Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Rambo Protector

Horseware Ireland
- Item #12314
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Super-Soft, lightweight, and breathable, the Rambo Protector fly sheet will help to keep flies off of your horse in the summer. This fly sheet features a strong mesh to withstand a horse that is tough on his blankets while keeping him comfortable and cool.

 

Favorite Features 

  • Soft but strong Polyester/Polypropylene mesh outer
  • Ultra breathable
  • Shoulder liner
  • Patented leg arches & 3rd surcingle
  • Patented 'V' front closure
  • Supersized tail flap
  • 70% UV protection
  • Removable neck cover with mane liner included

Sizing

To find out what size blanket your horse needs, measure the distance from the center of the chest to the center of the tail and subtract 4 inches.

*If between sizes, size down.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals from birth, for outdoor and indoor use. Unique innovative adjustment system to allow the blanket to grow with your foal. Has expanding front & side adjustments allowing expansion by 6 inches in ...
    "Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet that ...
    Description:
    "Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet that protects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing ...
    "The Back on Track Exercise Sheet is excellent ...
    Description:
    "The Back on Track Exercise Sheet is excellent for use during warm-up sessions, riding tours as well as following exercise / competition sessions. The Exercise Sheet is breathable and tolerates a degree of water or dampness. Material: (2 options) Fabric ...
    "The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet is made from ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet is made from a super soft double-brushed fleece in Baker's traditional and classic plaid. This dress sheet is as warm as wool, yet lighter in weight. The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet also works double duty ...
    "Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material ...
    Description:
    "Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material provides superior durability with rich colors that won't fade. The matching supplex lined shoulders allow for uninhibited shoulder movement and the faux beaver at the withers adds even more richness to this ...
    "Every competitive rider knows the feeling of waiting ...
    Description:
    "Every competitive rider knows the feeling of waiting for a class in the pouring rain while your horse and tack get soaked. This 420 Denier nylon water repellent sheet, provides excellent protection against the elements. Full neck design features a ...
    "Bucas Buzz Off Combo Neck Zebra Fly Sheet ...
    Description:
    "Bucas Buzz Off Combo Neck Zebra Fly Sheet offers superior protection against flies and also UV protection against harmful UV rays. The 1000D lightweight polyester mesh is durable yet soft and has a unique design that protects against biting insects. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Protector is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 145.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, great fit! I loved the first one so much, purchased another for a new horse. Size fairly accurate, fit and buckeling system allows for horses movement. 81 for our 16.3 hh Oldenburg, 78 for a 16.0 hh Paint. The textiline fabric is sturdy and holds up to rolling and playing.
    Date published: 2017-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I was hoping for I never write reviews but I found this blanket so great I just wanted to sing it's praises. It's cool, sturdy and doesn't rub. My horse seems way calmer now that he doesn't have to spend so much time fighting the flies. He's black, so if it's hot, I think the light fabric reflects the heat better than his own coloring. He's not more sweaty on a hot day when I bring him in than if he was nekkid. Totally worth the $$!!
    Date published: 2017-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sheet Hands Down! I have a dark tobiano warmblood who is really rough on his sheets/ blankets/ etc. This is the ONLY sheet that has lasted years and years without a tear and keeps his dark bay portion without fading. Great fly protection, great UV protection, and very durable!
    Date published: 2017-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I bought the Rambo Protector after months of trying to decide which fly sheet to invest in. My horse HATES bugs of all kind and has really sensitive skin. This sheet is great and offers a nice reprise from the flies, mosquitoes, gnats and all other annoyances he throws fits about. He's outside 24/7 in a big group pasture. The Rambo Protector stays in place even after rolling, keeps him cool, yet also offers some light protection from the rain (he still gets wet but he doesn't get chilled). He stays fairly clean too! It's also incredibly durable with self-healing material. I did size down - all his other Horseware blankets are 81 but the 78 Protector fits perfectly. He does have some minor rubbing on his hips from this sheet but he's an incredibly angular horse. Bag Balm or Vaseline seems to help provide a barrier and it's a very small rub. For a durable fly sheet offering so much protection yet will last for years to come, it's a trade-off I'm willing to work with.
    Date published: 2017-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too expensive My horse normally wears a size 78 but had to return for a 75. Although it fits well now and I do like the features and coverage I don't think I will spend this much again for a fly sheet.. already has a tear..
    Date published: 2017-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from seems good quality I still have to try this on my horse but she has 72 in other blanket. The flies are not bad this summer so far so spray and fly mask may be enough. I think I will keep it though in case they are worse next summer or later on this summer. Seems very high quality as other products are.
    Date published: 2017-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great FlySheet I love this flysheet. What I don't like is that it is about 2 sizes too big. And because you are having to downsize so much, you lose the coverage in the belly area which is why I got this flysheet to begin with. That is the only issue I have with the flysheet.
    Date published: 2017-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best on the market This is the only fly sheet I've used that didn't rub at the wither or the shoulder. The weight of the mesh is perfect and helps to keep my horse cool. I've tried A LOT of other brands and will now only buy Rambo; the others were a waste of money. I bought a 75 for my quarter horse who usually wears a 78 and it fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2017-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits very well! I love the New Style front closure, it stays in place and doesn't rub him...!
    Date published: 2017-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from best closures , made well with good hardwear just bought , but have purchased other Rambo blankets
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great! But not sure how long it will last I bought this about a month ago. It has held up pretty well but it has these little brown strings in the mesh and the brown strings have ripped in some spots but not the white strings. Overall it has been good, but I'm not sure it is that much better than slightly cheaper options.
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fittings snaps and dees Bought this for a large pony, it's really keeping the bugs off her.
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving what I see! Okay, so, first thing is first - I bought this on sale because I had been eyeballing them for quite some time and couldn't resist any longer...HOWEVER...my horse is in a different state at the moment, so I really can't comment on any more than I can see/feel myself right now. Because of all the yo-yo'ing reviews in regards to sizing, I just wanted to add a quick review to help folks who may be on the fence about what size to order... I have a 17hh, 1200lb TB. He wears an 82 in Schneider's turnouts, 81 in Weatherbeeta Original Oricans, and 78 in Rambos. Based on other reviews, I went down to a 75 Protector. Like I said, I'm not able to try it on my boy just yet, but I also have a brand new Rambo Wug at my house as well and when the Protector is laid on top of the Wug the length/size seems to be spot on. So, I would have to agree that you should probably size DOWN from whatever your horse's USUAL RAMBO size is. The material is all they advertise it as: soft, light weight...but seems very durable at the same time. Should keep just about any kind of bug out! And I also feel like my horse isn't going to roast in it! Love the front closures, AND, the neck attachment rings are on the outside of the sheet which made me super happy (on an old Rhino, the neck cover attachment hooks were on the inside of the turnout sheet - which seemed to me like they would cause pressure points). Overall I am very happy with this purchase. Hope it fits my boy as well as I expect it to, and outlasts all the others! It may seem like a pricey sheet, but when you compare the features, the fact that it has a neck cover, and simply that it's a Rambo - you're getting quite a deal!
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I just bought a second round of these sheets after having my first set for 5 or 6 years. They fit great and are very durable. I will always pay the extra money to have a good quality sheet like this one.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I purchased this a few weeks ago since they seem to hold up very well over time, but now the flysheet is creating really bad rub marks on my mare's shoulders & chest. I love it otherwise, but I'm considering purchasing a different brand because her rub marks are very sensitive from repeated rubbing. This product was not worth the almost $200 I paid for it.
    Date published: 2016-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durability plus! If you are looking for a durable flysheet this is it. After a month of being worn by my gelding outside in his herd, not one rip, tear, or snag is present. My previous flysheet lasted little more than a week. Small tears that I thought I could patch, then huge rips that relegated it to the salvage pile. This is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2016-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv, Luv, Rambo I have used Rambo blankets, sheets, etc for 20 years now and still luv this product! I was hesitant ordering down 3 sizes from his actual measurement as recommended, the fit is perfect! Not only does this protect against flies, but my guy is a dark bay and this keeps him from bleaching out to that ugly orange color in the summer. We live in So Calif where triple digit temperatures can be normal for us in the summer, he still stays cool wearing this all day. My horse is easy on blankets, he doesn't rub them, tear them, etc, however he does lay down every night and the protector as well as all my Rambo products can withstand him wearing it overnight. I have had some blankets and sheets for 8+ years and will probably have this sheet that long as well. Not only did I get this product at the cheapest price, SmartPak gave me free 2 day shipping. Why would you shop anywhere else when the product & pricing cant be beat and I have it in 2 days. Thank You SmartPak, from your new favorite Customers, Smoke & Judy
    Date published: 2016-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I have 6 Rambo fly sheets. I have had most of them for over 5 years. I have never had one get destroyed! My horses are turned out all day. I take the sheets off at night and put them on in the am. I just walk out in the field with my sheets, and throw them on each horse. They are all at Liberty, no halters. They want them on! I put their names on each sheets with a Sharpie marker. I get them size larger, just in case my horse grows. ;) Never had any horse get any rubs!
    Date published: 2016-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty and good fit. This is a great product. Heavy duty and good fit. Does not wear out with active horse.
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I wish more sheets/blankets had the front V closures like this. The fit difference for my horse is unparalleled. No shoulder rubs, no slipping back behind the withers (and he's a high-withered TB). This is also a really nice material - pretty soft and pliable for a fly sheet. I would highly recommend this sheet. Only caveat is it does run large. Thankfully I read the other reviews. My horse is a consistent 78" , but I ordered the 75" in this sheet and it fits him perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I bought this sheet at the beginning of June for my Quarter Horse gelding, King. Although he is a QH, he is lean built and very tall. Most sheets don't fit him well and are too "boxy". After shredding his last sheet, I decided he deserved his first Rambo. This one fits him perfectly and I am very pleased with the quality of the sheet. I was initially worried because it does not have a full belly band and I cannot use fly spray as he is allergic. However, so far his tummy is perfectly fine and our flies are thick. I did order a 78 and he is normally an 80-81. The 78 is a good fit. I really like that the neck cover stays forward and does not slide back. Additionally, he does not get hot anywhere under this sheet and we have been in the 90s here. He rolled in the mud one day after a rain storm. My other sheets were heavy because they soaked up the water and the mud stained them. King's sheet did not absorb the water and I hung it on the fence, bushed it off, and it looked brand new!! Love this. Will purchase more in the future!
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rambo Protector Fly Sheet The cut & style of the coat are 5*s. It's a great concept especially with the Rambo unique front closure. This is the highest priced fly sheet out there excluding the ones with fly repellent. I think the sheet is overpriced for the weight, texture, & durability. I have a P.R.E. mare and will be surprised if it lasts the whole season. I can see pulls in the fabric already. She rolls every day in her sheet so we will see how it holds up. If it makes it through a couple of seasons, which I expect it to do due to the price, I will give 5 stars.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality material and hardware-perfect fit! I bought a size 75 for my 17.1 h TB. She measured 76" but the knowledgeable customer rep recommended a sz. 75 and it is perfect. I am very impressed with the "satiny" shoulder liner and easy fittings. This sheet looks like it will last a long time. She seems very comfortable and we have been getting record breaking temps in AZ. The horse she is turned out with usually bites her when they are eating hay together but with this sheet on he has given that up- an unexpected bonus!
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra I bought this flysheet for my Gelding after he destroyed my Amigo within a week on wearing it for the first time. I was a little skeptical of spending the extra money on something I figured wouldn't last, but I'm so glad I did! It lasted the rest of the fly season and little looks great! The sizes seem to run the same as in other rambo products: My horse is a 75 in most other brands, but a 78 in all his Rambos, including this. (16.2hh TB/HOLST)
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit for My Senior Horse My horse is now 27 and retired other than leisurely trail rides. I noticed that his fly sheet had become too big in the chest/shoulders and was constantly sliding around. The poor fit seemed to be creating pressure points on his neck/withers. I decided to invest in the Rambo protector, knowing that Rambo makes a very sturdy blanket. The fly sheet fits great all over and my horse loves it! The sides of the fly sheet are longer and cover his belly- protection without the onerous belly band that my horse despises. Best of all, since ditching the old fly sheet he feels better and more supple on our rides. Don't underestimate the importance of blanket fit. If you want a sturdy/breathable/UV rated fly sheet then try the Rambo protector.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Flysheet that would Stay ON This was the 2nd flysheet I tried and the only one that worked I bought a Buca Buzz Off and that lasted a week before she some how tore it up. I got fed up and bought this one knowing if it didn't I could send it back. It works wonderful, my mare is very hard on flysheets and blankets. I was sooo happy it lasted a week, a month and now 2 months with no tears, rips or anything and it has stayed put and lord knows she LOVES to roll and it has held up.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great When this fly sheet arrived I thought it would be hot -heavy duty but hot. That is not the case. Fabric softens a bit with only a few wears and horses don't sweat underneath. I bought one to check sizing ( I went up a size from regular blanket) and liked it so much that I bought 2 more for the other horses
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love the durability of Rambo products. This fly sheet replaces a used, different brand, one that we purchased. The used one lasted only a few weeks before failing. Thus, the new Rambo fly sheet. I recommend you order one if not two sizes smaller than you would normally purchase. This Rambo product runs large.
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Blessing for a Sissy Horse from the South My horse who originates from the south is a sissy when it comes to flies. I was looking for a great sheet that would be protect her coat from the sun and her body from the flies. So far this has done just the thing. She no longer wants to come in at 3 PM each day because the flies are too much. She's a happy camper now. It's held up well and has been washed. Nothing abnormal seems to have happened to it yet outside of normal rolling and potty stains. The one thing that does kind of stink is that the flap over her tail seems long and because I keep her tail protected in a tail bag when she is in heat it does get messy and requires washing. I did follow as all others recommended to order a size smaller than her normal sheet size. She is an 80 so I got a 78 and fits great. No rubbing has occurred on her mane or shoulders. The satin protector works well. It did tear but I don't know how it happened. It might have in the wash some way some how. But still its a great sheet and I have never purchased this brand before. Also, just as if you were to have a normal sheet on while outside to protect from sun she does get warm underneath it and sweat. I believe it is more breathable than a normal sheet but that is what happens when they are outside in the sun when it's hot out. SmartPak probably has the best price on this sheet and if I remember I got free shipping too PLUS my 5% off for being an AQHA member.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Very nice fly sheet but does run big. It took us 3 try to get the right one and happy that we did. Returns free and easy to do and the customer service to reorder a different size is wonderful. Love SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_140
    • loc_en_US, sid_2314, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders