Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Replacement Leather Safety Release

Item #13742
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Did your horse break the leather safety release on his halter? The Replacement Leather Safety Release fits halters with a breakaway on the cheek piece under the buckle (fits our Kensington Breakaway halter).

Made in the USA


Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish ...
    Description:
    TheKensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of fashion ...
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
    The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy ...
    Description:
    The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple. Adjustable chin and rolledthroatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. Favorite Features Rot-resistantHeavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength. Big D-exclusiveHeavy ...
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use.This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that isSoft and supple from day one. Favorite Features Brass plated hardware Beautiful havana color ...
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
    The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Favorite Features Adjustable ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Replacement Leather Safety Release is rated 4.745454545454545 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy and simple I bought this a few weeks ago and it's held up really nicely. My horse seem to break safety release straps like string. However, these seem very sturdy and he hasn't broken it yet. Plus, you can make any halter a break-away halter with these. I will only be buying them from Smartpak from now on.
    Date published: 2016-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thick and sturdy,well nade It is excellently made but the reason I gave it four stars versus five is it is slightly difficult to replace. Otherwise, it's wonderful.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect replacement piece Bought 2 of these replacement straps. One to replace a broken one and the other to convert my new hybrid halter to a breakaway. Great quality
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short, but good function Good safety function. I bought it to fit Kensington full size break-away halter for my Hanoverian mare. It makes the halter too short. (Nose band sits too high up). I loosened poll strap to last hole in able to use it.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the ONLY way to do Turnout halters I use these "fuses" to convert all my nylon halters to break-aways. The leather is not too strong, not too weak, the screws stay put.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! My non-horsey fiance was able to fix up my halter in a couple minutes with this strap. Works great! The original leather on the halter only lasted a couple weeks. So far so good with this one.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Safety! I love that I can easily repair his halter rather than replacing it or having to call the Vet!
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great piece of leather purchased to change a nylon halter to a breakaway halter.. wanted a different halter than the typical "breakaway" because wanted a nylon halter with more adjustablity, but halter I choose didnt have a breakaway option so purchased this and cut away the nylon piece that holds the buckle and used this.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement Have bought a few different ones and this one seems to last the longest. Even sturdier than the original one in the halter
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplicity! I bought this fuse to make a regular halter into a break away. The fuse is a little shorter than others that came pre-installed on my store-bought break-aways but this isn't a concern since the halter is for a horse with a petite head. Good quality, chicago screw seems to be tight and unlikely to unscrew itself. Nice, cheap way to "baby-proof" a halter!
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit A very inexpensive way to salvage a breakaway halter. Perfect fit and it includes the Chicago screw.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I have gone thru several of these with my horses, they have always worked and broken under panicking horse pressure.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value After my horse actually did break his break-away halter, I had a hard time finding a replacement piece. This one is a perfect fit, inexpensive and easy to attach to the halter. I bought several to always have one on hand now!
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok The screw that holds it together comes loose and needs to be checked frequently
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to hook I use these replacement releases for my Red Haute Horse halters. They work great and are easy to affix to the halter.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make any halter a safety halter I love these leather straps! For around $3.00 I can make any halter into a safety halter and if the strap gets broken they are very inexpensive to replace!
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Safety Release It took me a minute to figure out how to attach to the halter. I'm not sure what else I could say about this other than it serves its purpose :)
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy!! I am so happy with this. Saved me money as I didn't have to buy a new halter. It was easy to put it on as well.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from genius this is awesome, no only great for fixing broken ones but also great for converting all nylon halters to break-away. Brilliant!
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Peace Of Mind! I adopted a rescue mare who came with a gorgeous lime green halter. It worried me that the halter was not a breakaway style, so I bought several of these safety releases so I could use ALL the halters in my tack room. I had stopped using all non breakaways about a year ago. It's much more cost effective to be able to use all the halters I have, and KNOW my horses are safe when turned out wearing them. This is a GREAT product!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Could Be Smarter What could be smarter, or less expensive when you care about safely turning your horse out and standing him on cross ties? I wouldn't have a halter without a breakaway strap. These never clash with halter colors as they tuck out of sight under the side buckle. And I can usually punch another hole for two uses.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install This product was easier to install than I expected. It was a very inexpensive fix for my favorite halter.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes any Halter Safer I bought a bunch of these after one of my nicer nylon halters was turned into a "safety" halter by a well meaning stable hand - by removing this part of the crown piece and replacing it with flimsy plastic zip ties! I understood the thought behind it but didn't think zip ties made my halter any safer. So I bought one of these and used it in place of the zip ties. Worked like a charm and I picked up a few spares in case they are needed due to emergency breakage. If your nylon halter is not a breakaway style, consider replacing this part of the halter with one of these little leather straps.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was able to replace the broken tab Instead of buying a whole new halter, easy to do took just a few seconds and the halter was good as new and the price is very good!
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replace or Create! I keep multiples of these on hand, not just as replacements - my guys are pretty easy on their halters - but also to put on a new halter that doesn't have the safety release. I just cut out the short piece of nylon in the section where the release would normally go, screw one of these in it's place, and, Voila!, a safety halter! Sturdy and eases my mind, since my horses are pastured with halters on.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems good Seems like a sturdy replacement for the broken safety release on my 'nice' halter. Haven't had a chance to use the halter yet, so we'll see
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind Great safety feature. I like to have several extra on hand in case of emergencies.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from must have These are a must have for breakaway halters. I ordered two so that there is always a spare.
    Date published: 2010-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase...Could be stronger I like the idea of this breakaway piece, but I think they could be made a little bit stronger. My horse was coming off the trailer (unhooked on his leadrope) and pulled to run backwards off the trailer and the breakaway strap let go. It wasn't that hard of a pull, but it did let go. Glad it works, looks nice, just wish a little more durable. Great price, bought four replacements just to be on the safe side.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! My other leather safety release broke so I decided to give this product a try. It works better than any of the other leather replacements I have tried! Durable and reliable...but also safe. I only wish it came in the color black.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    • 2016-07-24T10:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_3742, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders