Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Repel-Xpe

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13488
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
The horseman's choice for more than 30 years. Diluted 1:7 with water, Repel-Xpe provides economical protection from house flies, horn flies, gnats and mosquitoes. Mixed at 1:4 dilution, Repel-Xp kills ticks, horse flies, deer flies and stable flies.

Favorite Features
Single application keeps flies, gnats, ticks and mosquitoes off horse for days
Superior fly control that's easy on the budget.

Sizing It Up
Pint, Quart or Gallon

View Product Label

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Repel-Xpe is rated 4.5395 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to work as well as anything else Nothing seems to keep the flies away for real, but this seems to work as well as any of the other things we have tried.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a shame! I was using another, more expensive product in a yellow spray bottle... (don't know if it's ethical to mention it here)... and decided to try Repel-x instead after I ran out of the more expensive brand. The more expensive brand usually gave my horse complete relief from flies for about 4 hours after which it gradually tapered off over the next 8 hours or so. I was so disappointed with Repel-x when the flies began to harass my mare shortly after it dried. I decided to literally wet my mare with it to see if it would be more effective. Nope! Sadly it's not doing what it promised! I will not be buying it again.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get your money's worth with this product It Works! Bugs would have eatten the horses alive without Repel x
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not fancy, but effective! I like Repel-X concentrate, because with 9 horses, we go through a LOT of fly spray. I've used some of the fancier, long acting sprays, but none seem to be more effective than Repel-X.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works the best always use this. I don't have a horse with skin problems so when bugs become unbearable, I sometimes mix it slightly stronger and it REALLY works.
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well We have flies here in Arizona almost year round. Over the years I've tried many different fly repellents, and I've found that the Repel-Xpe works the best. However, instead of water, I mix it with white vinegar and mineral oil. The flies don't seem to like the oily horses, and the mosquitoes absolutely hate it. The only downside is that you have to rinse the horse every few days, as the oil attracts dust. Just wish it was cheaper.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ticks I havent had a tick on Spook since I started using repel-xpe. We do have a lot of ticks in the area where I pasture. It does not work very well on flies. Even mixing 1-5, a half hour after spraying him, the flyes are on him. I do recomend it for ticks.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money Saver We have been using Repel-Xpe concentrate for many years. For convenience we make a gallon at a time using the 1:7 ratio at the start of fly season and fill spray bottles from that. By the end of summer the flies seem to be bigger and more aggressive and we make the solution stronger (1:5 or 1:4). We do not like to make it too much stronger as it seems to irritate the horses when they start sweating while working. As with most fly sprays, daily use is needed. I have never found one that lasts for days as the labels all seem to say. It is easy to wipe on faces and ears using a cloth we keep on hand. This is the only spray we use.
    Date published: 2013-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Great Spray! I always dilute this 5:1 and it works like a charm! For the most part even those annoying horseflys will leave us alone if I spray this before going for a trail ride.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Fly Spray I have used this fly spray for years. We moved our mare from full pasture board to a stable with fly spray provided just over a year ago. We just got a grey TB and he seems to be more attractive to ticks. I put both horses on Repel-X and haven't found ticks since. May be a coincidence, but never had ticks on our black mare that used to be outside 24/7 either. I really like this product and you can mix it 5:1 for more tick protection.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still the best I have used this product 10+ years and it is the best on the market. It's the best value (concentrate), and works great. Won't buy anything else.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than most I like the Repel-Xp concentrate because I can mix according to my horses needs. In the summer months I make a stronger mixture and as it cools, I add more water. It's way cheaper than buying the pre-mixed spray and last much longer.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-X For decades, a tried and true weapon against bug attacks on my horses whether at work or at leisure.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not work This stuff is a joke. I sprayed my horses legs and body with this stuff and there are still flies everywhere. I practically bathe him in it and within seconds there are flies all over him. I did a test-- 3 sprays on one of his legs and 10 seconds later I find at least 5 flies on the leg. I do have to say I got three bottles of spray out of this concentrate so the value is there. Just wish it would work. I will be trying something else next time.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value This fly repellent works very well and is an excellent value. It sounds expensive for a gallon but since it is a concentrate, you are actually buying four gallons for the price, and it works!
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fly spray that actually works I have used many,many different kinds of fly sprays. I just wanted one that worked and that didn't cost too much. I wanted to buy a concentrate so I didn't have to keep buying the $20 32 oz spray bottles.This fly spray works and is worth the price. The concentrate lasts awhile too!I highly recommend
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I moved my TB to Minnesota from California this summer and the bug situation was quite a shock to him. The first week he was there he had huge hives all over his body and had to have antihistamine injections to calm it down. Consequently, he would stomp all day and I was worried he would make himself lame. I went to my local tack store and bought a strong fly spray which the mosquitoes just laughed at and it was useless. Frustrated I decided for the cost I would by this concentrated version and it has been fab! The only problem I had with it was when I mixed it 1/5 and it was way to strong for him and actually made his skin peal! But, after I learned the correct concentration it has kept everything off! Not the best smelling but gets the job done and a huge cost saver :D
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not terribly effective, and OILY! OK, I knew that this is an oil-based insecticide when I ordered it, but I am rather disappointed in just how oily it is! We have a pretty nasty horse and deerfly population at our barn, so I diluted it to the recommended ratio for those conditions. Not only does it smell rather strongly, but I have to reapply it multiple times, just to see results. By the time I do that, my mare has oily, clumpy black streaks all over her. Definitely won't be taking this to the shows!
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product and great value I've been using this product on horses for years and years, and I love it. It's by far my favorite fly spray. I find that it works great (even better than the more expensive brands), doesn't make my horse "sticky" like other brands do, and to top it all off, it smells GOOD! I've never had a horse have a reaction to it, but it's clearly strong enough to be effective, and bought in the concentrate form, it's a great value. I would highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2011-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Price I find that this is a very affordable fly repellent. Fly spray can be so costly in the hot and buggy weather. The cheap stuff works for about five minutes, and the really good stuff is too expensive for everyday use! This fly spray does the job and doesn't break the bank!
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stall door Staple Have used this forever and it seems to work pretty well. I usually use this as a fly spray for turnout and like that when you spray it the flies actually do stay off. Just be careful of over-concentrating it. I usually stick with the 1:7 instead of 1:4. When its too strong it can 'burn' their skin making it peel.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Value We've been using Repel-X concentrate over 10 years. Best bang for your buck if you have the time to mix it up. Repels & kills flies, gnats & mosquitoes. With multiple horses this is the only affordable way to go.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job This stuff works fine for the price, and it's nice to have the option to mix it at different concentrations for sensitive horses or extra-buggy occasions.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly spray value With the price of fly spray between $15-20 per quart, the Repel X is a great bargain. You can mix it stronger if your fly problem is bad, or weaker if not so bad. It is the absolute best value. You do need a funnel to pour from the bottle it comes in to your sprayer bottle because it does drip.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No flies! Fly spray works great and smells nice. My horse doesn't mind being out on muggy days when the bugs are the worst!
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repel-Xp I have used Repel-Xp for many years. I get consistent results when used in combination with Equitrol, Arbico Fly Parasites, and strategically placed Fly traps as an integrated fly control program.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable for decades I have used this spray since I had my first horse-it's got a very strong distinct odor and has to be mixed, but works as well as anything, and even helps with ticks. I have given several others a chance for "natural" or sunscreen or sensitive claims, but this works as well as any(nothing is foolproof )and economical too!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical Fly Spray I've used Repel-X for years. Being a concentrate, it's the most ecomonical flay spray that works just as well as the expensive ones. I do have to spray every day though. It has a very pleasant smell.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only fly spray I use Even with just 1 horse, the cost of fly spray can be astronomical. I find concentrated fly spray to be the cheapest option and Repel XP has been by far the best at keeping the flies away in my area. It doesn't have an awful smell either.
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely the best fly repellent
    Date published: 2010-12-05
    • 2015-05-22T07:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_3488, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.