Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End

Rockin' SP
- Item #20890

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Smarter Gear for Smarter Riders

What do you get when you combine our smarts and obsessive attention to detail with the insight of world champion riders? You get the innovative design of the Rockin' SP Split Reins! We worked closely with champion reiners Tim McQuay and Tom McCutcheon, and their insight from decades in the saddle led to more than great quality - it paved the way for innovative design. We wanted Rockin' SP to be a cut above your average working tack. With over a year in development and more than 20 different iterations, we finally created perfection, and these split reins are it!

Favorite Features

  • Tapered ends add just enough weight to allow the reins to hang perfectly
  • Heavy duty Hermann Oak harness leather is oiled and hand rubbed
  • Soft finish supports the perfect grip
  • Tie ends for a classic look
  • Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

These reins are 7 1/2' long.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End is rated 4.6377 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feelin the hand This is the second set of SP split reins that I have gotten. I love them. I think I prefer the wider reins but they both have a wonderful weight and feel in my hands and a perfect drape overall. I have had several clinicians get on my horse and comment very positively on these reins. I strongly recommend these.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel! I bought my reins this summer and love the feel and weight of them!
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased Was able to use these reins right away they are so supple. Recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I ordered I did not get what I ordered. I hoped to ride in my new reins the weekend after they came, but they were the wrong style. When I called, the person argued that they were what I ordered, but they were totally not. I hate reins that tie to the bit. So, now they are just sitting in the same box. I could return them, but who needs the hassle of driving into town and finding a place to do that? I will probably just throw them away because I get angry every time I see them in the box. I don't plan to EVER purchase anything but supplements from this company again. The woman I talked to offered NO help except that I could ship them back and THEN they would replace them. Too late for my event. Not good for me - this it NOT what I ordered.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins Good buy! Would buy again. You can use right out of the box!!
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality. Very thick but supple to hold. I purchased thee a month ago and happy that I did. Great quality!
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super reins i love these reins. they are so soft and pliable and hang just right.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and well made Love these reins.. soft like they are already broke in... they are a bit shorter than my other set but does seem to make any difference.. I will purchase another set!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positively Perfect! I have been using these reins for a year, and they hold up really well. I love the feel of them and the way they come ready-to-use at delivery. They have just the right weight, too!
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for training I am very pleased with the quality of the leather - very supple and soft, and the ties are easy to use. These reins are great for work/training, but wish they came in 8' length and wider than 5/8" for show use. I like longer, heavier reins for showing, so I will have to find those elsewhere. Otherwise, these are great for at home and seem like they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight :) I received a pair of these for Christmas, and I like them so much I just ordered another pair. These are my favorite!! They're super thick and heavy, but still soft, supple and ready to use right out of the box. Thank you, SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice reins Nice rein. Bought these for all around training. not bad for the price.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great reins at a great price. I have always wanted to get a pair of these reins because they looked so nice and well made and many of the reviewer seemed to love them as well. When they were in the 12 days of christmas deals I had to get some. I have yet to use them but they are so supple all ready I'm looking forward to riding with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the feel and the quality of the product! I have bought two of the Rocking SP Reins with the tie ends and I absolutely love them! They have a lot of feel, which I'm really picky about with my reins, great quality, and durable. Just love them! Never going to buy reins anywhere else again!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins These are amazing quality and I love the look and weight. So excited to try these out.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Whats so great about this set of reins? I ordered these reins after reading all of the glowing reviews. But I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble, since the quality of these reins are not so fantastic. Yes ,they a nice weight however I expected the edges to be finished and the section where you hand goes should be skived down These are thick and bulky. My local saddle maker puts out reins much nicer than these and for a better price point.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love These I bought these wanting to try something different and I am glad I did. They were a little more expensicVe than another brand I was looking at, but after reading the reviews I decided to just spend the money. They came out a little more stiff then I thought they would, but after a few days of use, they are soft and flexible. My horse likes them too, they are long enough that he does not feel restricted and can stretch his neck down but not to long that I feel like they are unmanageable.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality!! This is my second pair of reins and I love them. They are soft and have a ton of feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality, hope SmartPak will carry more Wester Good leather, reins well matched, edges nicely finished. Heavy weight, not too oily. I prefer 3/4" width, and 8' length, but I can use these on one of my smaller horses
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quality So happy I bought these! I've been using them for a month now and they have such great feel - supple and the ends are the perfect weight. Great communication with my horse. These aren't like the cheap ones that are stiff, poor quality leather and so light they flap all over the place. Plus free shipping with my SmartPaks. What more could you ask for? I'll be buying these again when I need another pair!
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly as description Reins are very comfortable..drape nice...exactly as described
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins My new reins just arrived, and I love them. What a great feel! I do a lot of long distance trail riding and some showing. I've tried many reins over the years and know how hard it is to find that "just right" set. This is it. I opted for the 1\2 inch which offers a better fit for my hands.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent reins, but too thick for my liking Nice reins and the width is fine, but the thickness of the leather makes the reins not feel very pliable. I thought about keeping them, but they just don't feel very pliable due to the thickness. I also found similar reins for a lot less money.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin' SP Split Reins Purchased these reins after my favorite local tack store closed. Nice feel, decent price. I use them multiple times a day. I would purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Search is Over! After looking at multiple tack stores and scouring countless websites for the perfect pair of split reins, I took a chance and ordered these. They arrived promptly and I raced to the barn to try them out. After using these reins, I will never buy a pair of split reins from anywhere but Smartpak. The 7 and 1/2 foot length is perfect for my 15.2 hh Quarter Horse, with plenty of room to allow him to stretch while not being too long if I need to take up contact. Unless you have tiny hands or are buying these for a child, I would recommend the 5/8 inch. Having used thin, hard, lifeless, and noodle-like reins for nearly a year, I was happy to find that these reins were nothing of the sort. They are thick, heavy, soft, supple, and drape beautifully thanks to the weighted ends.. They truly are as described- ready right out of the box. While i cannot comment on durability because i have not owned them long, I expect that they will last for years to come. You WILL NOT regret buying these reins.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and ready to go right away!! Loved these reins! I've never had such soft reins! There was no breaking in period at all!!! Everything about them is perfect! The length and width work great! The quality is top notch!! Smartpak never ceases to amaze me with their products!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins I've ever used I bought this product about two weeks ago and I am in LOVE never going to use any other reins!!! Super supple and no residue, great weight and for an awesome price!
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Reins! I have had theses reins almost a month now and I am very happy with them! I would definitely purchase more SP tack:)
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these!!! These reins are perfect! So soft and the right size!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed. I have to qualify this: this is my first disappointment I ever had from SP. I've been a customer for years, and it's always been great. This may have been just a freak thing, but I feel compelled to give my honest review. I ordered these reins, and of course, was looking very forward to the smell of new leather when the package arrived. Upon arrival, I opened the package and the fumes of used motor oil or grease about knocked me over! That's the smell I expect on my husband's Carhartts after a day of wrenching on farm equipment, not the smell I expect of new reins. So, I let them air out for about a week. They still stunk to the high heavens. They seemed to be nicely constructed. They left my hands very oily. It took about a days worth of hand washing to get rid of the stink. Just not a good purchase. Had it not been for the oiliness and the stink, I would have kept them. They are reasonably priced and much better quality than found in most reins in the price range. I may try again in the future. I may just wait to see them at a horse expo somewhere and see if their other strap goods are what I think they should be before I purchase another set.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    • 2016-02-11T15:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_10890, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.