Made in ...
    "The Schockemoehle Jumper Fancy Stitch Laced Reins are ...
    Description:
    "The Schockemoehle Jumper Fancy Stitch Laced Reins are high quality English leather laced reins with a buckle and martingale stoppers. These braided reins are great for practicing at home as well as for both the hunter and jumper show rings. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly as description Reins are very comfortable..drape nice...exactly as described
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins My new reins just arrived, and I love them. What a great feel! I do a lot of long distance trail riding and some showing. I've tried many reins over the years and know how hard it is to find that "just right" set. This is it. I opted for the 1\2 inch which offers a better fit for my hands.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent reins, but too thick for my liking Nice reins and the width is fine, but the thickness of the leather makes the reins not feel very pliable. I thought about keeping them, but they just don't feel very pliable due to the thickness. I also found similar reins for a lot less money.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin' SP Split Reins Purchased these reins after my favorite local tack store closed. Nice feel, decent price. I use them multiple times a day. I would purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Search is Over! After looking at multiple tack stores and scouring countless websites for the perfect pair of split reins, I took a chance and ordered these. They arrived promptly and I raced to the barn to try them out. After using these reins, I will never buy a pair of split reins from anywhere but Smartpak. The 7 and 1/2 foot length is perfect for my 15.2 hh Quarter Horse, with plenty of room to allow him to stretch while not being too long if I need to take up contact. Unless you have tiny hands or are buying these for a child, I would recommend the 5/8 inch. Having used thin, hard, lifeless, and noodle-like reins for nearly a year, I was happy to find that these reins were nothing of the sort. They are thick, heavy, soft, supple, and drape beautifully thanks to the weighted ends.. They truly are as described- ready right out of the box. While i cannot comment on durability because i have not owned them long, I expect that they will last for years to come. You WILL NOT regret buying these reins.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and ready to go right away!! Loved these reins! I've never had such soft reins! There was no breaking in period at all!!! Everything about them is perfect! The length and width work great! The quality is top notch!! Smartpak never ceases to amaze me with their products!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins I've ever used I bought this product about two weeks ago and I am in LOVE never going to use any other reins!!! Super supple and no residue, great weight and for an awesome price!
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Reins! I have had theses reins almost a month now and I am very happy with them! I would definitely purchase more SP tack:)
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these!!! These reins are perfect! So soft and the right size!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed. I have to qualify this: this is my first disappointment I ever had from SP. I've been a customer for years, and it's always been great. This may have been just a freak thing, but I feel compelled to give my honest review. I ordered these reins, and of course, was looking very forward to the smell of new leather when the package arrived. Upon arrival, I opened the package and the fumes of used motor oil or grease about knocked me over! That's the smell I expect on my husband's Carhartts after a day of wrenching on farm equipment, not the smell I expect of new reins. So, I let them air out for about a week. They still stunk to the high heavens. They seemed to be nicely constructed. They left my hands very oily. It took about a days worth of hand washing to get rid of the stink. Just not a good purchase. Had it not been for the oiliness and the stink, I would have kept them. They are reasonably priced and much better quality than found in most reins in the price range. I may try again in the future. I may just wait to see them at a horse expo somewhere and see if their other strap goods are what I think they should be before I purchase another set.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love these reins! Nice supple leather, and a gorgeous color. I wish they were just a little bit heavier. Otherwise perfect.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Might try this again. Not sure. I usually give all things SP rave reviews. Not this time. I'm not here to bash a product. I am just very honest about any reviews I give. Unfortunately, they can't all be great all the time. I was very hopeful about these reins. The promo made them look very interesting. I think overall they're an ok quality. I've seen better and worse for about the same price, so I think they're in the ball park. Price isn't really the issue here, though. They stink like used motor oil or grease! When I opened the bag, I thought I was about to put my husband's Carhartts in the wash! Nasty! Used motor oil smell is one thing when hubby's been wrenching on the machinery, but not the smell you expect when buying brand new reins. I was expecting the sweet smell of high quality leather. And it takes a few tries to wash that stink off my hands. What a surprise! Also, they're not as soft and supple as I thought they'd be. I usually buy this kind of stuff at Rods, and pay for the higher end stuff. I was hoping this would be a new source for strap goods. I guess not. Needless to say, they will be going back.
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super soft feel I first saw and touched these reins at the Quarter Horse Congress in 2012 but did not buy them then. When I saw that I could get these for 25% off recently I did not hesitate to order them. They arrived with my Smartpaks and are just as soft and supple as I remember them being. They will be put on my show bridle so I haven't used them yet, but they feel wonderful.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel I bought two sets of these reins, They feel great right out of the Box
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice Nice quality oiled reins. Wish they were 8'. Would buy again if longer.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin SP Split reins
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft work leather! I purchased the reins for everyday use and I am very pleased, they are very soft and feel broke-in from the moment I opened the package from SmartPak. These are the perfect good quality leather reins for everyday use!
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins I bought these reins about a month ago and I love them. They were soft and oiled right out of the box. They have a little weight to them and feel good in your hands.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin' Reins! I had been looking for a nice pair of long reins to replace a pair that I had previously bought off of my trainer that I loved but had seen their better days. I wanted a leather rein that was thick enough (I hate feeling like I am holding shoe strings!), but wasn't as stiff as a board for the first six months, at least, and I also wanted long reins that were actually long! I spotted these when SmartPak launched their Rockin' SP line and was excited to try them but waited until Equine Affaire in MA to feel them. Yes yes yes, I know SmartPak guarantees their products and I could have sent them back if I didn't like them, but I could not bring myself to make the purchase until I felt them for myself - but boy do I regret not getting my hands on these reins sooner! They are perfectly supple right out of the box, they are the perfect thickness all the way through, and they were the perfect length! I also appreciate that they are the sameI could not be more happy with this purchase and commend SmartPak for listening to their western riders and launching this line of awesome products. My Christmas wish list is full of Rockin' SP items!
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice I purchased these reins along with the single ear tie headstall and the rolled nose band. The reins are by far the best out of all three. Very supple, great quality, oiled nicely. I like that I can get them in 1/2" because I have small hands and they fit me prefect. 
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy! Best split reins I have ever purchased. Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin SP split reins, ready to ride Great reins right out of the box, no work involved. Just put them on your bit and tack up
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rockin SP Split Reins I like them very much. For me they are just a touch long but I would rather have too long than too short. My trainer thinks it makes for hard rein management unless you are very good. I also have a problem with my horse trying to grab the rein where it connects to the bit. Not the fault of the rein. Rhonda
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I've been looking for a nice supple set of split reins after starting w/ nylon weave reins w/ handstops. Nice to start w/, & get me used to split reins but didn't always send clear signals to him from my hands & I can tell that frustrated him from time to time. I saw the reviews for these & decided what the heck and ordered a set. I'm glad I did, they were very nice and supple right out of the bag. They were a little oily, but obviously had been oiled properly. My horse approves of them to, as the first time I rode him with them, some of the signals that would've been foggy with the other reins, he responded to clearly because of the more focused tie point. I can't speak to the durability but I can say they haven't fallen apart in the couple of weeks I've had them!
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy nice leather, already broke in
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Leather Very nice set of reins, high quality supple leather, great feel and perfect weight. Well worth the price and an excellent value.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handy working reins Great reins to work in. I softened then slightly more with a stretch and they became like butter. They are already very soft compared to many other reins, but I train so I ride many horses in a day and I want my reins to be exceptional.They are a bit pricy, but very good quality. The heavy weight reins are good for those in events needing a lower headset. The 5/8 s are great for every day and colt starting.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SP Reins are awesome! These reins are supple and ready to use right out of the package. They are a really nice weight and I think improve my feel of the horse. Love them. Won't hesitate to buy another pair.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality The leather of these reins is soft and flexible, and the reins have a nice weight and feel.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these reins!!!! I am absolutely sold on the new Rockin SP tack!!! The feel of these reins is great and they are ready to use right out of the box. Absolutely LOVE these reins!!!
    Date published: 2013-05-24
    • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_10890, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders