Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection so your horse can stay warm and comfortable in any weather.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 1000 denier Ballistic Nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Thermobonded fiberfill insulation for longer lasting heat retention
  • Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • PVC coated tail cord and removable triple surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps
  • Large tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable triple belly surcingles
  • Reflective strips for visibility
  • High neck cut with leg arches

We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up


Lite has no fill
Medium has 200g fill
Heavy has 370g fill


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic turnout sheet! I love my Wug turnout sheet for my TB. I bought this sheet because my horse has high withers and large, muscular shoulders, and I was told that this sheet is great for horses with this build. When I purchased the sheet, I was concerned that the high neck piece may rub his mane. My horse has worn this sheet nearly every day for the past six months, and it's worn beautifully and has not caused any rubs on his mane or shoulders. The high neck piece helps keep him warm and dry. I also like the added safety of the plastic clips on the belly surcingles. This is a very well made, durable sheet that I look forward to using for years. The fantastic eggplant purple color of the sheet and the reflective strips on the sheet are nice added bonuses!
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shredded in 3 months and Rambo doesn't care! My horse used this turnout for 3 months. The inside shredded completely, and then the outside ripped too. He's never had an issue with any other blanket. When I contacted Rambo customer service, they refused to honor the "3 year guarantee" that I had registered for after buying the blanket, as it apparently only covers waterproofing. Well, if the blanket has shredded I guess it's no longer waterproof! They were not responsive. For a premium priced product, I would expect much better than shoddy material and poor customer service. Their logo is "the best your horse can get", well I'm sure my horse can get better than Rambo! I'm switching to smartpak blankets which I've also been using all winter on my other horse. They have better quality, better value, and a real guarantee.
    Date published: 2015-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo rocks! I bought this after trying and returning the Amigo Wug, which I found much inferior. My 17 hand Warmblood mare is so pleased with it she has stopped trying to bite me when I put it on her! LOL (She hated all the others I had for her.) The features are all here and the detachable belly straps with the breakaway feature makes me more comfortable leaving her in it overnight, as she likes to lay down and nap in her stall. Now if it holds up, I will be satisfied paying the high price.
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO!!! This is a wonderful Rug. Run, buck and jump, it stays in place. Rolling also..
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I own two of these, one lite and one medium. They are expensive, but well worth the cost. My horse refuses to stay in her stall except to eat. She wants to be outside no matter what the weather. She is in a 5 acre pasture with some woods and 9 other horses. There are a lot of play and dominance issues going on. Underneath, my horse's coat is beautifully shiny smooth. Both the blankets have held up and have no holes whatsoever. I have seen others put much cheaper blankets on their horses that are shredded in a matter of days. These even hold up when my horse goes into the woods. They wash up beautifully. I recommend Rambo wash and the laundromat with line drying. I predict they will last many years. You would not regret spending the extra money for these wugs.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best WUG hands down I own three WUG turnouts and will own nothing else. They are very high quality, they wear well for months at a time and my horses have no rubs.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I bought this blanket for our large pony mare who was clipped this Fall. Love the front closures, both "dog hook" and velcro, and the extra belly strap to keep out drafts on the coldest nights. The neck is high enough to keep her warm and no wither or shoulder rubs. It does make noise due to its crinkly fabric and initially she didn't care for that sound, but seems to have gotten used to it. Love the coated tail straps too, makes cleanup easy.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reflectors are a life saver! Last night my horses got loose from me in the pasture. The gate swung open, and they saw a golden opportunity to run around in the woods and play with the other horses. Not only was it pitch black, but there was a large expanse of woods for them to run around in. The only reason we were able to find my boys is because they were wearing these Rambo blankets with the reflectors. We were able to shine a light through the woods and the reflectors lit up. I hope that no one else will have to deal with this, but I'm so thankful that my boys were wearing these blankets.
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this blanket! Absolutely love this blanket. I have a skinny, 27 yr old TB gelding who needs all the help he can get in the colder months. Regular blankets leave his neck so exposed and although he is old, he still acts like a 2 yr old and easily rips and tears blankets. This blanket stays so nicely up on his neck giving him added warmth, the multiple Velcro enclosures and clips in the front keep it nice and secure and the three straps under his belly keep his body secure and warm too. no back leg straps necessary. I bought the medium weight which is very nice, and layer an extra blanket under it on the coldest of days. Wouldn't recommend any other blanket now!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more rubs! My 16H narrow chested Arab is a wimp. Every blanket he's ever had rubs his high withers and shoulders. But I've had this blanket on him nearly every day for a month and he hasn't shown any signs of rubbing ... yet. Me = thrilled! Is it pricey? Yes. But it fits him great, has a nice warranty directly through Horseware, has held up despite many rolls, and the hardware is great. I really love the V designed neck opening and snaps. The high neck feature minimizes pressure on his neck. The only complaint is the belly straps are just a skosh long but I think buckling the middle band LAST helps keep the straps at a safe length. I will say he is the type to walk around the paddock with his nose hoovered to the ground. I imagine if you have a horse who walks with his head quite high the WUG style might not be for you.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made This blanket is well made. I like the high neck instead of the usual roll of fleece. No more dent above the withers. For our horses the extra velcro on the chest is a bit over kill. As is the center curcingle. But that is our horses not your houdini horses. The under the tail plastic covered bungee is ok so far. We are used to leg straps.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is a great blanket. I love the high neck, as it's the only way I can give my small chested horse a Rambo(the originals hang off him). Great durability, fits wonderfully. I do wish they had it in colors different than purple!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from i like the blanket but not for the price. the blanket has sides that i think are too long for my 16 hands ottb & the long neck crumps up not giving him the coverage i was hoping for especially while out in the paddock grazing.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! These blankets are a must, they fit my horse perfectly, the V front closer is perfect for my rather narrow chested guy, the tail cord is great just hose it off, or wipe with a damp cloth when it gets dirty. And the third curcingle is great to keep him snug as a bug in a rug.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug Everyone I had talked to before has recommended that I get a Rambo blanket, and I'm so glad I did. My OTTB was turned out with others who play rough in the pasture and they tore his old blanket to shreds. This new blanket fits him well (he is a size 78") and I have faith that it will actually last through the winter.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super super blanket for horse with difficult withers. Perfect ! I have had the winter-version of this blanket for the same horse, first time in 5 years without rubs.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've just graduated from regular neck to wug neck and it's heaven! No more wet shoulders inside the blanket.My Hanoverian I've tried in a wug neck that I still have from 2 horses ago and it didn't work, but exactly for the reasons it didn't fit him were why I knew I could buy one for my husband-horse mare. She's a long & low QH 24/7... My Hanoverian is very upright in the pasture, so the neck seemed a bit restrictive when he was in his upright-alert moments, still kept his shoulders pretty dry though.I haven't had problems with the extra material up the neck making them too warm on those "warmer" rainy nights and mornings that dry off and warm up before you get there for PM feeding/chores, that was a concern, and has yet to be a problem. Definitely love the blanket for the level headed horse!Expensive, but worth it! My mom replaces her cheaper blankets almost annually, either they fall apart or don't stay waterproof and we both care for blankets correctly and turn out in small groups/herds. I say it's the cheaper blankets she buys.FYI- the blanket I bought initially has been used 3 winters on a previous horse and now was used for this mare and is still completely waterproof and has no tears. My horses live out and turn out beside and with others, my 3 are together and she is the bottom of the pecking order, the old blanket has withstood herd behavior and fill is still where it belongs. That's why I bought her a Rambo rain sheet in the same style.Picture isn't beautiful, wasn't meant to advertise the blanket, but the blanket fits her great and I love the purple on a chestnut!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great and Stays in Place! My horse is a big warmblood with huge shoulders - he perpetually rips the shoulders in his blankets. He also tries to take his own blankets off when he gets too hot - ripping them. And, he rolls and sleeps lying down so they get crooked if they don't have hind leg straps. I hesitated on this blanket because it doesn't have shoulder gussets or hind leg straps, but I really wanted a blanket with the high neck (otherwise the rain runs down his neck and his chest gets soaked under his blanket) and the v-front closure (he was getting rubs from eating with his other blanket). This blanket was well worth the cost! He wore it all winter and it stayed put, even though it doesn't have hind leg straps, and no rips or any other damage! Water stays out and the rubs on his chest are gone. Very, very pleased this blanket.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment! The Rambo Wug is well made, waterproof and attractive. I own a number of the heavy weight Rambo turnout coats and find that they last for YEARS! This time I purchased a lite coat for spring rains. (Every time I try to save money by purchasing a less pricey brand I find that the cheaper products rip, wear out quickly or lose their waterproof quality.) You get what you pay for. Rambos are a worthwhile investment. These coats fit big athletic horses without causing rubs. The front closure system has been improved yet again. I removed the tail strap under the tail, yet the coats stay in place on all three horses without shifting.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar Quality My horse lives outside in the pasture in Montana 24/7 year-round. I own Rambo Wugs in all three weights. They fit great and are super durable. Love the increased neck coverage without having to get a separate neck cover. Really my only wish is that the back panel over his tail could be removed separately for washing--it gets dirty with manure quickly while the rest of the blanket stays clean for weeks.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, tough blanket. I bought this blanket several weeks ago and have been impressed with how well it has stood up to constant wear. We had subzero temps for the past week and I was able to layer a midweight Rambo under this blanket with no trouble due to the generous fit. The plastic tail cord is a major improvement.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality sheet Bought this sheet for my daughters warmblood mare. She actually measures an 80 but I ordered the 81 even knowing they tended to run a tad big. We wanted to be sure we could layer the sheet over the Rambo blanket and hood (78") with enough room and it does that perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny!! We purchased these blankets for our two OTTB boys, who can be rough and tumble during turn out, to say the least! After extensive research and some indecision, we opted for these and I'm so happy we did! So far, they have provided fantastic warmth and not a drop of moisture gets thru! These blankets are very easy to put on and take off with the chest clips and velcro (no buckles !) and I love the three belly surf ingles instead of the standard two. Best of all, these blankets STAY IN PLACE!!! With the high neck design, leg cut-outs, and well made chest closures, these blankets really do stay put, even through rough housing, rolling, and laying down. I've read some of the other reviews that state the blanket bunches at the withers/back which is does somewhat, but it has to in order to accommodate the horses head being down without shifting the entire blanket back. If you're contemplating like I was, don't! So far these blankets have stood up to Rambo's great name!
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stays in place I bought this because every other blanket on my horse ends up twisted and shifted that requires lifting and re-adjusting. This one stays put.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad shoulder fit Thought I should bite the bullet and buy what I thought would be the best blanket even if expensiveHate the fit over the shoulder and tried it on several horses
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Longevity and waterproof I purchased this blanket 10 years ago for my paint horse. We show on the APHA circuit thus we train all winter. We get a lot of rain and quite a bit of snow. Despite being out in the weather, rolling in the mudd in the pasture and rolling in his dirty stall the blanket looks great with just a quick brushing. It has remained waterproof!Despite all my friends recommending other brands that fit a "quarter horse build" this is the best blanket for us.
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, flattering, cozy I bought this blanket at the request of my trainer, and I thought it was way too expensive at first.  After my horse rolling around in it all of last winter, and bringing it out again this year for another season (still looking gorgeous), I can say it was worth every penny.  It fits my Thoroughbred mare well, it's a little roomy for her but that's actually kind of nice for her mobility.  It kept her warm all winter even with a full body clip.  It held up nicely against dirt and manure stains (no easy task given that her nickname around the barn is "Pig Pen").  Great blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for young narrow growing horse. I liked the fit, design, materials and hardware so much bought a medium and a heavy in this model. Excellent for horses who are sensitive in the wither area and may be narrower in front. The three belly straps keep rug snug and in place . . . so no rubbing. Plenty of range of motion room for turnout. Excellent for 16’2” Oldenburg & Arabian cross. Materials are very breathable and comfortable for horse. Keeps coat nice and shiny. No static (it is very dry and cold here). Rambo runs a bit larger so go down in size. Example: your size 78” go down to 75.” Super blanket! Thank you.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely worth the $ Needed a sheet that didn't rub hair off of my horses' shoulders. My other blankets/sheets are Amigo's so I decided to stick with Horseware. This one did the trick. Plenty of shoulder room--which may be because the neck comes up higher. Quality from chest to tail. Ease of use and quality of material make this turnout worth the dollar amount. The reflector tape is helpful, too.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseware Rambo Wugs are fantastic I will never buy any other brand of horse blanket.  I like a product to do what it says it will do - be waterproof, fit well and last.  That makes me feel like I got my monies worth.  The price of the Rambo Wugs are very expensive for me. I have to save up to get one - but here's what sold me; 18 years ago when I decided I needed to get a waterproof blanket for my horse, I started doing research, and I looked at all of the products available to me in Arizona. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a waterproof blanket, a really waterproof blanket - and everything lead me to Rambo being one of the best made out there.  I saved up, I bought one, and I still have it and use it, and it is still waterproof - 18 years later.  Ever since then, as I've added horses to my herd, I've saved up and bought each one a Rambo blanket.  My first blanket was the Original Rambo.  I also like the thought that Horsewear Ireland has put into their product development, getting better each year.  I love all their designs, but the Wug is what I get, it does what I want, gives me options and it LASTS.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    • 2016-02-13T15:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_8713, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.